Customer Reviews for

Invitation Only (Private Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 146 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(106)

4 Star

(25)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8
  • Posted November 2, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Reviewed by Randstostipher "tallnlankyrn" Nguyen for TeensReadToo.com

    INVITATION ONLY, the second novel in the PRIVATE series, begins where we left off in the first book. Thomas went missing, one of the Billings Girls was expelled, and Reed Brennan finally moved into the dorm she had her eye on when she first came to the private school. But even though Reed was in the Billings house, that didn't exactly mean she was in the clique. <BR/><BR/>Turns out, the Billings Girls had a little hazing present for Reed that would keep her busy. That's right--Reed has to actually do the girls' beds every morning and clean up the dorm. Who knows exactly how long that will last. <BR/><BR/>But that's not the only thing on Reed's mind. Her boyfriend, Thomas Pearce, had just went missing during parents' weekend. And the only possible way that she would be able to see him again is at a social event called the Legacy, held in New York City that apparently Thomas is for sure making an appearance at. The only problem is that Reed has no idea what the Legacy is--but all she is worried about is getting there. Oh, and her new roommate took compromising photos of Reed and a certain someone, and is now using it to blackmail Reed. <BR/><BR/>From finding her boyfriend to overcoming her blackmailer to trying to officially become a Billings Girl, Reed has too much on her plate. <BR/><BR/>It seemed like it would be hard for Kate Brian to top the first book in the PRIVATE series, which was absolutely amazing, but no worries since she does not disappoint. INVITATION ONLY was even better than the first. With even more obstacles that Reed has to face, the story literally leaves the reader at the edge of their seat. And Kate Brian ends the story with another huge cliffhanger. This series definitely tops all the other series out there.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2008

    good book

    love this book

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 19, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Thomas Pearson

    Reed has entered the high-classed, lip-glossed world of the Billings. All of her fairytales are just beginning, but when her boyfriend disappers everything seems to crumble. Will she be strong enough to survive? Could the disappearance of her boyfriend Thomas Pearson be her downfall in the Billings?<BR/>Reed is a normal teen who is just beginning her sophisticated life in Billings. Reed's drive and compassion for Thomas makes her investigate farther into his disappearance. But not everybody at Easton is looking for answers to his disappearance. Could they be hiding something? Her search will eventually lead her into another guy's arms over the lonely Thanksgiving Break, but he could be hiding some skeletons in his closet.<BR/>I loved this book because while Reed was on her journey for the truth I felt like I was right beside her. It was fascinating and kept me on the edge of my seat. It is a fast pace read with tiny cliffhangers at the end of each chapter. This is a book for people who like to be captured into an alternate reality of someone else's life. Will you join Reed on her journey for the truth? Check it out, you wont be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 23, 2014

    Wow

    Love it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2011

    Wow

    Unpredictable

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2010

    greT book i luv this 1

    this was a great book i feel that it wasbetter then the first. but the onlysad part is i semm to forgoten most of the book. how said idk maby u would remember it beter. but any who... a great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    the best book ever

    this book is the best becuase Reed is trying to get into billings, but she doesnt know how, but in the mean time, she is putting everything at risk to try to get in to billings. Even if that includes losing her friends

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2008

    A Knockout Performance

    Again, an outstaning performance from Kate Brian. 5 stars. I love how she describes all the characters. I could really relate to everyone!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2008

    Fabulous!

    What a great series! I've read all the other types of books like this, and I never picked this one up, simply because Private was never on the shelf, and I didn't want to begin a series without reading the first book. Now I know why it was never on the shelf--it's so good they were all sold out! Once I got my hands on the books, I haven't been able to put them down. I'm so excited about the whole series!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 12, 2008

    totally amazing

    I absolute love this series. Reed is is a little timid, but i think she's definitely about to crack! Cried at the end.. Lovely novel i absolutely can not wait to read the next book!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2007

    A reviewer

    FIrst off to say that i have always hates these types of series, they come off to me as snobby, pointless, and annoying. But Kate brian sure changed my mind, this is a great series, its really fast paced, and realistic. The only thing that annoys me is Reed's, (the main character) lack of backbone. I continue reading it just to see when she will snap. Besides that its quite enjoyable, and it doesnot focus on the designer fashion that teh girls are wearing (like De la Cruz's Bbluebloods) It focuses on the main character, and her reasons i guess to be there.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2008

    A reviewer

    Oh my gosh i loved the first book and I can not wait to find out what happens in the second!!! I can't believe what happened to Thomas

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 22, 2007

    a reviewer

    INVITATION ONLY, the second novel in the PRIVATE series, begins where we left off in the first book. Thomas went missing, one of the Billings Girls was expelled, and Reed Brennan finally moved into the dorm she had her eye on when she first came to the private school. But even though Reed was in the Billings house, that didn¿t exactly mean she was in the clique. Turns out, the Billings Girls had a little hazing present for Reed that would keep her busy. That¿s right--Reed has to actually do the girls¿ beds every morning and clean up the dorm. Who knows exactly how long that will last. But that¿s not the only thing on Reed¿s mind. Her boyfriend, Thomas Pearce, had just went missing during parents¿ weekend. And the only possible way that she would be able to see him again is at a social event called the Legacy, held in New York City that apparently Thomas is for sure making an appearance at. The only problem is that Reed has no idea what the Legacy is--but all she is worried about is getting there. Oh, and her new roommate took compromising photos of Reed and a certain someone, and is now using it to blackmail Reed. From finding her boyfriend to overcoming her blackmailer to trying to officially become a Billings Girl, Reed has too much on her plate. It seemed like it would be hard for Kate Brian to top the first book in the PRIVATE series, which was absolutely amazing, but no worries since she does not disappoint. INVITATION ONLY was even better than the first. With even more obstacles that Reed has to face, the story literally leaves the reader at the edge of their seat. And Kate Brian ends the story with another huge cliffhanger. This series definitely tops all the other series out there. **Reviewed by: Randstostipher 'tallnlankyrn' Nguyen

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2007

    Wow! Get ready to become addicted

    Wow! This whole series is outstanding. I highly recommend this for teenage girls... Its like a cross between The Clique and Gossip Girl. It's filled with plot twists and my friends and I seriously love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2007

    amazinggly awsomee

    okay this book was amazinggly awsoemee. i was like hooked on it and i once i was like on chapter 3 i couldn't put it down and i can't wait to read the next one. These books are beyond brilliant

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2007

    GREAT!!!!!

    This book kept you on end at all times! It holds onto you until you read the whole thing! I am a slow reader, but read this book in 7 hours! It was AWESOME!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    I absolutely luv this book

    Yes this book was awesome i couldnt put it down but i didnt want her to forget about thomas i mean in the first book they seemed so perfect but anyway this book is a must read as welll as the first one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2007

    I LUV THIS BOOK

    I luv this book. I read in lyk a day!!!! I would recommend this to anyone.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2007

    Great Book!!

    I thought this book was great! Anyone who likes a twisted up world of secrets, fashion, wealth, and drama would love this book, and series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2007

    BEST BOOK EVER

    OMG!Ijust finished the second book and even cried alittle when Thomse die. I never saw that coming! Anyway you have to read these books they r the best things written. I can't wait to read the next one I look at the other reviews and the book sounds so exciting! I JUST CAN'T WAIT!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 146 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 8