Customer Reviews for

Iqbal

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book!

"...Every day in Pakistan seven million children get up in the dark before dawn. They work all day..." Iqbal is about a little boy who works at a carpet factory. The story is told from the perspective of a little girl named Fatima who has been working in the factory for...
"...Every day in Pakistan seven million children get up in the dark before dawn. They work all day..." Iqbal is about a little boy who works at a carpet factory. The story is told from the perspective of a little girl named Fatima who has been working in the factory for as long as she remembers. If the children mess up they have to sit in a tomb with no food and water. This story is about child labor. It taught me many things, mostly how horrible child labor is, how it only takes one little girl or little boy to change something, how important working together is, and how quickly people can give up. I never thought that in other places people work children sometimes harder than adults. It inspired me to help these people but, mostly to be thankful for the life that I do have. I couldn't imagine working in labor like that for every day of my life. I loved all the charters in this book. Maria was my favorite though because she is such a tiny girl but yet she made a huge influence in the safety of the children. Everyone has an excuse for not doing something but, everyone can do there part in something. I thought the most interesting character was Karim. He was basically put in charge of the group of workers. I was always waiting and very surprised to see his reaction to things that came up. Weather he would take the masters side or the kid's side. There was pressure on him either way he went. The master would get him in trouble or blame everything on him or he would disappoint the children. There wasn't any part that I didn't enjoy in the book. This book grossed me out because the children were put through just horrible situations for example when they went in the tomb. They would come back falling over because they were so hungry or the sunlight blinded them. Something that really made me sad is that Iqbal told the children that they would probably never be freed. I'm not sure why or how that happens but the master gets the kids hope up every day.

I would defiantly recommend this book for anyone. It is easy reading and very interesting. I couldn't put the book down. Although, the end was a little confusing for me. I really wish there was a second book. I want to see what happens!

posted by Cougar_H on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly true story

I can't believe this is based on a true story. Makes you think how lucky you are to be free from bonded labor. Read the book, it will change your perspective.

posted by codecracker13 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted March 1, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing book!

    "...Every day in Pakistan seven million children get up in the dark before dawn. They work all day..." Iqbal is about a little boy who works at a carpet factory. The story is told from the perspective of a little girl named Fatima who has been working in the factory for as long as she remembers. If the children mess up they have to sit in a tomb with no food and water. This story is about child labor. It taught me many things, mostly how horrible child labor is, how it only takes one little girl or little boy to change something, how important working together is, and how quickly people can give up. I never thought that in other places people work children sometimes harder than adults. It inspired me to help these people but, mostly to be thankful for the life that I do have. I couldn't imagine working in labor like that for every day of my life. I loved all the charters in this book. Maria was my favorite though because she is such a tiny girl but yet she made a huge influence in the safety of the children. Everyone has an excuse for not doing something but, everyone can do there part in something. I thought the most interesting character was Karim. He was basically put in charge of the group of workers. I was always waiting and very surprised to see his reaction to things that came up. Weather he would take the masters side or the kid's side. There was pressure on him either way he went. The master would get him in trouble or blame everything on him or he would disappoint the children. There wasn't any part that I didn't enjoy in the book. This book grossed me out because the children were put through just horrible situations for example when they went in the tomb. They would come back falling over because they were so hungry or the sunlight blinded them. Something that really made me sad is that Iqbal told the children that they would probably never be freed. I'm not sure why or how that happens but the master gets the kids hope up every day.

    I would defiantly recommend this book for anyone. It is easy reading and very interesting. I couldn't put the book down. Although, the end was a little confusing for me. I really wish there was a second book. I want to see what happens!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Quick read.

