Customer Reviews for

The Iron Queen (Iron Fey Series #3)

Average Rating 4.5
( 791 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(570)

4 Star

(146)

3 Star

(49)

2 Star

(10)

1 Star

(16)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

23 out of 30 people found this review helpful.

EPICLY AMAZING!!!!

I did not think there was anyway Julie Kagawa could top the previous book in the Iron Fey series, but Iron Queen blew me away and exceeded all expectations I had. Iron Queen was, by far, the best book in the entire Iron Fey series!

I am going to start off by saying t...
I did not think there was anyway Julie Kagawa could top the previous book in the Iron Fey series, but Iron Queen blew me away and exceeded all expectations I had. Iron Queen was, by far, the best book in the entire Iron Fey series!

I am going to start off by saying that this review is going to be spoiler free so I am going to stay away from anything plot related because I am worried any little thing I say could be spoilery and I do not want to ruin this book for anyone.

This book was beyond awesome. If I could give it more than 5 stars I would. I sat down to read Iron Queen and could not stop reading it until I had finished reading the book. I forgot the enormous pile of homework I should have been doing and was sucked completely into the story of Iron Queen.

Julie Kagawa has written a fabulous third novel. All the favorite characters are back and put through so many twists and turns. The plot was amazing. Reading this book for me was like watching an amazing movie. I could literally picture every scene playing out in my head. There was great action scene too, of some epic portions. The plot had so many twists and turns I had no idea what was going to happen next. Julie Kagawa had me constantly on my toes, unsure what was going to happen to Meaghan, Ash and Puck next.

One of my favorite things about this third book in the Iron Fey series is that you can truly see how much each of the characters has grown. Meaghan has progressed so much as a character since the frighten, naïve girl with no knowledge of the Fey realm into this knowledgeable, strong, driven character. I loved seeing her come into her own and taking control. Ash and Puck have also grown as characters and I loved their growth and its amazing to see where Julie Kagawa has taken all these characters from Iron King to now in the Iron Queen

I really do not know how to describe this book. Julie Kagawa blew me away. I though the Iron Daughter was emotional rollercoaster, but it was nothing compared to this book. I was literally all over the place with emotion. I'm just going to say, I did cry during this book. And the ending. The ending was everything I expected from Julie Kagawa, full blown, emotion packed ending that left me dying for more.

The ending left me desperately waiting for Iron Knight. I am so glad this is not the final book and that the story is going to continue because it just needs too. I do not want to leave this fabulous world that Julie Kagawa has created. Iron Knight needs to be out now because that ending, in my opinion, was so much worse than Iron Daughter, and that had me driven mad that I could read the next one immediately.

Iron Queen was a beautiful masterpiece of a book. Truly wonderful. I really have no other words to describe it. It was simply, and purely, amazing.

posted by danibookworm91 on December 29, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

11 out of 47 people found this review helpful.

Offensive to Asians

I read in an interview Julie Kagawa was inspired to write Iron Queen from playing video games. Her characters felt just as flat as video game characters. Ash, who is the fangirl's version of all manga boy, is a little better than one dimensional. Still taking on the sam...
I read in an interview Julie Kagawa was inspired to write Iron Queen from playing video games. Her characters felt just as flat as video game characters. Ash, who is the fangirl's version of all manga boy, is a little better than one dimensional. Still taking on the same plot lines as Melissa Marr's Wicked Lovely books, I found Iron Queen a copycat of a better fae book. What is worse and most offensive to me is the reference to Asian culture. Meghan is into Hello Kitty, Ash is a manga character, Kagawa describes the Japanese language as "japanese kanji"??? yet all the characters are white? How about making them Asian face? At least Japanese so Meghan is Asian on the cover? A blonde girl like Meghan on the cover sells better than a Japanese on the cover right? How offensive!

posted by Cynthia67 on February 1, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2013

    Team Puck

    Okay, I totally ageee with the review that compaired Meagan to Bella from Twilight. Another thing that bothers me is the infatuation with the emotionally stunted Ash. Why can't a main character fall in love with a nice guy? Oh, right, because she has fallen in lust and not love. I wish books like this offered kids a good example of a healthy relationship.
    This isn't a huge page turner for me. I guess I don't see the characters maturing and using their brains. They have had two books to show a little bit of growth, and it just has not happened. I might be done after this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2012

    Megan needs to grow some cahones

    I do like this series but it seems like Megan is never going to evolve. She's still wimpy and complainy. Think Bella from Twilight.. she doesn't believe in herself ENOUGH and simple things don't make sense to her. Ie first book when she didnt get that Ash was pretending. I hope Julie's next series has a main character that isn't so whiney. With that being said the plot is still okay. Being someone who has read tons of fairy based books I dont feel like the nevernever is cohesive in concepts. To many things from different tales of fairy that dont match up or make sense...

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 21, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Better than the first two in the series Brought to you by Anna

    Better than the first two in the series

    Brought to you by Annabell

    The Iron Queen picks up right where The Iron Daughter had left off. Meghan and Ash heading to Meghan’s house so she can see her family, both having been exiled from the Nevernever. Meghan can’t stay long though because her battle to find the father she had lost isn’t over. She returns to New Orleans to reclaim the memory she had no choice but to give up to an oracle on her first journey into the Nevernever to save her little brother, Ethan. Meghan and Ash run into some trouble though but Puck comes to the rescue, revealing he had been exiled from the Nevernever as well since he had gone after Meghan. But just as Ash and Meghan get use to the idea of never returning to the Nevernever and Meghan works toward building a relationship with her long lost human dad, the Summer and Winter Court come searching for her. King Oberon and Queen Mab have reluctantly agreed to allow Meghan, Ash, and Puck to return to the Nevernever but there’s one condition: Meghan must venture into the Iron Realm and defeat the false Iron King who has taken the throne.

