Customer Reviews for

The Iron Daughter (Iron Fey Series #2)

Average Rating 4.5
( 887 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(605)

4 Star

(192)

3 Star

(55)

2 Star

(14)

1 Star

(21)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Action Packed with Unbelievable Romance!

See I have a thing about sequel's -- they either hit the mark or they don't. There's no in-between point, at least not for me.

And I loved <i>The Iron King's</i> mythology, charcters and plot, so I did have to wonder could Julie Kagawa do that all over ag...
See I have a thing about sequel's -- they either hit the mark or they don't. There's no in-between point, at least not for me.

And I loved <i>The Iron King's</i> mythology, charcters and plot, so I did have to wonder could Julie Kagawa do that all over again? Well,YA Fantasy Fans, she did even more!

What I loved about <i>The Iron King</i> was the mythology -- the nod to traditional faerie lore and then the completely justified and believable addition of an Iron Court. This tilted the familiar power struggle between the Seelie and the Unseelie Courts and created complete chaos. It was exhilirating to read through it. But now what?

Well, Julie answered that question. She answered it in spades. When we last left Meaghan and Ash they were on their way to Ash's home, The Winter Court. Not exactly the turf that a Summer Court Princess (albeit half-human, half-fey) would feel comfortable in but Meaghan had made a promise to Ash and to the fey, promises are everything.

I'm going to keep this review spoiler-free, so let me just say that the book may start off with the fulfillment of a promise but where it leads you is so unbelievably unexpected that you will be gasping out loud. I've read a few books like this, so chock full of action that you find it exhilirating to turn the pages only to discover that there's even more. Isn't that the best part? I'm going to take a moment and compare Julie's action writing sequences to those of my favorite YA fantasy author, Cassandra Clare. Yes, they are THAT good. That unbelievably good.

But that's not the best part. The very best part were the characters' arcs -- Meaghan's, Ash's and Puck's. Their back-stories, journeys and amazing transformations were so credible that I found my heart aching for them.

And please, don't even ask if there's romance. There is unbelievable, forbidden, beautiful romance. Again, my hat's off to Julie, who wrote the scene on page 99 so well, that I had to text a few of my close bookwormish pals just to vent. What did the text say, you ask? It said, "He's breaking my heart, but in a good way."

A full five-stars to Julie Kagawa's The Iron Daughter. If you love action, romance and watching how characters mature through heart-wrenching trials, you will love this story as much as I do.

posted by katarinasmama on April 5, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

What type of rating do you give a book when all the other characers are soo much more interesting and likeable than the main character?

Meagan is weak, unintelligent, foolish, and a huge cry baby. Every other page she was in tears, that really gets old. She is not smart enough to pay attention to her surroundings, listen to others or save herself; crouching down in corners or behind someone does not rea...
Meagan is weak, unintelligent, foolish, and a huge cry baby. Every other page she was in tears, that really gets old. She is not smart enough to pay attention to her surroundings, listen to others or save herself; crouching down in corners or behind someone does not read heroine. I hope the author knows that you can have a smart protagonist as well as good plot. Robin is by far my favorite, he is funny, smart, capable and keeps things going. All of this and we cant even see his POV! Ash, w/ his quiet demeanor bypasses Meagan. We the readers understand his motives, they are not hidden, he even tells slow witted Meagan what to expect, yet, we are forced to witness her forced stupidity.

I enjoy the plot, although this love triangle crap is played out. The creatures, glamor and every other character, besides Meagan "overshadowed" Chase. What is wrong with the author and editor? Is this useless tearful-mess what young girls want?

posted by Anonymous on February 12, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 605 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted April 5, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Action Packed with Unbelievable Romance!

    See I have a thing about sequel's -- they either hit the mark or they don't. There's no in-between point, at least not for me.

    And I loved &lt;i&gt;The Iron King's&lt;/i&gt; mythology, charcters and plot, so I did have to wonder could Julie Kagawa do that all over again? Well,YA Fantasy Fans, she did even more!

    What I loved about &lt;i&gt;The Iron King&lt;/i&gt; was the mythology -- the nod to traditional faerie lore and then the completely justified and believable addition of an Iron Court. This tilted the familiar power struggle between the Seelie and the Unseelie Courts and created complete chaos. It was exhilirating to read through it. But now what?