    What a sad but couragous short story. Iqbal's bravery is outstanding. There are very few people like him. A very inspirational story.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2011

    The brave Iqbal

    In Packistan where they live the is bonded child labor fatima works at a carpet factory when iqbal comes he changes there lives forever he escapes to go get help and fatima and iqbal have a strong friendship then i misfortune happens and then maria writes to fatima ro tell her but there is an iqbal everywhere she learns. This is the kind of book when u get into u want to still read it. There are sad and happy parts and the ending is the best. Enjoy reading

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2013

    SAD

    So sad you will not cry.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 6, 2009

    Totally gnarly

    I loved it but very depressing

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    The Story of Iqbal

    Iqbal Masih appeared at the workshop changing Fatima¿s, a young Pakistani girl¿s life forever. In the workshop there are child laborers working to clear their family¿s debt. Hussain Khan, their master, promises that the lines on their slate are their family¿s debt and that each line is a rupee. According to how well they do on their carpets, they get a rupee removed from their slate When they get all their lines removed, they¿re free from debt and they can go home. Well Iqbal, has been sold from one master to another, so he¿s very experienced. He explains to them that even though the master removes a rupee, Hussain Khan plans to keep them forever. As he continues to work in the workshop, his courage shines and that¿s why Fatima¿s life is changed forever. Though having to be put in a tomb for several days, Iqbal continued to run away to get help to free the children in his workshop from slavery. He inspired many children throughout his life and he had a huge impact on children, working in child labor. Iqbal¿s name will live on forever and be a symbol, showing the battle he went through to try and free every single child from the slavery and labor they were in. I liked this book because it showed me that my life is really good because I don¿t have to pay off my families debt and be put in slavery and child labor. This book shows me that it doesn¿t matter if you¿re young or old, you still can inspire people and have an impact on them. One thing I didn¿t like about the book was that it was a little choppy and boring at the beginning and middle of the book. It really starts to get interesting closer to the end, I think. This book is also pretty sad but you end the book having a good spirit, knowing that this person Iqbal inspired children in labor, even though he was only thirteen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    A depressing but interesting book! You will not be able to put it down!

    Iqbal Hussain Khan is the appalling master of the Pakistani carpet factory where young children are sold into slavery to pay off their family¿s debt. In this factory, children are abused by being sent into tombs filled with bugs and rodents for days when they don¿t obey their master. Children who are held there like Fatima, have no hope for redeeming their parent¿s debt until Iqbal arrives, which changes the children¿s life forever. Iqbal has no fear and stands up to Hussain like the master has no more power than Iqbal himself. It is up to Fatima, Iqbal and the rest of the children to stand up to their rights and fight through until they are free, or be slaves for the rest of their life. Iqbal, is a great story because it demonstrates the high quality in the description of the labor and is also from a view by a recluse but interesting character. I took pleasure from the fact that it was written from Fatima¿s (slave worker) point of view. This was interesting because it demonstrated the feelings of slaves and also how it feels to be rescued and how brave you have to be to disobey your master and finally be set free. I also liked the way the author described the characters because I could see and feel the difference of the way the children looked and felt before in the factory and also afterward in the Labor Liberation Front Headquarters. In the book I enjoyed the way Maria would write Fatima letters to her home about what was happening at the Headquarters and Iqbal¿s awards. At the end of the book I liked the way the author explained how Iqbal died. I was also fond of the way the author put the news in the letter because that showed the connection between Maria and Fatima and because it showed Maria¿s point of view of the tragic death.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Iqbal Review

    Everyday, at the break of dawn, workers file listlessly into Hussain Kahn¿s carpet factory. These workers labor, chained to their looms for the entire day, they deal with harsh conditions and they are all children. It¿s a tough life, but Fatima and the other laborers remember anything else. Until, that is, Iqbal came. He was brave brave enough to change what they thought was their fate. This book had it¿s moments when you felt like you were weaving right next to them, all of their hands sharing the same burning blisters that peppered your fingers. It also had moments when you had to force yourself to keep reading and suddenly the book became a chore instead of a pleasure. I thought the cause was worthy, 'it is based on the real life of a child slave and her escape to freedom', but the literature undulated for being amazing to extremely boring and lifeless.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 11 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1