Customer Reviews for

The Iron King (Turtleback School & Library Binding Edition)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1277 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(818)

4 Star

(283)

3 Star

(97)

2 Star

(39)

1 Star

(40)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

50 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

Fae, Faeries and Friends

Meghan is your average teenager until her 16th birthday and BAM...things change quite drastically. She develops the ability to see the fae and all the seedy underground that goes along with it. She is on quite an adventure to get her kidnapped brother back...an advent...
Meghan is your average teenager until her 16th birthday and BAM...things change quite drastically. She develops the ability to see the fae and all the seedy underground that goes along with it. She is on quite an adventure to get her kidnapped brother back...an adventure spanning 3 fae courts and meeting numerous seelie and unseelie "characters".


I really, REALLY loved this book! The characters are strong and memorable and the plot is not so predictable that you have everything figured out by the time you get half way into the book. Meghan is a likable main character with deep love for her family even though her childhood conditions were not the best. Her best friend is a rock for her, even though he turns out to be someone that shocks her. There is the bad guy romance factor with Ash. I have to say one of my favorite characters is the cat! Yes, the cat, Grimalkin...he is funny and also there as a rock when Meghan needs him.


The author's imagination was transferred vividly to the pages of this book and I was flipping pages like crazy to get to the end! The ending leaves it wide open for the sequel, The Iron Daughter, which comes out in August. If you love fae, faeries, historical fairy tale characters, action, drama and romance, you will want to pick this book up.

posted by wicked_walker on April 1, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

21 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

Too much like Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series and the film Labyrinth

I can't give Julie Kagawa's book a higher score than 1 star, knowing this is Harlequin Teen's version of Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series. The difference is Julie Kagawa added a cat and characters from Midsummer Night's Dream and Labyrinth. I'm surprised bloggers did...
I can't give Julie Kagawa's book a higher score than 1 star, knowing this is Harlequin Teen's version of Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series. The difference is Julie Kagawa added a cat and characters from Midsummer Night's Dream and Labyrinth. I'm surprised bloggers did not catch the similarity or even mentioned it as if they all agreed not to state the obvious. As a honest reviewer, I'll state the obvious. Iron King is not original. Melissa Marr's series is better written and more imaginative. I even found typos in The Iron King.

posted by Cynthia67 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65
  • Posted April 1, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Fae, Faeries and Friends

    Meghan is your average teenager until her 16th birthday and BAM...things change quite drastically. She develops the ability to see the fae and all the seedy underground that goes along with it. She is on quite an adventure to get her kidnapped brother back...an adventure spanning 3 fae courts and meeting numerous seelie and unseelie "characters".


    I really, REALLY loved this book! The characters are strong and memorable and the plot is not so predictable that you have everything figured out by the time you get half way into the book. Meghan is a likable main character with deep love for her family even though her childhood conditions were not the best. Her best friend is a rock for her, even though he turns out to be someone that shocks her. There is the bad guy romance factor with Ash. I have to say one of my favorite characters is the cat! Yes, the cat, Grimalkin...he is funny and also there as a rock when Meghan needs him.


    The author's imagination was transferred vividly to the pages of this book and I was flipping pages like crazy to get to the end! The ending leaves it wide open for the sequel, The Iron Daughter, which comes out in August. If you love fae, faeries, historical fairy tale characters, action, drama and romance, you will want to pick this book up.

    50 out of 55 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 28, 2011

    Ok..I LOVE this series

    I read the first 3 books in two days. Then I found out that there is a fourth one. And got even better when I found out that there is 2 books that go in between one and three.
    1. The Iron King
    1.5. Summers Crossing
    2. The Iron Daughter
    3. The Iron Queen
    3.5 Winters Passage
    4 The Iron Knight
    I know that Julie has written another book called
    Immortal Rules that comes out 4/28/12.But I'm not sure if it's part of this series.I hope so.I don't want these characters to end. Lol

    33 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Too much like Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series and the film Labyrinth

    I can't give Julie Kagawa's book a higher score than 1 star, knowing this is Harlequin Teen's version of Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely Series. The difference is Julie Kagawa added a cat and characters from Midsummer Night's Dream and Labyrinth. I'm surprised bloggers did not catch the similarity or even mentioned it as if they all agreed not to state the obvious. As a honest reviewer, I'll state the obvious. Iron King is not original. Melissa Marr's series is better written and more imaginative. I even found typos in The Iron King.

