Customer Reviews for

The Iron Queen (Iron Fey Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 792 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(571)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

EPICLY AMAZING!!!!

I did not think there was anyway Julie Kagawa could top the previous book in the Iron Fey series, but Iron Queen blew me away and exceeded all expectations I had. Iron Queen was, by far, the best book in the entire Iron Fey series!

I am going to start off by saying t...
I did not think there was anyway Julie Kagawa could top the previous book in the Iron Fey series, but Iron Queen blew me away and exceeded all expectations I had. Iron Queen was, by far, the best book in the entire Iron Fey series!

I am going to start off by saying that this review is going to be spoiler free so I am going to stay away from anything plot related because I am worried any little thing I say could be spoilery and I do not want to ruin this book for anyone.

This book was beyond awesome. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. I sat down to read Iron Queen and could not stop reading it until I had finished reading the book. I forgot the enormous pile of homework I should have been doing and was sucked completely into the story of Iron Queen.

Julie Kagawa has written a fabulous third novel. All the favorite characters are back and put through so many twists and turns. The plot was amazing. Reading this book for me was like watching an amazing movie. I could literally picture every scene playing out in my head. There was great action scene too, of some epic portions. The plot had so many twists and turns I had no idea what was going to happen next. Julie Kagawa had me constantly on my toes, unsure what was going to happen to Meaghan, Ash and Puck next.

One of my favorite things about this third book in the Iron Fey series is that you can truly see how much each of the characters has grown. Meaghan has progressed so much as a character since the frighten, naïve girl with no knowledge of the Fey realm into this knowledgeable, strong, driven character. I loved seeing her come into her own and taking control. Ash and Puck have also grown as characters and I loved their growth and its amazing to see where Julie Kagawa has taken all these characters from Iron King to now in the Iron Queen

I really do not know how to describe this book. Julie Kagawa blew me away. I though the Iron Daughter was emotional rollercoaster, but it was nothing compared to this book. I was literally all over the place with emotion. I'm just going to say, I did cry during this book. And the ending. The ending was everything I expected from Julie Kagawa, full blown, emotion packed ending that left me dying for more.

The ending left me desperately waiting for Iron Knight. I am so glad this is not the final book and that the story is going to continue because it just needs too. I do not want to leave this fabulous world that Julie Kagawa has created. Iron Knight needs to be out now because that ending, in my opinion, was so much worse than Iron Daughter, and that had me driven mad that I could read the next one immediately.

Iron Queen was a beautiful masterpiece of a book. Truly wonderful. I really have no other words to describe it. It was simply, and purely, amazing.

posted by danibookworm91 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

Offensive to Asians

I read in an interview Julie Kagawa was inspired to write Iron Queen from playing video games. Her characters felt just as flat as video game characters. Ash, who is the fangirl's version of all manga boy, is a little better than one dimensional. Still taking on the sam...
I read in an interview Julie Kagawa was inspired to write Iron Queen from playing video games. Her characters felt just as flat as video game characters. Ash, who is the fangirl's version of all manga boy, is a little better than one dimensional. Still taking on the same plot lines as Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely books, I found Iron Queen a copycat of a better fae book. What is worse and most offensive to me is the reference to Asian culture. Meghan is into Hello Kitty, Ash is a manga character, Kagawa describes the Japanese language as "japanese kanji"??? yet all the characters are white? How about making them Asian face? At least Japanese so Meghan is Asian on the cover? A blonde girl like Meghan on the cover sells better than a Japanese on the cover right? How offensive!

posted by Cynthia67 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 802 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41
  • Posted December 29, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    EPICLY AMAZING!!!!

    I did not think there was anyway Julie Kagawa could top the previous book in the Iron Fey series, but Iron Queen blew me away and exceeded all expectations I had. Iron Queen was, by far, the best book in the entire Iron Fey series!

    I am going to start off by saying that this review is going to be spoiler free so I am going to stay away from anything plot related because I am worried any little thing I say could be spoilery and I do not want to ruin this book for anyone.

    This book was beyond awesome. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. I sat down to read Iron Queen and could not stop reading it until I had finished reading the book. I forgot the enormous pile of homework I should have been doing and was sucked completely into the story of Iron Queen.

