Customer Reviews for

Iron Kissed (Mercy Thompson Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 1182 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(837)

4 Star

(259)

3 Star

(66)

2 Star

(7)

1 Star

(13)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

Angieville: IRON KISSED

Wow. So this series just keeps getting more and more intense. And in such unexpected ways. I love it when an author has the ability (and the guts) to slip in a real shocker without compromising her characters or the story as a whole. In a series, that's particularly har...
Wow. So this series just keeps getting more and more intense. And in such unexpected ways. I love it when an author has the ability (and the guts) to slip in a real shocker without compromising her characters or the story as a whole. In a series, that's particularly hard to do without making it seem like a gratuitous plot twist inserted merely to keep the series going. Patricia Briggs has a 7-book deal for her Mercy Thompson series and book three has shown that not only does she know exactly what she's doing, but that we can trust her. To keep her characters and her world consistent. To take them down the right paths and introduce them to the right people...or werewolves and vampires in this case.

Mercy lives in a world where werewolves, vampires, and the fae exist side by side with humans. The first book, MOON CALLED, focuses on the werewolves. The second, BLOOD BOUND, centers on the vampires, including Mercy's quirky Scooby Doo loving friend Stefan. In this third installment, coyote shape shifter and VW mechanic Mercy Thompson is called in to help the fae solve a series of murders on the local fae reservation. Soon after, her friend Zee is arrested for the murder and, just like that, Mercy's in the thick of it, determined to clear Zee's name no matter what. Add to that the increasingly imperative choice she must make between the two werewolves in her life: Adam Hauptman (the Alpha of the local pack who's already claimed her as his mate) and Dr. Samuel Cornick (the wolf she fell in love with at 16). In what is becoming classic Briggs style, IRON KISSED combines an intriguing mystery with a streak of compelling romance, interspersed with glimpses of your worst nightmares. The combination is the height of entertainment. And what holds it all together is Mercy herself. The girl doesn't know the meaning of the words back down. I absolutely love these books.

posted by Angieville on November 20, 2008

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

4 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

Worst book in the series - very sick of this plot device

Major spoiler:

I'm sorry. I will not buy another patricia briggs book after this. As someone who has had a number of friends that have suffered being raped, this book uses a horrific crime as character development. I'm also very disappointed that so many people see t...
Major spoiler:

I'm sorry. I will not buy another patricia briggs book after this. As someone who has had a number of friends that have suffered being raped, this book uses a horrific crime as character development. I'm also very disappointed that so many people see this as something that has made the character stronger for having suffered through this.

First off, it smacks too much of woman being put in her place Mercy goes to the house without 'asking permission' from her boyfriend, as it's better to seek forgiveness. This comes up a number of times in the book. People, mostly males, tell her not to get involved and not to investigate. She ignores them, and what happens? Gee, she gets drugged and raped by the bad guy. The same bad guy that people had warned her she had been flirting with in the beginning (she thought she was just having a talk and using her history major.) So, if a woman debates, talks knowledgeably and can hold her own intellectually, she must be flirting?

Secondly, I'm more appalled by how her 'healing' went. Yes, the rape is still references in later books, but it seems like a bunch of wolves chanting over you, and suddenly, you're in the pack and your psyche is all better. That scene made me throw the book across the room in anger.

And finally, Ben explaining Mercy's mental state to Adam? I think the author didn't trust her readers enough to understand.

I adored the first two books. I have loved her Hurog books. But after this one, I will not buy any more of her books.

Writers, repeat after me. Rape is not character development. And if you are going to use rape, make it realistic. Don't use it as a way to get the main character and her love interest closer. Don't use it as a way to make the character sympathetic to those around her. The reality is - few rape victims get the support they need. Few of them will tell their friends it has happened. Few will realize just how much it impacts them from that point on.