    21 out of 44 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Iron Joke

    A fantasy story based in King Oberon's court and Queen Mabs fury. I simply cannot finish the book. The author starts with a simple wholesome family story and mixes in unrealistic stories of the Fey with foul language and childish fantasies. Bad mix in writing style and a story which could have been good, but is lost in the inconsistent approach of the author. Highly recommend avoiding the book.

    20 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 29, 2011

    The Iron King by Julie Kagawa - One of the best fantasy/romance novels I have read.

    The Iron King was a great read and kept me flipping page after page! Although the plot of the book resembled that of the Faeriwalker trilogy by Jenna Black (Glimmerglass, Shadowspell, and Sirensong), with many of the same characters, there was a fresh feel of the book with the addition of the Iron King and his followers. Meghan Chase, the main character can be a little annoying at some parts, always having to be saved by Puck or Ash. Meghann does end up prooving herself more towards the end of the book. One thing that was left a bit unclear was how her and her friends always escape from some sticky situations. For example, blacking out and then being safe. One thing I also really enjoyed the typical love triangle: bad boy/enemy or best friend she knew forever? (I am team Ash. I like his mysterious nature, and also that he does want to be with Meghan even though it seems the other way around early in the book. THE ENDING IS A CLIFFHANGER, SO NOW I HAVE TO BUY THE NEXT ONE IMMEDIATLY!! Any fantasy lover will really enjoy this book! Totally deserves 5 stars!!!!

    16 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 30, 2011

    same book?

    the book need is very similar

    12 out of 49 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    ENCHANTING . . . until . . .

    Until about halfway, I was positive I'd give this 4 or 4.5 stars.

    (light spoilers, you are warned.)

    I was absolutely enchanted by Nevernever and how Kagawa described it, and even though the plot was stale and way overused (a sister saving her brother who was kidnapped by the fay) I was enjoying Iron King. It's been a while since I'd read a book about the Fay and I thought this one seemed very promising. Sometimes the writing was a bit stilted, but the majority was beautiful and evocative.

    But then Ash came to play a larger role. I almost started to groan at everything he said and every time Meghan looked at him and admired his "so perfect, awesome, captivating" beauty. On the last leg of the book, his character and "relationship" with Meghan made me want to put Iron King down and just not finish. I write relationship with such hesitation because there was no substance to whatever they were pretending to have, and there was no room for anything to grow (let alone begin) in the time the novel allowed.

    I remembered the words on the cover: "A love doomed from the start," and I immediately was intrigued--well, immediately as in when I found out Robbie was actually Puck. This could be a cool (and rather cute) angle; I mean, Puck isn't one I would think of normally to play the romantic lead. How would Kagawa pull this off and keep him in character? I was sure there would be a lot of hilarious miscommunication between the two and it was already making me smile.

    And then I realized Ash wasn't just going to be that hunter. Every time he appeared, Kagawa made it certain we knew how absolutely handsome he was. I think every single adjective for beautiful was used to describe him and it made me sick. Not to mention, Ash never really SAID anything: he growled it (which is a rather impossible dialogue tag to be honest) or muttered it, which really got old after a while.

    And then Puck had to be out of the way so Meghan and Ash could somehow bond. Before "it" happened, I was actually annoyed at how only Puck was getting hurt during that scene. Then it all came clear: of course, Meghan and Ash somehow needed to fall in love before the end of the book. Right.

    Somehow, Meghan and Ash DID fall in love. Almost immediately.

    And then near the end, during the climax, everything was so ridiculous it took a great amount of willpower to finish it. Ash was so hurt by the iron that he couldn't even stand. Then suddenly he's swinging his sword and defending Meghan. Okay, adrenaline, I'll just say it was adrenaline. And then a couple pages later: "It's taking all my concentration not to faint." And then somehow he's on his feet and running and swinging his sword around again. And THEN, he's pretty much unconscious on a floor, barely able to speak, and then he gets up AGAIN and escapes out of these long tunnels. The ending felt terribly rushed, and it was riddled with continuity errors, such as when Meghan first wielded Ash's sword, her fingers burned from the ice. The second time, the ice wasn't even mentioned. I flipped back to the other scene for a while, but it didn't make sense.

    Not to mention, how this whole book parallels Labyrinth to a drastic degree. I almost thought Ash would come out in a scene wearing tight pants and start to sing.

    I'm being really harsh, I know. I guess I'm bitter because I LOVED (as in really really loved) the book until Ash go

    11 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 25, 2011

    Best book ever!!!

    after reading the first page of reviews i was shocked at how many people didnt like this book. i have to tell you, THEY ARE WRONG!!!! this is one of the best books you can ever read i love the bit of romance, and this book also has alot of action! this book is by far the best i have ever read. i definatly reccomend this book!

