Customer Reviews for

Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 712 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(262)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

37 out of 46 people found this review helpful.

The Cork O' Conner Series.

Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Th...
Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Then Krueger brings you into a story about a judge who commits suicide, but you will eventually find out he was murdered. Then, Krueger goes into many chapters just describing the lives of his characters and how they relate to one another. The author likes to lead the reader on so they will keep reading. He then ends with an explosive ending you could never perceive. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It's amazing.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

Too much vulgar language and explicit sex for my taste. I will not be purchasing another book by this author. He ruined a good plot with the distracting language. Certainly not in the same league with John Grisham or David Baldacci!

posted by JUSTme54LS on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14
  • Posted October 17, 2011

    Very good read

    I was into this book from the first chapter. Well written, well developed characters. I would read the whole series, but I am shocked at the prices for ebooks in comparison to the printed copies. I'm almost tempted to go back to the printed version.

    12 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2005

    A mystery fans review.

    I loved the story.Cork is a real person, guilty of his share of mistakes but a man who obviously loves his family. The seperation was his wifes idea the reasons for will be apparent as you get further into the story. The only exception I have is the authors handling of the character of Jo who is Cork's wife. She is a hypocrite who takes an active role in her church at same time betraying Cork as she breaks a major commandent of the church. In the dialouge between Jo and Cork she is never taken to task for her decption. As a matter of fact she seems to put Cork on the defensive regarding her betrayal. That said I would still reccomend this book.

    9 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Just beginning

    Just started reading books by this author and really enjoyed this series of books. I like to read this type of book and always enjoy finding a new author to read.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 12, 2012

    Consistently finding piles of William Kent Krueger¿s mysteries i

    Consistently finding piles of William Kent Krueger’s mysteries in local bookstore, I decided that it was about time I discovered what the fuss was about. Start with his first book, I was advised and thus I met Corcoran “Cork” O’Connor, former sheriff of Aurora Minnesota as he negotiates (on his own) the devious world of small town politics and a brutal murder that will uncover conspiracy, corruption, and scandal that “hits painfully close to home.” A well-written and gripping Minnesota-based mystery.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 31, 2011

    Very Good.....

    REALLY LIKED! gooood characters and mystery Gets a little spread out and diluted... there is alot going on... but I would def recommend it

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 29, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    William Kent Krueger¿s first offering in the Cork O¿Connor serie

    William Kent Krueger’s first offering in the Cork O’Connor series is a good one. The author crafts an entire world in the small town of Aurora, Minnesota. With Native Americans, local white, and those stuck in the middle of those separate factions. The mysteries and crimes abound and you will not be able to figure all of them out ahead of time as the author does a great job of making the outcomes believable but unexpected. O’Connor, the main character, is really interesting but slightly hokey at times. Overall, the book was really good and I look forward to reading more in the series.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Good read

    I enjoyed this book about the Minnesota northern woods. He brings in the Indian culture like Tony Hillerman does, though not as effectively. I noticed he doesn't mention the mosquitos, which are a serious menace.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 4, 2012

    Good book

    Keeps you guessing

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 23, 2013

    Iron lake

    I got this as a free Friday book...did not get involved in all the complaints about reviewers. Took me some time to get to it but thought it was a good read. I thought I had it figured out...and I did a little but was still shocked by ending. Give it a try. Hate to even try to discuss story for fear of ruining it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 5, 2011

    Good Story, I do recommend it.

    I lived for 8 years about 30 miles from Aurora so was very interested in reading this. I realize that this is a novel but there are a few little things that bothered me in descriptions. Ever seen a rasberry vine? LOL The story is a good one once I put the area in the context of a novel and not a geographic truth. I liked it enough to go on to #2 and #3 and will next read #4.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 3, 2011

    Great read - just keep a blanket close by

    It took a couple chapters to really get into the story but Mr. Krueger is so good a describing the settings, and most were in the snow and cold, that I had to keep a blanket nearby because I kept getting cold. I was not able to stop reading once I got to the last half of the book. You could figure how the story would end but not how it was going to get there. I totally enjoyed the whole chilling experience.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Liked it

    This was an interesting start to a new series that I will pursue. Well written, holds your interest.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 30, 2011

    Iron Lake exciting north woods mystery

    Craving a tast of the northern Minnesota country,I picked up Iron Lake. It was exciting and full of twists. Almost over the top!....but a real page turner. I enjoyed it and would recomend it...especialy for the north woods, MN. area.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 29, 2011

    Would recomend this book to all and I'm only 1/3 into it.

    Good read, got me right away and I do not have a lot of read time but when I do I like a book that grabs me quick. Can't wait to continue on in the series. ENJOY!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 28, 2011

    Great Read

    I was pleasantly surprised by this book. I had never read this author. The characters were well defined and the story was never dull. I will definitely continue to read the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Highly recommended, full of surprises.

    This book is now one of my favorites, I can't wait for Cork O'Connor to write his next book, it held my interest from beginning to end, then I was sorry it ended!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Easy Read, lots of mystery!!

    the little town on Iron Lake had many corrupt people. The winters were much worse than any I have ever seen. But of course the good people won in the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2011

    Enjoyable!

    After reading several free books lately that took weeks to get through, I was very happy to find one that kept me picking up my Nook to read rather than play games or surf the internet! Loved the characters and the Native American folklore. Enjoyed the setting and story too.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2011

    I concure.

    I am an avaid reader, and I had never heard of " William Kent Krueger" But the book sounded like it might be a good read. WOW !! I was pleasntly surprized. I'd not hesitate to rate this Author with "Clive Cussler, John Sandford, Lee Child" just to name a few.
    I plan to read all of the (Cork O'Conner series)

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    great read

    1st book i've read by this author and I thoroughly enjoyed it. well written, suspenseful and interesting!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 262 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 14