BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

The Iron King (Iron Fey Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1280 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(820)

4 Star

(284)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Fae, Faeries and Friends

Meghan is your average teenager until her 16th birthday and BAM...things change quite drastically. She develops the ability to see the fae and all the seedy underground that goes along with it. She is on quite an adventure to get her kidnapped brother back...an advent...
Meghan is your average teenager until her 16th birthday and BAM...things change quite drastically. She develops the ability to see the fae and all the seedy underground that goes along with it. She is on quite an adventure to get her kidnapped brother back...an adventure spanning 3 fae courts and meeting numerous seelie and unseelie "characters".


I really, REALLY loved this book! The characters are strong and memorable and the plot is not so predictable that you have everything figured out by the time you get half way into the book. Meghan is a likable main character with deep love for her family even though her childhood conditions were not the best. Her best friend is a rock for her, even though he turns out to be someone that shocks her. There is the bad guy romance factor with Ash. I have to say one of my favorite characters is the cat! Yes, the cat, Grimalkin...he is funny and also there as a rock when Meghan needs him.


The author's imagination was transferred vividly to the pages of this book and I was flipping pages like crazy to get to the end! The ending leaves it wide open for the sequel, The Iron Daughter, which comes out in August. If you love fae, faeries, historical fairy tale characters, action, drama and romance, you will want to pick this book up.

posted by wicked_walker on April 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

22 out of 45 people found this review helpful.

Too much like Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series and the film Labyrinth

I can't give Julie Kagawa's book a higher score than 1 star, knowing this is Harlequin Teen's version of Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series. The difference is Julie Kagawa added a cat and characters from Midsummer Night's Dream and Labyrinth. I'm surprised bloggers did...
I can't give Julie Kagawa's book a higher score than 1 star, knowing this is Harlequin Teen's version of Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series. The difference is Julie Kagawa added a cat and characters from Midsummer Night's Dream and Labyrinth. I'm surprised bloggers did not catch the similarity or even mentioned it as if they all agreed not to state the obvious. As a honest reviewer, I'll state the obvious. Iron King is not original. Melissa Marr's series is better written and more imaginative. I even found typos in The Iron King.

posted by Cynthia67 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1294 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 65
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    I read four of these books and they are the best

    I read four of these books and i fell in love with them i love the charecters i hope she gets ash cause i want puck to myself seriosly i still go to bed prayin puck will magicly pop out of the book he is awsome

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 13, 2013

    !

    Bn really needs to put a word limit to posts. Maybe it will cut down on these incessent plot spoilers who think they are book gods and just have to reveal everything about the book. You ppl need to be banned and fined for plot spoilers.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 17, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    So, I had to read this series. Not only have I heard a ton of go

    So, I had to read this series. Not only have I heard a ton of good things about it, but I also got a copy of The Lost Prince and didn't want to be lost when reading it!

    Blurb from Goodreads:
    Meghan Chase has a secret destiny; one she could never have imagined.
    Something has always felt slightly off in Meghan's life, ever since her father disappeared before her eyes when she was six. She has never quite fit in at school or at home.
    When a dark stranger begins watching her from afar, and her prankster best friend becomes strangely protective of her, Meghan senses that everything she's known is about to change.
    But she could never have guessed the truth - that she is the daughter of a mythical faery king and is a pawn in a deadly war. Now Meghan will learn just how far she'll go to save someone she cares about, to stop a mysterious evil no faery creature dare face; and to find love with a young prince who might rather see her dead than let her touch his icy heart

    I have to say that I was a bit bored for about the first half of the book. That was disappointing to me. I thought I would start reading and be drawn right in. But the first half is very much about the world building and not much happens.

    I love the cover of this book. It's just beautiful. I think it adequately captures the story in every way.

