Customer Reviews for

Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 722 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(248)

4 Star

(266)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(44)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

38 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

The Cork O' Conner Series.

Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Th...
Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Then Krueger brings you into a story about a judge who commits suicide, but you will eventually find out he was murdered. Then, Krueger goes into many chapters just describing the lives of his characters and how they relate to one another. The author likes to lead the reader on so they will keep reading. He then ends with an explosive ending you could never perceive. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It's amazing.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

36 out of 51 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

Too much vulgar language and explicit sex for my taste. I will not be purchasing another book by this author. He ruined a good plot with the distracting language. Certainly not in the same league with John Grisham or David Baldacci!

posted by JUSTme54LS on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7
  • Posted October 26, 2011

    Recommended for historical buffs

    If you like American Indian history, this is the book for you. It was a decent read, but I don't really like alot of historical mixed in with my mysteries.

    10 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2014

    Good read

    Decent book..enjoyed reading it...I wish they would post the number of pages in the overview..I like books that are over 400 pages.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Good reading!

    If you like a twisted story this is a good one, albeit with a predictable plot and perpertrator.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    Predictable but Good

    Interesting, excellent use of scenery to make the reader feel a part of the story yet confused at the same time. Cork O'Conner reminds me of an Americanised Sam Vimes though lacking the Putrainical streak. The plot was unfortunay telegraphed early, i am hoping for improvement in later works. Overalll a three of five.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2014

    Boston Bob critques

    I got cold reading this. interesting location, different characters, I liked it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 26, 2014

    I Will Read More!

    Mr. Krueger's debut is heavy reading, with a very human hero, absolutely nasty villains, with the wilds of Minnesota brought to life with his descriptive writing. Cork is very human, a man who is a victim of our manipulative villains, a romantic who names a pair of wild geese Romeo and Juliet, but somehow keeps going to the end. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2014

    Good read!

    Enjoy reading authors previously unknown to me. He has interesting and easy style.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 31, 2014

    Very good book

    Was alittle too descriptive over things like rooms for example and I didn't feel really emotionally tied to the characters. Did have page turning chapters though with good suspense and I would read the next in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 17, 2014

    more from this reviewer

    Great Read

    Twists and turns deaths and mysterys small towns hide a little of everything. You love it!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Not for me

    While I enjoyed much of this book,therre was too much darkness at the end. I am not inspired to see what might happen to the characters in future novels.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2014

    Good story

    Felt like a long short story for first 200pgs then it was a novel , good character outlines recommend it

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 1, 2012

    Ok read

    Predictable in an unpredictable round about way.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 28, 2012

    Great book!

    Great book and kept me wanting to read more.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 9, 2012

    Good read

    I don't usually read crime novels. This was a good story.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Wintry Minnesota lake country...

    I'm not usually a who-done-it murder mystery reader, but what I did enjoy about this debut novel's writing was nicely developed, likeable characters and the special attention given to the Minnesota winter landscapes and evocation of feeling of the Minnesota small town where a series of murders takes place. What I didn't like was the implausibility of so many murders taking place in quick succession and the clumsy denoument at the end. Not my cup of tea, but the writing was way better than James Patterson, maybe not as thrilling, but a whole lot more intelligent and I would therefore, read his 2nd book in this series. I also enjoyed the Ojibwe Native American culture myths and characters as well.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 8, 2012

    Good read

    About 2/3 through the book almost gave up and I put it down for awhile. Glad I picked it back up to finish. The ending is action packed, somewhat predictable, but good.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    Had its moments!

    Not a literary masterpiece, but definitely worth a read. Some parts were predictable, some bordered on brilliant. A bit cluttered sometimes and the ending was a little too tidy for my tastes, but I did enjoy it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Slow Start but Strong Finish

    I almost put the book aways several times as the beginning of the book didn't move fast enough for me. However, I the second half of the book picked up the pace and made for a very strong finish.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2011

    ok

    Not much to say about this book. Not an award winner, but a decent winter day read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    Good read

    This book was slow to get into. It seemed to have a lot of words that I didn't care to read. It wasn't necessary to go into so much description..at least for me it wasn't. After a while I did get into the story plot, but it took a while. I enjoyed the book then and read to the end in a few days. However, I do not think I will try to read the rest of the books in the series.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 122 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 7