Customer Reviews for

The Invitation

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(11)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2000

    If you want to get to know YOU.

    This is THE book of books. My introduction to this book has changed my perception of the world and myself in it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2004

    Simply Wonderful

    You can NOT read this book in one sitting. The teaching and the life truths that you learn are so emotionally drawing, that you must take reflection breaks. If your heart is hurting and your soul has been crushed - turn to this book for a hope that is shared from the most intimate portions of a woman's pain and joy. It is one of those books where you will be wishing you had read it... 'before' the circumstances in your life tested you beyond belief. The author is a physician of the human spirit - she proposes not only a diagnosis... but cures. She brought me the medicine. Thank you Oriah.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    If your lost this will help you find your way home

    Until, I read this book I thought there to be no hope on my path. I have given myself up so many times to help others achieve their inner most desires. This book gave me the strength to reach inside and unlock so many cages. It will inspire you to balance, it will catapult you into a realm of living you thought only existed in fairy tales. Oriah has shared the very core of her being to heal others and for that she is a blessing but she has choosen not to be in disguise.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2001

    Spiritual Journey to the Edges of Emotion to Find Your Core!

    Ms. Oriah Mountain Dreamer has created a pathway beyond the comforable and the mundane into that which challenges and repels you. By addressing the edges of your personality and sensitivities, you can build on and extend your awareness and your reality in honest ways that better fit your inner self. The book is propelled from the author's emotionally intense vision of her life as expressed in this question: 'Did I love well?' Although her personal examples are simply there to help your own journey, their poignancy touched me deeply. If you are like me, you will admire the honesty and openness of her sharing. Ms. Dreamer has had two failed marriage and many failed relationships. She has had friends who experienced horrible personal setbacks. You will be seared by the pain, the truth, and the beauty in these experiences. And you will be the better for the vicarious experience. Above all, this book is a call to have courage, courage to go beyond the comfortable into the important. Because of the examples chosen and her personal perspective, this book will probably speak more eloquently to many women than to many men. The book is broken down into the statement of her invitation to follow her spiritual path by dealing with longing, fear, sorrow, joy, betrayal, beauty, failure, commitment, and fire to develop the deep sustenance to allows you to go to your true inner home. Each section contains personal experiences of her point, and ends with valuable meditation exercises to help you find your own 'truth' in these areas. Although the book sounds like another New Age tract, it is actually anti-New Age in many ways . . . especially in favoring emotional and physical reality over spiritual vagueness. Here is a little of what she has to say on these subjects: Accepting the Invitation: ' . . . [Y]ou will experience, not just read about, the ache, the sorrow, the joy, the courage, the peace . . . .' The Longing: 'This is what I ask for: intimacy with myself, others, and the world . . . .' The Fear: 'We are afraid we will not be enough.' ' . . . [D]esire . . . brings the ecstasy of falling more deeply in love with my own life every day . . . .' The Sorrow: 'If we are strong enough to be weak enough, we are given a wound that never heals.' '[That wound] is the gift that keeps the heart open.' The Joy: 'The enemy of joy is the litany of 'not good enough' . . . .' The Betrayal: 'Sometimes, to choose life, we must break agreements; sometimes we must keep them although they are hard to keep.' The Beauty: ' . . . [G]ratitude expands my ability to receive beauty.' 'It is what pulls us towards life.' The Failure: ' . . . [O]ften an attempt to avoid the paralysis of shame.' The Commitment: ' . . . [F]eed the children when [they] thought they could not.' The Fire: '[D]ifficult to keep our hearts open, to feel the fear and pain.' Finding Our Way Home: 'Are you willing to meet yourself and not turn away from what you are?' As you can see, Ms. Dreamer sets a high standard, but one that you will probably be proud to match. I particularly recommend the meditations in the book. My own meditation routine repeats the same process. I found it rewarding to use different methods. Many new thoughts occurred to me as a result. It was a deeply moving experience in each case. After you have finished your spiritual journey with this book as a guide, I suggest that you write out your own examples to match these topics from your own experience. This will make the material more accessible, especially if loving well is not your core reason for being. Be yourself, in more ways and more fully! Donald Mitchell, co-author of The Irresistible Growth Enterprise and The 2,000 Percent Solution

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 8, 2000

    A Good Book

    The book is written from the viewpoint of real experience. It is worth the price.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2000

    Thank you for the inspiration

    I was driving the one hour home from work the other night listening to public radio out of washington, DC. There was an interview with Oriah Mountain Dreamer about her book, THE INVITATION, and I was mesmerized. I pulled over, got out a pen and tried to put down some inspiring quotes. I am facilitating a personal growth group for a group of Jewish Women at my temple tonight, 1/9/00. I was searching for ideas to get this diverse group to a more spiritual connection. Suddenly it all fell into place. Instead of going to Sabbath Services that night, I took a detour and went to the book store and found, THE INVITATION. I read for 3 hours and then bought the book. I am reconnecting to my own temporarily lost center as a result of reading it. My husband was even willing to listen to several chapters. It is an important book, so honest, so inspiring. ( I want to contact Oriah to ask about something she said in the interview but cannot find her address on the internet.........can anyone help?)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 5, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 11, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1