    Meghan Chase, the heroine, comes off to me as your basic teenage girl. She's a little boring, not really into anything going on at high-school, kind of an outcast with no friends. She seems fairly family oriented, although you can tell she doesn't have a high opinion of her step-father. I honestly didn't get the feeling that she felt something was off with her, as the description of the book says. I thought perhaps we could see more of what she was able to do as she came into whatever powers she had, but that really didn't happen. And I was expecting a bit more of a building in her relationship with Robbie (Robin Goodfellow/Puck) but it really wasn't there.
    As for Puck, I love his character. He's witty and kind. He's completely protective of Meghan and you can see that there is something else underlying their relationship.
    Ash is certainly the male character to swoon over. He's cold and calm, and conceals his feelings quite easily. Yet, when tempted with what he knows he should not have, he takes it, gives in with all his heart. But he is hot and cold and that really bothers me. He is a friend and a foe at the same time. It's such a conflict in his personality. I certainly want to get to know more about him and where he's coming from.
    I have to say that the cat, Grimalkin (Cait Sith) is my favorite character so far. He's just awesome. I love how he talks in riddles. He helps Meghan, always with some motive, but you can also see that he's becoming a genuine friend. I am certainly reminded of the Cheshire Cat from Alice in Wonderland when I picture him in my mind. And his typical response of "I'm a cat" is hilarious. As if that will just explain everything away!
    I would honestly like to see more character development from Meghan and Ash. I find them rather flat and I would love to see them become more whole and interesting.

    The storyline is quite interesting. This is my first strictly Fae book. I have read other books with a mix of creatures in them (such as Need by Carrie Jones). So I was interested to see where the story was going. I like the separation of the courts, one being summer and one being winter. It gives an interesting contrast to the descriptions of the landscapes in the book. I found the pace rather slow at first. Nothing very interesting really happened and there were a few inconsistencies that bothered me. But it certainly picked up in the second half of the book, giving a bit more action and showing a bit more character development. I do love how Kagawa uses Shakespear as her basis for characters in this story. I do love how the author ties the Fae world into our present world, showing that without the imagination of children and others the Fae world would not longer exist.

    I didn't find the writing to be all that enthralling. Considering the wonderful reviews I have seen and the raving over the books from my fellow reader friends, I really thought the writing would drawn me in more. But it didn't. Again, like the characters, I found the writing rather flat. I think part of this was because of the major amount of time spent on world building. Once the action started happening, I had a much easier time picturing what was going on in my head as the author described the scene. I am hoping the author shows some growth in her writing through the next books in the series.

    3 out of 5 stars from me, and the hope that the second book will be more intriguing than this one.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2012

    Just as grate as Twilight.:)

    Couldnot stop reading this book! I've read the whole series in four days. Im about to start reading The Lost prince can't wait! So happy that i've found another series to get lost in. To me this series is just as grate as Twilight. In some ways even better.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 19, 2012

    Annonymos

    I loved this book and ive read the whole series. I couldnt put the books down for one minute

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2012

    Unexpectantly love it!

    I dont care how much my sister laughs that im in love with a book about faeries, it is just so amazing! I love the perfect blend of personality in all the characters; trickster/ brotherly friend/ guardian puck with the strong and slightly confused heroin meghan! And we cant forget "ice boy", the frosty, broody, and mysterious prince tht captures our heroins heart, or grimalkin the witty cait sith cat that acts aloof, yet we all know he really cares. All of these characters create a wonderful storyline ful of adventure, romance, deciet, and surprise. I finished this first book in one day, unable to put it down! I then proceeded to spend all of my allowance from the past few weeks on the next books, that i finished within the week. I sadly wish the author would write more back stories with Puck winning the heart of someone because i think its high time he got some joy in his life!! If you cant tell yet, Puck is my favorite character :) red head power- team puck for the win!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2012

    This really pulls you in.

    I haven't read much in the faery genre besides Wicked Lovely (which was a few years ago) and I have to say I'm very impressed with Julie Kagawa's take on this particular teen niche. I work in a library surrounded by books and I would find myself absorbed in questions about what would happen next (why is Grimalkin so dodgy ... what is going to happen next to x,y,z,...)

    When you can't stop thinking about a book while surrounded by books- you know this journey will be good.
    I look forward to the next in the series; it will be purchased like right now.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Must Read!

    If you like the fey and lots of crazy adventure then you definitely have to check out this series! I loved it

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Move over midsummer nights dream, the fey have come back to town!

    I love the fantasy genre. There are no rules to thes worlds, allowing the authors the fredom to reinvent, reinturpret and just plain create new worlds, creatures and cultures. For many authors this is over looked, formulaic, predictable, and filled with cheap, unrealistic fomance they churn out pulp fiction that offends the trees that died to print them. Ms. Kagawa however is a member of those elite groups of authors with talent and genuine imagination. Her fey are familiar, yet sen with fresh eyes. The characters are fully realized individuals, whise stories I want to read. Meghan's story is compeling; Ash and Puck are charismatic and the nevernever is getting a fresh serving of belief with each new reader!

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Books to the Sky Reviews: LOVE!

