Customer Reviews for

Ironman

Average Rating 4
( 51 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(21)

4 Star

(22)

3 Star

(3)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(4)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 14, 2011

    Woah!

    This book was amazing. It was a quick read i read for summer reading. I was impressed. Its not the cartoon robot. Its about a teenager the has problems but learns to get over them and be happy with his life. Ir does have alot of cussing but is still a great read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 16, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    great book

    Ironman by Chris Crutcher
    What did I learn from this book? The author was attempting to put out plenty of lessons for teenagers. For example, the main character Bo and his father have extreme disagreements; since he could talk, he and his dad had heated arguments. An analysis of why would say that they were so much the same: stubborn, hard headed and too competitive to let the other guy win an argument. Also, Bo faces troubles with his anger. After getting in trouble for cussing out his English teacher, he is forced to join an anger management class that is rumored to have some of the scariest most dangerous kids in the school. So what did I learn? It kind of gave me some model of how I should live through my teen years. It shows how to persevere. He has to handle school, taking care of his little brother, chill with his girlfriend, work out, work, and go to the anger management class . That's a full time job if you ask me. As impressive as Bo is the most impressive thing is that with all the things he does he still gets his workouts in to train for the toughest athletic event ever made: an ironman competition. Running 26 miles, biking 100, and swimming 5 miles, he trains for months for this grueling competition. That has defiantly inspired me to work hard in the weight room, classroom, and at home. So what exactly did I learn from this book? I learned to persevere through tough times like school, training, and troubles at home. I also learned that you can handle ANYTHING with perseverance and a will to get things done.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 28, 2013

    Ammee prevedel

    Best book i have readabout this stuff

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2012

    Fzrad

    Smsdkssbdry.dq

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2008

    Strength in Small Numbers

    Throughout his exquisite and self-mastered sports related novel, Chris Crutcher reveals a teenage male with the problems that he faces in his life. The main character of the novel, Bo Brewster, is an energetic machine when it comes to physical fitness. He is training to compete in an ironman contest, which is basically a triathlon. He is in the best of shape and trains everyday to the maximum. Throughout Bo¿s tough training, he has to deal with his cheating father, his anger management class, his rival, his girlfriend, his unjust teacher, and finding out the fact that his favorite teacher is homosexual. <BR/> His father tries to cheat Bo out of winning against his rival, Wyrack, by supplying him with the best possible bike for the triathlon. However, his anger management, through several meetings, becomes the backbone of his training. His anger management class pushes him to excel in his ironman contest. He also meets Shelly in the anger management class, who later becomes his girlfriend. Bo is usually a mellow fellow, but his unjust teacher, Mr. Redmond, puts the kettle on the front burner. He is the one who exposed Bo¿s anger and put him into the anger management class. Bo has to deal with his crazy life as well as focus on his training to compete in the triathlon and beat Wyrack¿s team. Bo has to beat Wyrack¿s team by himself in all three phases. Crutcher displays themes of karma, motivation, and support throughout the novel. <BR/> Ironman, by Chris Crutcher, is a sports fiction novel. Crutcher writes several sports fiction novel, but this novel is separate like most of the other ones by him such as Whale Talk and Running Loose. I really enjoyed this book. I am a big fan of physical fitness so I could relate to it easily. I also liked how the book was told in third person, but then Bo has his journal entries to Larry King told in first person. It made the plot easier to understand. I recommend this book to any teenager that likes sports and physical fitness. It¿ll really take you for a trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 10, 2008

    A reviewer

    Ironman is a great book for anyone that is involved with sports. It tells the story of a teenage boy that has problems at home and at school while training to become an ironman. The main reason that I loved this book was because I understood what he was going though and could connect with him, which I believe that many other people can as well. The one thing that is bad about the book is the slow start but after getting past that it is impossible to set down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2008

    Really impacts you

    this is a really good book. it starts out kind of slow, especially if u want to read a book about becoming an ironman, but with some additional plotline twists, (and Larry King) this book really gets to you. it's not a large plot, but its addicting. one of the best books i've read in a while.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 17, 2007

    Ironman Review

    Bo Brewster is a high school student kid who has many problems throughout his life. It starts in his family, and then moves on into his school career. Starting at a young age Bo and his father have had problems, but now they just keep getting worse and worse. At school he was sent to anger management that is where he met Mr. Nak and his pack. Mr. Nak accepted Bo right away, but it took a lot longer for the group to accept him. Throughout this class Bo met some very interesting people that helped him out with everything. Since he met some true friends in there, he simply didn¿t want to go and leave his friends. Training for the triathlon was Bo¿s number one priority through this book though. While training for this event, he did everything he could do to stay in shape, which meant he practiced in any weather condition. Most people were very supportive, and some people weren¿t as much. During his trainings, his dad turns against him and helps his main component. He also writes unsent letters to Larry King (an adult that Bo thinks will listen to him.) Dealing with the triathlon, his dad, anger management, Bo never gives up and keeps going. This was a good book that people can relate too in real life whether it might be a family problem, school problem, or someone who has a lot of anger. Since people can relate to it, I think that¿s why people should read this type of novel. I enjoyed reading Ironman because of this reason.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 20, 2007

    Ironman

    Ironman was a book i thought would be boring and a book i would never want to read till my teacher suggested i should read it so i did, And it turned out to be a very interesting book to read. It shows you how someone struggles with their life while their parents are seperated and it is very hard for him to go on but he does it and i am glad he did. It is a good book and it is very intersting on how you think one way and it turns out to be the opposite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 14, 2007

