Customer Reviews for

Iqbal

Average Rating 4.5
( 45 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(26)

4 Star

(11)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Amazing book!

"...Every day in Pakistan seven million children get up in the dark before dawn. They work all day..." Iqbal is about a little boy who works at a carpet factory. The story is told from the perspective of a little girl named Fatima who has been working in the factory for...
"...Every day in Pakistan seven million children get up in the dark before dawn. They work all day..." Iqbal is about a little boy who works at a carpet factory. The story is told from the perspective of a little girl named Fatima who has been working in the factory for as long as she remembers. If the children mess up they have to sit in a tomb with no food and water. This story is about child labor. It taught me many things, mostly how horrible child labor is, how it only takes one little girl or little boy to change something, how important working together is, and how quickly people can give up. I never thought that in other places people work children sometimes harder than adults. It inspired me to help these people but, mostly to be thankful for the life that I do have. I couldn't imagine working in labor like that for every day of my life. I loved all the charters in this book. Maria was my favorite though because she is such a tiny girl but yet she made a huge influence in the safety of the children. Everyone has an excuse for not doing something but, everyone can do there part in something. I thought the most interesting character was Karim. He was basically put in charge of the group of workers. I was always waiting and very surprised to see his reaction to things that came up. Weather he would take the masters side or the kid's side. There was pressure on him either way he went. The master would get him in trouble or blame everything on him or he would disappoint the children. There wasn't any part that I didn't enjoy in the book. This book grossed me out because the children were put through just horrible situations for example when they went in the tomb. They would come back falling over because they were so hungry or the sunlight blinded them. Something that really made me sad is that Iqbal told the children that they would probably never be freed. I'm not sure why or how that happens but the master gets the kids hope up every day.

I would defiantly recommend this book for anyone. It is easy reading and very interesting. I couldn't put the book down. Although, the end was a little confusing for me. I really wish there was a second book. I want to see what happens!

posted by Cougar_H on March 1, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

Shockingly true story

I can't believe this is based on a true story. Makes you think how lucky you are to be free from bonded labor. Read the book, it will change your perspective.

posted by codecracker13 on May 20, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2013

    Best book ever

    So great

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2012

    I love it

    It is a very touching book and teaches a lot about child labor. I recomend it to young adults or children who are interested in the subject. It is sad that iqbal died but we all believe what iqbal did was mostly right.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2013

    &spades &hearts &spades

    &#37361 &#22538 &#28591 &#8555058

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 16, 2013

    The book was amazing i loved the stiry and passion and bravery and confidence in the characters

    LOVED IT

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Iqbal

    This is a sad book. But it is also an amazing book about slavery and it is cute how they want to help the other children who need help becominng free from their master's . Its a great book, you should read it .

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2012

    If i could put more stars i would

    Omg this book is the best book i have ever read it is a huge life leson for young one and not so young one i read this book in school for a novel swap we did ad even though this is a ttrue yet sad stoy the book is telling it happens all across the world even in america and it might even be happing right where u live and ues its haping right now as u are reading this so read iqbal to see what i talking aboit an se if can find a way to help these poor children so read and tell me how u liked it thanks

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Iqbal

    Wonderful

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Sad

    Did you know he died Easter Sunday?He did.

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 16, 2011

    Amazing

    Can't belive this actually happened. Great book

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 11, 2011

    Awesome Book

    I read this book in one of my classes last year and i loved it, and i still do. Its an awesome book. Its also very sad. And my teacher said when we watched the movie that he had dreamy eyes, and she was right. He does have dreamy eyes.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 24, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    amazing

    This is a hard book to read because of the images and the ending but it is absolutly outstanding.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 10, 2008

    iqbal

    BEST BOOK EVER

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 29, 2008

    Iqbal

    Iqbal, a worker for a carpet factory, all brave, all nice, and very willing to help. He was the one who made the most beautiful carpet and ripped it. To the tomb he was sent, but with all his friends¿ help, sneaking out at night and bringing him leftover food, he came out alive. He was the one that ran away that promised Fatima, his best friend they will fly a kite in spring, and he did it. He made a difference to all the children slaves that was sent to pay off the family¿s debt by setting them free one factory at a time. An outstanding novel, I say. For all the slaves, Iqbal made a difference. The amazing non-stop writing gave strong emotions and feelings. The descriptions of the workers¿ lives were unbelievable described. This book, Iqbal made me think differently about the slaves that had once been set free by a 12 year old boy¿. and his name was Iqbal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Iqbal

