Customer Reviews for

The Irish Healer

Average Rating 4
( 38 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(12)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(4)

1 Star

(3)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

I love historical romances, rich in perfect period detail, well

I love historical romances, rich in perfect period detail, well researched, and lushly written. The Irish Healer, Nancy Herriman’s debut novel, is all of that and more.

I will be honest and say I would normally have bypassed this one since it’s billed as &...
I love historical romances, rich in perfect period detail, well researched, and lushly written. The Irish Healer, Nancy Herriman’s debut novel, is all of that and more.

I will be honest and say I would normally have bypassed this one since it’s billed as “inspirational/Christian” romance. That is way outside my reading comfort zone as a non-Christian. And that would have been a tragedy. I would have missed a tender, beautiful, glorious romance that made my heart sing and left me with happy tears at the end.

Rachel Dunne—the Irish healer of the title—is running away. Although acquitted of murdering a child under her care, she’s come to London to escape the scandal of her past, vowing to give up her gift of healing, believing it’s really a curse. She finds work with Dr. James Edmunds, a man with tragedies of his own in his past, a physician who is also in the process of giving up his medical practice. Rachel vows only to work as a sort of secretary for him. She will not help him in medical matters, will not sit at the bedside of patients, will not trust or use her own special gifts.

James and Rachel have each in their own way given up on God, as they believe God has abandoned them. This love story is about healing—not only the bodies of those they comfort and serve, but their own hearts and faith and each other.

Inspirational references are woven in subtly, without browbeating the reader with it, which was what I had feared from an inspirational romance. Again, I could not have been more wrong. This is a book about the universal themes of loss and forgiveness, about finding redemption, and most powerfully, about finding love. It transcends a specific, single belief system. It’s about learning to forgive yourself, and love yourself; about accepting love and forgiveness from others.

And make no mistake, this is first and foremost, a romance, as sweet and delicious and yummy as you could want. There is no overt sex in this book; there’s barely a single kiss. But oh, the yearning! The longing! Ms. Herriman beautifully, powerfully builds the tension, page by page, a glance, a touch, a sigh at a time, until the reader is as wound up as Rachel and James, an ember about to burst into a conflagration. This is a truly romantic romance.

The power of faith is the backbone of this feast of a novel, but love—God’s and man’s—is the heart and soul of it. I’ve never been happier to have been wrong about something. Missing out on this wonderful book would have been a tragedy indeed.

posted by PShaw on April 15, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

K

Another possible good book ruined by excessive plot spoilers intent on revealing way too much in their book reports. Just state if you like it or not. We have the overview that tells us the gist of the story. We dont need you to reveal the entire book. That is rude, inc...
Another possible good book ruined by excessive plot spoilers intent on revealing way too much in their book reports. Just state if you like it or not. We have the overview that tells us the gist of the story. We dont need you to reveal the entire book. That is rude, inconsiderate and hateful.

posted by 8888649 on March 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted April 15, 2012

    I love historical romances, rich in perfect period detail, well

    I love historical romances, rich in perfect period detail, well researched, and lushly written. The Irish Healer, Nancy Herriman’s debut novel, is all of that and more.

    I will be honest and say I would normally have bypassed this one since it’s billed as “inspirational/Christian” romance. That is way outside my reading comfort zone as a non-Christian. And that would have been a tragedy. I would have missed a tender, beautiful, glorious romance that made my heart sing and left me with happy tears at the end.

    Rachel Dunne—the Irish healer of the title—is running away. Although acquitted of murdering a child under her care, she’s come to London to escape the scandal of her past, vowing to give up her gift of healing, believing it’s really a curse. She finds work with Dr. James Edmunds, a man with tragedies of his own in his past, a physician who is also in the process of giving up his medical practice. Rachel vows only to work as a sort of secretary for him. She will not help him in medical matters, will not sit at the bedside of patients, will not trust or use her own special gifts.

