Customer Reviews for

Ironman

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 9, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    An exciting book

    I am a sophomore at Holt High School reading Iron Man by Chris Crutcher. This book was recommended to me by my teacher and another student so I figured it would be a good one. I read this book for my silent reading time, and preferred it to all the other books I read this year.
    Iron Man is about a boy named Bo Brewster. It's interesting how the book is written; half of it is written in first person by Bo in stories to Larry King, and the other parts are a narrative written in third person. It is really interesting to read with the changing writing styles, it keeps a reader on their toes and interested.
    Bo gets into some trouble with the football coach and teacher Mr. Redmond when he feels he is being disrespected. He ends up in before school anger management classes with Mr. Nak, a small man with cowboy heritage. Bo was worried about what he at first believes is nothing but future serial killers; when he meets a girl he becomes quite fond of. Her name's Shelly, and she is easily twice as strong as Bo. A big Triathlon, Iron Jack's, which Bo is training for throughout the book does a great job tying all loose ends together at the end of the book, leaving the reader with that satisfied feeling.
    The book concentrates on different relationships; father-son relationships, teacher-student relationships, and even deals with unique relationships with friends. Other themes other then relationships that this book incorporates are determination and controlling yourself. Iron Man touches some tender subjects, often leaving you shocked and confused; but it always catches the reader's attention, and makes you want to read more and more.
    I would definitely recommend Iron Man to any young adult. It deals with the issues that most kids have faced or will face growing up, and most readers will easily relate to it. I am not necessarily a reading fanatic, but this book I couldn't put down. It was extremely interesting and always kept me wondering as to what would happen next. If you liked Chinese Handcuffs by Chris Crutcher, you would love this book; it deals with the same type of issues and ages of characters. Also if you like TV shows like Gossip Girl, or any other show that deals with young adults and their struggles day to day this book is perfect for you.
    I would give the book a four and a half star rating. It's a very interactive book that I could relate to, as could many young adults. All the characters are extremely well developed with great insight into their thoughts and backgrounds. The plot has its fair share of twists and turns always keeping the reader guessing. Overall Crutcher did an excellent job with this book. I guarantee any reader would love it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2008

    A great read

    Ironman is a fantastic young adult novel, where Chris Crutcher presents characters who are struggling with issues of anger management, fear, and abuse. The main character, Bo is training to be a triathlete, an Ironman. He is a very committed athlete, however he has continually battled with certain authoritative figures in his life, one being his father. Throughout the book Bo becomes acquainted with a group of adolescents in his Anger Management group who are also struggling with problems that turn out to be similar to his own. Bo¿s character was very well developed, and his perseverance throughout the triathlon was compelling. Within this book the characters have learned to stand up to their fears and as a result have become stronger. This book really represents the highs and lows of the different characters. This storyline was great because Chris Crutcher not only writes about the triathlon, but revealed the deeper issues of his characters. Ironman was comical in some parts, but really portrayed the struggles that many teenagers face within their school and at home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2007

    Ironman is Unbeatable

    Ironman is an outstanding book for athletes in high school, both boys and girls. Bo is a high school student training to compete in a triathlon. Bo gets into a little trouble with his former football coach and is sent to anger management, where he meets some pretty cool friends. Anger management, his only source of supportthrough the triathlon, helps Bo find out who he really is!I give this book four stars because it is motivating and inspiring for those who want to reach their goals. Ironman is a very easy book to read. It gives you a very clear picture of what's goin on in the book. It gets you up close to the character's lives and personal problems, and as a high school student it's very easy to relate to. Ironman is a magnificent read for those in jr. high and high school.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 21, 2007

    Ironman

    Its a very good book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 21, 2007

    A reviewer

    Ironman is a very well put together story. The characters and the storyline mesh very well together. Its message isn¿t truly and wholly known until the end, where it all seems to tie together. The characters are very well thought out and their actions seem to come to life. You feel as though you are part of the story, with the characters and you get attached to the main character Bo. All in all I would recommend this book to anyone who likes a good meaningful message.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    This Book Is Great