    Those dang fey! Always a catch!

    I was a lot more impressed with the third installment in the Iron Fey Series than with the previous two. Meghan has grown up a great deal in Iron Queen. I still don’t really care for her character but I have finally gained some respect for her. She was still whinny and over dramatic and clueless. But she also had a lot more strength. She actually kicks butt this time around without needing the guys to save her every two seconds. She is much smarter and less selfish. Ash and Puck are still as fun loving as they were from the first book. Puck is still as delightfully mischievous and loyal as he has always been. There is also a more serious note to him in Iron Queen. Puck shows a more sensitive side of himself which I liked reading. Ash has grown a great deal as well from the first book and he opens up his heart to Meghan. He is still strong and scary fierce.

    Grim, that flippin cat, is also back and I just love his character! Always full of sarcastic wisdom and always mysterious, Grim kept me laughing and wishing I could have him in real life. There are two new characters I really liked, Razor and Glitch. Razor is the cutest Gremlin ever! He was even more mischievous than Puck and was like a robot with ADD. He wasn’t in the book very much but was a lot of fun when he was. Glitch is the leader of the vigilante Iron Fey who have bounded together against the false iron king. He is calm and strategic and isn’t scared of Ash or Puck. He starts off being a little afraid of going up against the false king but grows in bravery.

    The pacing for the most part is a lot better. I did get bored a few times and skipped chunks of some chapters but for the most part, I didn’t feel boggled down. The romance between Ash and Meghan could have been toned down. It felt like every five pages, they were once again declaring their love for one another and making promises. I could have done without all the dramatics and the melodrama of Meghan.

    For the FULL review and more at openbooksociety dot com

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    I fell in love with this series

    In less than twenty-four hours I'll be seventeen.

    Although, technically, I won't actually be turning seventeen. I've been in the Nevernever too long. When you're in Faery, you don't age. So while a year has passed in the real world, age-wise I'm probably only a few days older than when I went in.

    In real life, I've changed so much I don't even recognize myself.

    MY NAME IS MEGHAN CHASE.

    I thought it was over. That my time with the fey, the impossible choices I had to make, the sacrifices of those I loved, was behind me. But a storm is approaching, an army of Iron fey that will drag me back, kicking and screaming. Drag me away from the banished prince who's sworn to stand by my side. Drag me into the core of conflict so powerful, I'm not sure anyone can survive it.

    The star-crossed lovers of this tale, Meghan and Ash, are trying to adapt to their new status of being exiles from Nevernever as well as working on their budding relationship. Yet, they quickly get dragged back into a bloody war while at the same time discovering Meghan's father for the first time in years. With the fairy world slowly being destroyed, Meghan cannot foolishly divide her time between her two existences anymore. And with a power that truly scares her, Meghan realizes she must face her destiny, finally choose sides, and learn what 'sacrifice' really means.

    I fell in love with this story from Book # 1 since it was/is a pure fantasy mixture of the classic 80s movies Labyrinth and The Princess Bride - all with a fun modern twist. Now with the dark war between the fairy kingdom ensuing, add some of the fighting sequences from Lord of the Rings/Narnia to the mix as well. Meghan is no longer the young naive half-breed daughter of a legendary fairy king, known as "Princess" to most, but is now a tougher version ready to face a world where she accepts there will be no easy answer to things.

    I really wanted to like this book and get caught up within the story again, but sadly I felt there were parts that seriously dragged and others that I desired to skip all together. Maybe it was that the fairy world is no longer 'new' and exciting to me anymore since Book #1 or maybe the spicy relationship triangle factor was toned down some from Book #2, but overall . . . I just wanted more from the tale. I wanted Meghan to fight harder for Ash, I wanted her to not shy away from her unknown powers, and I wanted a story that captivated me throughout.

    Though some characters remarkably stood out for me (i.e. Glitch), others were flat annoying (i.e. Gremlins!) and I found myself disliking the story more and more with their every appearance. In the end, The Iron Queen is truly a heart-wrenching tale of love and loss (and I shed a tear here and there) but as a whole, I would rank this book as my least favorite of the series. During those rather slow parts, I was even secretly rooting for Puck to step up as new 'boyfriend' material OR something tragic to happen to Ash *gasp* but that wishful thinking wouldn't pan out so well for THE IRON KNIGHT (Ash's Story) up next!

    Likes: NEW ORLEANS! Woo-hoo!

    Dislikes: Nasty gremlins! Ugh!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 15, 2011

    Not awesome but good

    I wanted to finish the series but this one leaves you hanging so I really didn't like that part. And if she doesn't come out with the next one or if that is just the way it ends then it sucks. But all in all a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 4, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Alright.

    I liked that the relationship between Ash and Meghan grew stronger, and the plot was very well planned out. A lot of detail made it a good read, along with the emotion put into this novel. I feel as though this book was the strongest so far out of the series. The adventure between Puck, Ash, and Meghan becomes more challenging and though there are some parts that are predictable, the read was worth it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 13, 2011

    Good Series

    Enjoyable read although slow in parts. The main character seems to have matured greatly in this last book based on her previous trials. The love scene was tastefully done so that younger readers would not get the inference into what was going on but would have understood the commitment of the characters to the relationship. I have enjoyed the whole series and thought them worth reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 4, 2011

    Over all good read

    I didn't find myself liking this volume as much as the last but it was still every enjoyable!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 26, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 49 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3