    11 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 9, 2010

    Interesting Idea, Boring Main Character

    The idea of an Iron King of the Fey is something I've never heard before. I thought that was really creative and certainly puts a spin on all the faerie stories I've ever read. However, the main character has really poor judgment. It was hard to watch her make silly decisions and do silly things when the reader knows so much better. Many of the other characters are interesting to read about--like Ash--but Meghan was exasperating.

    11 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Love this series

    At first i didnt think i was going to like this series but i wanted something new to read. Well...i was not able to put the books down once i started. Great series & i have been stalking the web for updates for when the next book is coming out. Highly recommending this series.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2012

    Absolutely terrible- writing, characters, and plot

    For one thing, the writing is absolutely horrible. It's extremely choppy and honestly seems like it's been written by a fifth grader, except for the kissing scenes, which are horribly detailed. Then the story. It's billed as a romantic adventure, but Meghan is just as passive and helpless as Bella, willing to let her boyfriends do all the work. In fact, just replace the fairies- sorry, "faeries" with werewolves and vampires and you'd get Twilight. Meghan never thinks for herself or even shows any sign of having a spine, let alone a brain. Her brother is acting really weird and almost kills their mother. Must be youthful high spirits. He climbs into a hot oven without burning himself. That's no reason for her to listen o her best friend (yep, that old cliche) and believe he's not really her brother but a demon who helped kidnap the real boy! Later, the best friend (whose hair magically changes from crimson to auburn throughout the books, because those are remotely the same color) is possibly dying, having almost given his life for her, and all she can think about is the mysterious handsome ice prince Ash. These "heroines" never go with the nice guy who has been there for them and will be there for them, but I digress. Later, she will break down when Ash pretends to be mean to her (something he warned her about in advance) and go into a COMA when she thinks he's ignoring her. A coma which she only leaves when she imagines he tells her to. In other words, if you enjoy books with no sentences longer than ten words and no words over five letters and so-called "heroines" who do nothing but cry over boys, this book is for you. If you like reading books with strong heroines who go on adventures and actually have brains, try someone more like Tamora Pierce. This book and all the others in the series are complete wastes of money.

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2010

    negative

    i read this book on a recomendation from a friend. she was thrilled with it but me being a skeptic and cynical thought it was too predictable. it had themes from many other books i've read and it seemed to be too much like them. i got throught the first hundred pages and i had to put it down. from the first page i could tell* that puck wasn't human and neither was the girl. as soon as she entered "fairy land" or whatever and they were going to find the king, i could tell he'd be her father who supposedly died when she was young. sorry, but it was not suspenseful, thrilling, or mysterious. i do not recomend reading it unless you are looking for a simple read to pass the time and a cute story

    6 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Dumb from the start with a bad role model

    The main character is unbelievably dumb from start to finish, this book is a joke. It is like Bella from Twilight as a pig farmer's daughter trying to save her brother, but is helpless with a capital H along the way. She's superficial with no substance, only liking the good-looking guy at school and then Ash, but only for his looks. Bad role model for teens.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2011

    Highly recommended -you have to check it out

    This story is very entertaining its a bizarre twist of an alice in wounder land sort of story.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Enthralling Faery Tale

    The world that Kagawa creates is wonderful, somewhere between A Midsummer Night's Dream and Peter Pan - an interesting, yet creepy and dangerous, faery tale world.

    On her 16th birthday, Meghan's brother gets kidnapped by Fey who leave a horrible changeling in his place. Meghan learns her best friend, Robbie, is also Fey and they set off into the Nevernever to rescue her brother. This is a terrible and magical place where danger lurks behind every corner and word spoken.

    It is so interesting how Kagawa juxtaposes Meghan's faery tail imagination with the harsh reality of the "real" faery world. I really felt for Meghan, willing to do anything to save her brother and trying to navigate her way through this unknown world where she doesn't know the rules. This new world is nothing like the one she had dreamed about.

    There is also the dichotomy created between Puck, Meghan's best friend and trickster of the Summer world, and Ash, the Ice prince. They are so different and it will be interesting to see how the triangle works itself out as the series goes on.

    Then there is the way Kagawa sets up the battle between imagination and technology. The regular Fey rely on imagination and songs being sung about them to survive. The new Iron Fey are a result of technology and modern beliefs and cannot cohabitate with the older, more traditional fey.