    I have a ridiculous love for this book (and the series). I felt like it blended in the fantasy and the reality so well. And I completely loved that the faeries were characters from Shakespeare. It doesn't make a huge impact on the plot (or else I need to brush up on my Shakespeare), but the characters were a blend of familiar and unfamiliar due to that.

    Meghan gets involved in situations that are well beyond her understanding, and she shows incredible strength. I loved her determination, that even though what she had to go through was scary and life threatening, but she didn't let it stop her.

    And Ash....oh Ash. Hotness in a faerie times infinity.

    The struggle that the characters go through, the tension between them, it was all so well written and developed in this story.

    If you can't tell, I'm completely hooked on this series. I physically own the first three books in paperback, and even though I will be reviewing the fourth via my e-reader, once it comes out in October I will be purchasing that one in paperback to add to my series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 4, 2011

    Good read - entertaining

    Like most books, I read this book in an afternoon. It was worth the price. The plot was interesting and moved along quickly once I was past the first chapter. The action had major swings from touching conversation to attack in one breath. I can't wait to read the second one.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    Great book!

    The iron king is such a great book! I really liked it. If your into mythical creatures and stories about them this is the book foryou. I recomend this to everyone especially ages 11-14.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 17, 2011

    Okay Book-Didn't like as much as I thought I would

    I picked up this book thinking it would be a great read for me. I mean on the back of the book, it promised fantasy, a girl that does not know she is a princess and a strange lands.
    I liked the first few chapters of the book. They were suspenseful and really a page turner. Well that wore off when I got to the middle of the book.
    I really should had learned more about faeries. Every person Meghan met either hated her, where not nice to her or wanted to turn her into something. It really started to piss me off.
    I would recommended this book if you are really into Faeries. For me, I guessed I learned that I'm not.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 24, 2011

    Recommended-The series gets better with every book

    I started this book and it did draw me in almost right away; but somethings about the main character annoyed me. She was a little too dependent on the guys around her to protect her and seemed to cower a lot to me. I will say, the series gets better with each book and it is definitely worth working your way through them. Julie Kagawa has a gift for writing action. I write in my spare time, so I know how hard it is to write down the great action scene you can picture so perfectly in your head. Julie has found a way to suck you into the book and make you see everything as easily as I'd imagine she did when she was writing it. You won't be sorry that you read this series, believe me.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 30, 2010

    must read if u want to get this book

    this book is amazingly similar to the book posion by chris wooding, which is about a girl whos baby sister has been taken by faeries and she goes on a journey to find her and bring her back, with the slight twist of her being a princess of one of he courts. which is common in alot of books, but the begging of the book seems to me to be made exactly like the devouring. i would not recommend this book there are thousands like it tht are infinatly better written.

    2 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 22, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fascinating but not in my normal genre

    I am not knocking this style of writing because there is so much out there in this fantasy genre, but I just am not a huge fan of it. But I did like how Meghan had to really work to keep herself from falling apart while searching the Nevernever for her younger brother Ethan. The mythical creatures that she encounters on her travels blow the mind. And the ending is one that makes tears come to your eyes, but the rest of the novels will pick up Meghan's story as well. Like I said, its a great story, but not one of my favorites.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Great book

    The Iron King is a good book. I have read many books about the Fey, but the idea of Iron Fey is an interesting idea. This book had action, adventure, and romance. I would highly recommend.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 21, 2010

    Wonderful Addition to Modern Faery Tales

    Meghan Chase needs to find her brother. Having been taken by fey and replaced with a changeling, her half-brother is trapped in the land of Faery, and it is up to Meghan and her best friend, who in fact turns out to be fey himself. And not just any fey, he is the legendary Robin Goodfellow, aka Puck, a trickster known across numerous worlds and loved and hated in both. Once in the faeries' world (Nevernever as Puck calls it) Meghan finds out that she too is part fay, in fact she is an illegitimate daughter of King Oberon of the Seelie Court, and that makes her wanted by both courts and that puts her in extreme danger. One face this danger takes is in the form of Ash, a prince in the Unseelie court, who also has a vendetta against, yep, Puck. While this may seem to be a tale like numerous others that centers on Shakespearean fey, Iron King puts a unique and pleasant twist on the genre, with highly original characters (including an unforgettable cat); a beautifully dangerous world; lots of faery promises and bargains; and a subtle romance that is a refreshing breather from the many over the top love fests Urban fantasy stories always seem to have. I can't wait for the next installment of the Iron Fey series for it is sure to be as good as the first.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 8, 2010

    One of the best faerie novels out!

