Customer Reviews for

The Iron Giant

Average Rating 4.5
( 14 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(9)

4 Star

(2)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(2)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 8, 2013

    SOB!

    The movie and book are so touching! I like how the giant sacrifices himself to save the one he loves. It is sooo sad! But he comes back together in the end!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2013

    @#$%&*

    @#$%&* @#$%&* @#$%&* @#$%&*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 4, 2012

    A mysterious, fearsome giant, made of iron, walks out of nowhere

    A mysterious, fearsome giant, made of iron, walks out of nowhere to the top of a cliff. No one knows where he had come from or how he was made. When he steps off the cliff, he crashes and breaks into a hundred pieces, but over time all the pieces fit themselves back together again. Soon afterwards a farmer’s son named Hogarth is fishing in a stream and at evening sees a giant black figure, bigger than a house. No one, except his own father, believes Hogarth at first, but when reports begin to come in about missing tractors, plows, and other farm machinery made of steel and iron, everyone decides that something needs to be done.
    A big hole is dug near where the Iron Giant had gone back into the sea and is covered with branches, straw, and soil, with an old truck on the nearby hill as bait to trap the monster. At first, he does not come, but eventually he does fall in and is covered with a mound of dirt. However, the following spring, he digs out of the trap and starts eating all the barbed wire for miles around, as well as hinges which he tears off gates, tin cans which he finds in ditches, tractors, cars, and trucks. The farmers talk about calling in the army. But Hogarth has a plan. What is it? And when a giant space lizard the size of Australia comes to Earth from Orion and threatens to destroy the planet by eating all living things, is there anything that Hogarth and the Iron Giant can do to save mankind?
    We saw the 1999 Warner Brothers animated feature film The Iron Giant, and our boys really liked it, but I didn’t know until a few years ago that the movie was based on a book, originally published in England as The Iron Man, although the two are very different in many respects. The book is quite spare, consisting of only five chapters, so it is an easy read for middle grade students. There is one mention of the stars being billions and trillions and zillions of years old, but it is also said that the people wept and prayed to God to save them from the space lizard. No bad language occurs. Author Ted Hughes was poet laureate of England from 1984 until his death in 1998. The book is said to be “a powerful tribute to peace on earth—and in all the universe,” so some might see in it a little anti-war propaganda, but the fact is that no reasonable person really wants war and that everyone hopes and strives for peace. There is a sequel, The Iron Woman, describing retribution based on environmental themes related to pollution.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2012

    The weirdest thing ever

    The weird thing is that when you watch the movie and look at the cover of the book it shows the giant of the movie but the pics in the book no that looks way different from the movie and cover

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2012

    highly recommended

    Heard a review on NPR and bought it for my growing-up children who loved the movie as littler ones. It is a beautiful book and they will have it to read with their children someday.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Great for kids, different from the movie.

    I *loved* the movie, The Iron Giant, so I thought I would check out the book. When I heard it was "different," I thought it would be a few scenes the movie left out, or the movie made up a few scenes, but the movie pretty much used the characters and went on its own way with the concept of a giant metal man. That being said, I found the book much more "childish." I would have loved it if I'd read it as a kid, but I was hoping for something more along the lines of the movie when I bought/read this. It's not a bad book, just a bit young for me.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 6, 2011

    AMAZING STORY LINE

    Great story line!!!!! An adventureous story about the Iron Giant and his friendship with a little boy.......

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 20, 2009

    Okay book.

    This book is pretty good at the beginning, but I did not like the ending. I liked the movie way better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 30, 2003

    A true work of art

    This story brought tears to my eyes. A true story of compassion, foregiveness and sacrifice. I would like to recomend this story to all parents of young children. With this story you can teach your children how to be tolerant and accept others differences. There is so much you can learn from this story even as a grown up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2003

    This Book was HUGE

    I loved the book Iron Giant.I loved how the author Ted Hughes added a lot of details to explain the Giant and his actions.This is one of my favorite stories to read.This book is AMAZING!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2000

    THE IRON GIANT - A TED HUGHES MASTERPIECE!

    THE IRON GIANT, a compelling a story about a collosal iron giant trying to save the world from an evil space-bat-angel-dragon. Kids all over the world will be touched by this story, as well as grown-ups.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2014

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 14 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1