    Beauregard Brewster is in high school with some issues. He and his father¿s relationship have been shaky, and his English teacher and football coach, Mr. Redmond, picks on Bo. This causes him to talk back, and so he is sent to anger management with Mr. Nak. During all of this, Bo is training to be in Yukon Jack¿s Triathlon. He is also pouring out his feelings on paper as he writes to Larry King. Although these letters are unsent, Bo talks about his dreams, his problems, and his anger in them. Bo also has a bully, Ian Wyrack, during his training, which stirs up more fury inside him. In anger management, though, Bo is able to talk about his situations to someone other than writing letters to a talk show host who he hasn¿t even sent them to. In anger management, at first, Bo didn¿t really talk about his feelings or problems because he thought anger management was full of kids who were horrible and scary. He didn¿t think he belonged there and he thought he was wasting his time, even though in the long run, these kids would end up helping him. During anger management, Bo learned about each person¿s past. He heard about things that were wrong with their lives now, and as time went on, Bo seemed to know them better, he opened up to them. And as he heard all of the kids¿ different stories, I felt it gave him more determination for the triathlon. All of his friends from anger management helped his train and supported him. His father, on the other hand, wasn¿t all that supportive. He told Bo he should just quit because he would fail, and even helped out Bo¿s opponent. Despite all of those problems, Bo still had his mind set on his goal. This book was great. Learning about all of the kids¿ pasts made me think how things like that are happening in the world. It also made me appreciate my family, friends, and my life so much more than I did before. It also made me more determined to get reach my goals, too, knowing that Bo reached his throughout the stresses in his life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Ironman Review

    With many details and descriptive events, I believe Ironman is a very well-written novel. Crutcher provides very descriptive details about the lives and events of each and every character in the book. For example, he includes deep information regarding Shelly¿s past to help readers conceive her dreadful up-bringing. Also, his in-depth use of figurative language and knowledge of language arts combine to create a masterpiece, in my eyes. The imagery in which Crutcher offers allowed me to easily visualize the details of the setting in the book. Furthermore, I liked how, by reading this book, I realized the harsh reality of people¿s lives, and I think that Chris Crutcher depicted a well-composed story line in Ironman. He presented masses of unique affairs and happenings, all in which affected my thoughts differently. With all of the stated qualities that Crutcher reveals, I believe that Ironman was an innovative and profound piece of literature.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Ironman Review

    Bo has been through many difficult times throughout his life. He quit his football team and now has difficulty with his english teacher, Mr Redmond, his prior football coach. Bo also had family problems. He and his dad have been at war for as long as he can remember. Along with his own problems, he has a girlfriend with problems of her own. Bo and his girlfriend are both attending anger management. They make many friends there and learn the meaning of teamwork. Through thick and thin, Bo finds a way to pull through and be successful. As many great authors, Chris Cruther has inevitably displayed his great knowlesge when it comes to writing a book for young adults. He expresses the characters feelings very well by using different types of figurative language. Ironman is a brilliantly written story the captures the readers attention right from the start. It is about perservering through tough times when you are struggling. It is about being able to listen and about being heard. It teaches youto believe in yourself. Ironman is a wonderful book that tells about trust, courage, teamwork, and friendship.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Review by Yvette

    Iron man is a complex yet cunning blend of all sorts of emotions that draw you deep into the story, making you feel as if you are right there in front of the characters. Tragedy, happiness, resentment, humor, and tragedy are all the right elements in a good story and each emotion are brilliantly described. All the characters have different personalities that influence certain behavior and reactions. A good read if you like a book that includes obstacles that are stacked against the main character. In this case Beauregard Brewster is a striving tri-athlete wanting to become the winner of Yukon Jack¿s Iron man competition. Throughout the story he faces problems with his family, school life, and his own personality. Some problems that occur are that his father tries to stack the odds against him even though he really wants to become the winner. In my opinion his problems may be identical to some people¿s childhood life because some parents want their children to fail just to learn a lesson. The main character is someone whom you may resemble because of his strong personal beliefs and actions. Iron man is a fascinating piece of work that includes the right amount of realistic events and controversies. Chris Crutcher out did himself with this novel Iron man, which include the right amount of emotion and action. A story to be remembered for years to come, Chris Crutcher¿s novel is given a nine out of ten by Publisher¿s Weekly. A roller coaster filled with ups and downs from fights to romances, Iron man has it all. Issues were presented that would probably surprise readers by its content. Not a child friendly book because of some obscene content. A real masterpiece which includes eclectic personalities that inspires readers to succeed by Bo¿s determination. Iron man is an exceptional story that includes all the right characteristics to which makes it a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2007

    THE BEST REVIEW EVERRRR!

    Many reviews stated that there were flaws in Chris Crutcher¿s writing I on the other hand disagree. I believe that Crutcher did a flawless job catching the characters emotions and making the characters really believable. I enjoyed the writing techniques, the story line, and everything over all. The stricter was amazing, and the book kept me on my toes. There was always drama and different emotions flying around. There was never a dull moment in ironman¿s life, or anyone else¿s in that matter. I feel that ironman was a great piece of wring and shows just how talented Chris really is. The usage of letters to show what Bo was feeling that day or what his thought were was brilliant in my opinion. It got all of his points across in a clever, but clear way. The whole book was just so heart whelming. To think that there are other real life kids that is in very similar situations is heart wrenching. There are actually kids that I go to school with that is carrying such secret burdens. He was so in depth of everyone¿s feeling and he had great techniques and used brilliant similes. I feel that the author did an outstanding job and the story was just so touching!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Ironman Review!

