Customer Reviews for

Ireland

Average Rating 4
( 118 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(67)

4 Star

(29)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(5)

1 Star

(7)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Frank Delaney has done it again

Author of Shannon and Tipperary, Frank Delaney's passion for writing novels about Ireland has reached its pinnacle. Ireland is a page turning story of a boy who searches for a storyteller who rested at his house for a while. Ronan, the boy, is so enthralled with the sto...
Author of Shannon and Tipperary, Frank Delaney's passion for writing novels about Ireland has reached its pinnacle. Ireland is a page turning story of a boy who searches for a storyteller who rested at his house for a while. Ronan, the boy, is so enthralled with the storyteller and his stories that he sets out to find him. The storyteller wanders the countryside, staying with people who will feed him and give him shelter in exchange for telling stories. This starts the journey for Ronan to collect the stories of Ireland, find the mysterious storyteller and uncover his, and Ireland's history. The history of Ireland pours through Ronan's journey revealing the beauty and painful history of his country. This book is an excellent read for teenagers and adults. Whether you need a novel for school or something to read on an airplane, Ireland is an excellent choice with only one major flaw, its length. It appears discouraging at first, but when that back cover is closed for the last time, you almost have the urge to read the whole thing again. It is rich with the history and stories of a great nation. I especially enjoyed the beginning because of the stories told by the old man. The wording and imagery were unparalleled and it gave me the desire to keep reading. I too gained the desire to search for the nameless storyteller just as Ronan had while reading the book. For any high school student reading this review, this is a great example for the coming of age theme. Other themes could include the epic journey, self-discovery and tradition. This was an enjoyable read and a great page turner. When I came to "Of love and truth" I would not put the book down until the last word of the story was read. I believe this book is a classic and everyone that is interested in Ireland should read it. Why should you read this book? There is nothing to lose, only wonderful knowledge to gain.

posted by 5097828 on November 7, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Not such a good read

Be prepared for numerous perhaps endless folklore tales supporting a more interesting family story thatvshould be the focus of this very long book.

posted by ScoutNR on April 23, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 7, 2010

    Frank Delaney has done it again

    Author of Shannon and Tipperary, Frank Delaney's passion for writing novels about Ireland has reached its pinnacle. Ireland is a page turning story of a boy who searches for a storyteller who rested at his house for a while. Ronan, the boy, is so enthralled with the storyteller and his stories that he sets out to find him. The storyteller wanders the countryside, staying with people who will feed him and give him shelter in exchange for telling stories. This starts the journey for Ronan to collect the stories of Ireland, find the mysterious storyteller and uncover his, and Ireland's history. The history of Ireland pours through Ronan's journey revealing the beauty and painful history of his country. This book is an excellent read for teenagers and adults. Whether you need a novel for school or something to read on an airplane, Ireland is an excellent choice with only one major flaw, its length. It appears discouraging at first, but when that back cover is closed for the last time, you almost have the urge to read the whole thing again. It is rich with the history and stories of a great nation. I especially enjoyed the beginning because of the stories told by the old man. The wording and imagery were unparalleled and it gave me the desire to keep reading. I too gained the desire to search for the nameless storyteller just as Ronan had while reading the book. For any high school student reading this review, this is a great example for the coming of age theme. Other themes could include the epic journey, self-discovery and tradition. This was an enjoyable read and a great page turner. When I came to "Of love and truth" I would not put the book down until the last word of the story was read. I believe this book is a classic and everyone that is interested in Ireland should read it. Why should you read this book? There is nothing to lose, only wonderful knowledge to gain.

    22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2009

    Delaney's Ireland is the width and breadth of the country itself

    In "Ireland" Frank Delaney captures the very bittersweet air of his beloved country. For anyone who has heard the stories of Ireland, whether about Newgrange or leprechauns, this book tells those stories within the context of the characters and their lives. Delaney's writing style is lovely and as reminiscent of the Irish people as was Frank McCourt's. He tells the Storyteller's tales, as in the chapter that explains "how poetry came to Ireland," in ways that make those familiar with the history of Ireland feel they are standing on the shores of the Emerald Isle. A native of Ireland might weep to read these pages. It is the only book that I have read in recent memory that I will gladly read again.

    16 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. In th

    This is one of the best books I have read in a long time. In the voice of a storyteller, I have learned more about Ireland than I ever knew and both the writing and the suspense in the novel have kept me glued to the book, which I am almost finished I would recommend this book to anybody and will probably buy additional copies for my children to teach them of their distant heritage.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 23, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    A worthy addition to the historical fiction of Ireland.