    Iqbal¿s story is told from the point of view of Fatima, one of Iqbal¿s fellow child laborers. Iqbal is a child of less than thirteen when he is brought to Hussian Khan¿s Carpet Factory. The children there are treated horribly. Some are even chained to their looms. Before Iqbal¿s arrival, all the children accepted their fate, but he gave them hope. Now they must escape. I enjoyed this book. I liked how author Francisco D¿Adamo develops Iqbal¿s character. Iqbal is not new to child labor so he is not afraid of Hussian Khan. Even after he is severely punished he still has the determination to escape and free his friends. D¿Adamo has done a great job of describing what life was like before and after Iqbal¿s arrival. Before Iqbal came there was a false hope that each child would pay off their debt, and the children always did what Hussian Khan told them to do relatively quickly. Iqbal removed the false hope and replaced it with the real hope that they could escape. D¿Adamo is also great at portraying moods and feelings. I enjoyed how she described Hussian Khan when he was angry. ¿His face was red and the swollen veins in his neck looked ready to burst.¿ I also enjoyed how she described all the other child slaves in the factory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    The best book ever!!! Outstanding work of art!!!

    For an individual assignment, I read a book called Iqbal. It is about a young girl who is a slave in a carpet factory with other children. They are sold to pay of debts by their parents who are told they will come home when they pay off the family¿s debt. But the children never come back. The children always lose hope, and they are never released. Fatima, the young girl is just the same. Until Iqbal comes. Iqbal tells them the truth, that they will never be released. The children at the factory vowed to escape once and for all. Iqbal ran away twice, and on the second time he brought with him a man, and the man freed all the children. All the children except Fatima and Maria left to find they¿re family. Fatima and Maria stayed with Iqbal and helped free more children from factories. They had become freedom fighters. Eventually, Iqbal decided to go to America. He wanted to be lawyer so he could free even more children. Fatima and Maria decided to go to their families. After Fatima had been living with her family for a while, she got a letter from Maria. Iqbal had been killed. Children would keep being freed, though, and Iqbal would live in their hearts. I really liked this book and I think it was written really well. It¿s descriptive, interesting, and it keeps you going. Some books are just incredibly boring and the writing is clunky. Iqbal wasn¿t one of them. I thought the writing was rather eloquent, and it didn¿t make the book a task rather than entertainment. The plot was great as well. I liked how they keep plotting to escape, and I especially like when little Maria suddenly talks, and reveals she knows how to read. That part was key in helping Iqbal escape. It was realistic and fictional at the same time, and I liked that combination. It managed to make me sympathize with slaves, and made me angry with the master of the factory and made me happy when the slaves escaped. Basically it was a really well written book. It had a nice style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Iqbal

    Iqbal Iqbal¿s story is told from the point of view of Fatima, one of Iqbal¿s fellow child laborers. Iqbal is a child of less than thirteen when he is brought to Hussian Khan¿s Carpet Factory. The children there are treated horribly. Some are even chained to their looms. Before Iqbal¿s arrival, all the children accepted their fate, but he gave them hope. Now they must escape. I enjoyed this book. I liked how author Francisco D¿Adamo develops Iqbal¿s character. Iqbal is not new to child labor so he is not afraid of Hussian Khan¿s. Even after he is severely punished he still has the determination to escape and free his friends. D¿Adamo has done a great job of describing what life was like before and after Iqbal¿s arrival. Before Iqbal came there was a false hope that each child would pay off their debt, and the children always did what Hussian Khan¿s told them to do relatively quickly. Iqbal removed the false hope and replaced it with the real hope that they could escape. D¿Adamo is also great at portraying moods and feelings. I enjoyed how she described Hussian Khan¿s when he was angry. ¿His face was red and the swollen veins in his neck looked ready to burst.¿ I also enjoyed how she described all the other child slaves in the factory.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 5, 2008

    Iqbal

    Iqbal, a worker for a carpet factory, brave, nice, and very willing to help. He was the one who made the most beautiful carpet and ripped it. He came alive out of the tomb with leftover food from his sneaky friends. He was the one that ran away and promised Fatima, his best friend they will fly a kite in spring together. He made a difference to all the children slaves that were sent to pay off their families¿ debt by setting them free one factory at a time. An outstanding novel, I say. To all the slaves, Iqbal made a difference. The amazing action-packed writing gave me strong emotions and feelings. The descriptions of the workers¿ lives were unbelievable detailed. This book, Iqbal made me think differently about the slaves that had once been set free by a 12 year old boy¿. and his name was Iqbal.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 30, 2007

    I might read it again

    My class at school read this because my friend's mom reccomended it. Everyone loved it, and at the end of reading time, everyone would scream, 'NOOO!' I reccomend it to people who want to make a difference in the world, and who like sad stories.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2005

    too good for words

    This is a really good book. It made me cry and its a true story of Iqbal. This story will keep you fixed on the book. Its so moving even though its sad you feel happy at the same time(or at least i did). I think you should read this book bacause what goes on in this book really happened and when you think about it you are lost with words to explain your fellings. I also love this book because it gives you courge to speak up. This is why you should read this powerful, moving,great book. I promise you'll love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 26 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2