Customer Reviews for

The Iron Duke (Iron Seas Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 185 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(91)

4 Star

(61)

3 Star

(22)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

My book of the year. Historical romance meets fantasy.

This is one of those books that could launch an entire sub genre. Brook melds together fantasy, a little science fiction, action and romance to bring to us a true steampunk entry into the romance genre.

While not explicitly stated, The Iron Duke is set in an alterna...
This is one of those books that could launch an entire sub genre. Brook melds together fantasy, a little science fiction, action and romance to bring to us a true steampunk entry into the romance genre.

While not explicitly stated, The Iron Duke is set in an alternate Victorian London. The Americas exist as a place where wealthy Europeans fled when the Horde invaded about 200 years ago. The Horde was an Asiatic society that conquered the West, England in particular, by releasing nanoagents or "bugs" into the sugar. The story starts 8 years after a rebellion and revolution that was ultimately won because a pirate by the name of Rhys Trahaearn destroyed a radio tower that controlled those who had been infected with the bugs. Post revolution, Rhys had been pardoned and awarded estates and the title, Duke of Anglesey. But to the people he is known as The Iron Duke.

Someone dropped a dead body on the estate of The Iron Duke and Mina, an inspector detective, is called upon to investigate the crime. While Mina is wishes to discover the murderer, she is also tasked with the important duty of trying to determine if The Iron Duke is in any danger.

He is ruthless in discovering the root of the threat and he is equally ruthless in making Mina his. Rhys problem is that he has no arts when it comes to seducing women. He's not a rake but he has had no desire in the past to tie himself to a woman. His efforts to acquire Mina are hamfisted and leave him cursing himself for his ineptitude. But this lessens his determination not one wit. If there are obstacles to making Mina his, he will buy them, crush them, move them out of his path.

As Mina and Rhys leave London for the air (dirigible of course!) and then the sea in pursuit of a dangerous weapon that could replicate the Horde controllers, they must truly change the course of history once again to be together.

posted by Jane_Litte on September 15, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Good overall pacing, enjoyable female lead.

I enjoyed this book though it had a bit of a slow start with a lot of info dump right off the bat. I'm a bit conflicted about the relationship between Mina and Rhys. It was unevenly developed, being both too quick and too slow at the same time.

Be aware, this is def...
I enjoyed this book though it had a bit of a slow start with a lot of info dump right off the bat. I'm a bit conflicted about the relationship between Mina and Rhys. It was unevenly developed, being both too quick and too slow at the same time.

Be aware, this is definitely one of those books with a male protagonist who does the 'claim my woman' mentality pretty much from the moment of meeting the main character.

Mina felt like a much more fully developed character than Rhy, which feeds into the uneven relationship progression problem. There's so much more nuance to Mina's personality and situation that Rhys seems flat by comparison, and the more he gets stuck in the "I will shag you" rotation, the most obvious the disparity is.

Still and all, an enjoyable romp with decent overall pacing once the info dump was done. The world building was very interesting. Like Mina, it felt far more developed than some other bits of the book. The author has some ambitious goals in this story.

posted by 1295941 on April 16, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5
  • Posted September 15, 2010

    My book of the year. Historical romance meets fantasy.

    This is one of those books that could launch an entire sub genre. Brook melds together fantasy, a little science fiction, action and romance to bring to us a true steampunk entry into the romance genre.

    While not explicitly stated, The Iron Duke is set in an alternate Victorian London. The Americas exist as a place where wealthy Europeans fled when the Horde invaded about 200 years ago. The Horde was an Asiatic society that conquered the West, England in particular, by releasing nanoagents or "bugs" into the sugar. The story starts 8 years after a rebellion and revolution that was ultimately won because a pirate by the name of Rhys Trahaearn destroyed a radio tower that controlled those who had been infected with the bugs. Post revolution, Rhys had been pardoned and awarded estates and the title, Duke of Anglesey. But to the people he is known as The Iron Duke.