Yes, this hit a massive nerve. But the reality is rape and its aftermath are nothing like what this book portrays. And that a good author has followed the formula of lesser authors disappoints me and infuriates me.

posted by HenriettaOconner on March 6, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 837 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42
  • Posted November 20, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    Angieville: IRON KISSED

    Wow. So this series just keeps getting more and more intense. And in such unexpected ways. I love it when an author has the ability (and the guts) to slip in a real shocker without compromising her characters or the story as a whole. In a series, that's particularly hard to do without making it seem like a gratuitous plot twist inserted merely to keep the series going. Patricia Briggs has a 7-book deal for her Mercy Thompson series and book three has shown that not only does she know exactly what she's doing, but that we can trust her. To keep her characters and her world consistent. To take them down the right paths and introduce them to the right people...or werewolves and vampires in this case. <BR/><BR/>Mercy lives in a world where werewolves, vampires, and the fae exist side by side with humans. The first book, MOON CALLED, focuses on the werewolves. The second, BLOOD BOUND, centers on the vampires, including Mercy's quirky Scooby Doo loving friend Stefan. In this third installment, coyote shape shifter and VW mechanic Mercy Thompson is called in to help the fae solve a series of murders on the local fae reservation. Soon after, her friend Zee is arrested for the murder and, just like that, Mercy's in the thick of it, determined to clear Zee's name no matter what. Add to that the increasingly imperative choice she must make between the two werewolves in her life: Adam Hauptman (the Alpha of the local pack who's already claimed her as his mate) and Dr. Samuel Cornick (the wolf she fell in love with at 16). In what is becoming classic Briggs style, IRON KISSED combines an intriguing mystery with a streak of compelling romance, interspersed with glimpses of your worst nightmares. The combination is the height of entertainment. And what holds it all together is Mercy herself. The girl doesn't know the meaning of the words back down. I absolutely love these books.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 30, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    I was hoping to get through this series...

    ...before I wrote anything, but Briggs really kicks the tension, action and suspense up a notch in "Iron Kissed." Mercy Thompson, a Volkswagen auto mechanic and raised by werewolves, wants to live a basic life fixing cars and just enjoying what life has to offer. But after her friends (vampires, wolves, and fae - oh, my!) keep getting into these situations and she keeps getting stuck in the middle of them somehow, she finds that her life has taken a turn for the weird. I'm loving this series; I suggest you get the whole set, and read them!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 10, 2009

    The Best in the Series

    This was by far my favorite in the Mercy Thompson series. Patricia Briggs has created an incredible cast of characters that are fleshed out and a joy to know. Mercy is a believable heroine with quirks and humor and loyalty - and you can't help but root for her. Bravo!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 26, 2013

    Wonderful

    I love all of the mercy thompson series and I love the alpha and omega series as well. These are books I could sit down and read again and again. Filled with suspense, mystery, romance and a bit of sass these are excellent books that anyone could enjoy. Probably best if said people were at least 14 or 15.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 10, 2013

    This series, and this book in particular, is one I have gone bac

    This series, and this book in particular, is one I have gone back and re-read multiple times. It's an exciting life our Mercy lives, and I enjoy every second of if.

    Many of the reviewers have expressed discontent with the way the near to end is handled, but to be honest if you are offended by something so minor you really are in the wrong genre. Things out of the ordinary happen because it is a a science fiction and it is a romance. We have a strong female character as the lead here and that type of character appeals to women of all personality types, but one thing will always hold true and that is that we want to see her fight her way through terrible odds and come out on top. We want her to go through something we can root her on for. This book does that, and in a classy way.

    Mercy goes adventuring into Fae affairs and she comes out the victor, of course, but not without new scars. This is a much more intense installment than the previous two books, and I believe there is more variety in her life outside of emergency time and saving everyone she knows and all of that jazz.

