Customer Reviews for

Irish Thoroughbred (Irish Hearts Series #1)

Average Rating 3.5
( 48 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(22)

4 Star

(8)

3 Star

(2)

2 Star

(3)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

A Stunning Story

Nora Roberts book, Irish Thouroughbred, was, without a doubt, one of the best romance novels I will ever read. She masterfully weaves the story of an Irish woman who has lost everything she has ever known and is coming to America to live with her uncle on a horse farm. ...
Nora Roberts book, Irish Thouroughbred, was, without a doubt, one of the best romance novels I will ever read. She masterfully weaves the story of an Irish woman who has lost everything she has ever known and is coming to America to live with her uncle on a horse farm. I won't tell any more here, so you won't have the surprise spoiled (I hate it when people do that). You had better read this book!

posted by Anonymous on May 15, 2001

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

Regarding IRISH THOROUGHBRED by Nora Roberts

I would have been pleased to write a review for Irish Thoroughbred, as I am both Irish, a lover of thoroughbreds and a Nora Roberts reader. I say I WOULD have been pleased to write had I been given the 17pg. sample that I was offered, and accepted.However what posed as ...
I would have been pleased to write a review for Irish Thoroughbred, as I am both Irish, a lover of thoroughbreds and a Nora Roberts reader. I say I WOULD have been pleased to write had I been given the 17pg. sample that I was offered, and accepted.However what posed as a sample of the written book was nothing more than a LIST of published and planned works: no pages 1-17 of her writing nor book content. B&N... please give what you offer so that we may truly SAMPLE, hopefully enjoy, and then honestly review the book offered.NBC. Orange, CA. Avid reader,occasional writer, and new to all things ebook ~ except the written word. Thank you.

posted by Anonymous on July 18, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 18, 2012

    Regarding IRISH THOROUGHBRED by Nora Roberts

    I would have been pleased to write a review for Irish Thoroughbred, as I am both Irish, a lover of thoroughbreds and a Nora Roberts reader. I say I WOULD have been pleased to write had I been given the 17pg. sample that I was offered, and accepted.However what posed as a sample of the written book was nothing more than a LIST of published and planned works: no pages 1-17 of her writing nor book content. B&N... please give what you offer so that we may truly SAMPLE, hopefully enjoy, and then honestly review the book offered.NBC. Orange, CA. Avid reader,occasional writer, and new to all things ebook ~ except the written word. Thank you.

    16 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2001

    A Stunning Story

    Nora Roberts book, Irish Thouroughbred, was, without a doubt, one of the best romance novels I will ever read. She masterfully weaves the story of an Irish woman who has lost everything she has ever known and is coming to America to live with her uncle on a horse farm. I won't tell any more here, so you won't have the surprise spoiled (I hate it when people do that). You had better read this book!

    12 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 2, 2012

    Useless sample

    I agree with others about the sample. There effectively isn't one. There is literally not one page of the story, only all the mumbo jumbo that comes before it. Please put part of a chapter in.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Not a smart free sample

    Not one page was actually from the book, if i can read one page why would I be interested in buying it!

    10 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    Where's the sample...

    I expect to read something besides credits & other titles. You need to fix this. I never buy anything before reading the sample.

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2012

    YAY!!!!!

    This is 1 of my all time favorites... Thank you for adding this and the other 2 to my NOOK Collection!!! Excellent book ...

    8 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

    Good story line. Very well written. A great summer read.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2012

    Old,old

    I have to agree with others who complain that the "sample" is not a sample. It also annoys me that B&N does not include the publishing history. At least for me, I'm less likely to buy because I don't get complete information

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 14, 2012

    Lame

    A trite, boring story...

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2005

    Wonderful and Fabulous

    FASHIONABLE DELIGHTFUL BEAUTIFUL WONDERFUL FABULOUS AMAZING GOOD FUL LOVILY BOOK I LOVE IT IT'S A VERY GOOD BOOK IT'S WONDERFFUL BOOK LIKE OTHER'S NORA ROBERTS'S BOOKS ALL OF THEM.

    4 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 4, 2012

    Highly recommend

    Enjoyed entire series

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2012

    highly recommended

    This trilogy, Irish Thoroughbred, Irish Rebel and Irish Rose were absolutely enjoyable to read. I love ALL Nora Roberts books but these I just did not want to put down and wished it would just keep going for thousands of pages. I look forward to all her new books.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2012

    Wonder ful book

    Very well written. Irish hearts is my favorite sires

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2012

    Loved It!

    This was an excellent book! I highly recommend it to anyone! My only hang up was that it was very short.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2012

    great read for adults

    great read for adults

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2012

    I read all three.

    I loved this book and read all three, I am now reading another series
    from the same author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 31, 2012

    Irish incomplete

    Good storyline I enjoyed. It seemed some pages were missing however.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 1, 2014

    While slightly dated, this book is a solid read. I read it in p

    While slightly dated, this book is a solid read. I read it in print years ago. Because it is Nora Roberts first published book, I bought it digitally for nostalgic reasons. My comments are mostly directed at the other reviewers....
    Why are any of you reviewing a book you haven't yet read? I understand the "sample" may have not been what you hoped--shame on BN for being lazy. However, the book review portion of this website is just that...for book reviews. Take your comments and suggestions about the website to BN's customers service and don't mess up the ratings systems please. Those of us who use the ratings system to list potential reads are not interested in your review of a sample or of the website. We're interested in thoughtful book reviews.
    Secondly, a year ago, I may have agreed with some of the comments about ebook publication dates not being clear when there is a reprint--but no longer and certainly not about Nora's books. She has posted a lot of info on her own website about reprints and ensure this information has been made available on her newest ebook reprints. Her ebook covers and descriptions now contain phrases like "Nora Roberts First Book" and "previously printed under xxx name or date or publisher." BN is only going to put the publication date of this version of the book under publication date. That is standard. Because there's no inner cover for us to read in an ebook, it is up to the buyer to do a minimal amount of research. Apparently it's not only BN who is lazy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 3, 2014

    Rediculous Sample

    It does not even have any of the story! Only author brag pages. Horrible. Certainly does not encourage me to consider buying the book. Plus: the "Rate and Review" pop up window forced me to give it at least one star before it allowed me to post my comment! Shameful marketing strategy......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Highly recommended

    The entire sequel was very good. Normally the 1st book is very good, then the 2nd book falls short in expectations. That wasn't the case, I am happy to say. I couldn't put the book down! HAPPY READING!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 48 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3