BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Invisible Man

Average Rating 4
( 208 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(108)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(21)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

To Be Seen

When I first began reading this book, I admit that it was almost overwhelming...so many pages. But as I continued I realized that the journey was necessary. It was a time that needed to be fully understood in all it's primal glory. Racism truly has permeated society. A ...
When I first began reading this book, I admit that it was almost overwhelming...so many pages. But as I continued I realized that the journey was necessary. It was a time that needed to be fully understood in all it's primal glory. Racism truly has permeated society. A great book and great read!

posted by Anonymous on September 1, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

7 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Really, NO Stars

Misleading. The abstract does not clarify if this is the real book or a "Cliff's Notes" issue. This is simply a Student synopsis for those who need assistance with the book. WHY have this avaiable if you do not sell the real eBook? Very disappointing.

posted by mrs_moo_2u on July 30, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2006

    One of the best books i read

    Invisible Man by Ellison is a really great book.It talks about racism and how people got treated in the old days. I recomend this book for anyone because they would love it just like i did.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2006

    Good book to read even for beginners

    To tell you the truth I havent read many books but the books I have read do not even come close to touching this book on a knowledge level. This book will teach you alot of things that you probably wouldnt know about unless you were just crazy about past race relations. Very good comprehinsive text, not hard to follow what so ever. Love this book... Read it you wont be sorry...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2006

    Remarkable !!!

    I thought that this book was a very powerful book. Ralap Ellison really done a great job on the way he protrayed the narrator in this book.He should how we can sometime ask other people question that you and only you can answer. All in all I love the book and it has some great themes that you can carry with you through out life. You will not be disapointed. It is truly a phenomeal book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 12, 2005

    very powerful book

    ME BEING AN AFRICAN AMERICAN THIS BOOK MEANS A LOT TO ME AND IT LETS ME UNDERSTAND AND IM ABLE TO FIND MYSELF MORE AND KNOW MY PLACE IN THE WORLD THE BOOK IS SO POWERFUL IT'S A MUST READ AND IT'S SO GOOD I COULD READ IT OVER AND OVER.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2005

    Awesome Book

    After completing the book the Invisible Man by Ralph Ellison, i would definately recommend this book. It has an interesting story as is about a black man whos trying to find his individuality in this world. He comes out in the white world and finds himself invisible. I would definately recommend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 16, 2005

    Phenomenal

    In every way imaginable, this novel is an enduring American classic. It's rich language and narrative style show the depth and all encompassing pain which is the unique animal of racism, yet it combines this without losing sight of the very personal journey/rite of passage that the unnamed protagonist endures. The universal appeal combines elements of all world literature: one sees Dostoevsky, Faulkner, and Melville here. I am a man who reaches for this novel every five years or so, and amazingly, I learn more about myself and the world I live in EACH time I read it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2005

    The undying quest for self-identity

    I really enjoyed reading Invisible Man because of its enduring theme: discovering one's self identity. Ellison did a wonderful job revealing the main character's internal as a well as external conflicts with the society of his times. He also did a great job contrasting the attitudes and behaviors of blacks in the South verses those of the North. I definitely recommend this book to everyone, white and black, because there is something about the Invisible Man in which everyone can relate to.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 20, 2005

    Invisible Man

    The book was five star book. This book was very interesting to read. This book was told in the first person by an African American man. I learned a lot from how the blacks were mistreated in the 1930s and 1940s. I recommend this book to be read by anyone who wants to read an adventurous book. At times it is very challenging to read. I like this book very much. It told how in the American society there is still racist issues. I was disappointed that the author never gave a name of the character or the name of the college or the location of the college. The author could have been more descriptive details of the story. Overall the book was excellent.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2005

    The Invisible Man

    I think that this is a great book to read. The book is well written and this book has a lot of events. The novel is about a man that lives a very hard life and he gets little credit for anything that he does. The man continues to pull himself along when other people could not. I enjoyed this novel and I would reccomend this book to anyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2005

    Good Book

    This is a very good book, I liked it, and it put me on the edge to where I keep on reading and didn¿t let go of the book. This book can relate to any of us because it talks about racism and one man getting made fun of and being like he is not wanted, every where he went he was made fun of. He got into fights and so on... Every one can say we have been in his shoes but maybe not that harsh.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2004

    Best African American Novel

    This book is great, it opens my heart, and I've read it five times. I would reccomend it to anyone who has eyes of wisdom.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2004

    Excellent Read!!!

    This is a book I will definitely keep in my library. This is a new personal fav!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 15, 2004

    Phenominal!!!

    I read this novel a few years back and to this day I rave about this book. Well written with subliminal message conveyed in great depth. I think anyone who reads this novel can grasp something from it, if they can't then they've just read words on a page rather than absorbing and understanding the text.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2004

    Outstanding

    Lucid, stimulating, and marvelously fresh. Ellison is indeed an American master who takes the African American novel into a startling new configuration.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    Wonderful

    I was truly impressed by this book. It is a very encouraging book. I would suggest this to anyone and everyone. Its a great book! Its sad to read about all the racism and how this man was rejected by other because of the color of his skin but its great because he keeps going and going. He doesn't just give in and let everyne really tare him down to the point he can't get up again! Its great!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 18, 2003

    Great read

    Ralph Ellison's 'Invisible Man' is a great book that portrays the life of a black man living in Harlem in the 1930's, shows the struggles he goes through, and then relates them to society to show the greater meaning of the impact that time had on America's history. The book is very well-written and Ellison's style is somewhat different, but very gripping and fun to read. It is very interesting how Ellison reperesents many actual people and places through the characters and places in the book, and also how he hides themes of racism and the struggle for equality throughout within the text. I would not only recommend this book to anyone, but I think everyone needs to read it because it shows the struggle for equality that black society was caught in during the 1930's from the eyes of someone involved, and then Ellison relates the struggle to everyone. I think reading this book is great way for people to see what really went on during those times and attach it to themselves, hopefully for the betterment of individuals and society as a whole. A must read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 15, 2003

    Good Read

    Invisible Man is the story of a very confident and very nieve young black man during the 1903s. It is a very well written book. I don¿t really like to read but, this was very interesting It is a good book about the American culture. I would recommend every one read this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2003

    Excellent Read

    Invisible Man is the story of a very confident and very nieve young black man oblivous to the real world. In his determined quest to make a mark on the world he finds out the harsh realities of being a black man in America during the 30's. Realities that would eventually break his spirit and cause him to live in solitude, hiding in a ditch.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2003

    A real masterpiece

    Ellison's style and ablity to show a very large picture with simple things that were done and are done in everyday life gives you alot of perspective on life as you yourself may know it. You have to really do active reading though otherwise you will be bored and miss the major concepts of the story

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2003

    Invisible

    The Invisible Man is a good book for to read about American culture. Ellison's gave good speehes and had a good influence on people. The words that came out of his mouth where so powerful and meaningful to people. This book let many people know how one can fill about his culture and be the one to do something that right about it. The novel shows how people could just fit and an really don't no what they are getting there-self into. I would advise people to read this book because I really reading it and it could teach people about some of the things that were going on and the 1930's. And can teach people how to go about things and a better way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 108 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 6