Customer Reviews for

Iowa

Average Rating 4.5
( 75 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(54)

4 Star

(13)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

awesome album by slipknot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

another awesome album by slipknot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by TheHalfBloodPrinceRises on March 25, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

amazing album by slipknot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

amazing from begining to end!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

posted by TwilightSagaSucksForever on March 10, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Posted March 25, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    awesome album by slipknot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    another awesome album by slipknot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    slipknot is legend

    slipknot has made an empire bigger and stronger than any other band before the legendary IOWA was even released. Their music has power, and their lyrics mean something, they don't whine about politics and do nothing about it but get grammies (*cough* green day *cough). Amazing guitar work and drumming by mick, jim, chris, and shawn. corey taylor's voice is unbelievably crisp. Every member puts his heart into making the music that means something. Sid, Joey, Paul, Chris, Jim, Craig, Shawn, mick and corey are all gods now

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2012

    simply the best!

    this album is the best slipknot album to date. every song is absolutely awesome. any time i find myself in a bad mood i just blast this f666a and bang my head. the lyrics are so dark and twisted, but thats what makes it soooo goooood. a definate buy for any metal fan.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 23, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    a amazing album by slipknot!!!!!!!!!!!

    a awesome second studio album by slipknot!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    a very awesome second studio album by slipknot

    one very awesome second studio album by slipknot this album has everything a juggalo or jugalette or metalhead could ever ask for this album is awesome but this album is not for teens or tweens slipknot curses alot and parents could never understand slipknot same goes with dark lotus icp abk boondox twiztid everything i listen has cursing in it one way or another besides buy this album and the reissued debut album by slipknot

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    one of the greatest slipknots cds around

    i love slipknot i own all of their albums but i gotta say this is their best album yet this album got slipknot to summer sonic festival in 2001 but they made lots of groundbreaking perfomances when this album came out this album is true thrash metal and also its also true metal to the core slipknot please make more albums like iowa

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    greatest Slipknot cd ever made

    The is has to be one of the bst Slipknot Cd's ever made by Slipknot. All the songs on the cd have great rhyme and the vocals of Cory Taylor are astounding. The beats in the songs are the best metal rock I have ever heard in a long time. The cd has great songs including " New Abortion" and " My Plague". The songs have there seperate beat,you will never hear the same beat twice. This cd is a step up from there self-titled cd Slipknot-Slpknot. With these songs you can listen to them over and over again and still have a appresiation for Slipknot Iowa. Slipknot's lyrics are great, The whole Slipknot band is great.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Slipknot

    Slipknot-Iowa is one of my personal favorite albums. The songs are very touching, and the music is really great. Slipknot is one of my favorite bands, Iowa is a very impressing album without a doubt. Some songs I like are "My Plague", "Skin Ticket", and "People = S***"

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Slipknot the kings of metal

    The most anticipated metal release of 2001, Iowa is one of the best metal albums ive ever heard. Heres a song by song review: 1-(515)-3 stars- a weird screaming track that only lasts for about a minute, but it starts off the album well. 2-People=S**t-5 stars-screaming intro and goes into avery headbanging metal riff. Chorus is the only letdown of this song. 3-Disasterpiece-4 stars-a good song but the bridge is repetitive 4-My Plague-5 stars-the second single off the album great verse and a singing chorus-great song 5-Everything Ends-4 stars-slow opening of the chorus but gets better until the bridge which is a letdown 6-Heretic anthem-3 stars-the most overrated song on the album that is pretty botring 7-Gently-4 stars-haunting track that slows down the pace after the other songs 8-Left Behind-5 stars-the least heaviest track on the album is also the first single. Does get boring after a while however. 9-The Shape-5 stars- has an excellent chorus riff and a haunting verse. Great headbanging track 10-I Am Hated-5 stars-There's rap all through the verse but the chorus is very heavy and another good headbanging track 11-Skin Ticket-3 stars-A bit like Gently but not as good 12-New Abortion-4 stars-A good song but people say it's a lot better than it actually is. The bridge is a bit boring. 13-Metabolic-5 stars-The chorus is a bit boring but the verses and th bridge are inspired with some of the best riffs on the album. 14-Iowa-3 stars-15 minutes of haunting music and screaming that makes you wait for the climax to come but it never does. I would recommend this to fans of all metal genres but be warned-its not for everyone. Sample the tracks before you buy it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Slipknot = Rage

    Really Angry Album. I love it! Especially tracks "My Plague", "People = ...", "I Am Hated", "Disasterpiece", "The Heretic Anthem" and "Left Behind" touch me. They remind me of my own life situation. The vocalist has a good, strong voice.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SlipKnoT Kicks ass!