    Well, Julie answered that question. She answered it in spades. When we last left Meaghan and Ash they were on their way to Ash's home, The Winter Court. Not exactly the turf that a Summer Court Princess (albeit half-human, half-fey) would feel comfortable in but Meaghan had made a promise to Ash and to the fey, promises are everything.

    I'm going to keep this review spoiler-free, so let me just say that the book may start off with the fulfillment of a promise but where it leads you is so unbelievably unexpected that you will be gasping out loud. I've read a few books like this, so chock full of action that you find it exhilirating to turn the pages only to discover that there's even more. Isn't that the best part? I'm going to take a moment and compare Julie's action writing sequences to those of my favorite YA fantasy author, Cassandra Clare. Yes, they are THAT good. That unbelievably good.

    But that's not the best part. The very best part were the characters' arcs -- Meaghan's, Ash's and Puck's. Their back-stories, journeys and amazing transformations were so credible that I found my heart aching for them.

    And please, don't even ask if there's romance. There is unbelievable, forbidden, beautiful romance. Again, my hat's off to Julie, who wrote the scene on page 99 so well, that I had to text a few of my close bookwormish pals just to vent. What did the text say, you ask? It said, "He's breaking my heart, but in a good way."

    A full five-stars to Julie Kagawa's The Iron Daughter. If you love action, romance and watching how characters mature through heart-wrenching trials, you will love this story as much as I do.

    10 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 15, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing series, must read

    I've honestly been putting off this review for a couple days for fear I won't do this review justice considering how much I loved it. The story picks up right where it left off in The Iron King. Meghan is taken by Ash to the Winter Court to face Queen Mab per the contract she made with him in return for his in help getting Ethan, her brother back. I really can't say much about how the story unfolds, afraid I will give away something important. Julie Kagawa excels in creating a wonderful landscape. You're lost in this world and I found myself devouring the pages and losing track of time as I took on this journey with Meghan, Ash and Puck.
    The love triangle continues in this story though I have to say, it's a little one sided. Meghan loves Puck but she loves Ash differently. When I was reading The Iron King, I was a little leery of Ash and Meghan's feelings toward one another and was waiting for Meghan to wake up and smell the roses with how Puck felt about her. The girl was pretty naive. I was ready for Puck to get his chance. I can defiantly say I'm 100% team.Ash! I love his character. You learn more about his past and some of his walls come down and you get to see the real Ash.
    Puck is still Puck.witty and always cracking a joke or spitting out a smart comment. Though when it's time to get serious and protect Meghan, he's there 100% loyal all the way.
    We get to see new characters and I'm and totally in love with Grim the cat. He is one of my favorite characters in the series.
    I was shocked with the ending; I didn't actually think Ash would do what he did. It was bitter sweet and perfect and will have you aching to read Book 3, The Iron Queen. It comes out Feb 2011.
    I highly recommend reading this book if you've already read The Iron King. I loved and strongly encourage everyone to read this series.

    6 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Thrilling and Exciting

    I had high expectations for this book even before I started reading it due to its brilliant debut. I wasn't the least bit disappointed with The Iron Daughter. It was as good as The Iron King, if not better. They story has a powerful and thrilling plot which brings readers on a journey to retrieve the Scepter of Seasons which was stolen by a new kind of Faery called The Iron Fey.

    The beginning of the story started with Meghan staying in Tir Na Nog, the Winter Court, where Queen Mab is the monarch. She feels bad because of the incessant chill, but she feels even worse by Prince Ash's sudden change of behaviour --- he becomes distant, cold and cruel.

    His eyes glittered as he shot me a glare of pure loathing. "It's Master Ash, or Your Highness to you, half-breed. And I don't recall giving you permission to speak to me. Remember that, because the next time you forget your place, I'll remind you with my blade." --- Ash, page 28


    Meghan can't go home, and her father, King Oberon has no way to free her because she is there on a contract of her own free will. When some Iron Fey lead by Tertius steals the Scepter of Seasons and murders the crown prince of the Winter Court, Sage, Queen Mab is furious and she accuses Oberon of doing the act of crime. A war is about to start... and Meghan is going to do anything to stop it from happening.

    I love Julie's hauntingly beautiful description of the scenery of Faeryland. She manages to create a place where beauty and danger coexists. Julie's exquisite literary prose is one of the reasons which makes this book stand out from the sea of other novels in the fantasy genre. Her words made me delve into the Fey world with ease, following Meghan and her friends on their exciting and dangerous adventure.

