Customer Reviews for

Iron House

Average Rating 4.5
( 176 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(94)

4 Star

(50)

3 Star

(20)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(5)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

22 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

Iron House

Michael and Julian are brothers who suffered the pain and cruelty of an inept orphanage. Michael runs away from the orphanage after killing one of his brother's tormentors and they become estranged for over twenty years. Julian is adopted and is soon living with the wea...
Michael and Julian are brothers who suffered the pain and cruelty of an inept orphanage. Michael runs away from the orphanage after killing one of his brother's tormentors and they become estranged for over twenty years. Julian is adopted and is soon living with the wealthy family of a senator. Michael while living on the streets is picked up by a mob boss and is trained to be a ruthless killer.

When the mob boss dies, so will Michael's connection to him and his family wants Michael dead. And they will stop at nothing to kill him. Meanwhile, Julian had suffered one of many breakdowns and cannot deal with his own demons. The senator wants to keep it a secret, but Michael wants to find out the truth.

There are a variety of plot lines, that are woven together to make for superb story. With so much going on, this book is intense and emotional. It is a story of a brother's love from one another and how the past has a hold on one's present.

posted by grumpydan on March 29, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Hard to read

I am a huge fan of John Harts writing...but, in this book, there was just too much violence and gore...I had a really hard time finishing the story...

posted by IrishlassFL on August 4, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9
  • Posted January 21, 2012

    Great Read!

    I really enjoyed this book. It was thrilling, interesting, and a real page turner. Author wove a very clever plot. Highly recommend.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2012

    Good Read

    It took me a while to start this book, then when I started it I couldn't put it down. The subject matter is difficult and there are some rather grusome things that happen so if you are looking for a light read this isn't for you. I read John Hart King of Lies last summer so when I found he had another book I had to give it a chance. His writing style is simple and easy to understandnot what you would expect with the subject matter. This is not for laying on the beach but I will read more of his books.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2012

    Fun, Fast, Furious

    Excellent. Enjoyed every minute of it

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2014

    Must read!

    Instantly captivating, Hart paints a complicated picture spanning decades.I will be reading more from this talented author.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2014

    AMAZING

    This wonderfully written book was by far one of the best I have read in years! The characters come alive and you follow their journeys with each gripping moment. Absolutely loved it!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Miracle

    Runs along side him and helps him keep his balence. Mura

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Mink

    "Tacota! No!" She bursts out of the bushes and helps him to camp.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Takota

    Pads in. Drops the bag and a kitten squirms out. A twoleg pets him. "Thanks Thor." The kitten looks at The twoleg and purrs. Takota nods as he tries to pad out the twoleg puts a collor on him. Gives him a steak and locks him in the backyard. He howls needing help. Breaks the fence. Grabs the steak and runs off. The twolegs father shoots Takota in the head. Takota dizzaly runs home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2014

    Outstanding

    Read this book! It grabs you from the first page and doesn't let up.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 19, 2014

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well written and nothing was

    I really enjoyed this book. It was well written and nothing was left unfinished.
    All the characters had depth and were relatable. This was my first John Hart book and I will definitely be looking for all his books. I liked how he kept the story moving, when one conflict was solved, another popped up. Very entertaining.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 14, 2013

    Ok

    Notphpip ppjpjpopipupupyptpgpfpvppnp p pxpsppcp p

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 13, 2013

    recommend it

    keeps you going and interesting plot twists all along the way. Sympathetic characters and a somewhat unexpected ending.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2013

    So-so book

    Could have been a good mystery, but it was lacking something. Had trouble holding my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 5, 2013

    The Hitman you Have to Love. Michael is a well-known, but never

    The Hitman you Have to Love. Michael is a well-known, but never photographed, enforcer for a NY crime family. He has been in the life since age 11. Twenty years later he falls in love and asks to be released to start a new life. The family patriarch, who is dying, but who loves and trusts Julian above his own son, agrees. The son and the family disagree. To keep him in the family they threaten his girlfriend, who knows nothing of his real life, and also his long-lost brother. The story revolves around Michael’s race to protect them both and to escape from the family. In reuniting with his brother several other subplots come into play. Lots of twists and turns and one ‘torture’ scene I had to skip over [details were totally unnecessary to book from my perspective]. From page one I was totally enamored of Michael, and throughout the book, even as his ‘skills’ came into play, I continued to see him as the hero, despite the fact he was a cold-blooded killer. The choice of protagonist was interesting, but Hart totally made it work – the sense of danger from the family was real and the skill set was necessary to care the plot. I have added Hart to my list of ‘pre-order’ authors

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2013

    Recommend - good read

    Enjoyed the book. Kept my interest.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2013

    Bought this book based on the synopsis on the back cover and it

    Bought this book based on the synopsis on the back cover and it did not disappoint! WOW! It grabbed me from the first page and did not let go until the end. I read the 432 pages in 3 days! All of the main characters were nicely developed and even the secondary characters were given amazing depth. Since reading this book I have purchased 2 more of Mr. Hart's books. I can't wait to read them!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Great Read

    Keeps you guessing until the end. John Hart always keeps me on my toes.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    What a story

    If you can get past some parts that are violent and look at the picture as a whole, the story told here and how the lives intersect is amazing. I highly recommend this one.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Read this book!

    Excellent. Just the right amount of intrigue. Fast-paced....can't wait for John Hart's next book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    Another Great Book from John Hart

    So far, I have read three of Hart's books and have thoroughly enjoyed them all. Great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 177 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 9