    Bo Brewster had had relationship problems with his father since way back in the day. As he grew older, their father and son bond grew weaker. Beauregard only ran into more problems as he progressed through high school. His football coach, Mr. Redmond, (also his English teacher) had problems with Bo too. Eventually Bo quit the football team and that completely destroyed their relationship. Conflicts with Mr. Redmond led Bo straight to his high school¿s anger management class with Mr. Nak and his pack. At first, Bo didn¿t fit in at all. He thought that all the people in the class were bad, and they all believed that Bo was good and somewhat conceited. Later on in his anger management classes, he began to bond with other students which in the long run helped him out with issues and also supported him in a triathlon he had entered. Bo became good friends with a few of the students. While Bo was training hard, an anger management student let him know that his dad had betrayed him helping out his main components. Also, he learned why each of the students acted the way they did. During this group, he discovered many stories and secrets about his classmates¿ lives. Out of anger management, Bo also got a girlfriend, Shelly. During all of his anger problems, he had a few ways of releasing it. Writing unsent letters to Larry Kind helped Bo release some of this anger. Also, his friend but teacher gave him very good advice. This man was known as Mr. Serbousek. In the end, Bo completes the triathlon, beats out his competition, and also discovers the hidden secrets about his two teachers¿, Mr. Redmond and Mr. S., lives.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    ironman

    A The story of a true ironman begins with Chris Crutcher¿s captivating story of a boy facing and trying to overcome many obstacles and hardships throughout his training. Becoming this type of athlete was not easy for Beauregard. His hard-to-please father wanted to prove a point. He even went so far as to try to help Bo¿s competitors win Yukon Jack¿s Triathlon. An old football coach, out for revenge, threw him into Mr. Nakatani¿s anger management class. Although this obstacle was turned out for the better, it certainly gave Bo enough trouble. All of the struggles and difficulties that Beauregard overcame only served to make his finish even more memorable. Reading this book, I could not bring myself to put it down. Hidden beneath the surface of every character was an in-depth story of their own. This served to make every one of the more realistic, some of them I could actually relate to. The plot and climax were upbeat. Running that last mile, I could almost feel the sweat dripping off his face, and the excitement of spotting that orange stripe, not far up ahead. Chris Crutcher used fantastic imagery, especially during the race. I also enjoyed the way Crutcher makes you infer upon Beauregard¿s father. Did he really want to mend their relationship, or did he want his money back? All of these subjects threaded gracefully together by the author into this powerful novel of strength and forgiveness.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Very well written.

    Ironman is one of many amazing book written by Chris Crutcher. For years, almost as long as he can remember, Beauregard Brewster has been fighting a war with his father. Bo gets punished for taking his anger out on one of his school teachers and lands himself in an early-morning anger management group. He becomes involved with a different group of students, who at first don¿t accept him. Bo has personal issues, a girlfriend with her own troubles, and many problems with his father. Bo, also known as Brewster, uses the anger and frustration inside of him to make himself an Ironman. Many things happen along this journey as he trains for his triathlon. In this book, Chris Crutcher includes so many different aspects of life. The reader can really relate to these characters. That is one thing that makes Ironman such a magnificent story. There are many problems and issues that are brought up and talked about throughout the book, and it brings a lot of realization to the reader. Ironman is a book that includes so much feeling and emotion. It is impossible not to fall in love with this novel. Ironman really is a ¿must-read¿ book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Ironman Review

    I thought that Ironman was very well written. Chris Crutcher incorporated many interesting ideas and views into his book. I did not agree with all of the views, but they were well presented within the text. The novel, Ironman, certainly makes you think. I started to wonder about relationships and judgments in my own life. Readers will be able to relate to Bo Brewster, the main character, of Ironman. He struggles with things like anger that many adolescents deal with. The novel demonstrates clear themes that will captivate readers. Bo¿s relationship with his English teacher/ex-football coach is continually revisited throughout through the motif of controlling anger. The anger motif is probably the main theme in Ironman. The other themes branch off of the original, such as acceptance. Chris Crutcher includes a homosexual teacher that Bo must try to accept through his anger. The author also incorporates a lot of figurative language into the novel. Similes were strewn colorfully throughout the text. Imagery filled the pages and made the story much more visual. Chris Crutcher created a thrilling sports novel that wonderfully uses some of the better elements of writing.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 24, 2007