    In this novel, Meghan turns to Puck for company due to Ash's absence and cold demeanor. She finds that she actually has some feelings for Puck as well, but not as intense as the love she had for Ash. On the contrary, Puck is the one who pours out all his love and attention on his Princess, always there to support Meghan whenever she needs him, ever so protective of her.

    "You're kind of blind, you know?" Puck whispered, smiling to soften his words. "I wouldn't defy Oberon for just anyone. But, for you..." He leaned forward, touching his forehead to mine. "I'd come back from the dead for you." --- Puck, pg 123


    The story is divided into 3 parts. The one who stole the scepter was revealed in the end of Part 2, but there is no further information about the new (and fake) Iron King. How will the love triangle between Puck, Meghan and Ash ends? When the time comes, who will Meghan choose? Is it the mischievous, caring and reliable Puck, or the cold, quiet and passionate Ash?

    In the nutshell, The Iron Daughter is awesome! I can proudly announce that I'm now a great fan of Julie Kagawa. You should never miss The Iron Fey Series! I really can't wait to read the third book! *Beams with delight!*

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 9, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Wonderfully imaginative...

    When the specter of the Seasons is stolen in the heart of the Winter court it's left up to Meghan and Ash to get it back. Mab, Queen of Winter Court is hell bent on blaming Meghan and the Summer Court for the theft and death of one dear to her cold heart. As war between the courts begins time is quickly running out for Meg and Ash. On their journey they reunite with old friends like Puck and Grimalkin, run into exiles, thieves and find an unlikely alliance with Iron Horse.
    As they battle the Iron Fey in search of the specter boundaries are pushed, and love and friendship are tested. After reading The Iron King, book one in what promises to be a wonderful series, I hoped the second installment would be as good as or dare I hope? Better. Julie Kagawa did not disappoint. The Iron Daughter was a bright fantasy world full or villains and heroes. It will leave you wanting more and dieing to know what becomes of Megan in the uncertain future she has chosen. With out a dought The Iron Queen will be on my 2011 reading list. February can't come soon enough.

    www.ebookitude.com

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 27, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Julie Kagawa does it again!

    The Iron Daughter, the second book in The Iron Fey Series by Julie Kagawa is a fast-paced, action-filled story full of romance, betrayal, friendship, and heartbreaking sacrifice.

    The story picks up where The Iron King leaves us, with Meghan accompanying Ash to the Winter Queen's realm. Readers will be unpleasantly suprised to see the change that has come over the Winter Prince. The good news: It doesn't take long to see the motives behind the change and readers will once again find themselves swooning over the dark and brooding prince.

    An infiltration, murder, and theft by the Iron Fey forces Meghan and Ash to flee from the Winter Court and they subsequently go on an amazing adventure to stop the Faery war that is brewing between the Summer and Winter Courts. They are joined on this adventure by friendly familiar faces and we meet some new and interesting characters along the way. The action will keep you flipping the pages in a frenzy, dying to know what happens next. This is one of those books you will NOT want to put down.

    An unlikely alliance tests our beliefs about the Iron Fey as we see the good they are capable of inside. And heartbreaking sacrifice will have you crying over the pages. The ending is bittersweet as we watch Meghan and Ash make a truly heartwrenching decision... will they choose Faery and the Courts they love, or will they choose to throw all of that away for the love they feel for each other?

    This book is truly amazing and if you loved The Iron King, this installment will not disappoint. The writing is stellar, the story is moving and intriguing, and the characters are loveable and real. When this book releases in August, you will definitely want to get your hands on a copy. And then make sure you have a chunk of time to read because once you start, you won't want to put it down. Happy Reading!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2013

    Order of this serie

    The order of this series is (1) Iron King (2) Iron Daughter (3) Iron Queen. I know some of you have ben asking for it so here it is! Really enjoyed this series! Definitely recommend :]

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Loved It!!!!

    Loved It!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Awesome

    OMG
    this book was awesome
    God Ash is hot,well techinlly speaking he is cold but u get the point.
    The end was soooo sweet

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    Loved :3

    Am I the only one who LOVED when Ash turned all bad ?

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2012

    Great book

    I love this bookband the series.But i still think Megan should be with Puck instead of Ash

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 10, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Love it

    I really liked the first book but how is everyone reading the second one??