    Julie Kagawa has written a fabulous third novel. All the favorite characters are back and put through so many twists and turns. The plot was amazing. Reading this book for me was like watching an amazing movie. I could literally picture every scene playing out in my head. There was great action scene too, of some epic portions. The plot had so many twists and turns I had no idea what was going to happen next. Julie Kagawa had me constantly on my toes, unsure what was going to happen to Meaghan, Ash and Puck next.

    One of my favorite things about this third book in the Iron Fey series is that you can truly see how much each of the characters has grown. Meaghan has progressed so much as a character since the frighten, naïve girl with no knowledge of the Fey realm into this knowledgeable, strong, driven character. I loved seeing her come into her own and taking control. Ash and Puck have also grown as characters and I loved their growth and its amazing to see where Julie Kagawa has taken all these characters from Iron King to now in the Iron Queen

    I really do not know how to describe this book. Julie Kagawa blew me away. I though the Iron Daughter was emotional rollercoaster, but it was nothing compared to this book. I was literally all over the place with emotion. I'm just going to say, I did cry during this book. And the ending. The ending was everything I expected from Julie Kagawa, full blown, emotion packed ending that left me dying for more.

    The ending left me desperately waiting for Iron Knight. I am so glad this is not the final book and that the story is going to continue because it just needs too. I do not want to leave this fabulous world that Julie Kagawa has created. Iron Knight needs to be out now because that ending, in my opinion, was so much worse than Iron Daughter, and that had me driven mad that I could read the next one immediately.

    Iron Queen was a beautiful masterpiece of a book. Truly wonderful. I really have no other words to describe it. It was simply, and purely, amazing.

    23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 27, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    Loved it. Great book, great story. I was very entertained.

    17 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Offensive to Asians

    I read in an interview Julie Kagawa was inspired to write Iron Queen from playing video games. Her characters felt just as flat as video game characters. Ash, who is the fangirl's version of all manga boy, is a little better than one dimensional. Still taking on the same plot lines as Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely books, I found Iron Queen a copycat of a better fae book. What is worse and most offensive to me is the reference to Asian culture. Meghan is into Hello Kitty, Ash is a manga character, Kagawa describes the Japanese language as "japanese kanji"??? yet all the characters are white? How about making them Asian face? At least Japanese so Meghan is Asian on the cover? A blonde girl like Meghan on the cover sells better than a Japanese on the cover right? How offensive!

    11 out of 48 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Slam on Asians

    Overhyped by bloggers who are ignorant of racial slam on Asians. Words cannot describe the offensiveness of Iron Queen. The author took the plots and characters from Japanese comic books and video games and call it her own. She change the characters to white ones instead of Japanese, but Meghan has Japaneses girl manners. Ash is like Japanese soap opera guys. Nothing new, except she made them white. She even misuses Japanese culture and intermix Japanese with Chinese customs. Shame on making Meghan a white blonde girl with Japanese girl traits just to sell books but sell out the Japanese and Chinese cultures.

    9 out of 39 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 1, 2011

    White face Meghan

    For non-Asians reading the Iron Fey series, you would not know how offensive Meghan and Ash's characters are to Asians. Julie Kagawa, who base Meghan and Ash from japanese manga characters, gives them japanese manga characteristics only to have them be white. It sells more books, especially when Meghan is a blonde white girl on the front covers.

    8 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 1, 2011

    Meghan and Ash are supposed to be Asian

    The author said she based her characters on Japanese manga. What I don't get is why make Meghan and Ash white when they are supposed to be Japanese? Meghan and Ash are portrayed as japanese, but when it comes to covers, she is a blonde and white. Ash is white, too. I find it offensive how the author sold out her roots to make Meghan blonde for the covers just to sell more books. Shameful.

    7 out of 38 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Heartbreaking

    The intensity of this book was at an all time high. Your heart has to be made of iron to not fall in love with this series. In The Iron Daughter, Meghan, Ash, and Puck saved the specter but lost a friend to battle. When they returned to Faery both Winter and Summer made them choose to return to their court or be exiled if they chose to be together. When we begin The Iron Queen Ash and Meghan both chose exile than to be apart. [Ash I love you!] Meghan also discovers that the memory she traded in The Iron King was important and her first mission is to get it back. Ash is willing to do anything to make Meghan happy that he even talks about marrying her someday, if that's what she wishes. [Ash I love you so much!] Seriously these outbursts are what happened as I was reading The Iron Queen.