    I can only begin by saying that I wish I had read this book prior to taking my vacation to Ireland a few weeks ago. I found this book to be a joy to read as Irish history was being revealed through the storyteller and his anointed one Ronan. There is a lot to learn from Irish history and what a great way to receive this history through a series of stories told by the storyteller. The characters were very likable and were wrapped around several subplots that added richness and subtlety to the novel.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 7, 2012

    Great book!

    When I began this book, I saw first the # of pages. But, I decided to begin anyway. I love the storyteller theme. We have a friend from Ireland & he is the new & improved storyteller. All the history, counties, & description of the area was so real to me - just like our storyteller. At first I didn't see the connection to the characters, but as I read along it began to unravel. It's a beautiful book and I will read anything Frank Delaney writes. I called our storyteller & recommended it to him. First thing he did was start telling me a story of him when he was a little boy. I knew right then I had fallen in love with Ireland.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2013

    A decent read

    I purchased this selection for my St. Patrick's Day reading weekend. Overall, I would recommend the book, although I had hoped for a little bit more of a background storyline woven in than what I feel is there which is why I only gave it four stars. I am enjoying the tales and legends of the Irish people, some of which I had not read about in the past.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 10, 2013

    Wonderful story(ies), wonderfully told

    A great story about a story-teller, and his would-be apprentice... along the road, the reader is treated to a home-spun History of Ireland... for an added treat, try the audio version, read by Frank Delaney himself, repleat with his glorious Irish brogue.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    Highly recommend

    A great read - Ireland told through the tales of a storyteller. If you love historical fiction, thisis the book for you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2011

    Not such a good read

    Be prepared for numerous perhaps endless folklore tales supporting a more interesting family story thatvshould be the focus of this very long book.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2009

    This was awesome

    As a person raised in an Irish family of storytellers, I found this book to be wonderfully crafted. I loved settling down with the storyteller as he crafted his yarns, the storyline was intriguing and it held up well. Recommend without reservation.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 6, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    After reading this book it definitely intensified my desire of wanting to go to Ireland. I thought it was very good insight about the Irish as a people and their history. Out of all the stories told by the Story Teller, my favorite was the story of Finn MacCool and the Mountain of Women. I've already recommended this book to all my friends.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 12, 2013

    An excellent read, my first intro to Irish History never covered

    An excellent read, my first intro to Irish History never covered in school. Delaney gives a brief sketch of the history and flavor of this somewhat mysterious country through wonderful tales, admittedly with a little blarney from time to time. Each tale covers an area of the country, its history and its people, hardships and triumphs, with a warmth and tenderness makes you anxious to read the next. I have missed this author but definitely will read him again.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 28, 2013

    Breathtaking Prose and a Bit of Irish History

    Frank Delaney is already well known in Ireland and Britain. Now this wonderful, painstakingly crafted bit of lore comes to us in the States. It is hyper-literate and makes beautiful use of the language, as a story teller develops a relationship with a boy that lasts till his adulthood, and then ends with an interesting twist. If you have a love of Irish history and legend, or just appreciate a really well-told story, treat yourself to this beautifully written work. Snuggle in by the pool or fireside. It's nothing to rush through, but rather to savor.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 3, 2013

    Recommend

    A story about a story-teller. It has some interesting insights into the history of Ireland, fables, stories, personalities, etc. However, it is long on repetitive story telling. The book story itself was good, but could have been about 100 pages shorter with fewer details and insignificant details

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 7, 2006

    Great summer read

    This book is a great way to experience some of the history and culture of Ireland. Some of the stories were a bit boring and the book could have been shortened a bit. But it was well written and intriguing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 10, 2015

    Rena

    Idk just how cute you are

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 11, 2015

    Rylan

    Oookkkkk

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 17, 2014

    Highly Recommend!

    I bought Ireland not really knowing what to expect. I couldn't put the book down. I am that person who reads a lot of history books for pleasure. The storyteller and his stories, whether folklore or truth (or a mixture of both) are entertaining and my desire to visit the places mentioned in the book is heightened. I've been looking at some of the stories and even see some of them mentioned in other Irish books. Read this book and you will want to visit Ireland.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 9, 2014

    Amazing.....!Excellent......!Just enjoy it.....!

    Amazing.....!Excellent......!Just enjoy it.....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2014

    Awesome....!Beautiful....!Wonderful....!I really enjoy it.....!

    Awesome....!Beautiful....!Wonderful....!I really enjoy it.....!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 118 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 6