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 23, 2010

    Amazing sequel!

    THE IRON DAUGHTER, by Julie Kagawa, was an intoxicating adrenaline-rush that will keep your heart pounding until the very last word.

    I loved The Iron King, and the sequel was no different. We left off where Meghan has to fulfill her contract to Ash and return to the Winter Queen, Mab. The book started off right into the action and I easily fell back into it. I was unpleasantly surprised concerning the relationship between Meghan and Ash at the beginning of the story, but I put my prejudices aside to see where the story would take me.

    Just when I thought I knew these characters, Kagawa surprised me again! Meghan became a strong and independent faerie when she started to develop her instinctual powers. She always stayed true to herself and questioned everything when others would have kept their mouths shut. Ash did a complete one-eighty when he returned to Winter and I think he surprised me the most. What we thought was a budding romance, actually turned out to be something different, or did it? It was anyone's guess as to what happened at any point in this story, and that's what made me love it.

    And the love triangle... the crazy, tie-my-heart-in-knots love triangle. The uncertainty and passion that raged in these three characters was intense. Kagawa lured me back and forth between Puck and Ash repeatedly, I was completely torn.

    Normally I would just comment on the main characters, but in this book the minor characters played such a huge part. They were well-developed and created a new dynamic to the battle against the Iron Fey. Like all wars, everyone takes a side and loyalties can be forgotten in the midst of wanting to survive.

    Once again I enjoyed the aspect of the Iron Fey. They developed as fast as technology does, which makes them an incredible threat to Faery. In 'The Iron King' they were always in the background, but this book really brought them out and showed how ruthless and cunning these hard, metal creatures can be.

    All in all, this was an amazing, edge-of-your-seat romantic adventure that will take you through many twists and turns. Meghan develops a deep understanding of love, loyalty, and friendship along the way that leads to her making a choice on where she really belongs. Does she follow her mind or her heart?

    I have no idea where 'The Iron Queen' will take me, after the massive cliffhanger in this book, but with Kagawa's amazing writing skills, I have no doubt it will be extraordinary.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 19, 2015

    I think im obsessed...

    Ugh. So much emotion. Dont worry no spoilers here. I am on the third and cant put these books down. If you love romance and adventure you will love these books! I am in LLOVE with the fey prince, Ash. And his relationship with Meghan. Ugh.. this book is tearing me apart.
    If your a fangirl then youll get this: the book is asdfghjkl!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 18, 2015

    Read this series!

    This second book was even more amazing then the first! So much is packed in the book! You'll laugh, cry, scream at the characters (OK so I did). What I love the most about this series is that I c a no predict what happens next! Of course I am not a cat! Ha ha

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2015

      

      

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 26, 2014

    This novel was action packed and intensely exciting.  I really l

    This novel was action packed and intensely exciting.  I really love how inviting Kagawa’s writing is.  Everything is larger than life, and the sense of inevitability is there throughout.  The combination of science and fantasy is eerily brilliant.  It is the culmination of what humanity can dream up.  Kagawa definitely threw some plot twists as us that I couldn’t have imagined.  She kept me on my toes throughout while developing an unforgettable tale.  This is the type of story that all fae enthusiasts will love, regardless of their age.

    I thoroughly enjoy how well developed the characters in this novel are.  We get to know a great deal about who they truly are, what lies underneath the polished court exteriors.  And this doesn’t end with the main characters in the novel.  It extends throughout the supporting cast as well, allowing readers to connect with everyone who graces the pages of this novel.  My heart breaks for the characters in this one.  It’s very Romeo &amp; Juliet, with a definite twist and without the horrid ending.  The variety of creatures and species that we meet are simply magical.  The way that she develops them is brilliant too, and never hampers your imagination.  

    Kagawa may just be one of my favourite YA authors.  Once you open one of her books you’re transported into your most vivid fantasies.  This novel is no exception.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2014

    Ilovebooks

    This book is the best book in the world get it now it has so much action like the other books in the series i love this book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2014

    Ash

    I love Ash! He is the best fiction character ever!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2014

    Chanda Hahn has created one of the most amazing fairy worlds I h

    Chanda Hahn has created one of the most amazing fairy worlds I have ever read! This series has kept me interested since it came out. I highly recommend it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2014

    The Iron Fey

    Omg I read the first book and fell in love with it! Can't wait to read this one

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 605 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31