    With each minute that passes Faery is dying and the false Iron King is hunting Meghan in the human world. Trust me when I say there is never a dull moment. In the back of Meghan's mind she knows that one day she will have to kill the False King, but to be successful she might have to sacrifice it all. Once Meghan realizes what she lost in her memory she seeks refuge with Leanansidhe, Queen of the Exile. While there she finds out that Puck disobeyed Oberon and went after Meghan so the team is back together. Meghan spends her time getting to know someone from her past and training with Ash for the day she will face the False King. If I was Meghan I would have wanted to live in this part of the story forever.

    Winter and Summer come to realize that Meghan is their only hope to save Faery and send for her to help save what is left of Faery. As before Ash and Puck will not let her go alone and know that spending time in the Iron Relm will kill them. There are intense battles, sacrifices, broken hearts, and an ending I would never have guessed. I was crying for hours after I finished this book. Trust me when I say this book lives up to the hype. If you loved City of Glass, Mockingjay, Ink Exchange, the battles in Lord of the Rings than this book is for you. Just fair warning there will be intense sadness. Julie joins my top fey authors along Maggie Stiefvater, Melissa Marr, and Holly Black. The only reason this book did not get a 5 star is because I was so heart broken by the ending.

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2011

    What's a seventeen yr old having sex with a married older man?

    Call this clean? Meghan turned seventeen. She's an immature seventeen too who cries throughout Iron Queen. Ash is a character like so many other in Japanese cartoons. Watch Adult Swim or SyFy and you will see a Dime-a-dozen Ash characters. He is supposed to have been married and now is in love with a girl who just turned seventeen and have sex? What is Julie Kagawa and Harlequin Teen saying to teen girls? The author intended this for juveniles since "Awesome" is written in Iron Queen over 70 times. Was this the same book that bloggers read calling this epic and tearjerker. I'm mad at these bloggers who get free copies and gush about a book everyone else has to shell over $50 for (that's the cost of this whole series) when it is not that good. I would never trust what book bloggers call epic ever again.

    4 out of 20 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 7, 2010

    Amazing Series- don't make it horrible

    This is one of the best series I've ever read. Don't make it horrible by forming "teams" the last thing we need is another Twilight. Just enjoy the book and read as it goes along. ITS NOT YOUR LIFE. it doesn't matter who she chooses.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 2, 2011

    Got a Headache from Squinting too Much. Where's the Epic?

    The bloggers who gushed about this remake of Labyrinth and Wondrous Strange lost my respect. I would no longer believe their credibility. Yes, they received free copies of Iron Queen and feel pressured by fellow bloggers to gush so they can stay in the circle of freebies, but hard-working people who spend money on books they spend precious time reading aren't buying their opinions. I must have read a different book from them because I thought this was meh. Not even intersting enough for me to read through. The bloggers say the last 30 pages are worth the book? That is too much time wasted. If you don't catch me in the first few pages. Forget it. I did skip ahead to read the last 30 pages, and I pity those who think Ash is the bomb. Get a life. There are hotter guys out there. Iron Queen was juvenile and not great.

    3 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 23, 2013

    One of the Best Series Ever!!!!!!!!!

    Love this book and the whole series. I'm 13 and I couldnt put these books down :) I would sooooo recomend these :D

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 29, 2012

    Omg

    Best book ever!!!! I wish i could see ash and megan get together in the end but.....
    AWESOMEEEEEE!!!!!!! <3

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 28, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Love this series!

    Strong female characters are hard to find in a series- love this one!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Amazing

    This is a great book, and unlike the other books in the series it has an ending that does not leave you hanging, mostly. I still want more though. I have stayed up past 1 in the morning every night for theast three nights, and finished a book a night. I actually bought these books even though i am totally cheap. They were just that good, and i am very happy with this author. However the ending was the best part. Will it be happy, sad, or both you cannot guess until the very last page. The one and only problem in the series is that i was able to guess some major things early on, but those speculations were not all exact, just close.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 20, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    The Iron Queen

