Customer Reviews for

Invisible Prey (Lucas Davenport Series #17)

Average Rating 4
( 92 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(39)

4 Star

(34)

3 Star

(14)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

This story begins with two elderly ladies; a rich one and her ma

This story begins with two elderly ladies; a rich one and her maid who are beaten to death in a rather efficient and brutal manner. Upon investigation it is found that while some antiques and valuables are missing, there is certainly nothing valuable enough to in anyway...
This story begins with two elderly ladies; a rich one and her maid who are beaten to death in a rather efficient and brutal manner. Upon investigation it is found that while some antiques and valuables are missing, there is certainly nothing valuable enough to in anyway justify the death of these two people. Or are there valuable items missing that simply have not been identified?




As the body count increases past unsolved murders are slowly linked to these recent killings and Davenport finds himself involved in a very complicated and perplexing series of crimes which not only involve murder but the antique and art business. As always Sandford is able to tie the various seemingly unrelated cases together in rather unique ways.




One of the things that I like about the Prey series is that Sandford has allowed his primary protagonist, Lucas Davenport to evolve and by that I mean he has allowed him to age and mature. As these novels progress (and `Invisible Prey' is a prime example of this) we find Lucas aging, maybe not so much mentally, but most certainly physically. This is only natural and I like it because I am aging myself and am certainly not the person I was ten, twenty, thirty or forty years ago.




As always, Sandford has provided us with some despicable villains which must be dealt with. I note that the characters are not as insane or psychopathic as some of his earlier bad guys but this not make them any less evil.




The story is well written as you would expect from a master story teller of the caliber of Sandford and the plost gives us many twists and turns which keep the pages turning.




In this particular work very little is written about Lucas's wife which is probably best because in most of the recent novels about all she does is sleep anyway so her absence in this work is more of a blessing than anything. I highly recommend this book as the series has attested so long to it's preceding reputation. 

posted by XXXOOOBookwormOOOXXX on August 30, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

This was an interesting read, but ...

This was an interesting read, but not page-turner suspense for me. I felt that I was being educated about art history & the business of art more than entertained or swept along w/the unfolding story ... & the end-game plot twist was so much more predictable than most J....
This was an interesting read, but not page-turner suspense for me. I felt that I was being educated about art history & the business of art more than entertained or swept along w/the unfolding story ... & the end-game plot twist was so much more predictable than most J.S. efforts. I liked it, but I was ready for it to be over so I could move on in the series.

posted by 9798329 on March 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted August 30, 2014

    I Also Recommend:

    This story begins with two elderly ladies; a rich one and her ma

    This story begins with two elderly ladies; a rich one and her maid who are beaten to death in a rather efficient and brutal manner. Upon investigation it is found that while some antiques and valuables are missing, there is certainly nothing valuable enough to in anyway justify the death of these two people. Or are there valuable items missing that simply have not been identified?




    As the body count increases past unsolved murders are slowly linked to these recent killings and Davenport finds himself involved in a very complicated and perplexing series of crimes which not only involve murder but the antique and art business. As always Sandford is able to tie the various seemingly unrelated cases together in rather unique ways.




    One of the things that I like about the Prey series is that Sandford has allowed his primary protagonist, Lucas Davenport to evolve and by that I mean he has allowed him to age and mature. As these novels progress (and `Invisible Prey' is a prime example of this) we find Lucas aging, maybe not so much mentally, but most certainly physically. This is only natural and I like it because I am aging myself and am certainly not the person I was ten, twenty, thirty or forty years ago.




    As always, Sandford has provided us with some despicable villains which must be dealt with. I note that the characters are not as insane or psychopathic as some of his earlier bad guys but this not make them any less evil.




    The story is well written as you would expect from a master story teller of the caliber of Sandford and the plost gives us many twists and turns which keep the pages turning.




    In this particular work very little is written about Lucas's wife which is probably best because in most of the recent novels about all she does is sleep anyway so her absence in this work is more of a blessing than anything. I highly recommend this book as the series has attested so long to it's preceding reputation. 

