Customer Reviews for

The Iron Knight (Iron Fey Series #4)

Average Rating 4.5
( 524 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(400)

4 Star

(80)

3 Star

(25)

2 Star

(11)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

Stunning ending to a favorite series

What a stunning end to one of my favorite series. The Iron Knight does not only end the series beautifully, but has twists and turns you will never see coming.

The Iron Knight leaves us right where The Iron Daughter ended, and this is Ash's story. He has sworn to Me...
What a stunning end to one of my favorite series. The Iron Knight does not only end the series beautifully, but has twists and turns you will never see coming.

The Iron Knight leaves us right where The Iron Daughter ended, and this is Ash's story. He has sworn to Megan that he will find a way back to her. With the help of his old pals Puck, Grimalkin, and others, Ash seeks out a way to become Mortal so that he can be where his heart is... which is with the queen of the Iron Court aka. Megan. The journey turns out to be nothing like he imagined and in the end will sacrificing everything be worth it? Soulless banished. But never forgotten.

If you've talked to me or have seen my thoughts before, you know that The Iron Fey is one of my favorite series. I love every aspect of it. At the end of The Iron Queen my heart would have been torn in two, but I knew The Iron Knight was coming out. The Iron Knight has multiple twist for readers, and parts where you will most certainly want to pull your hair out. I believe at one part, I had to re-read a sentence about ten times and then managed to yell 'YOU WITCH!' (except I used the big girl word ;)).

This story has the laughs you've always loved, the suspense that keeps you turning that pages, jaw-dropping moments, morals like you cannot imagine, and all together a beautifully crafted series finale. If you haven't already fallen in love with the characters of this series, you most certainly will with this one. It is easy to say I love Ash and Puck more than ever.

I am SO happy with how this story and the series ended. *Super hugs!*. Julie wrapped everything up, sealed the box tight and put a beautiful bow on top.

A few final notes... The past is the past, and there is a reason that it's the past and not your present, so leave it in the past and continue your life how it is supposed to be. Next, your true friends will always be there for you and it is ALWAYS okay to ask for help when you need it. Finally, if you love something enough, if you love something so much that it is your heart and soul, there is never a sacrifice that is too great.

And I leave you with this... "If I have to chase your soul to the ends of eternity, I won't stop until I find you, I promise."

posted by jenababy13 on August 3, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

Parents and Teachers Beware: For Over 17. Contains Graphic Sex and Above Average Foul Language

The Iron Fey series is not for teens. The only teen issue in there was the MC was a 16 year old girl. She's not even present in Iron Knight. I enjoy faery novels, and my friend lend me her copy of Iron King and Iron Knight. While I enjoy parts of it as an adult, I canno...
The Iron Fey series is not for teens. The only teen issue in there was the MC was a 16 year old girl. She's not even present in Iron Knight. I enjoy faery novels, and my friend lend me her copy of Iron King and Iron Knight. While I enjoy parts of it as an adult, I cannot recommend this series to teenagers under 17. The way this series is written, you would think fey creatures swore all the time, and it is alright to drop the f-bomb and sexual parts of the body in everyday language. I don't know how any responsible adult can recommend this series. Out of peer pressure? I know how hyped up this series was, but it falls short of my expectations.

posted by 10167243 on November 28, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 526 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27
  • Posted August 3, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Stunning ending to a favorite series

    What a stunning end to one of my favorite series. The Iron Knight does not only end the series beautifully, but has twists and turns you will never see coming.

    The Iron Knight leaves us right where The Iron Daughter ended, and this is Ash's story. He has sworn to Megan that he will find a way back to her. With the help of his old pals Puck, Grimalkin, and others, Ash seeks out a way to become Mortal so that he can be where his heart is... which is with the queen of the Iron Court aka. Megan. The journey turns out to be nothing like he imagined and in the end will sacrificing everything be worth it? Soulless banished. But never forgotten.

    If you've talked to me or have seen my thoughts before, you know that The Iron Fey is one of my favorite series. I love every aspect of it. At the end of The Iron Queen my heart would have been torn in two, but I knew The Iron Knight was coming out. The Iron Knight has multiple twist for readers, and parts where you will most certainly want to pull your hair out. I believe at one part, I had to re-read a sentence about ten times and then managed to yell 'YOU WITCH!' (except I used the big girl word ;)).

    This story has the laughs you've always loved, the suspense that keeps you turning that pages, jaw-dropping moments, morals like you cannot imagine, and all together a beautifully crafted series finale. If you haven't already fallen in love with the characters of this series, you most certainly will with this one. It is easy to say I love Ash and Puck more than ever.

    I am SO happy with how this story and the series ended. *Super hugs!*. Julie wrapped everything up, sealed the box tight and put a beautiful bow on top.

