Customer Reviews for

Iron House

Average Rating 4
( 170 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(89)

4 Star

(49)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

Iron House

Michael and Julian are brothers who suffered the pain and cruelty of an inept orphanage. Michael runs away from the orphanage after killing one of his brother's tormentors and they become estranged for over twenty years. Julian is adopted and is soon living with the wea...
Michael and Julian are brothers who suffered the pain and cruelty of an inept orphanage. Michael runs away from the orphanage after killing one of his brother's tormentors and they become estranged for over twenty years. Julian is adopted and is soon living with the wealthy family of a senator. Michael while living on the streets is picked up by a mob boss and is trained to be a ruthless killer.

When the mob boss dies, so will Michael's connection to him and his family wants Michael dead. And they will stop at nothing to kill him. Meanwhile, Julian had suffered one of many breakdowns and cannot deal with his own demons. The senator wants to keep it a secret, but Michael wants to find out the truth.

There are a variety of plot lines, that are woven together to make for superb story. With so much going on, this book is intense and emotional. It is a story of a brother's love from one another and how the past has a hold on one's present.

posted by grumpydan on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hard to read

I am a huge fan of John Harts writing...but, in this book, there was just too much violence and gore...I had a really hard time finishing the story...

posted by IrishlassFL on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9
  • Posted March 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Iron House

    Michael and Julian are brothers who suffered the pain and cruelty of an inept orphanage. Michael runs away from the orphanage after killing one of his brother's tormentors and they become estranged for over twenty years. Julian is adopted and is soon living with the wealthy family of a senator. Michael while living on the streets is picked up by a mob boss and is trained to be a ruthless killer.

    When the mob boss dies, so will Michael's connection to him and his family wants Michael dead. And they will stop at nothing to kill him. Meanwhile, Julian had suffered one of many breakdowns and cannot deal with his own demons. The senator wants to keep it a secret, but Michael wants to find out the truth.

    There are a variety of plot lines, that are woven together to make for superb story. With so much going on, this book is intense and emotional. It is a story of a brother's love from one another and how the past has a hold on one's present.

    21 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 18, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A high octane thriller, A summer must read

    After suffering all manner of indignities as orphans Michael and his younger brother Julian must now suffer the loss of each other when a murder is committed and a culprit must be spared. Now more than twenty years have passed and Michael once again finds it necessary to shield Julian only this time the stakes are much higher for both brothers and as time progresses and the body count is mounting, damning secrets are revealed, secrets that go back to the beginning, back to "Iron House".
    This very well written thriller will leave a definite taste of noir on your tongue as our author gives us his main protagonist who's just as much if not more villain than hero. His plot could be straight out any mob tale du jour complete with no necked body guards and no nonsense killers and beside one small plot dot that didn't fit for me the story line was flawless. He uses a full range of dialogue that matches his mix of characters, from street thugs of New York to the indigent hill people of North Carolina to the rolling estate of a politician and his wife. Each of Mr. Hart's characters is imperative to the story, and each play their part so well that his readers will feel the torture of Elena, the grief of Michael and the tenuous line on sanity of Julian and Abigail. This is a love story, a tragedy, a drama and a thriller all wrapped up in one and each of these themes are performed to perfection. There are scenes that are disturbing as this is not a read for the feint of heart, but they're masked well enough to not put off any but the most squeamish of readers.
    Be prepared for an adventure, an edge of your seat, nail biting, breath stealing roller coaster ride that will leave you winded to say the least, but glad you read it non the less.
    If you haven't read John Hart start now, if you have you'll continue to rave as Iron House will be your next Must Read.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 7, 2011

    A Must READ!

    I Loved it! WOW! This was my first John Hart book, and I will definitely look for his previous works. I got this book through Goodreads first reads giveaway. I must admit I wasn't expecting to find myself cheering for a someone like Michael, conisdering his line of business, but that's exactly what happened. The main characters were so well written--cracked but not broken, flawed but loyal.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 4, 2011

    Hard to read

    I am a huge fan of John Harts writing...but, in this book, there was just too much violence and gore...I had a really hard time finishing the story...

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Amazing read! I could not put it down!!!