    James and Rachel have each in their own way given up on God, as they believe God has abandoned them. This love story is about healing—not only the bodies of those they comfort and serve, but their own hearts and faith and each other.

    Inspirational references are woven in subtly, without browbeating the reader with it, which was what I had feared from an inspirational romance. Again, I could not have been more wrong. This is a book about the universal themes of loss and forgiveness, about finding redemption, and most powerfully, about finding love. It transcends a specific, single belief system. It’s about learning to forgive yourself, and love yourself; about accepting love and forgiveness from others.

    And make no mistake, this is first and foremost, a romance, as sweet and delicious and yummy as you could want. There is no overt sex in this book; there’s barely a single kiss. But oh, the yearning! The longing! Ms. Herriman beautifully, powerfully builds the tension, page by page, a glance, a touch, a sigh at a time, until the reader is as wound up as Rachel and James, an ember about to burst into a conflagration. This is a truly romantic romance.

    The power of faith is the backbone of this feast of a novel, but love—God’s and man’s—is the heart and soul of it. I’ve never been happier to have been wrong about something. Missing out on this wonderful book would have been a tragedy indeed.

    10 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 7, 2012

    Wonderful Debut Novel

    I thoroughly enjoyed this debut novel from Nancy Herriman! The story captured my interest from the first page and didn’t let go! I hope there will be a sequel! I look forward to this author’s next release!

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Story of a bleak time in London's history

    This story is set in 1830s London and involves the gentry class - professional Dr. James Edmunds, his widowed sister-in-law, and others along with the servant class. We see the main character, an Irish young lady who was a "healer" back in poverty stricken Ireland. The lovely Rachel Dunne has come from Ireland to London with the financial and emotional support of her cousin, Clarice - another member of the gentry. Rachel must leave Ireland because shame and ruination has been brought on her family because one of the sick that she was nursing dies and Rachel has been accused of murder in the situation. Though a jury acquitted her of wrong doing, the rumors persist. She and her mother have lost their means of livelihood. Hence the move Rachel makes to London to seek employment. Temporary work arrangements have been for Rachel with Dr. Edmunds through the good graces and recommendation of her cousin, Clarice. Rachel is not accepted readily amongst the servants but graciously holds on to her position by working hard and being kind to others. The story moves along revealing the definite class distinction and bias of London in the 1830s. Nancy Herriman portrays these distinctions vividly through the actions and conversations of each of the characters. Though the household of Dr. Edmunds is busy with preparations for a move to the country, the city of London is plagued with a break out of cholera. The scenes and conversations of the sick, the sick room, the odors, the sights are quite descriptive and your senses will feel the vivid descriptions very thoroughly. The filthy streets and back alleys of London are also vividly portrayed which helps to understand the rapid spread of disease during the time. Dr. Edmunds and his other physician friends practice medicine typical of that period with sweats, leeches, purges. However, Dr. Edmunds tends toward a more gentle practice. Rachel tries to keep her skills as a healer hidden because she fears her past being revealed and the consequences of such a revelation, nonetheless, her skills are needed from time to time and her secret does come out. This is a gently told story of individuals with personal struggles of failure and fear of past and present. It is a story of disappointment and a story of love and the need to be loved. It is also a story of a bleak time in London's history when disease was rampant, filth and poverty abounded, and health care so inadequate. It is a story of triumph and of faith. It is a gently told story of rediscovering one's lost faith in God. I was provided a complimentary copy of Irish Healer by the author for review purposes.

    2 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 6, 2012

    Love and healing in Old London

    A most captivating and enthralling novel that reads like a classic with true depth of what life is all about in old London with its intrigues and dangers. Nancy Herriman is a very talented writer and offers a well written story of the struggles that faced the Irish and English during a time that cholera and other diseases were decimating old England.Yet it is a story of the personal struggles of two people in the "Medical" profession who are helpless to save the lives of many. She makes you feel like you are there with all the class distinctions, antiquated medical treatments, putrid living conditions, coal dust air, and mental attitudes of these people. There is much going on in the book. There is love between two classes that is not an acceptable thing even within their own minds; relationships within one household of different classes; issues of losing faith in oneself and in God; animosity between the English and Irish; and much more.