    A few final notes... The past is the past, and there is a reason that it's the past and not your present, so leave it in the past and continue your life how it is supposed to be. Next, your true friends will always be there for you and it is ALWAYS okay to ask for help when you need it. Finally, if you love something enough, if you love something so much that it is your heart and soul, there is never a sacrifice that is too great.

    And I leave you with this... "If I have to chase your soul to the ends of eternity, I won't stop until I find you, I promise."

    39 out of 41 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    Recommended Read

    You know those rare, beautiful books that you find where you start reading and you don't come up for air until you've turned the last page? Then, for days you are still thinking about the characters, wondering what happened to them? This is one of them. From the first paragraph I was hooked. The Iron Queen immediately draws you in and has you caring about the characters, even if you've never read the other books in the series.

    Meghan Chase is a half-human/half-faery teenager. Her father is the Summer King of the Faery Realm, her best friend is Puck, her mentor - a faery cat named Grim and her boyfriend, Ash, is the Winter Prince. Meghan and Ash have been exiled from the Nevernever for refusing to renounce their love for one another. Unfortunately, there is another part of the Faery Realm...the Iron Realm. Meghan has already defeated one Iron King but there is another False King that has taken his place and he has sent his Iron Fey in search of Meghan. With the Iron Fey after them there can be no peace in the human world and with the Iron Realm taking over the Faery Realm, Meghan must return to fight yet another Iron King. But will defeating him be enough?

    Ms. Kagawa paints a vivid picture of the Nevernever, the Iron Realm and the creatures that inhabit it. You find yourself drawn into her world and living the story. The magic in the book is a lot of fun and fits each character perfectly. The lead characters are very compelling and well developed as individuals. There are elements of the story that touch on other well-known myths or stories, such as Titania, Oberon and Puck, the trickster which makes it a lot of fun if you are familiar with these. She also adds her own fun things, like (without saying too much) the gliders. We get to see all the range of emotions that each of these characters go through and you find yourself feeling them in turn and rooting for them.

    I love the underlying messages of these books. The Faery Realm exists because of magic and imagination, people's beliefs in things they can't see. The Iron Realm exists because of progress and technology. But the Iron Realm is taking over the Faery Realm and if something isn't done, it may disappear. We need more magic and imagination!

    This book is the third in a series and is a stand alone book. Without having ever read either of the first two, you will be able to follow the plot easily and by the end you will be heading to your bookstore to find the first two. I know I did! Now I need to find out when the next book, The Iron Knight, is coming out. I'll be counting the days. Give yourself a treat and go buy this book. I guarantee you won't regret it and it will end up on your keeper shelf.

    Originally posted at The Long and Short of It Romance Reviews

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    More books

    On her agents website, she has deals for a 5,6 and 7 th book in the iron fey series along with her new series about megans brother.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I loved reading this. Very good plot, great characters. I stayed up late to finish it

    8 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 29, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing!!

    The fourth book in the Iron Fey series is told from the perspective of Ash, who has been released from his vow of knighthood by Meghan. Determined to find a way back to the iron realm, he travels to the end of the world to earn a soul and become mortal.

    Before I can get into this book, I have to say a few words about this entire series. I have always been cautious about the fantasy genre because it seems to easy to slip from Tolkien to the ridiculous. This series is everything that is right about a young adult fantasy series. I really think that it should be called YA crossover, because the appeal goes far beyond the teen audience. It is well written, very well researched and completely engrossing. In the first three books, we read about Meghan's journey, which is the hero's (or heroine's) journey structured so perfectly it's as if Joseph Campbell himself had conceived it. I read all four book in two days and enjoyed every word.

    The Iron Knight picks up after Prince Ash has been released from his vow of knighthood and leaves Meghan in the iron realm, where he cannot stay. In order to withstand the iron that will kill ordinary Fey, he must become mortal. To become mortal, he must have a soul. As with any great quest, he has his loyal frenemy, Puck, and Grim, of course. Some new and very interesting characters are added to the mix, but I won't ruin it by telling you who they are. His journey towards a soul is painful and facing mortality is harder, both physically and emotionally, than he ever imagined. As with the first three books, you are sucked into the world that Julie Kagawa has created and are very disappointed when you have to leave. The whole series earns 5 stars and I recommend it for readers of all ages.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 21, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A beautiful, fitting end to a wonderful series

    This book was simply beautiful. I had not read any of the Iron Fey series until I heard about this one and then I went through the whole, wonderful series in less than a month. After the ending of The Iron Queen left me sighing I was so glad that I had this one on my computer, just waiting for me. I read it in a single afternoon, reveling in every page of heartbreaking tragedy and irrepressible joy. This is a perfect ending to a perfect series.


