Customer Reviews for

An Irish Country Doctor

Average Rating 4
( 204 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(100)

4 Star

(59)

3 Star

(27)

2 Star

(9)

1 Star

(9)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

56 out of 60 people found this review helpful.

Heartwarming.......

This was he first book in the series I read, and never wanted it to end. It's a charming Irish tale complete with a cast of characters that remind me somewhat of the PBS TV series "Doc Martin", though a bit earlier in time. Luckily, it seems the author doesn't want to...
This was he first book in the series I read, and never wanted it to end. It's a charming Irish tale complete with a cast of characters that remind me somewhat of the PBS TV series "Doc Martin", though a bit earlier in time. Luckily, it seems the author doesn't want to end the story either and there are now several volumes. I've read them all, love them all, and am about to start the newest with another promised in the fall. There's no violence, no erotic scenes and certainly no vampires! It's a heartwarming story about the everyday lives of people who care about each other and their community.

posted by ceejai on April 20, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

17 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Harriet klausner

And here we go....harriet klausner ruining yet another book with her cliff note book report. Why cant you ban this plot spoiling poster, bn? She absolutely ruins each and every book she so calls reviews. Please ban her and delete her plot spoiling reviews. She ruins eve...
And here we go....harriet klausner ruining yet another book with her cliff note book report. Why cant you ban this plot spoiling poster, bn? She absolutely ruins each and every book she so calls reviews. Please ban her and delete her plot spoiling reviews. She ruins every book she touches. Here is yet another she has ruined.

posted by 8888649 on January 12, 2014

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 11, 2007

    pleasant enough

    This book would have been better if I could have avoided comparing it to James Herriot. But I couldn't, there were too many similarities, and it does not stand up to the master's works. Besides that point, it is charming and worth the read.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 23, 2014

    This is one of many books of several series by the author

    Since i dont know of the author it would be of more interest to a reader to be told that in the blurb perhaps giving the date first published. even a library of congress catalog card gives subject matter. reading age level and rating on subject matter would be helpful too at least with the named reviewer you get the total plot and know its not clift notes do they still print those?

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 15, 2013

    pleasant read

    Patrick Taylor uses a country GP practice as a backdrop for his Irish tales of people and animals. Although not as colorful and as rich as James Herriot, the style is reminiscent of the animal stories, just with humans as the subjects. These books make a pleasant evening read by the fire.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 22, 2009

    A Decent Story

    The story was decent, nothing exciting, nothing that grips your attention. It was good to read for about a half hour or so before bed. The writer seems to want to show off his knowledge of various author quotes, religious references and general show off knowledge that lends nothing to the story but ego. Also, the "love story" in the book was gratuituous and not realistic. The story of the young man learning the ways of the country doctor and the various characters were well written and speach patterns were well done. If the ego and romance were left out, it would have been a much better read.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2014

    Ireland Life Lessons-

    A book that makes you want to pack your bags and journey to Ireland. An easy read and yet there are many life lessons to apply in your daily life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 14, 2014

    highly recommend

    I enjoyed the plot and the story of this Country doctor. It was my first time reading this author's story. It was very good. I intend to read the next book in this series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 29, 2014

    Charming............................................... Nice cou

    Charming...............................................
    Nice country tale.  But alas he's no James Herriot --who has set the bar for this type of story.  The constant literary quotes the good doctors threw at each other made them seem boorish and pompous at times.  We get it.  Your so brilliant this little town of hicks is blessed to have you.  Plus the romance was a little flat.  But it wasn't without charm.  Not sure if I'll read the next one.  Maybe if they have it at the library.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2014

    Am I defending Klausner?

    Maybe, just a little. I mean really, how bad can it be if she uses a lotta words and spats out some spoilers I'd still read the boks she's reviewed she sasn't really ruined them for me. Harriet has written three pages worth and there could be two hundred or more pages left to the discovery

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Pleasant retelling of herriot vet with a different species

    Seems to be possible scripts for an irish dr paul pbs series and irish countryside instead of english seacoast. did you know a vet can treat humans but a dr cant treat animals legally in england. Would be a four but i have all the herriot books in h.c. for eccentric irish read irish pm both books on nook mom

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    A little slow

    Mildly entertaining- not the worst book l ever read but not the best.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 29, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 27 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2