Customer Reviews for

An Invitation to Sin

Average Rating 3.5
( 23 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted June 14, 2014

    Not the best researched book on the subject of art, but I really

    Not the best researched book on the subject of art, but I really liked Zachary and Caroline. So, if ou enjoy romance novels with humor, you should like this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2012

    SLYTHERIN

    House of the sly and those who know how to get their way.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Felt Like a 4-H Lesson

    This book had some really good moments and then some extra stuff that dragged on too long. When the story was about the two main characters it was good but dealing with all her stupid sisters and talking about cows was a little long winded. It wasn't bad but it wasn't great either.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    a decent way to pass the time

    this book is by no means a masterpiece.... but then, its packaging includes copious amounts of satin drapery and a salacious view of a gartered stocking, so was i really expecting literary prowess? hm, perhaps not. as one reviewer pointed out, the book does attribute the famous painting of the Mona Lisa to Michaelangelo rather than Leonardo da Vinci. there are also some rather farfetched (or perhaps i should say under-reasearched) descriptions of paints, techniques, and supplies, and i'll admit that i did roll my eyes and mumble a little, but it hardly stopped me from reading. enoch is comfortable in her niche - this story is entertaining, the writing is good and the dialogue often witty. yes, the large family of giggling daughters, silly mother, and eccentric father are a cop off of Pride and Prejudice, but it's more homage than theft. caroline is at least believable (more than one can say for most romance heroines) and while she does dither a bit, she does so for our enjoyment. zachrey is set up to be the least decisive of the Griffin children and comes across as just such. its refreshing to have a 'hero' who isn't beating anyone over the head with his heroics - no runaway carraiges, no clandestine rescues, but an honest (well, perhaps 'contrived' would fit better) maturing makes him far more enjoyable than the grunting, alpha-male Thor-prototypes one usually finds. this novel is never going to be a rousing narrative of personal growth, or a shining example of high writing, but it is enjoyable. and funny. and, when all you want is a means of escape from an exhausting, boring day, that's really you need, isn't it?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2006

    Inaccurate and Boring

    An awful book! This book proclaims Michelangelo to be the painter of the Mona Lisa. I may not be an art history buff, but between common knowledge and the Da Vincci Code, the mistake is glaring. If you can ignore that repetitive falsehood, you remain uninterested in the content. But, do not be discouraged from all Enoch's books! Her novels on Samantha Jellicoe are hilarious and overall a better piece of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2006

    Very Disappointing

    Having enjoyed all of Ms. Enoch's previous books, I was eager to read this sequel to Sin and Sensibility for another look at the Griffin family. Unfortunately, this tale of the youngest Griffin brother, Lord Zachary, and his involvement with the Witfeld family of Wiltshire (consisting of seven unmarried sisters, their hen-witted mother and long suffering father - shades of Pride and Prejudice!) did not live up to my expectations. Jane Austen didn't bother to do a sequel to the Bennett family and I hope Ms Enoch will not reprise the Witfelds. The only thing worse than this story would be to pair up the elder brother, Sebastian, Duke of Melbourne, with Caroline's 17-year old sister Anne. His 6-year old daughter deserves an adult stepmother!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2006

    BORING

    I've read everything Enouch writes but this was by far the worst of any book I have ever read. The 6 silly sister siblings were only matched by the 7th oldest sister-she was so boring and tedious and non-decisive it was painful to read. The hero wasn't one and the only inspiring adult character was a 6 year old! The story plodded along slower than the farm horses. Can't say enough about this book -unfortunately.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    terrific Regency romance

    Lord Zachary Griffin accompanies his aunt on a trek to the Whitfield home where six marriage aged daughters reside. The sisters enjoy his company as Zachary is kind to each one. That is the siblings appreciate the young handsome gentleman¿s thoughtfulness except Caroline who sees the virtues of his body she wants to use Zachary as a model to finish a portrait that she believes will provide her admittance to attend an art academy. --- As Zachary tutors the young ladies in the art of men, he has his most fun with the serious Caroline teasing her with sensual innuendoes and images to whet her carnal appetite as he poses for her painting. As they talk and share desires and dreams they begin to fall in love, but she has her heart set on art school not a husband unless he can complete his courting of the reluctant artist. --- This is a terrific Regency romance starring a wonderful kindhearted hero, an intriguing hard to catch female and her sisters who want to dine with Zachary as the main course. The humorous story line is character driven with the sisters, each unique, adding escapades and depth to the relationship between the lead pair. Readers will enjoy this charming courtship and look forward to more sisterly escapades. --- Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 4, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 23 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2