    This book is all about Ashallayn' darkmyr Tallyn, the darkly handsome, dangerous prince of the Winter Fey. Did you ever want to know more about his life before he fell in love? Or how he truly felt about Ariella and how he feels now about Meghan? I was always on Team Ash, despite Puck's devious attempts to steal my heart, and this book made me love him even more. He has done terrible things in the past, things that were hinted about before but were never fully revealed, but he overcame his ruthless nature and upbringing because of the love of two young women. In this book, he is tempted and tested in every possible way until everything he thought he was is stripped away. It was nearly painful to watch at times, but oh how wonderful were the results...


    The Iron Knight focuses a lot on the characters and their interactions. Puck and Ash, longtime friends and arch-enemies, have such a wonderful and complex relationship. They go from trying to kill each other to saving one another. Puck would get on anyone's last nerve and I completely understand the impulse to slice that grin off his face, so it was a lot of fun to watch the tension and, surprisingly, the trust between them. Despite everything, they know that they can count on each other completely.


    Meghan is only barely featured in this book, and at times it seems hopeless that Ash will ever see her again. This, combined with the surprise introduction of a new player, leads to a whole new level of emotional pain for Ash. Even with Meghan off-page, the romance in The Iron Knight is wonderful.


    I love the world of the Iron Fey series. The Fey are deadly and beautiful, just the way I always imagine them. No sparkly Tinkerbells here. Nothing is done for nothing and make promises at your peril. I can practically see the creatures of the wyldwood peeking through the leaves, watching for you to make a mistake.


    As an ending to my review, I would like to add a chuckle for the fun little interview attached to the end of the book and a virtual smack on the head for Puck because he got that song stuck in my head.


    I would recommend this novel to lovers of fantasy, epic romance, sacrifice and wonderful characters. I hope you enjoy it as much as I did.

    7 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 7, 2012

    I luved this book!!!!!

    This book was amazing... TEAM PUCK 4EVER

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Amazing ending for an amazing series

    Okay I hated this book, actually wait only joking I loved it, the only problem with it is that's it's the last one so no more Ash, Puck, Meghan, Grim... I'm going to miss them soo much *cries*

    Anyway on to the review.

    After the third book Meghan is now the Iron Queen and in order to be able to be with her, former Prince Ash of the winter court must earn a soul, and that is not an easy quest (believe me...) acompanied by his friend/enemy Robin Goodfellow (otherwise known as Puck), Grim and other "friends" from Ash's past, they will embarck on a journey towards the end of the world (literally) And pass some really hard tests.

    This book was heartbreaking I was in tears by the end of it, I felt really sorry for Ash at some points, Grim as usual put the humor in every situation (where can I get a cat like that??) and seems unconcerned by anything happening around him and Puck is the best friend we all want to have (Cross that I'd rather have him as something else^^) and a thorn in the fey's side.

    So yes I highly reccomend this book and this series :)

    Some of my favorite quotes from this book:

    "He bared his fangs at me. “Be careful, boy. In some tales, the hero gets eaten by the monster after all .”

    "Stairs.” He grimaced. “I swear there must be like some secret code. All mysterious ancient temples must have a minimum of at least seven thousand steps to the front door."

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Parents and Teachers Beware: For Over 17. Contains Graphic Sex and Above Average Foul Language

    The Iron Fey series is not for teens. The only teen issue in there was the MC was a 16 year old girl. She's not even present in Iron Knight. I enjoy faery novels, and my friend lend me her copy of Iron King and Iron Knight. While I enjoy parts of it as an adult, I cannot recommend this series to teenagers under 17. The way this series is written, you would think fey creatures swore all the time, and it is alright to drop the f-bomb and sexual parts of the body in everyday language. I don't know how any responsible adult can recommend this series. Out of peer pressure? I know how hyped up this series was, but it falls short of my expectations.

    3 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2011

    Very efficient read for those with a deep mind span.

    Very likely to be interestining to those with a deep mind span.
    To me it wasn't the best book ever though. Wasn't quite as vulnerable as the previous books. To mind-boggling for my taste. My attention span became short with this book. To expansive and lengthy to be interesting. But thats just my opinion.

    3 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 4, 2012

    Bittersweet

    I didn't fly through this book same as I did with the other books in the series simply because I knew it was the end and it made me sad. I loved this book-it was from Ash's POV instead of Meghan's so it took a little getting used to, but there were many surprises, it was beautifully written and I was on the edge of my seat the entire time reading it.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Amazing

    Truely, the best finish to a series that I have ever read. Phenominal book. If you havent read it, you havent lived!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 15, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    THE IRON KNIGHT is a magical & mythical read with glamorous and unforgettable characters around the heart-melting ice prince, cheeky Robin Goodfellow and the tough iron queen.

    THE REVIEW

    “My fall began, as many stories do, with a girl.”

    Guess who is talking?

    “I was Ashallayn’darkmyr Tallyn, son of Mab, former prince of the Unseelie Court, and I was not afraid of a witch on a broom.”