    WOW! As many others have stated, at first glance THE IRON KING appears to be your typical faerie book. Summer court? Check. Winter court? Check. Shakespeare-esque characters? Check. Yes there are similarities, but these lie only in the bare backbone of the story. Yes there are those faerie courts and A Midsummer Night's Dream characters (Oberon, Titania, etc), but they are necessary for the make-up of the story. From here on out, Julie Kagawa makes THE IRON KING shine in the already-faerie inundated YA world.

    Julie Kagawa writes in a style that is easy and refreshing to read. She doesn't weigh you down with a barrage of information, rather, she slowly immerses the reader into her world, page after page. Descriptions flow off the page and her tone is never stilted. It's narrated in first person point of view, through Meghan's eyes, and I found this great because she had a voice that was believable and easy to relate to.

    The thing I loved most about THE IRON KING was its multiple story lines. Meghan embarks on a journey that takes her far and wide, to diverse regions of Faeryland and all over America. There wasn't just one set plot where she travels into the Summer court and stays there for the rest of the novel. Nope, her quest brings her from one plot to another, from one crisis to a new one, from one mission to the next.

    THE IRON KING has a more action and adventure feel to it, though that is not to say it didn't have romance. There was a love story, but it did not overwhelm the fantasy-like realm of the Nevernever (faery land) and its unique and engaging inhabitants. First off, I love the feel of THE IRON KING. It's like a quest in the sense that Meghan, the main character, encounters all sorts of odd and malicious beings along the way as she nears her main goal. Unlike many faerie books out today, there was SO much going on! And in a good way. The story wasn't just about faerie drama and court intrigue, although there was a good portion of that in the beginning, which was actually done in a superb way. There was a lot of fighting, which was written well so it wasn't boring- usually, I dislike fight scenes for their dull descriptions and constant sword clashing, etc, but in THE IRON KING, I was actually very very enthralled!

    The romance was very well done as well. There was a "love triangle" going on, although that was subtle and not very well emphasized because one love interest took the backseat to the other, in a good way. I love the push and pull, the chemistry between Meghan and the guy, which was very believable and made it all the more satisfying when they admit their feelings, sorta.

    And the characters! I loved them all, which is a rarity in these types of books, where only the main character and one or two others stand out and all others are only fleetingly described or mentioned. Meghan has a companion in a Cheshire-like cat named Grimalkin, whom I adored, and all the other characters were well fleshed out to the point where I could visualize them in my mind and understand their actions. THE IRON KING is reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland in that there are all these fascinating

    Although THE IRON KING is only 368 pages, it was 368 pages of captivating adventure and page-turning action. I wholeheartedly recommend this to all those who love faeries, and ok- everyone else too!

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Lives up to all the hype!

    So glad that this book lived up to all of the hype! Heard nothing but raves about this one, and since I couldn't wait to get my copy and read it, it jumped straight to the top of my TBR pile. Well worth it, as I loved almost everything about this book! The cover is gorgeous, the story is fast paced and interesting, and the characters are believable.

    The main character is a teenage girl named Meghan. She lives on the outskirts of town, has always felt like an outsider, and it doesn't help that her family is poor. Meghan is about to turn sixteen, when she is humiliated at school by one of the popular boys that she's had a crush on forever. That scene brought back the horror that was high school, and reminded me how cruel teenagers can be. Thought that Julie really nailed the high school experience, and my heart broke for Meghan.

    Then things get strange when she gets home. What happened to her mother? Why is her little brother acting so strange? And why is her best friend Robbie making such outrageous claims? Robbie and Meghan are supposed to be celebrating her sixteenth birthday, but instead set off on an unexpected adventure.

    Really enjoyed this story. I thought Meghan was a believable character who reacted like a sixteen year old girl would when confronted with strange situations and horrible threats. It does get a little old when characters who supposedly lived normal human lives suddenly turn into superwoman and discover an unknown talent for kung fu or something. I liked that Meghan was scared and broke down in tears at times, but she was also strong, grew up fast, and discovered hidden strengths she didn't realize she possessed.

    Gave this one a 4/5 rating as I enjoyed the plot, thought that both main and secondary characters were well drawn, and overall the book was very well done. I especially loved Grimalkin! I'm looking forward to the next book, The Iron Daughter, due out in August.

    2 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 1294 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 65