    One is defined neither by his past nor the sum of his actions, but by what he chooses to do at present. This book is an edge-of-your-seat type thriller, but with the kind of message usually seen only in the "classics".

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 8, 2011

    A Good Read

    Iron House
    John Hart
    ISBN: 978-0-312-38034-2
    Release: July 12, 2011
    432 pages
    Fiction
    $25.99/29.99 Can.

    Michael is a man with a dangerous past. He is a man who wants a brighter future, but with the past fast on his trail that future is crumbling before it can begin. Michael is good at one thing, and that's the thing he is trying to escape, killing. He will have to do a lot of it to reach that future, but that's also the thing that will destroy it. Choices and sacrifices will be made for the sake of something he holds dear, family.
    This one took me awhile to get into. It started out reading like a Hollywood plot I have watched many times (which is why I won't say much about the plot so not to give it away). About midway through it got my attention more. For one thing the pace of action picked up, but also more of a back story started showing through. When I finished the book I was left feeling really good about it overall.
    My first personal complaint is that I thought it started out slow. From the description I was expecting it to be action packed from the beginning. Another one is that I felt a character that should have been developed more (Michael's brother, since a lot of plot revolves around him) was left in the shadows. I really wanted to get to know him better. Plus, the outcomes were pretty predictable. Mr. Hart did surprise me with one thing and for that I give him a lot of credit.
    Otherwise I really enjoyed the book once the pace picked up and the plot thickened. There were some intriguing side stories to enhance the original plot and a dysfunctional family story that is realistic and relatable for some readers. When I closed the book for the final time I could imagine what life would like for the characters.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    A good story, but some cliche

    Iron House is a beautifully written mystery/suspense novel that delves into the psychological effects of a childhood of violence and abuse. Michael is an orphan who, after running away from a violent scene at an orphanage, grows up to be an enforcer for a powerful mobster. When he falls in love with a beautiful waitress and retires from organized crime, he is suddenly thrown into a violent mystery leading him to explore things he had left behind. Despite my need to suspend disbelief a few times (and to frown upon a few clichés), I feel that Hart kept up the action (and mystery) throughout the book, making for an engaging read. This is an excellent book for people who enjoy mystery/thrillers (assuming they don’t mind violence).

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    It was what I was looking for

    This was the last of the John Hart books that I read after getting back into reading reading again after quite a break, and I was not disapointed. I like the way he writes and I really like what he did with this story.. very enjoyable. I think this may be the best that he has done, but I look forward to what he comes out with next.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2011

    Hart gets better with each book

    His best book yet. Good suspense. Good character development. totally enjoyed this one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 31, 2011

    Tremendous!

    This book is smooth...it plays a movie in your head. It is startling and unique. Definitely gives you something to think about for days. I love that it wraps up tidy without leaving you confused or wanting.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 10, 2011

    Great book

    Captures you throught the book.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 7, 2011

    WOW!!!

    One of the best, thrilling & exciting books I've read in a very long time!
    A real page turner. Loved it!!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2012

    Highly Recommended

    John Hart once again has written a hard-to-put down novel. A unique love story, with suspense and excitement.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Fantastic

    I have recommended this book to EVERYBODY I know who reads. Absolutely fantastic. I am looking for other titles by this author.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 3, 2012

    very good!

    great story

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 27, 2012

    Excellent.

    Loved it. Its a must read. The story line was great and the characters flowed and meshed well. It shows that one brother would do anything for the other, even if it means covering up a crime.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 11, 2012

    Highly Recommend

    John Hart has become one of my favorite writers. I have read all of his books and they never disappoint.

    Iron House is by far the best. John Hart has twists throughout this story and brings it all together so perfectly in the end. The bond between the two brothers is beautiful and heartbreaking at the same time.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    A great read!

    a dark wonderful book. Hart never fails to draw you into his world. Buy and read, you won't be disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2012

    Great Read! Don't miss this one

    I am over half way through this book and I can't put it down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 26, 2012

    This is a great book!!

    This book is well written and suspenseful. It pulls you in from the beginning and you won't be able to put it down.
    Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 171 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 9