Customer Reviews for

An Irish Country Christmas

Average Rating 4.5
( 78 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(44)

4 Star

(19)

3 Star

(10)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(2)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Escape to the Perfect Country Christmas

This was my first "trip" with Patrick Taylor and his lovable characters but I am looking forward to many more. This is the sort of book you pick up on cold rainy/snowy days when you don't really want to be alone but you are. In a very few minutes the problems of the wor...
This was my first "trip" with Patrick Taylor and his lovable characters but I am looking forward to many more. This is the sort of book you pick up on cold rainy/snowy days when you don't really want to be alone but you are. In a very few minutes the problems of the world will be forgotten as you slide back to the Irish Countryside of the 1960's. Patrick Taylor uses language so well that you can smell the smells, feel the warmth of a fire and laugh at the daily trials of his characters.

Sure to be on every best-seller list, I can promise that this would be a welcome gift or a treat to oneself. In fact, I'd like to see the series done in illustrated box sets because they possess so much character!

Whether or not you are of Irish ancestry, you will love this return to s simpler time. A time when values are less corrupt and the heart is warmer.
When the read is done, you will be sorry not to have this place to go!

posted by JayneAustenHealey on October 27, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

An Irish Village Christmas

This is a continuation of the Irish country doctors adventures. I enjoyed reading it however not as much as the first two. It seemed to drag in parts a bit. I do plan to continue on to read the remaining adventures. Enjoy

posted by 3901165 on February 2, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4
  • Posted October 27, 2008

    I Also Recommend:

    Escape to the Perfect Country Christmas

    This was my first "trip" with Patrick Taylor and his lovable characters but I am looking forward to many more. This is the sort of book you pick up on cold rainy/snowy days when you don't really want to be alone but you are. In a very few minutes the problems of the world will be forgotten as you slide back to the Irish Countryside of the 1960's. Patrick Taylor uses language so well that you can smell the smells, feel the warmth of a fire and laugh at the daily trials of his characters.<BR/><BR/>Sure to be on every best-seller list, I can promise that this would be a welcome gift or a treat to oneself. In fact, I'd like to see the series done in illustrated box sets because they possess so much character!<BR/><BR/>Whether or not you are of Irish ancestry, you will love this return to s simpler time. A time when values are less corrupt and the heart is warmer.<BR/>When the read is done, you will be sorry not to have this place to go!

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 1, 2009

    A look at the holiday season through the eyes of two country doctors in the small Irish town of Ballybuckleboo

    An Irish Country Christmas is a look at the holiday season through the eyes of two country doctors in the small Irish town of Ballybuckleboo. I haven't read the first two books in this series, but I had no trouble following the story line. This book reminded me of the Mitford series by Jan Karon except with a bit more grit and depth to the characters. Still, An Irish Country Christmas is about gently humorous, basically good people struggling to get by and do the right thing. I really liked the characters and found myself cheering on Doctors Barry Laverty and Fingal Flahertie. While there is enough action to make this an entertaining read anytime of the year I enjoyed the holiday atmosphere. I listened to this book on audio and the soft, lilting Irish accent of John Keating really added to the pleasure of the story. I will be looking out for other books read by him and I will also be seeking out the first two books in this series.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2009

    Another Great Irish Story by Patrick Taylor

    I was so glad to see a third book by the author of Irish Country Doctor. Now, I am looking forward to more, or as the late Paul Harvey would say, the "rest of the story." Taylor does a marvelous job of depicting Ireland and his characters. However, he held the reader in suspense in this one....and I think we were even torn determining which girl would be best for him. I am sure there are more stories coming, and can't wait to go on with the doctors. Even though Taylor does provide enough background that one could read this book as a first, I recommend that the first two books be read before going to this one in order to become properly acquainted with the characters and the story.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    a fun tale

    In the quaint Irish village of Ballybucklebo, Dr. Fingal O'Reilly and his partner Dr. Barry Laverty deal as always with the vast ailments of the townsfolk while also dealing with respective attractions to the opposite sex. Fingal has doubts about courting effervescent Kitty O'Halloran except when he is near her; than he has no rational thought. Barry is upset because his girlfriend Patricia Spence at Girton College informs him she may not make it in time for his first Christmas in the small Irish village.<BR/><BR/>However, all that pales compared to a new doctor in town who steals their patients with remedies that should have the man barred. To country doctors O¿Reilly and Laverty, Dr. Fitzpatrick should be called Dr. Quack, but as ridiculous as his prescriptions are, he is gaining patients.<BR/><BR/>The third Irish County medical cozy (see AN IRISH COUNTRY DOCTOR and AN IRISH COUNTRY VILLAGE) is a fun tale as O¿Reilly and Laverty continues to take care of the villagers by combining modern medical practices with homespun ¿cures¿ like dressing up as Santa. The story line is warm and uplifting even when Patricia looks like she will not make for the holidays and Fitzpatrick causes harm to the patients he steals. Readers who enjoyed the previous entries will especially want to read this one as the two physicians spend their first holiday season with fans.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2014

    An Irish Village Christmas

    This is a continuation of the Irish country doctors adventures. I enjoyed reading it however not as much as the first two. It seemed to drag in parts a bit. I do plan to continue on to read the remaining adventures. Enjoy

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2013

    I love this series

    This is an interesting book about the lives of country doctors.
    It has humor and seriousness.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 17, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    Irish writing at its best!

    Patrick Taylor delivers a wonderful book about a fantastic Irish Christmas-perfect for Christmas reading! Kids will love it too. Gather the family around the fireplace on Christmas Eve and read it outloud. Everyone will love it! Whenever I read this book,I think of all the Irish people my parents and/or I know.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 25, 2012

    Great read!

    If you have Irish heritage you will love this series. Great read, good humor and well written. You will not be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Reread every year!

    Simply a fantastic read. A heart warming story set in a simpler time among the richly warm characters of Ireland.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2011

    Very charming

    The characters in the Irish Country series are well written and humanly believeable. The swearing gets a bit tiresome, but that's a different matter.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2014

    Recommend.

    Rather a unique way to strengthen the character, Mrs. Kincaid. Suggest reader begin the Patrick Taylor story of the Country Doctor from the beginning. Each book leaves you with a warm feeling of belonging.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 21, 2014

    So easy to read and entertaining

    Love the Irish country series. I've read the first three and will read the rest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2014

    great story teller!

    Continuing saga of Fingal and Barry. Want to hear more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 2, 2012

    Alex

    Dunc!? Go to the book either above this one or below. Wherever i am k?

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 16, 2011

    Highly recommended...

    Great writer. Enjoyable reading, you get to know the characters and learn to love them as much as the writer.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 29, 2009

    Fun and charming

    A good change of pace from the usual fare.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 16, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 79 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 4