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A reviewer

    Could Lucas Davenport be stymied, trapped at last? It's a hot summer night, muggy with the threat of a storm, when two men known only as Big and Little gain entry to a Minneapolis mansion inhabited by two elderly women. They're savage in their assault, not only killing but further venting psychotic rage by beating a lifeless body. We read: 'In a second, in three long steps, he was on her again, beating the dead woman with the pipe, heavy impacts shaking the floor.' It seems that this is one crime that may stump Lucas Davenport, but wait. Our relentless investigator has another case on his agenda - a high ranking politician with a penchant for pretty very young things has been accused of satisfying his debauched desires with a teenager. Surely one case has nothing to with the other. It's amazing how Sandford has continued to maintain his high standard with this his 17th Prey novel, yet he has produced another winner. Don't miss it! - Gail Cooke

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great police procedural

    Minneapolis Police Detective Lucas Davenport leads a very sensitive investigation into the activities of Minnesota State Senator Burt Kline allegedly having sex with a minor. The consummate professional cop, Lucas is extremely careful with his handling of the official inquiry because he knows what a mess a media feeding frenzy would be with a politician-Lolita tryst. --- As he prepares to arrest Mr. Kline for sex with a fifteen year old, Lucas also is assigned the murders of wealthy widow Constance Bucher and her maid Sugar Rayette-Peeples in the former¿s mansion. Both were battered to death and the house ransacked. The first thought is a robbery turned ugly, as the affluent home is filled with valuable antiques. However, Lucas realizes that he has no idea whether anything was stolen so perhaps the murders were personal especially with the skulls smashed. As he continues his inquires, he soon finds a strange connection to the sleazy senator scenario, but identifying the killers still remains difficult and convoluted. ---- Though number seventeen in this long running police procedural, INVISIBLE PREY is a fantastic tale in which the two cases are appealing because of the strong key players ranging from victims, suspects, witnesses, ¿vultures¿ and participants, etc. Readers will appreciate Lucas¿ investigations as John Sandford provides his hero with not the usual suspects in what will prove to be a one sitting thriller. ---- Harriet Klausner

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 11, 2012

    This was an interesting read, but ...

    This was an interesting read, but not page-turner suspense for me. I felt that I was being educated about art history & the business of art more than entertained or swept along w/the unfolding story ... & the end-game plot twist was so much more predictable than most J.S. efforts. I liked it, but I was ready for it to be over so I could move on in the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 22, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I highly recommend it to anyone who loves crime/mystery novels!

    John Sanford's 'Invisible Prey' is the 17th installment of his Lucas Davenport series.17th!

    Wow, I can't imagine, I'm only on my second book of my 1st series.

    Wow!

    Anyway, you can't write 17 books about the same character without doing something right. Mr. Sanford has again shown that he has the skills to get this accomplished. The synopsis of the story:

    In the richest neighborhood of Minneapolis, two elderly women lie murdered in their home, killed with a pipe, the rooms tossed, only small items stolen. It is clearly the random work of someone looking for money to buy drugs. But as Davenport looks more closely, he begins to wonder whether the items are actually so small and the victims so random-if there might not be some invisible agenda at work here. Gradually, a pattern begins to emerge, and it leads him to . . . certainly nothing he ever expected. Which is too bad, because the killers-and, yes, there is more than one of them-the killers are expecting him. Brilliantly suspenseful, filled with rich characterization and exciting drama, Invisible Prey is further proof that Sanford is in a class of his own

    As far as I can remember, this is my first reading in the Lucas Davenport series, but it will not be the last. The story of the series of murders that now plague the Twin Cities is well thought out and complete. The characters are believable, with what I think are just the right amount of deviant personality traits within Davenport's own investigators to make it personable and enjoyable.

    I of course wish I had started earlier in the series. Even though the main characters were introduced to the reader when they appeared, I would get lost with some of them as I read through, a common problem when one starts in the middle or the end of a series.

    There are parts of every investigation, both fictional as well as real, that I like to call 'The Long Boring Parts Between the Action' when I am writing. These are the parts of an investigation when the investigator is reading through files or making notes while trying to find a hidden clue or a thread between different crimes. In Invisible Prey, these scenes were laid out efficiently and interestingly, and were not the "anchor around the neck" that some readers find them in other books. To me, this is a very good indication to me of successful writing in this genre, and not an easy piece of writing to pull off, believe me.

    The action of the crimes and the subsequent investigation were well laid out, easily keeping your interest with the deviousness of the criminals and the tenacity of Lucas. Add in the sometimes almost slapstick antics and down-home outlook of the investigators and you end up with a real and thought provoking story.

    As a new writer in this genre, I thoroughly enjoyed this book, and would recommend it to anyone who loves crime/mystery novels.

    JT Lewis

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 24, 2014

    Recommend

    A very good book and easy to read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2014

    I love ¿That Flippin¿ Flowers.¿ He may not be the main show or e

    I love “That Flippin’ Flowers.” He may not be the main show or even a Romeo, but he’s one hilarious bastard. He may need to spend a bit more time at the range, and there’s the distinct possibility he’s more interested in writing and fly fishing than he is detective work, but that just makes him memorable and interesting.

