BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Irregardless of Murder

Average Rating 5
( 8 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(7)

4 Star

(1)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    Quirky and humorous.

    I liked the friendship between Miss Prentice and Lily and enjoyed the middle-aged reunion of the main character and Gil, helped along by his intrepid nephew. I especially enjoyed Alec...and what will happen between him and Lily? The only thing that felt really contrived and out of character was Gil's reaction to Miss Prentice finally realizing what she wanted.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2013

    I love this book and the writing style of E.E. Kennedy. Quirky,

    I love this book and the writing style of E.E. Kennedy. Quirky, funny yet the book kept me wondering about the identity of the villian. A very good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 16, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    E. E. Kennedy in her new book, ┬┐Irregardless of Murder┬┐ Book One

    E. E. Kennedy in her new book, “Irregardless of Murder” Book One in the
    Miss Prentice Cozy Mystery series published by Sheaf House Publishers
    takes us into the life of Amelia Prentice. From the back cover: Amelia
    Prentice, forty-something high school English teacher whose pet peeve is
    the non-word ‘irregardless’, trips over the corpse of a former student
    in the public library. Now her cozy small town life in the Adirondacks
    will never be the same. Amelia returns to school, only to learn this
    death was no accident and she’s a murder suspect. Then the victim’s
    mother disappears; friend Lily is thrown overboard from the Lake
    Champlain ferryboat, a mysterious millionaire wants to buy Amelia’s
    house, the school nurse is viciously attacked and Amelia’s old beau Gil
    seems interested again.And, of course, there’s the Lake Champlain
    monster. It will take all Amelia’s wisdom, humor and faith to figure
    out what’s going on. If she survives… I have to admit I miss the
    classic mystery novels by the masters: Ellery Queen, Agatha Christie
    and Earl Stanley Gardner who would provide a murder bring in their
    respective investigators or lawyer and give the reader such twists and
    turns until the mystery was resolved. Very difficult to get stories
    like that anymore. That is until now. Welcome E. E. Kennedy who with
    her new heroine, Amelia Prentice, gives us a taste of what those classic
    stories used to give us. There is a murder in the copy room at the
    public library of all places and Amelia literally trips over the body.
    Now she is the suspect in the murder and she sets out to find who really
    did it. However, the deceased left something behind, something the
    murderer has killed for and will kill again until he gets it. The
    murderer thinks Amelia has it, she doesn’t know what it is nor does she
    know she has it. Time is running out for her to find out who did it and
    why before she becomes the next victim. Ms. Kennedy has crafted a page
    turner worthy of the old masters, an exciting event, some story, another
    exciting event, more story. And the mystery is terrific. You want to
    figure out who us behind everything but you just can’t seem to and so
    you flip another page hoping for an answer which doesn’t come until the
    satisfactory end. E. E. Kennedy is a fun author that makes reading
    enjoyable even if you are sitting on the edge of your chair. Don’t
    bother bringing a beverage to drink while you read because you will
    forget it is there the story is that intense. Ms. Kennedy batted a
    thousand on this one. I highly recommend it. If you would like to
    listen to interviews with other authors and professionals please go to
    Kingdom Highlights where they are available On Demand. To listen to 24
    hours non-stop Christian music please visit our internet radio station
    Kingdom Airwaves Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this
    book free from Sheaf House Publishers. I was not required to write a
    positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am
    disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16
    CFR, Part 255: “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and
    Testimonials in Advertising.”

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Good plot & characters

    Great read, i enjoyed the plot & cast

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    Fun, funny and an intriguing puzzle

    A little romance, a good deal of humor and a whole bunch of danger. This first Miss Prentice mystery has me looking forward to #2!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2002

    Funny Puzzle with a romantic touch

    Miss Amelia Prentice, a high school teacher, is alone after the death of her parents. When weird things begin to happen to her and her friends after the death of a student, she must find out who is responsible and find a new life for herself at the same time. She has a lot of surprises in store. A very funny book with lots of mysterious surprises.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2001

    Clever, entertaining and hard to put down

    Irregardless of Murder is a wonderful puzzle, complete with all its pieces; clever, entertaining and hard to put down. This is how I would describe Ellen Edwards Kennedy and her cozy mystery, which introduces Miss Amelia Prentice¿amateur sleuth. <br><br>Amelia Prentice is a high school English teacher in a small town. Aside from Sam, her mother¿s cat, she lives by herself in a big, old, lonely house. Her mother only recently has passed on. While at the library to make copies for her students, Prentice stumbles across the body of one of her students, Marguerite LeBow.<br><br>At first police have very few suspects as they look into the young girl¿s suspicious death. Few suspects, that is, aside from Amelia Prentice. As Miss Prentice and Vern, the nephew of an old boyfriend, conduct an investigation of their own, things only seem to get more obscure. They have one solid clue to work with, the letters UDJ. The only problem is, no one knows what the letters stand for.<br><br>Whomever it is responsible for the murder of LeBow, they do not want to be found out and will kill again to protect their identity. As Miss Prentice and Vern get closer and closer to the truth, the search for answers turns into something more dangerous. Several attempts are made on their lives. <br><br>The sub-plots spinning around behind the murder mystery are as equally strong and agreeable. The romance involved is creative and properly proportioned. Ellen Edwards Kennedy knows how to develop characters into genuine beings. She knows her craft and can create very believable scenes and settings. Her prose flow, her dialogue rings true. Her plot is solid. All of these ingredients coupled together make for an extremely enjoyable read! If this is Kennedy¿s first attempt, I am eagerly looking forward for more novels to come. <br><br>--Phillip Tomasso III, author of Third Ring, Tenth House & Mind Play (BookBrowser.com)

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 9, 2008

    more from this reviewer

    Engaging cozy

    Every Thursday evening, long time high school English teacher, Miss Amelia Prentice goes to the public library to mark her students¿ papers. However, this week Amelia trips in the copy room, banging her head and lying on the floor unconscious. When she reawakens the police among others are there. Detective O¿Brien asks her questions until he realizes that Amelia is unaware that she tripped over the corpse of a former student Marguerite LeBow. <P>Amelia refuses to accept some cretin coach as a substitute. Instead she heroically goes to her classroom with her goal to pretend no involvement in the case. As the police keep questioning on why she was making 67 copies in the library¿s copy room, Amelia concludes that she is a prime suspect. Accompanied by the nephew of a friend, Amelia sets out to prove her innocence and demonstrate that those who teach English can catch the murderer that is if the culprit does not kill her first. <P> Regardless of sub-genre preference mystery fans will enjoy IRREGARDLESS OF MURDER, an engaging amateur sleuth tale starring an eccentric heroine. The endearing lead character will remind readers of a dedicated teacher from their salad days who quoted Shakespeare and Dickens and called out your name in Pig Latin. Ellen Edwards Kennedy provides a strong who-done-it because of the cast that feels like a small town ensemble, but in the end Miss Prentice steals the show and turns this novel into an A+ paper. <P>Harriet Klausner

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1