    Ironman Review

    In this amazing book by Chris Crutcher, Crutcher portrays the characters as kids that have problems at home and school. Bo doesn¿t have a good relationship with his dad or his teacher. He works hard to overcome them and become an Ironman. His girlfriend, Shelly, moved families and houses many times. People thinks she is a bad kid because she rebelled against her family. She lifts weights and works hard because she wants to become an American Gladiator. All of the kids in the Nak Pak are believed to be bad. Almost everyone thinks they won¿t ever make anything of themselves. When Bo is in the triathlon, they all pull together and help him finish. Ironman was an outstanding book. Crutcher used many writing elements in the book. He used many writing elements throughout the book. He used characterization and diction, as well as some hyperboles. I think it was great that he had the characters have problems in their lives. It showed that even if you have problems in your life, you can still follow your dreams. Ironman was brilliantly written, and is a great book for all ages. Ironman by Chris Crutcher is a must read book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 18, 2006

    Ironman

    Ironman Bantam Doubleday, 1995, 228 pp, $4.50 Chris Crutcher ISBN 0-440-21971-x Bo Brewster has had anger problem all his life. When he was a kid he would get in a lot of arguments with his father. Now a senior in high school Bo Brewster still has the same problems. He gets in an argument with his English teacher/football coach Mr. Redmond. Mr. Redmond sends him to Mr. Naks anger management class were he find out all about himself and how he can better deal with life¿s problems. The writer really is trying to tell you more about how life goes up and down. Even if you are having problems in your life you should still keep going. You should always listen to what people have to say about their life because by listing to what they have to say you can find out more about yourself. Bo's winning the triathlon helps him realize that he has stepped it up in life not only in winning the triathlon but also in completing the anger management class. This book is an emotional book about life struggles and how there are up and downs for all of us. Also the story is about meeting new people and realizing that everyone in this world has their ups and downs in life. Bo no longer gets in arguments, he has learned to harness his anger. I would strongly recommend this book to all people. I would have to say that this is one of the best books I have ever read in my life. Because it teaches you about real life struggle that a boy would go through in life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2005

    An amazing book!

    This book is about Bo Brewster and his struggle to control his anger. Although at first he believes that he doesn't need to participate in the anger management group, as he gets to know the other members he begins to see a connection with them. He sees that all of the members in anger management group has had some personal problems with their families that has caused them to hold rancor with life. I really enjoyed this book and couldn't put it down for a second! This has a very interesting plot and it moves on a fast pace. After reading this book you'll learn how to see through people's anger. I would definitely recommend this book to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2005

    An amazing book...

    Bo Brewster dreams of becoming an ironman. He has learned to be a tough person to cope with his difficult relationship with his father. For the most part, his father has always decided for Bo, but now he has decided to live his life for himself. I really enjoyed the anger management group and I'm sure you'll enjoy it as well. You'll be really amazed of how behind all the anger of each member of the group has, there is a very touching story. There are no words to describe how much I enjoyed this book.I would definitely recommend this novel to anybody.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 15, 2002

    AMAZING!

    Crutcher's work in 'Ironman' was nothing short of amazing! I'm not an avid reader and I had to read this book for a class, but I couldn't put it down! I was captured from the moment I read the first paragraph about Bo's struggles with his dad and his dreams for the future! I could totally relate to him and his pains! The way the book flows from letter to narrative allowed for me to feel like Bo was talking to me and telling me the story! I was a part of his life for the couple of days that I read his story! Awesome book and an amazing look into the lives of troubled teens that don't seem so troubled after all! I'll read more of Chris Crutcher when I get the chance!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2002

    WOW!

    This book was so awesome. I could not put it down. It's about this tri-athletalon athlete who pushs himself beyond the limits while dealing with a truely horrible father. I enjoyed the anger management group. It was shocking to see how bad some kids lives are.I totally lost myself in this book. An Inspiratioal book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 9, 2001

    Ironman

    We just finished using Ironman in our Foundations of Composition and Literature class at Middlebury Union High School in Vermont. The stories within Ironman seemed to engage the students in the class more so than I have seen other books that we have read. The intensity of several characters coupled with the discovery of many or their own jaded pasts team up to deliver a shocking story that makes you want to keep reading to figure out what happens next. Many of the struggling adolescents that are characterized in this book pull together by books end for a common cause and are successful in their immediate mission, but they were also successful in finding something positive in lives that aren't always very bright. A great book for all ages!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 21, 2001

    Ironman review

    The book Ironman was mainly about anger and how different people deal with it. The story line was good, but I think the story was a little too drawn out. The beggining of the story has alot of characters so you have to go back and read the first chapter again. All the bad parts put aside, I couldn't put the book down. I recommend this book to any one who likes to read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 14, 2001

    Crutcher's the man!!!!

    Ironman, a book written by Chris Crutcher, is about a young boy named Bo Brewster, who faces the many obstacles of adolescense. When he's not in a struggle for power with his dad, he's working out, trying to win a triathlon. One day he gets in a fight with his football coach/English Teacher, and is ordered to attend an anger management group. With the help of the members of the group, he conquers the obstacles of training for the triathlon, dealing with a bully, and facing his dad. This book relates well to young kids, and teaches lessons about persistence and self control.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted February 22, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2