Customer Reviews for

Iron Lake (Cork O'Connor Series #1)

Average Rating 4
( 711 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(245)

4 Star

(261)

3 Star

(122)

2 Star

(41)

1 Star

(42)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

The Cork O' Conner Series.

Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Th...
Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Then Krueger brings you into a story about a judge who commits suicide, but you will eventually find out he was murdered. Then, Krueger goes into many chapters just describing the lives of his characters and how they relate to one another. The author likes to lead the reader on so they will keep reading. He then ends with an explosive ending you could never perceive. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It's amazing.

posted by Anonymous on December 1, 2004

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

34 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Not recommended

Too much vulgar language and explicit sex for my taste. I will not be purchasing another book by this author. He ruined a good plot with the distracting language. Certainly not in the same league with John Grisham or David Baldacci!

posted by JUSTme54LS on November 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2004

    The Cork O' Conner Series.

    Iron Lake is the first book in the Cork O' Conner series; and is a mystery and suspense book all in one. First the author starts the book off with a childhood story about Cork and what fate 'Windigo'(an Indian term for something awful) gives you if you experience it. Then Krueger brings you into a story about a judge who commits suicide, but you will eventually find out he was murdered. Then, Krueger goes into many chapters just describing the lives of his characters and how they relate to one another. The author likes to lead the reader on so they will keep reading. He then ends with an explosive ending you could never perceive. I hope you will enjoy this book as much as I did. It's amazing.

    34 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 2, 2011

    Highly Recommended

    This was an amazing book that could not be put down. Cork ia an awesome character that keeps you on edge, you never really know what he might do next. I can hardly wait to read the next book. This book and author is simply amazing and I would recommend it to everyone.

    16 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2004

    Excellent

    The characters are so real you feel like you get to know them!

    15 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 28, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    this is a good start to a promising story. I can't wait to read the next

    9 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 17, 2010

    Great Reading

    Having lived in MN these settings remind me of home. I was just introduced to this author and enjoying it very much...I was surprised that I would find another author with great mysteries written with Minnesota as the background settings and police attitudes as John Sanford Both authors are excellent reads

    9 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2000

    'I'm only eleven but I swear to God I've read it'

    I absolutly loved it and i want to read the boundary waters the sequel.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Mystery, suspense, great imagery, deep characters, sharp twists/

    Mystery, suspense, great imagery, deep characters, sharp twists/turns - this first effort in the Cork O'Connor series has it all.   Not only is this a great novel, but one can see where Krueger is laying the foundation for future installments, primarily through character development.   O'Connor is an everyman kind of good guy - flawed, yet tough and determined.    Somewhat similar to the Longmire character of Craig Johnson - so if you like those books, rush to start reading these as well.   No doubt I'll continue with this series in the very near future.   

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2011

    A valuable find

    One of the best books ive read in a while! Cant wait to delve deeper into the series.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 18, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I Also Recommend:

    A wonderful introduction to this series. It reminds me a lot of

    A wonderful introduction to this series. It reminds me a lot of Tony Hillerman's Jim Chee and Joe Leaphorn series, only set in northern Minnesota instead of the 4 corners area of the southwest. I highly recommend this entire series to people looking for some great mystery books.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 24, 2011

    Awesome

    Can not put down for sure will next books

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 23, 2011

    A Great Book

    I highly recommend this book. Crime mystery is not really my genre, but this is great! I plan to get Northwest Angle by this author next.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 9, 2012

    Stunning Mystery!

    The author created a beautiful mystery set against the cold winter and the warm Christmas holiday. The characters and plot were well-devised. Overall, a great read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 24, 2012

    Great book

    I like the character in the book

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Great Read

    Just looking for something new and came across the Cork O'Connor series andcouldn't stop. Having now read the whole series, Iron Lake set the stage for a really enjoyables series. O'Connor is a great character, and I've learned a lot about Northern Minnesota that I didn't know about. Couldn't put this one down, couldn't put any of them down !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 12, 2012

    Great Story and Character

    After reading this first book in the Cork O'Conner series I'm hooked. William Kent Krueger is an exciting writer and I can't wait to start the next book.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2011

    Wonderful writing, without vulgar language - LOVE IT

    I loved how the author wrote about the characters and how they all fit together. It was interesting and relatable. Good story keeps me wanting more and more of Cork O' Conner ( the main character). I appreciate that there was no blatant sexual content and very very few swear words.

    Keep up the good work

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 31, 2012

    Fantastic mystery series

    Really a good read. Reading the series in order gives better sense of growth and challenges for characters. Finely crafted.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 5, 2012

    Fallstorm

    Im locked out of the first result, thanks to b&n.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2011

    Good mystery!

    Read this book and was hooked-I've gone on to read the rest of the rest of the series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 23, 2011

    Great Book!

    This book was a great read. It was fast paced and lots of action. Im looking forward to reading more of this series.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 245 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 13