Customer Reviews for

Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 723 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(250)

4 Star

(267)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(42)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

The Cork O' Conner Series.

Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Th...
Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Then Krueger brings you into a story about a judge who commits suicide, but you will eventually find out he was murdered. Then, Krueger goes into many chapters just describing the lives of his characters and how they relate to one another. The author likes to lead the reader on so they will keep reading. He then ends with an explosive ending you could never perceive. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It's amazing.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 50 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

Too much vulgar language and explicit sex for my taste. I will not be purchasing another book by this author. He ruined a good plot with the distracting language. Certainly not in the same league with John Grisham or David Baldacci!

posted by JUSTme54LS on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 724 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    William Kent Krueger┬┐s first offering in the Cork O┬┐Connor serie

    William Kent Krueger’s first offering in the Cork O’Connor series is a good one. The author crafts an entire world in the small town of Aurora, Minnesota. With Native Americans, local white, and those stuck in the middle of those separate factions. The mysteries and crimes abound and you will not be able to figure all of them out ahead of time as the author does a great job of making the outcomes believable but unexpected. O’Connor, the main character, is really interesting but slightly hokey at times. Overall, the book was really good and I look forward to reading more in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Stunning Mystery!

    The author created a beautiful mystery set against the cold winter and the warm Christmas holiday. The characters and plot were well-devised. Overall, a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Great book

    I like the character in the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Read

    Just looking for something new and came across the Cork O'Connor series andcouldn't stop. Having now read the whole series, Iron Lake set the stage for a really enjoyables series. O'Connor is a great character, and I've learned a lot about Northern Minnesota that I didn't know about. Couldn't put this one down, couldn't put any of them down !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book about the Minnesota northern woods. He brings in the Indian culture like Tony Hillerman does, though not as effectively. I noticed he doesn't mention the mosquitos, which are a serious menace.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great Story and Character

    After reading this first book in the Cork O'Conner series I'm hooked. William Kent Krueger is an exciting writer and I can't wait to start the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Good book

    Keeps you guessing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Disappointing Story

    This was a very mundane story about two young people who experienced life's hardships. The story lacked a strong plot and ended with no resolution. I was very disappointed that the story was not brought to a satisfactory conclusion and left me feeling I was in the middle of the story.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Wonderful writing, without vulgar language - LOVE IT

    I loved how the author wrote about the characters and how they all fit together. It was interesting and relatable. Good story keeps me wanting more and more of Cork O' Conner ( the main character). I appreciate that there was no blatant sexual content and very very few swear words.

    Keep up the good work

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Good read

    Decent book..enjoyed reading it...I wish they would post the number of pages in the overview..I like books that are over 400 pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2014

    never let it be said that I do not give an author a fair chance.

    never let it be said that I do not give an author a fair chance. I've read three of Mr. Krueger's novels and I will not be braving a fourth. His writing style just does not hold my interest. The prose and story lines were just down-right dull and I was happy to be finished each time. I do like the Cork, but not enough to begin another book.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Iron lake

    I got this as a free Friday book...did not get involved in all the complaints about reviewers. Took me some time to get to it but thought it was a good read. I thought I had it figured out...and I did a little but was still shocked by ending. Give it a try. Hate to even try to discuss story for fear of ruining it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Fantastic mystery series

    Really a good read. Reading the series in order gives better sense of growth and challenges for characters. Finely crafted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Fallstorm

    Im locked out of the first result, thanks to b&n.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Good reading!

    If you like a twisted story this is a good one, albeit with a predictable plot and perpertrator.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good mystery!

    Read this book and was hooked-I've gone on to read the rest of the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Great Book!

    This book was a great read. It was fast paced and lots of action. Im looking forward to reading more of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2011

    Get. it.!!!

    Great read - ended up getting the next 3 in series. W Kent-Krueger, great writer... highly recommended...

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Great book held you interest to the last page a great page turner.

    Loved the Iron Lake it was a page turner, held your interest to the last page.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2011

    Iron lake/yawn

    I suppose some readerrs mlight like it-but not for me--rather depressing

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 724 Customer Reviews
Page 2 of 37