    Someone dropped a dead body on the estate of The Iron Duke and Mina, an inspector detective, is called upon to investigate the crime. While Mina is wishes to discover the murderer, she is also tasked with the important duty of trying to determine if The Iron Duke is in any danger.

    He is ruthless in discovering the root of the threat and he is equally ruthless in making Mina his. Rhys problem is that he has no arts when it comes to seducing women. He's not a rake but he has had no desire in the past to tie himself to a woman. His efforts to acquire Mina are hamfisted and leave him cursing himself for his ineptitude. But this lessens his determination not one wit. If there are obstacles to making Mina his, he will buy them, crush them, move them out of his path.

    As Mina and Rhys leave London for the air (dirigible of course!) and then the sea in pursuit of a dangerous weapon that could replicate the Horde controllers, they must truly change the course of history once again to be together.

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2011

    Awesome Steampunk World, With a Sexy Romance

    Wow. I'm a huge steampunk fan, so when I got a Nook for Christmas, I tried to find a book within the genre I could take on vacation. I found this book, not expecting much, and was really very pleasantly surprised. Really well-thought out plot, inventive steam-powered devices, a handsome duke, a kick-butt heroine and funny sidekicks. I couldn't ask for more. However, this is not for the faint of heart. I am very well-versed in romantic smut, but even I was a bit shocked by the graphic intimate situations. I kept nervously peeking at my neighbor and husband on the plane, hoping they couldn't read what was on the page. But, it's pretty hot. And fun. I can't wait to read more from this author!

    8 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2013

    Such a unique story!  This was my first steampunk book, and I am

    Such a unique story!  This was my first steampunk book, and I am so glad I stumbled upon this one!  The characters are very likeable, not contrived, and the setting is like nothing I've ever read before.  
    I hadn't read romance since my early 20's, about 20 years ago, but this was so much more than your run-of-the mill mindless bodice-ripper.  It's more of a mystery-adventure set in a spectacular, well-fleshed out alternate-Victorian world with some really intense romance, thrown in.   
    From the very beginning, this book pulled me in for an entertaining, fast-paced ride that I couldn't put down until the inevitable happy ending.  Ms. Brooks did an excellent job creating a world I didn't want to leave (and thankfully won't have to too soon, as the Iron Seas are a series!).   

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 26, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A Great Steampunk Romance Read

    Unlike anything I have ever read before. It was only the second steampunk book that I have ever read, but it did not disappoint. Mina is an extremely likeable character that you feel for throughout the book. What makes this book outstanding is its secondary characters like Scarsdale, Yasmeen, and The Blacksmith among many others. Scarsdale and Yasmeen provide great comic relief while the mysterious Blacksmith leaves you wanting to know more. This is an amazing start to a series that shows great promise.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 3, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    ~Reviewed by SUZANNE & posted at Under the Covers Book Blog

    The Iron Duke is England’s hero. The former pirate turned lord saved England from the Horde when he destroyed their tower, freeing people from Horde control. So when Detective Inspector Mina Wentworth is called to investigate a murder that happened on his lawn she approaches with trepidation and a dash of excitement. But the Iron Duke, Rhys Trahaearn, is more than she expected, as is the powerful attraction she feels for him. Together they investigate the killing and discover their may be more to this than a simple murder, the whole of England could once again be at risk…

    Why did it take so long for me to pick up this book?! Before this I had read a few novellas by Meljean Brook within the Iron Seas series, which all inspired me to add The Iron Duke to my TBR pile, if I had known how much I would have enjoyed it, I would have picked it up immediately. 

    What fascinated me most about this book was the world that Brooks has created, steampunk is a great genre in allowing authors to let their imagination run rampant. But what I liked about The Iron Duke was although there were some great visuals and original ideas it all made sense and gave the impression that it was well thought out making everything hang together beautifully. It wasn’t just a string of weird and wacky things strung together with a convoluted plot thrown in to try and make sense of it. 