    I Love Slipknot there lyrics actually mean something and Corey has a great voice I Loved this Albums My personal favs are Disasterpiece, and Left Behind! I wanna Slit you Throat and F8ck the wound, I wanna push my face in and feel the swoon, I wanna dig inside find a little bit of me, Cause the line gets crossed when You dont come clean.My wormwood meets your pesticide, you can never get out cuz you were never alive!Thats just a sample of Disasterpiece off of Slipknots Iowa I love Slipknot and I hope you do too If u feel the same way or have any questions about slipknot feel free to drop me by an email or Im me! I love ya Bye My maggots!Blessed be

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Slipknot returns

    At first I really did not like the album but it eventually grew on me till I thought it was way better than the first. Iowa was definitly worth the wait. I saw them in concert in San Jose and I thought they were excellant. Every song on Iowa has a incredible beat with dope lyrics. Great album

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    slipknot rocks

    I love slipknot and everything theyve done. I even went to germany to get the german import cd. But i still say selftitled slipknot cd is alot better than iowa but thats my opinon

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    SLIPKNOT RULEZZZZZZZZ

    Iowa is the best cd I ever heard

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    slipknot does it again

    I saw Slipknot on Conan O'brien. THey performed Heretic anthem and it blew me away it was amazing. They put on a good show and the cd is even better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Slipknot has just gotten better!

    I Love The New Cd!I loved the last one but somehow they where able to top the last album. I give it a Five most Definetly. SLIPKNOT FOR LIFE!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Perfection in Exprecion

    Can the guys say want they want? Are you kidding me? As you litsen to this album from the begining, you are taken deep behind their mask until you get to their views and how they see the world as it really is. This album surpasses their debut album! I'm litsening to it right now and I feel like a maggot. The song ''I AM HATED'' is interresting cuz I can relate 100%. Many of this songs I can see teen relating to. Also the guyz have sent out messeges. Like the CD's booklet says... ''This has never been a popularity contest...Slipknot has never been into name-dropping... this album is dedicated to our crazy fans and maggots all over the world.'' This album is really ours. THANKZ SLIPKNOT! Hope to see you on my B-Day in Rosemont, IL! You have all of my support :)

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    If you saw them play on Late Night w/ Conan O'Brian, then you already know Its gonna be a badass album..

    I saw the good ol' boys of Slipknot play on Conan a few nights ago and all I can say is.....well nothing. It left me speachless cuz I havent ever seen a group of human beings exert that much force in a song before.....DAMN...as a maggot, I'd like to say that slipknot in my opinion is a great artisic force and a perfect outword manifestation of the hatred we all have pent up inside somewhere....

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Very Top-Notch Stuff!

    I must admit: I can understand why some may not understand where a band like Slipknot is coming from. For the rest of us, we know that this band is about agression. The same kind of aggression found from bands like Slayer, Pantera and many other pioneers, mixing full-on thrash metal with catchy riffs. ''Iowa'' is definitely no exception. If you like your music abrasive, Slipknot delivers. However, this music has a plethora of hooks! ''Heretic Song'' is a definite nod to the thrash bands of the mid 90's. ''Left Behind'' is a keeper as well. Slipknot may have come along with many new metal bands, but their roots definitely come from the forerunners of power metal! As a metal purist, I say more power to them!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2010

    Incredible

    Slipknot knows 1000 different to rock us and this album uses everyone of them. This album is absolutely incredible and every hevy metal fan should own it. I saw these guys at the ozzfest and they were crazy. SLIPKOT RULES!!!!! BLINK182 SUCKS!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 54 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3