    Exactly! Our favourite ice prince, Ash. And we are lucky enough to name him our narrator, too. It is unusual that the first three books were narrated by Meghan and the 4th and last instalment in the THE IRON FEY series is told from Ash’s point of view. Nevertheless it is awesome to finally be inside his head and know what’s in his heart. Ash always felt like a withdrawn character to me with inscrutable thoughts and feelings. Now that we get to slip into his head I love him even more than before. Ash’s story is definitely one that deserves to be shown on the big screen one day!

    Ash is so strong on the outside, in THE IRON KNIGHT we see him as emotional and vulnerable as never before. He has to sort out his friendship with Robin Goodfellow, the feelings for his lost love Ariella that somehow still seem to be a part of his present emotional life and to find a way to be with his queen Meghan.

    From all four books in this series this one seems like the book which had the most powerful spell on me. Numerous references to popular fairy tales and encounters with mythical or just miraculous, creepy or strange creatures, supported by the excellent and creative writing by Julie Kagawa, fuelled my imagination and made THE IRON KNIGHT such an awesome read.

    As this last part of Ash and Meghan’s story is told from Ash’s perspective and his probably grandest quest is the centre of attention in THE IRON KNIGHT, we don’t really get to read about what’s happening to Meghan during that time. That fact didn’t bother me at all, because Ash’s story is probably much more exciting than hers in this part of THE IRON FEY series.

    Our friends Ash, Puck, Grimalkin and two other very special fellow travellers are great together. They are on a constant travel, come through so many different areas and visit numerous new cities and characters that the story never even gives you the slightest chance to rest. The settings and little adventures our group experiences were definitely to my like. I love everything about this book. The witty, funny and teasing verbal duels as the dark and dangerous obstacles a love has to overcome are what make this story such an extraordinarily grand read.


    THE VERDICT

    5/5 ***** THE IRON KNIGHT is a magical & mythical read with glamorous and unforgettable characters around the heart-melting ice prince, cheeky Robin Goodfellow and the tough iron queen.

    Adventures of epic proportions and the journey to the depth of your heart await all fans of prince Ash and his friends!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 14, 2012

    Amazing!

    A absolutly stunning end the series! To my nook friends get this series! I started it wednesday and finished the series saturday i couldnt put it down! Best series ever!!!!!!!! I love you ash! The first book is the iron king read them in order or u will be hoplessly confused

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    A great read!

    I enjoyed reading this book. Especially from the 2 young mens point of view. All the reads from this author have been most enjoyable and I look forward to reading more! And I'm not a young adult.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 18, 2013

    The Iron Knight By: Julie Kagawa Stars: five. Review title: The

    The Iron Knight
    By: Julie Kagawa
    Stars: five.
    Review title: The Iron Knight.
    This book is truthfully the best Action/Fantasy/ Romance book you and me alike have ever read.




     The Iron Knight is the fourth (and last) book of The Iron Fey series. Unlike the other books in this series this book is narrated by the one and only prince Ash, finally  giving readers a look into his mind. 




    In  this book Ash is on a quest to the end of the Nevernever, a quest to get a soul. Why would a might fey prince want to be a mere mortal you may ask. To  be with his love, Meghan the Iron Queen. Because as you may know normal fey are deadly allergic to Iron.




    On this mighty quest Ash is Joined by (my favorite character in the series) puck or also known as the infamous Robin Goodfellow (you may know him from shakespeare's a midsummer night’s dream) and Grimalkin a Cait Sith. Along a Seer and Even the hunter or also known as (by humans) the big bad wolf.  




    The main question you ask yourself throughout this action packed book is ‘Will he make it? Will Ash and meghan finally be together?’ Well that's something you'll have to find out. This book overall is one of my favorite books and definitely my favorite out of the series. This book is a page Turner for girls and boys alike, with action and romance in the perfect combo. Truthfully I love this book, and I think you might to. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 20, 2012

    She has done it again!!!!!!

    Whether it was the plot of the story or the fact that its Ash, this novel waas my absolute favorite of the series. It made my heart pound in excitement and was a realy page turner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    This was a really good series. The author takes each of the mai

    This was a really good series. The author takes each of the main characters on a journey through Nevernever and its most horrific places. This somewhat makes the story individual but yet tied together. Puck and Meghan are the 1st book, 2 becomes Meghan and Ash, 3 brings all three main characters together. The 4th book takes Ash a a journey of self discovery to find his way back home to be with Meghan. The trials endures with his comrades is quite commendable and his determination unwavering.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2012

    Iron knight

    I loved this book i was so upset when the ending of the iron queen left Ash and Meghan apart so i was extreamly happy when i found this. it was an amazing book but i like Meghan's point of view better cause shes so emotinal

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2011

    Yeah!

    Puck is awesome but i hated Ash for some reason

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 526 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 27