    As for the romance, not only does Ms Brooks know how to world build, she writes up some pretty potent and sexually charged romance as well. Once again I ask, why didn’t I start this sooner? Rhys and Mina had sexual tension rolling off this book in waves, the pull between them was undeniable and I had a fantastic time watching as their relationship built up from a mutual attraction to so much more. 

    This was a fantastic read, one of my favourites so far this year, it not only had a great romance, it had a plot that kept me enthralled and has established a world that I can’t wait to read more about. I have just become Meljean Brooks number one fan!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 12, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Has it all

    I don't give out 5 star reviews lightly, but this book deserves it. This is a genre surpassing mix of romance, steampunk, giant squid, pirates, police, murder, mystery, and nanotechnology. The world building is perfect, the slang flawless and everything from vast cultural changes to individual struggles is covered deftly.

    I would (and have) recommended this book to nearly everyone.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    The Iron Duke, by Meljean Brook, is in my opinion everything steampunk should be.

    The Iron Duke, by Meljean Brook, is in my opinion everything steampunk should be. It has a world history that is both far reaching and believable, characters that I feel I got to know throughout the story and gadgetry that far from detracting from the plot were integral to it. It also had enough steam between the characters to make any properly bred Victorian lady give into a fit of the vapors. I am happy to say that no such characters were present to the point of mention in this novel.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Wonderful, Absolutely Wonderful!

    I read this book because one of my favorite authors recommended her on her site. (Ilona Andrews). I picked it up because I am always looking for a new author and I have exhausted every other author I know of. Literally.
    This book was fantastic. The way I judge a good book is whether I would recommend it to friend and if I would reread it. I would do both with this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2012

    Love this book and all the excitement included.

    Love this book and all the excitement included.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 21, 2012

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2012

    Recommend

    My first steam punk and also my first book by this author. Good character development. Fast paced interesting story. Try it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Must read!

    Terrific! Must read, you wont regret it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2010

    Great for adventure and romance lovers

    I could not put this book down. The author created wonderful characters and an interesting storyline. If you like action plus romance, you will inevitably enjoy this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 13, 2010

    swashbuckling fun with a superhuman twist; one of the best steam punk novels ever!

    This is my first steam punk novel and I totally loved it! Brook's masterful use of language, character development and pace of the story kept me entertained and emotionally engaged. This was sooooo fun too.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 30, 2010

    FANTASTIC!!

    I just finished this book and it was absolutely amazing! One of my favorite this year and I've read a lot of books. The characters are smart, sassy, and incredibly sexy....yummy! I love this genre - Gail Carriger also has a great series. Iron Duke is so orignal, great world builing and description. Can't wait for the next book.....I have to wait an entire year :(

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 11, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    This alternate England science fiction is a terrific high seas and air adventure

    The Horde had conquered England; setting up its nanotechnological control tower to insure no rebellion occurred. The invincible enemy was unprepared for a pirate Rhys Trahaearn who blew up their tower and liberated the country. He became a hero and rewarded as the Iron Duke. No longer working as a pirate, respectable Rhys is a successful merchant.

    A corpse is dumped from an airship landing by Rhys' home. Half-Horde Police Detective Inspector Mina Wentworth leads the official investigation. Rhys has plans for the cop, but soon is at her side as she treks the zombie swamps after the identification of the victim leads her to conclude a sinister conspiracy plans to destroy England.

    This alternate England science fiction is a terrific high seas and air adventure in which the romantic subplot is kept in the background as the lead couple struggles with saving the country. Action-packed from the moment the body fell from the sky, readers will feel they entered the world of Brooks in which nanotechnology plays a key role. Rhys is a roguish hero while Mina used to prejudice is a dedicated person who risks her life for people who look down on her mixed breeding. The Iron Duke is a fabulous thriller.

    Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 25, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 91 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 5