    Basically a young Irish healer is accused of Murder when a little girl under her care dies and although she is acquitted she must flee Ireland and try to find employment and a new life in London at a time when the Irish were disliked and accused of everything from thieves to carriers of cholera. She refused to let anyone know she was a healer (or been on trial for murder) nor have anything to do with healing after losing her patient. But she is thrown into a Doctor's household who is also struggling with similar issues and abandoning his medical profession. He also has many secrets (including a daughter no one knows about)and he is not willing to share these secrets that are tearing him apart, yet both of them feel the attraction of each other although of such different classes a relationship seems impossible.

    The characters jump off the page and into your heart. And the ending will not disappoint you. A really great read that could easily become a classic.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2013

    Very good read.

    This book is very well written. I would recommend.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Great book by a great storyteller.

    Great book by a great storyteller.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2013

    Anyine chat

    Hi

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Good Read!

    I thoroughly liked this book. I loved the characters and how the author developed each character. I love this period of history anyway so good character development with a believable historical background was right up my alley!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2013

    Absolutely worth reading

    Very good book. One you just did not want to put down. Enjoyed the historical information that came from the story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 8, 2013

    MY St Patrick's choice read for this month of March!  I Luv'd t


    MY St Patrick's choice read for this month of March! 
    I Luv'd this book.
    Couldn't believe the trouble it took to procure a copy! 
    None available for review from publisher. I then won my book of choice at Murphy's Library in September 2012, but TBD cancelled their order of my book not once but twice! I finally received it in February 2013 :)) I decided to save it as my treat for a St Patrick's read & so glad I did!

    Amazingly, The Irish Healer is Nancy Herriman’s debut novel, published 2012. USA Today accurately calls it “...a lovely period tale of personal transformation and abiding love.” Definitely tantalizing along with its cover; runner-up in ACFW Genesis contest’s historical fiction 2009. A former engineer, Ms Herriman is a past winner of Romance Writers of America’s Daphne du Maurier Award for Best Unpublished Mystery/Romantic Suspense along with finalist placings in other contests.
    • Don't miss - Video book trailer available on youtube -

    1830. We’re introduced to Irish healer, Rachel Dunne, aboard a steamer escaping her homeland, arriving in search of London’s promise of new beginnings. A new beginning that will call for all the fortitude she possesses to rise up and conquer the inherent perils concealed along the journey... 

    I found Rachel a likeable protagonist, authentic to her age and abilities; believable in her actions and reactions to new relationships and experiences. Other character descriptions authentically engaged my own positive / negative reactions. Well paced thought and action kept the story moving. Both my interest and emotions were engaged to its satisfying conclusion. 

    Enough twists to frustrate my expectations whilst concealing pleasing resolutions. Historical details were excellent additions without being obtrusive or documentary. Occasional Gaelic expressions added authenticity. There is only one story detail that I would love to have resolved... perhaps a note to Ms Herriman will satisfy my curiosity!

    Thank you for sharing your writing gift with us, Nancy! I look forward to your next novel...

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2013

    Very good book

    I loved this book. Perfect dose of romance and mystery. I would read more from this author. :)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2013

    Characters are "Real"

    The various characters are beyond the normal "good" or "bad" labels we normally assign them. These characters are real; good and bad, vulnerable and proud, and have various times when they doubt their faith in God. Like we all do at times of crisis and failures. Well written with appropriate "humanity" and "fragileness" assigned to each character. Simple but enjoyable storyline. My complinents to the author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 19, 2013

    Wonderful - dont pass up this book

    Very nice story

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 18, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 15 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1