    I highly recommend this book. The world created is wonderful, descriptive and vivid. The story is engaging. Those who like faeries are sure to like this book, along with those who like romance and love triangles. This is a fun book that is easy to read and transports you easily into its world.

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Younger audience than YA

    I dunno. It wasn't terrible, but it wasn't very good. I think it's for a much younger audience. The characters were flat. The story was convenient and predictable. Once I got about a third of the way through, I started skipping all the narrative and just skimming the dialogue to get a gist of what happened, and I don't feel like I missed anything.

    4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2010

    Brilliant!

    What can I say about this wonderful book? First, the whole idea of the Iron Fae was brilliant and masterful. I really do enjoy it when an author can take a topic over-used and turn it into an original piece of fiction. Some reviews stated they couldn't believe how the main character acted. That's ridiculous--she's a teenager whose only problems in life are school, friends, and family (not in that order). Meghan Chase ends up turning into a very mature, self-sacrificing adult. Maybe some people have their lives so together that they never make rash decisions like poor Meghan, but I'd probably be just as impulsive as she was. Regardless, she was a character that brought out many emotions in me.

    Puck was a delightful character as well, and his sense of humor was a great relief. It was a perfect mix between him, Meghan, and Ash.

    All I can say about sexy Ash except YUMMY! It's totally Romeo/Juliet and what can I say? I'm a sucker for that crap. Forbidden love and all that jazz.

    This was a beautiful book and I can't wait to continue on in this world that Julie Kagawa brought to vivid, stunning life. Bravo!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2012

    I luv it

    Im in love with this book. Team Ash

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 13, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Nothing like Need, this book's unique

    I know most people have already read this series, but sometimes I'm a late bloomer (or whatever), what can I say? Anyway, I've heard such amazing things about the series that I decided to give it a try, and I'm glad I did. The Iron King was an entertaining read that kept me turning the pages. The pacing was a bit slow for my tastes, and the romance wasn't the best, but overall, I really enjoyed this book.

    The characters were well-developed and flawed, but likable. My favorite character is Grimalkin. I am partial to cats, so that's one reason that he's my favorite, but the feline type personality details that Kagawa put into this character are amazing. This isn't a humanized talking cat. He iss still very much a feline, and he just happens to talk. I also enjoyed Puck's lightheartedness and Ash's cold, yet somehow endearing, personality. Meghan is all right. The narration is first person POV, so I got to know her very well. Her growth as a character over the course of the novel is obvious, and I liked that. However, she just doesn't blow me away. She's a bit boring. I hope she becomes more exciting in the following books. Boring or not, I still liked her, though.

    The pacing of the book is what really got on my nerves. Everything dragged along. There was one fight scene that I thought was going to last forever. I totally zoned out in the middle of it and when I started paying attention again, the fight scene was still going on. I was like, "seriously? Isn't it over yet? This is boring." When I think a fight scene is boring, that is not good. Normally, I love action, but the action in this book was somehow extremely boring. I think there was more telling than showing and that's why. Either way, I don't feel that writing action scenes is Kagawa's strong suit.

    The romance also really irritated me. I would have liked to have seen more interaction between Meghan and Ash in order to believe they loved each other. I mean I'm not faerie expert. Maybe they do insta-love in faerie land, who knows. All I know is that Meghan should have at least thought about Ash some before she kissed him and decided she couldn't live without him. That was a bit ridiculous to me. However, I'm willing to go with it and see what happens. She's only 16. Maybe it's infatuation that will lead to love. Who knows. I'm trying to be open minded here.

    The plot itself was intriguing, and that and the character development are the two things that kept me turning the pages. I read this book in one day, and I wasn't bored most of the time. I haven't read a ton of faerie books, so this concept was unique and interesting to me. I know that Kagawa pulled things from Alice in Wonderland, A Midsummer Night's Dream, and Peter Pan, but she pretty much admits that by referencing those works. When an author borrows from something but references it, I don't get that irritated about it. No idea is original, and if you're wiling to admit where the idea came from, then you're all right in my book. Anyway, I enjoyed the mixture of previous ideas and Kagawa's original material. She blended them together nicely.

    Overall, I liked this book, and I will be continuing the series. I would recommend The Iron King to fans of The Wicked Lovely series, for sure, as well as fans of Alice in Wonderland. I'm looking forward to reading The Iron Daughter next.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    Why are you lying

    This book has so many good review that I would hate to have a few bad reviews ruin a good book.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 1291 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 65