Customer Reviews for

Iodine

Average Rating 3
( 10 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(4)

4 Star

(0)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Gripping and intense!

Haven Kimmel's lastest book, Iodine, is a sharp, gripping read! It is the story of Trace, a young college student, who is slowly going mad. Other books I have read on the subject of madness left me mostly confused and with no other strong emotion. Iodine is truly terrif...
Haven Kimmel's lastest book, Iodine, is a sharp, gripping read! It is the story of Trace, a young college student, who is slowly going mad. Other books I have read on the subject of madness left me mostly confused and with no other strong emotion. Iodine is truly terrifying as it follows every twist of Trace's life. I felt like I was right there with her trying to make sense of a world slowly losing focus. I was breathless waitng for the end which came with an explosive and shocking surprise. Don't expect the redemptive ending of Kimmel's 'Solace of Leaving Early'. This is a seering look at madness.

posted by Anonymous on August 6, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Disappointing

I was so disappointed with this book. I don't want to give too much away - but I got the impression that the writer got tired and just quickly came up with very typical solutions. Nothing earth-shattering.....no twists.

posted by Anonymous on September 5, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2008

    Disappointing

    I was so disappointed with this book. I don't want to give too much away - but I got the impression that the writer got tired and just quickly came up with very typical solutions. Nothing earth-shattering.....no twists.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 29, 2008

    Page Turning Brilliance. LOVE Kimmel. LOVE HER.

    This book grabs you by the throat and does not let you go until you regretfully reach the final page. It's every bit as funny and original and smart as Kimmel's previous bestsellers, but this one has a psychological thriller twist that amps up the voltage considerably. I don't know of another writer who conjures such deeply interesting characters-- or one whose ear for fresh, brilliant dialogue is as keen. There were many times during this novel when I had to just clutch my heart and GASP. The ingenuity and originality of Kimmel's writing style transfers itself nimbly to her characters -- Candy, Trace, her mad relatives --- ALL of these people seemed absolutely real to me and I CARED about them. Forget the flashy, superficial women and men that seem to people other popular novels -- this story is gritty yet intelligent, with wonderful tension, hilarious and shocking scenes, and moments of mental and spiritual enlightenment. I was so sad to see it end. It's very hard to describe a Haven Kimmel book to the uninitiated...but her stellar reviews, massive grass roots popularity and the fact that A GIRL NAMED ZIPPY was a Today Show Pick and that her books have been New York Times Bestsellers is a testament to her great gifts. AND YET. Don't expect this novel to be a copy of any of her earlier works, because Kimmel is constantly surprising and growing as a voice in American literature. She's a national treasure, is all. I can recommend ALL of her books to everyone regardless of gender, age, or personality. Kimmel is genuine and rare: a genuis storyteller and a brilliant wordsmith - one who never loses sight of her audience or gets in the way of her tales of life in the heartland. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED and worth the wait!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2008

    Gripping and intense!

    Haven Kimmel's lastest book, Iodine, is a sharp, gripping read! It is the story of Trace, a young college student, who is slowly going mad. Other books I have read on the subject of madness left me mostly confused and with no other strong emotion. Iodine is truly terrifying as it follows every twist of Trace's life. I felt like I was right there with her trying to make sense of a world slowly losing focus. I was breathless waitng for the end which came with an explosive and shocking surprise. Don't expect the redemptive ending of Kimmel's 'Solace of Leaving Early'. This is a seering look at madness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2009

    Read all her books but this one

    This is not her best book....read all the others.....don't waste time or money on this one! I don't even look at her books when they come out....I just automatically buy them. All have been excellent but this one.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 11, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    I don't get it!

    Maybe I'm not just not on the right level to understand this book. I honestly just don't get it. I felt like I was in a Twin Peaks time warp...where you don't know what's going on, what's real, who's who and why. The characters did seem interesting, but I couldn't just couldn't follow the story enough to remain interested. In fact, I couldn't even tell you the plot of this book if I wanted to. Maybe I need to give it a second and more thoroughly read...I don't know. I will give Kimmel credit for her skillful and intriguing writing style, but it wasn't enough to keep me reading. I've read about this author and have gathered that her other books are way different and better than Iodine, so maybe I will pick up a couple of them and see if I like those any better. I didn't care for this one much at all!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    will read multiple times

    unlike anything i have ever read, amazing, i cannot stop thinking about this book, it has many layers and makes me want to research psychology and alien abductions. this novel wraps you up and carries you into a story you can't put down and will reread as soon as you finish.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 25, 2008

    What a joke

    This book was a huge waste of time. When I wasn't depressed, I was irritated at the main character's unjustified sense of self-importance. I also thought the author's incorporation of animal oriented crimes was a bit prolific of mid-western communities. It might be interesting to those who aren't sensetive to animals, and who confuse idiocy for taste.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 10, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    This book was an AWESOME thought provocking book.

    If you don't like to think, don't read this book. This book was amazing in the fact that you have to dig down deep to get the real meaning of the book. Many people I've noticed have said how horrible this book is, but that is because they didn't understand it. I am not one to read a book two or three times, but I have read this book about five times, and I STILL LOVE IT. Every time I read it Something else I didn't see or notice pops up, making the meaning of the book make so much more sense. READ this book, think about it , and I promise you will love it. If you still need help understanding it go to http://havenkimmel.wordpress.com/2008/10/09/iodine-discussion-open-season-on-the-author/

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 12, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Absolutely Horrible!

    So I was at the library and I checked this book out. The description mad eit sound good. The first line of the book made it sound good. "I would have, I have had sex with my father if he allowed it." < Yes, quite interesting. What a good hook. But when I actually began reading there was only one word I could describe it as: BORING! I actually didn't even finish it. I gave up in the middle of the book because I found it so boring. Please do not waste your money on this book. Trust me, you WILL regret it.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 10 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1