Customer Reviews for

The Iron Thorn (Iron Codex Series #1)

Average Rating 4.5
( 47 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(25)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

Steampunk With Dark and Creepy Galore - The Perfect Opener

4.5

The Iron Thorn is my first real venture into steampunk and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. The world of Lovecraft, an alternate 1950's Massachusetts, is all iron and machines. I could feel the cold, hard metal with each page. Caitlin Kittredge is a m...
4.5

The Iron Thorn is my first real venture into steampunk and I have to say that I thoroughly enjoyed it. The world of Lovecraft, an alternate 1950's Massachusetts, is all iron and machines. I could feel the cold, hard metal with each page. Caitlin Kittredge is a master at bringing this world to life and is so detailed in her storytelling that I not only read about Aoife's journey, but I became a member of her rogue group.

Aoife herself is far from the 1950's standard of an upstanding lady. Her brash behavior and strong demeanor makes her stand out amongst other girls, and it does not go unnoticed. Not by her best friend Cal, nor Dean, their rough and tumble guide out of Lovecraft. This possible love interest is nearly eclipsed by Aoife's search for her wayward, and most likely mad brother, Conrad. Her need to help him propels her into a world of magic and witchcraft and things she never would have believed to be real.

The magic plays a huge role in the story and I hadn't really expected that, though I welcomed it. Learning all the details of the past that Aoife never knew opens up so many doors and unexpected twists. I didn't even know that one very large aspect of the story was going to come into play, though in hindsight I probably should have. Either way, I loved it. I loved getting to know Aoife, wanting to punch Cal, inching closer to Dean, and discovering an interest in the clockwork house of Graystone.

The necrovirus that lays dormant in Aoife's blood is never forgotten about, even as she desperately tries to find her brother before the madness takes hold. Her encounter with ghouls and voices and diaries that show her images really add to this feeling of a lingering insanity. Surrounding all of this is Dean. I'm pretty sure I need to have a closet (like several other bloggers) to lock book boys in to keep forever. Dean is joining Will from Angelfire in my closet because I want him. He has a James Dean air about him with all his swagger and bravado, but he can be vulnerable too. I can't blame Aoife for wanting to let him in.

The Iron Thorn is creepy and dark and filled with things that go bump in the night and I wouldn't want it any other way. It's a story full of secrets and surprises, old-fashioned ideas and language, but more so about a girl desperate to cling to the only family she ever had, despite the fact that she may be losing her mind. Long as it may be, The Iron Thorn opens up a trilogy that I plan on devouring and rereading many times in the future.

posted by Nikkayme on February 21, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Wonderful story and book

I thought this book was very good. In the begging i was confuzed alot because the author never really explanes where they are what the deal is with the world is and important things like that. Its almost like they throw you into this world and you have to figure it out ...
I thought this book was very good. In the begging i was confuzed alot because the author never really explanes where they are what the deal is with the world is and important things like that. Its almost like they throw you into this world and you have to figure it out as you go. If you get though the first half of the book the rest is an amazing ride i really enjoyed it!

posted by Almare on August 22, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 27, 2010

    A fantastic new fantasy world

    The Iron Thorn was not was I was expecting it to be, it was more. I read the advanced readers copy of this and was blown away. Kittredge tells the story in a way that makes you think you know where the story is going, but then wonderfully and unexpectedly she throws you for a loop. This book's characters were facinating, and I loved Aoife ( and Dean of course ) and how they all had a certain unique element about them. The story line of this book is what really got me though; the hidden secrets, the virus, the madness, and the magic.This review hasn't really done the book justice but it truely was an amazing book. It is definitely worth the read, and I highly recomend it. :)

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 18, 2013

    Loved the story and had trouble putting it down for such mundane

    Loved the story and had trouble putting it down for such mundane tasks as cooking dinner for the family and going to bed. I was sorry to see it was a series (have to wait for the next installment), then elated to find that both the second and third books are already out. Yay! I love the characters, the startling revolt ions and the spooky otherworldly creatures. Gotta go order pizza and grab some No-Doz so I can read undisturbed. Haha!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2012

    this book is unbelievably good. I could not put it down--492 pag

    this book is unbelievably good. I could not put it down--492 pages of me saying, "no mom, I don't can't eat right now, can't you see I'm reading?!" it is worth buying by a million, and i will definitely be buying the sequel.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 23, 2011

    loved it

    this book was really good. there had bettervsbe a sequel or i will hate he author forever! (that was for you caitlin kiteridge) please, i require a sequel. this book was so good i couldnt put it cown to save, my life! A MUST READ!!!!!

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 9, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Incredible YA Steampunk book!

    Aoife is about to turn sixteen and has a lot on her mind. Sixteen is the age both her mother and brother went mad, and in the City of Lovecraft, madness is not taken to very kindly. A few weeks shy of her birthday, she receives a mysterious note from Conrad asking her to help him. Grabbing her best friend Calvin, the two of them set off to figure out what really happened to her brother. This task will not be easy, however, as right away they encounter terrible things that want to eat them, imprison them, and infect them with the deadly necrovirus. But Aoife must push on, as the alternative choice is much worse.

    Wow, was this book ever quite the fantastic adventure! The details were fully imagined and thoroughly thought out. I felt as though I actually went somewhere and did something extraordinary with these characters. There were secrets I was not expecting and twists I never would have thought possible. The whole book was this great gothic/paranormal/steampunk combination. Aoife is a very smart girl, never succumbing to her feelings for a boy or giving in to a moment of girlish weakness. She was truly a girl for readers to aspire to be. She stayed strong through some very creepy creatures and hair-raising situations. Kittredge's writing had the perfect amount of beautiful description to offset her captivating dialog and action. The worlds felt so real and alive, and the use of machines and clockwork were some of the best executions I have read to date in the steampunk genre. Fans of Cherie Priest's Boneshaker will devour this book. I have not read any of Kittredge's adult books (and I am not yet sure I will) but this book will haunt my thoughts until the next installment in the Iron Codex comes out!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2014

    Love this book

    I have read this book in book form and really loved it but felt there was more to the story between the characters. I keep checking to see if there is a continuing of the characters like with shattered mirror. It really is a good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 19, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    A New World Awaits

    Caitlin Kittredge has created a complex world of magic, machines, and science with the release of The Iron Thorn. There are layers of our world that are hidden behind the law of the land of Iron. The language of Machines has overtaken a history filled with magic and fey, except now it is coming to an end.

    The story revolves around the main character named Aoife (amazing name) and her family's history that is now changing the very fabric of the worlds.

    There is magic, and mystery, suspense, and romance for everyone in the book. I loved the descriptions of the great machines that imprison and drive the world of Iron and the complexities involved in the school of learning, as well as how the past was hidden from the populace.

    The book was fantastic to read and think about how a story can change a world, and how a group of people can destroy a past with those words and condemn people for not only remembering the past but also in their being a part of it.

    The Iron Thorn is a book you have got to read and experience.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 11, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    Best YA Novel I have Read In Years!!!

    Steampunk, madness, monsters & enough references to make every Lovecraft fan drool with delight. If you have avoided reading a Young Adult novel (either because you are not a teenager or think it's beneath you), this is the book that will convert you.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 10, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 15, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 27, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 25, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 9, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2