    With book 2, I felt as if there was some considerable downtime during her search for the vampire Andre's house which made everything feel as if it was a scene or two out of order. In this book (3) there is absolutely no downtime. There may be times during which you wonder &quot;what good is all of this?&quot; but in the end it all falls into place.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2013

    Lov love love

    I LOVE this series, the author did an amazing job, she puts u into the book, where u feel like ur going along for the ride with mercy. If you liked the anita blake series. Than u will love this book. Just dont expect to do much when u start this book, because u wont want to put it down. :)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2012

    love this series, great characters with a fast paced story line

    Patricia Briggs brings these characters to life and writes in a way that makes me eager for every page and sad when I know I only have a few more pages to go! Great characters with history and a plot that makes you eager to find out who is doing what - highly recommend this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Another great book

    In the third book of the Mercedes Thompson series, Mercy's friend and apprentice, Zee, is arrested for a series of murders on the Fae reservation, and Mercy gets involved with the Fae in a way that does not make them happy.

    This book delved deeper into the Fae world and showed us their way of life. I love the different worlds the author has created in this book series. From the Fae to the werewolves to the vampires, each group has its own set of rules/laws to govern them, and they each interact more or less independently from one another, but yet they all make up the world of Mercy Thompson. This book was expertly written and executed and able to keep the reader's attention through all its twists and turns.

    One thing I really liked about this book was it pretty much put an end to Sam/Mercy/Adam situation. I'm always game for a good love triangle, but sometimes they get drawn out too long and get boring. I liked that we got to see through Mercy's eyes and hear her think through her decisions so we knew why she chose the way she did. Mercy has proved again and again to be a great friend and ally, but in the end, Mercy is always true to herself.

    I thought the author also did a great job with the rape scene, which can be a very touchy subject to write about. She went through this, and the aftermath, with great care. After the rape Mercy did not just go back to "normal," but took some time to get over it. I liked that we got to watch her do that and be inside her head to see her way of thinking things through.

    In this book we also got to go deeper into the wolf pack and also into some of the individual wolves, which helps to make them seem more real.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    MY FAVORITE!

    It was tough, but this book is my favorite of the series (so far). The story line was fantastic, the characters are something else. The book had everything I was looking for. I highly recommend the entire series to anyone looking for an unbelievable read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 8, 2008

    Excellent read!

    This book had a minor slow start but once it got moving it never slowed down. I was so happy w/ the outcome of Mercy's relationship between Sam and Adam. I hated the trama that Mercy went through but i'm glad she was able to work through it. I was impressed at how sensitive Ben was to her situation and shocked at how Adam needed Ben to spell it out for him. Hopefully Mercy's financial situation will improve from here on out. I highly recommend the this book and the rest of the series.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 24, 2014

    Decision Time

    Does your interests include action-packed plots, paranormal activity, an independent woman, humor, well-rounded characters, meaningful relationships, and stories that keep you flipping to the next page well into the night? Well this is DEFINITELY a series for you. Mercy Thompson and the world she lives in will keep you enertained and intrigued. It is possible for this novel to stand on it's own, but if you're a first time reader, I suggest reading the previous novels for a richer reading experience.

    For returning readers: Briggs does an amazing job balancing the plot of this novel. She maintains a focus on the problem at hand. The males vying for Mercy's affections are NOT the center of the story. They are a subtle distraction to help build tension in the overall storyline. As always, Brigg's novel is a must-read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    Thistleclan!

    At "Rabbit" res three! Please read the map and rules first. We need all positions except leader and deputy!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    DayClan

    At grumpy cat res. 2. Needs warriors and kits. Sunstar, leader of DayClan

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2014

    IRONCLAN

    Join at 'ironclan' res 1.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 21, 2014

    Ads

    Rp, story, any kind of ad goes here!<br>No dirty things please. They will be ignored.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 5, 2014

    This series just keeps getting better! Not one bad thing to say

    This series just keeps getting better! Not one bad thing to say about the first 3 books so far!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 25, 2014

    Patricia Briggs is a effortless writer...

    ...You will be hooked by the first chapter in any of her books. Mercy is your new best friend. I am reading them all! Thank you Patricia!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Darcy

    Walks in..

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2014

    Lanrde

    Lays diwn

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2014

    Ashley

    Laughs...so wat r u? Pro.s.ti.tute? Ra.pe.st? Serial killer? Some guy who cant find real love and only sl.u.ts who live to su.ck di.ck?....i smile walking toward u

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 837 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 42