    A reviewer

    Bo Brewster is a seventeen year old who is trying to over- come many struggles in his life. He is dealing with many different problems including constant disagreements with his father, and also with his English teacher Mr. Redmond. Beauregard is also training to be a tri-athlete. Bo works out everyday, works two jobs, and also transports his younger brother, Jordan between his split parents households. When training in the University swimming pool, Bo also makes another enemy. His name is Ian W. I believe the reason Ian has a problem with Bo is because he is intimidated by him. For once, Ian has a challenge in the pool. Beauregard is also put into an anger management class, because of problems in Mr. Redmond¿s Class. Here, he meets a girl named Shelly, who¿s dream is to one day become a Gladiator. Shelly also does not get along with Ian. A bet is made is made and Ian gathers his buddies in hopes of defeating Bo in the triathlon he enters. Bo¿s father is also against him. Mr. Brewster helps out the team by buying on of the team members a five hundred dollar bike to win the race. All of this is done because Bo¿s father feels he needs to prove a point to his son that he never accomplishes anything. Bo pulls through and ends up beating Ian and his friends in the triathlon. In the Book Iron Man, by Chris Crutcher, the author re-uses characters from other stories. In another review on Iron Man, it was written that this particular person liked Chris Crutchers style of writing. I do agree with this opinion. This is because I enjoy the authors way of using letters to tell parts of the story. Also, the way the author makes the books so modern. Chris Crutcher uses words and phrases in a way that most teenagers use today. However, I do not agree when it is written that Chris Crutcher overwhelms the story line and cast with all that he puts into his story. In my opinion, this only kept me, as the reader, hooked on the story. Adding different problems to the story only made it more interesting and encouraged me to read on.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2007

    A reviewer

    I thought Ironman was a great book. Chris Crutcher done a awesome job on this book It really displays how a relationship in the home relates to a attuide torward school. Its shows how a anger magenment class really works for kids who have anger problems. Shelly the american Gladiator calms down Bo when he gets angry.If your a person that has a bad work ethic read this Bo has a great work ethic. He kills himself in the weight room to get ready for anything that comes his way. Even if its his teacher/ football coach mr.Redmond. Even his own dad gives him a hard time The Letters wrote to Mr. Larry King is the coolest thing I've ever seen.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2007

    Ironman

    The book Ironman was a very good book that I enjoyed very much. The book is about a high school student named Bo Brewster that has some anger problems that he can not control. Bo is getting into trouble in school and is put into an anger management class. Bo is training for a triathalon that he wants to participate in. Bo ends up doing very well in the race. I would recommend this book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 27, 2006

    An amazing sports Book

    Personally i thought it was a great book. It had a little bit of everything. That meaning, it had action, romance,some teachings ofpeople skillls so to say. I would deffinentally recomend it. Great book

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2006

    Action and suspense to the extreme!

    A book about a 17 year old boy who has a bit of an anger problem. He struggles as he tries to train for Yukon Jacks big sport variety compitition. He only hopes to find his inner self.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 6, 2006

    The Overcoming of Bo Brewster

    Bo Brewster is a young high school student who is involved in a triathlon which includes biking, swimming, and running. Bo has a very rocky relationship with his Dad, and Bo¿s escape from the pain and anger is spending the majority of his time being occupied by his training. When Bo quits the football team in order to have more training time, the coach is very angry at him and is always belittling Bo. One day, Bo loses it and starts calling his teacher names and is suspended from school as a result. He is also ordered to take anger management classes and Bo is worried because these classes will cut into his time that he uses to train. Bo trains for many months for his triathlon and also gets much inspiration from his girlfriend and his anger management teacher. A major theme in this book is overcoming. Bo must overcome his anger towards his father as well as other broken relationships with his peers. Overcoming the anger towards his father means he must stop having anger outbursts and treating his father with respect, even though his father dis-respects him. Relationships are also very important to Bo. His relationships with his friends and his anger management teacher are what give him the inspiration and will power to get through the triathlon and not give up. This book has many things that other people my age would enjoy reading about, which is why I liked the book. For example, the main character is my age so the book mentions many things that happen in our everyday life. Things like: relationships, sports, drama, and fighting are all mentioned in this book with a hint of humor. A couple things I did not like in this book are that Bo writes letters to Larry King. Having these letters in the book means nothing and it would be a lot less cluttered and easier to follow without them. One more complaint I have is the ending of the book doesn¿t exactly explain what happens. All it says is that he finished near the middle of the pack in the triathlon. This left me wondering what his Dad thought of him afterwards. Someone who enjoys reading about someone like themselves would like reading this book. Anyone who does not like reading about the teenage lifestyle should definitely not read this book. Overall, I would give this book a seven out of ten. With a few small changes, such as taking out the letters to Larry King, this book could have been much better and easier to read. If you like reading this book, another good book to read would be ¿Damage¿ by A.M. Jenkins. This book also describes the teenage life by talking about many daily encounters teenagers have.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 22 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2