Customer Reviews for

Irish Americans: A History

Average Rating 4
( 18 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(8)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

A must read for all Irish Americans and those who wish they were!!!!!

Obviously the Irish American experience has been discussed at length in this country. When it hasn't been discussed as factual hitory it has served as background for untold fictional stories. So, how can it be rehashed again? When it is thoroughly investigated and retol...
Obviously the Irish American experience has been discussed at length in this country. When it hasn't been discussed as factual hitory it has served as background for untold fictional stories. So, how can it be rehashed again? When it is thoroughly investigated and retold the way J. P. Dolan has done in his book The irish American. Professor Dolan has reached back to the very beginning of our country's history and has shown how The Irish have impacted the American experience and how that has effected American and Irish history. The story of two countries, the United States and Ireland, is told here as you see how entwined these countries became as the stream of Irish flowed across the Atlantic flooding America. He explores, the impact on religion, politics and culture. His book uncovers the both the glorious and imperfect sides of the Irish story. He celebrates all the characters who define what being Irish American was and is from the political boss, politicians, the unskilled laborer, Catholic Bishops, nuns, priests, pubowners and patrons. You're on a journey following the early Scotch Irish to The Famine Irish into the 20th century where the Irish Americans moved from being "Shanty" to Steamheat/Lace Curtain" and eventually claiming their rightful and respected palce as Americans while remaining uniquely Irish.

posted by Paul1963 on November 21, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

zzzzzzz

very dry read.

posted by Meals on June 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted November 21, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    A must read for all Irish Americans and those who wish they were!!!!!

    Obviously the Irish American experience has been discussed at length in this country. When it hasn't been discussed as factual hitory it has served as background for untold fictional stories. So, how can it be rehashed again? When it is thoroughly investigated and retold the way J. P. Dolan has done in his book The irish American. Professor Dolan has reached back to the very beginning of our country's history and has shown how The Irish have impacted the American experience and how that has effected American and Irish history. The story of two countries, the United States and Ireland, is told here as you see how entwined these countries became as the stream of Irish flowed across the Atlantic flooding America. He explores, the impact on religion, politics and culture. His book uncovers the both the glorious and imperfect sides of the Irish story. He celebrates all the characters who define what being Irish American was and is from the political boss, politicians, the unskilled laborer, Catholic Bishops, nuns, priests, pubowners and patrons. You're on a journey following the early Scotch Irish to The Famine Irish into the 20th century where the Irish Americans moved from being "Shanty" to Steamheat/Lace Curtain" and eventually claiming their rightful and respected palce as Americans while remaining uniquely Irish.

    18 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 2, 2009

    Jay P. Dolan's book 'The Irish Americans'

    I am a german resident at Hanover/Germany and have incidently come across with J.P. Dolan's book. After I read this book - which depicts quite captivatingly the history of people with irish ancestry - I had the impression that this books should be translated into German. In many ways the story Dolan tells about Ireland and the devastating conditions in which irish people had to live in the 19th century affects to a great extent european history as it also deals with the clash of two different very strong religious denominations - the anglican church and irish catholizism. Dolan describes thoroughly and precisely the initial persecution Irish settlers were exposed to in America.

    This was actually the incentive for me to ask Dolan's publisher Bloomsbury Press at New York to grant me the right of translating this most captivating and thrilling book into German. As yet, however, it does not seem as though there is a vital interest on the part of the publishing house to have this book also published in a foreign language.

    This book is worth reading it and I am convinced this the content of this book should also be made available to german readers who are interested in irish-american history.

    Irrespective of the outcome of my request to the publisher I have made a private and non-authorized translation of the book into German hoping it will find a corresponding publisher in Germany some day.

    Rudi Eifert
    Niederrader Allee 21
    D-30853 Langenhagen/Germany
    e-mail: eifert.vogler@t-online.de
    Phone: +49-511-731995

    8 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 11, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Irish Americans

    If you want to know the history of famous Irish Americans, I would suggest reading this one. It goes in detail of many different lives and their coming to America. It also features some information on the Kennedy's. Pick this one up this St. Patrick's Day and you are guaranteed the luck of the Irish!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 20, 2012

    zzzzzzz

    very dry read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2012

    Superb!!!!

    This book, for me, holds many things as an Irish, Catholic American woman who grew up, knowing she was of Irish descent, but never really knew the remarkable values, the historical significance, the real “wealth” of emigrants and the importance of ancestry.

    The heart of Chicago was my backyard. St. Thomas Aquinas on the west side of the city was my grammar school parish and, then, throughout high school years, we loved to the suburbs, especially Oak Park and continued our Catholic upbringing at St. Giles Parish in Oak Park, IL and Catholic education at a private girls’ school, Trinity High School in River Forest, IL.

    What this book awakened in me was the strict adherence to ethnically divided neighborhoods, the solidity of Irish emigrant communities and the bonding of the parishes in each community. Coupled with that were the neighborhood bars, saloons which were centers of both comradority and festiveness.

    The Irish Americans is a “reread” book for me. There is a lot of content to assimilate on the “first blush” of the read. It is important enough for this “colleen” to take another look once again at the political issues, the religious issues and the national issues, dreams and rebirths this non-fictional work brought to the table of Irish ancestors.

    Thank you, Mr. Dolan, for your tremendous work and dedication.


    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2013

    Wonderful

    Exhilirating, unparalled study of the Irish Americans.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2012

    information repeated

    Started reading this and did learn alot about the Irish, but he repeated some information throughout the book. Didn't need to be as long as it was.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Check it out!

    This information is great. It is an easy read and fun. If you're Irish you may need to face some facts about us. The only problem I have is that he repeats information and it drives me a bit wonky!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 26, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 18 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1