    Seeing as how all the books in Kagawa's Iron Fey series are epically awesome, I had absolutely no doubt that the latest edition; The Iron Queen would follow in their footsteps. And, (pardon my totally weird expression) by golly, it did!
    If you're a reader of the series, there is no way you cannot love the characters. They are so alluring, fresh, and real in their own ways, that it's sometimes uncanny how much a person (um, me) can relate to them.
    Another thing that I really can't get over: the Fey Realms in the books are so beautifully described that, even hours after setting the book down or aside, I had images in my mind and words floating around. I just wanted to know what was going to happen! Sometimes, I had to get out of bed at two a.m. just to finish another chapter (if that's not how you know a book is good, I don't know what the heck is).
    Julie Kagawa does a very nice job at describing things (um, I just said that, but I'm not done!) you could, probably, describe a fictional character in a hundred different ways. Each author probably has their own personal ways, and I must say that I love Julie's voice! I like how she gives such detailed information. Normally, I might say that this was unnecessary information, but when an author creates their own 'book world' it is really crucial to describe things.
    Now that I'm done raving on the author, let me get to the characters: Meghan is so real, not just while reading, but even now, weeks after finishing the book, I'm sitting here thinking about what she's doing. Is she chillin' with Grimalkin or running the heck away from knights of the Winter court? Either way, I'm thinking about her (is that weird?).
    Ash. Aw, Ash. I could probably use a hundred different of my own ways to describe him for you, but I will allow you, the reader (you'd better be one!), to get your own opinions. Suffice to say: I love that dude. He's so cold, hot, and awesome. (Okay, I'm freaking myself out here, sorry!)
    The ending made me cry, but that's a totally good thing! For like, ONCE in my life I didn't see it coming. Normally, I would be all "Damn. I totally saw that coming. PLEASE tell me that the next book will have some inkling of surprise." And hey, you have totally weird and well described little twerps running around, a freakin' hot romance, and um, hello a seriously hilarious cat who randomly disappears at the most vital moments. What the hell more could you ask for?!
    Can we all please take a moment to gaze fondly at the cover? SO beautiful (but maybe I'm biased.I just really like vine-y and flower-y things! Add those to a cover, and it gets my vote each time).
    Totally looking forward to the next book, THE IRON KNIGHT, because come on, as if I'm going to stop now! (You can bet your you-know-what that I'll be at Borders the second it comes out.) Thank you thank you thank you, Julie Kagawa, for writing such a spellbinding and awesome book!

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 13, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    A must read!!

    Ms. Kagawa never ceases to amaze me. She delivered such great stories and with each book it just keeps on getting better and better. The Iron Queen was simply amazing. I can do no other but brag.


    Megan is fighting again. Joining forces, all the fey fight to save the land that they love. Megan is leading the fight with the only one who can kill the false Iron king. Can Megan kill him? Or will the fight take more out of her that what she expected?


    This book was an amazing adventure. Megan's strength and power was great to see. She took everything in her hands like a true leader, making decisions, setting times, and places. Just doing everything she was meant to do. The romance was a struggle. Megan was torn into making the hardest decision of her life. I admired her love for Ash. I just hope she made the right decision.


    The coolest guy in the book was Razor. LOL! He certainly made my day and brought a smile to my face. I adore him. The greatest moment was the tree. It just blew me away. The ending was certainly surprise and I was glad to see Megan come into her own. The ending with Ash left me even more determined to want to read more. I'm so looking forward for the next book.


    This series in all is one great read. If you had not read this series, you should get right on it. It will not disappoint you.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 16, 2010

    I can't wait!!!!!!

    the first two just amazing leaving me with wanting more. i couldn't believe how she ended the last one with them bot being banished from the nevernever. How can they defeat the iron fey know? how will they save the day? one of the most amazing books!!! truly one of my favorites !!!!!!! :)

    2 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2014

    I was really skeptical about this book when I first saw it. But

    I was really skeptical about this book when I first saw it. But now I'm so glad I read it! Her stories are really original and I adore Puck!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 31, 2013

    Loved It!!!!

    Loved It!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This book was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! The book completely turned the wh

    This book was A-M-A-Z-I-N-G!!! The book completely turned the whole series around, it's by far my favorite book of the series. The amount of drama that was in the book made everything suspenseful. I love the fact that Ash and Meghan were able to be together as a couple in this book. ;) There were a lot of sweet moments that made made my heart melt, just to think that they were together was great. In this book, there was a whole new factor involved, as Meghan gets a preposition from the Summer King and Winter Queen. It is because of this preposition that she was able to grow and defend herself and the ones she loves. The whole love triangle was finally clear in the book as well, and she was able to pick one of them. Although the ending brought me to tears, I couldn't help to feel sad for those that got hurt and hopeful to see what Ash and Puck are going to do next. With more suspense and thriller, I can't wait to read what happens to Meghan, Ash and Puck in the next book. 




    I really hope for a happy ending :D

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 802 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 41