    The usual suspects populate INVISIBLE PREY, so if you’re familiar with Lucas Davenport and Weather and Kidd, you’ll feel right at home. But if this is your first rodeo, then I should probably ask you “Where the hell have you been for the past 25 years?” By my calculations there are 24 Davenport novels and 8 Flowers novels, plus you have the Kidd novels, and yeah, I’m probably missing a few along with some screws.

    The pace jerked me more than a socket wrench; the bodies stacked up faster than a New York City morgue; there were antiques and robberies and a few dichotomies; and smack dab in the middle stood Lucas Davenport in all of his infinite glory. Was it the best Prey novel I’ve ever read? It’s really hard to say, because I’ve read them in spurts and squirts, but it’s a damn good read if you’re into that sort of thing.

    Robert Downs
    Author of Falling Immortality: Casey Holden, Private Investigator

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 13, 2014

    HAMBONE

    First time I have read this author....lt will be the last if the next one is like this with never ending dirty language. The story was good but keepng track of the characters was very difficult. Why authors fail to put a glossary at the start so readers know relatioships to help readers has always baffled me.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2014

    U i ujuoajij

    Yim mJhl
    Junuuznuu uiww
    Juubuuniipbm
    8jigk

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2013

    Very readable.

    One of the best of the Prey series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    Great read!!

    Will keep you womdering from page one what are they up to now.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 12, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another Great Book by a Super Author.

    I will give Mr. Sandford credit for keeping his creative writing skills hone. In my opinion, he did allow himself to fall into the trap of a number of these mass market mystery/thriller authors by just keep cranking out these second rate stories every 2 months.

    In the Invisible Prey, I was impressed with Sandford's ability to bring out the world of art and antiques into the story while weaving in various murders that happened over a number of years. The readers will find Detective Lucas Davenport investigating the Minnesota State Senator Burt Kline. The senator has been accused of having sex with a minor. Special note: the book contains an overly abundance of foul language which I don't care for. I felt the story held its own without the constant splattering of offensive language.

    Overall the characters in the story were well developed and along the way Sandford dropped a sprinkling of humor which I always enjoy in a story. The story is a great beach read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 27, 2010

    I love it

    Great read...I really like the Davenport series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a reader of many genres

    Read the beginning carefully. I didn't and was then surprised later on in the book. I liked the reality of this novel in that not all the people that you like and are good survive to the end. Bad things do happen to good people. And some people just get really, really lucky. I liked the use of invisible in the title because sometimes it's best to hide in plain sight. his was my first John Sandford book and I will read others.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 25, 2009

    another great book by Sandford

    This is only the 3rd book that I have read by Sandford, as I just began reading his stuff. I found the book to be intriguing and a quick read. The plot was great as the ending wasn't given away early in the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2009

    best I have read in a long time

    Loved the book and the subject. Being a quilter it was nice to see them realized as the art they are. This is one of those books you can not put down and do not want it to end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2009

    OK but a little typical

    Not my favorite and I am a big fan. I think the subject matter just didn't call to me. I'll try his next one, though!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Top of the line Sanford

    Unlike so many of the genre, this one gets more than a little quirky and tricky. Fast paced, as all Sandford's favorite detective books are - if you are not familiar with Lucas Daenport and his Porsche - well, get on board and start at the beginning. The wise cracks and general banter add enough relief to tense situations - rather like a chess game, actually. The ending is not expected, which is more than good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 3, 2008

    A bit boring

    I bit boring and far fetched. Sure its about imagination but seriously, this was boring. I love most if not all of the prey books. He is a masterful writer but I really wasnt even sure if the same guy wrote this book. I think the Davenport character is such a good one. He is a tough guy that I have come to look forward to read about. The other characters in this book were a bit beyond the ability for me to enjoy. A pair of nitwit artsy folk who kill on a whim and go on with there day like nothing happened. Its just to much. Once I got past that (wasnt hard, its just a small gripe) then I had to deal with the boring story line. There was just nothing to keep me hooked in this one. While most of the books I have read from Sandford are pretty straight forward and not all full of twists this one just had nothing. There was no twist. Folks killed, they found out who did it and it was done. No thanks, but since I like the series I read it and will read the next one. Hopefully they will get a bit more complicated or at least have a twist or two in the book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2008

    Lucas is getting older!

    A good read but nothing great! Seems to me that John Sanford is stretching for new plots! I'll wait for Phantom Prey to go Paperback before removing him from my 'must read' list. Wonder when he's doing another 'Kidd' novel? Stuart

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 92 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 5