Customer Reviews for

Irresistible Forces

Average Rating 3.5
( 5210 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(1562)

4 Star

(1293)

3 Star

(1207)

2 Star

(545)

1 Star

(603)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

72 out of 80 people found this review helpful.

Irresistible is the word

Another free Ebook for me and this one would have been worth the money as well. I have now become a fan of Brenda Jackson. Great story line, a little offbeat as to how Taylor and Dominic fall in lust and then love. Taylor was very determined to have a child but wante...
Another free Ebook for me and this one would have been worth the money as well. I have now become a fan of Brenda Jackson. Great story line, a little offbeat as to how Taylor and Dominic fall in lust and then love. Taylor was very determined to have a child but wanted no romantical strings, she reviews male after male but none compare to Dominic. A proposal is made and let the lust/love story begin. I did enjoy very much how Jackson spun this romantical tale from the beginnings of a mutually sexual relationship. It does take time for both characters to admit love however both were never looking for love, a great story don't worry I didn't ruin all of it for you there's so much more to it than just the romance. Family strains and love lost, Jackson brings a little of it all to the table.

posted by MissRomanticalReads on October 2, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

42 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

Horrible

This book would have been good if somebody else wrote it. The banter and conversation between characters was horrible and much too stiff. Nobody speaks the way she wrote the conversations in this "book". The idea behind the book is a great one.. a woman wants a baby and...
This book would have been good if somebody else wrote it. The banter and conversation between characters was horrible and much too stiff. Nobody speaks the way she wrote the conversations in this "book". The idea behind the book is a great one.. a woman wants a baby and decides to ask somebody she respects to father the child with no strings after conception. The follow through from this author was awful though. I tried for 50 pages to get into this book but the conversation and writing style were just too awful for me to continue. Sorry but this book was not worth the storage space it took up on my Nook.

posted by Aye_Gal on March 6, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 603 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31
  • Posted March 6, 2010

    more from this reviewer

    Horrible

    This book would have been good if somebody else wrote it. The banter and conversation between characters was horrible and much too stiff. Nobody speaks the way she wrote the conversations in this "book". The idea behind the book is a great one.. a woman wants a baby and decides to ask somebody she respects to father the child with no strings after conception. The follow through from this author was awful though. I tried for 50 pages to get into this book but the conversation and writing style were just too awful for me to continue. Sorry but this book was not worth the storage space it took up on my Nook.

    42 out of 65 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 22, 2010

    Good Grief!

    Im glad this book was free. I was sick of the sex, constantly, through the book and not much else to offer. Would have been better if not so graphic! Im no prude, but this was not much more than porn.

    15 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 30, 2010

    Penthouse Forums have nothing on this book

    "Romance" novels sure have changed a lot since the last time I read one. This story was pornographic from start to finish. Thank God I didn't have to pay for it.

    7 out of 16 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 27, 2012

    Scared to read

    To much sexual details in her books. Sounds like this is more of the same. Sex before love is not romantic especially when there is no relationship. I'm looking for romance not porn. Thats why relationships fail. Sex is not love, its sex.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 7, 2011

    Awful

    Awful book, totally unrealistic and poor character development.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 17, 2010

    Complete waste of time

    I hated this book. I found it to have absolutely no plot, purpose or point. This book was just an excuse for the author to write about completely ridiculous, over-the-top, not even remotely possible sex scenes. That's it. If I could have given it -5 stars I would have.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2011

    If you want to read about sex with no story line then this is for you.

    I have read many, probably hundreds of romance novels. Some were good, some great and others I made it through, howver, this book offers no romance. This is a purely sex read with very little character building or warming to the characters. The sex was definately the focus and it wasn't even that well written.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 28, 2010

    Oh Please. Come on man :(

    Don't bother this story is pathetic. I had to force myself to go past the first chapter, but after the characters hit the beach I was done.
    If I could I would burn this book.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 12, 2012

    Good idea for a book but it was just one long sex scene that was

    Good idea for a book but it was just one long sex scene that was not believable. I basically skipped from the beginning to end to make sure the main characters end up together and all the middle was not worth reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 2, 2012

    Skip it

    Good premise...poor execution. Boring and repetitive. The grandfather in this book was a lame attempt to make this into an actual story. Instead, it feels too formal and stilted between the characters until their countless sex scenes. I had to put myself out of my misery and just skip to the end.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    NOOOOOOOOO WAY/ IF U LIKE JOAN & JACKIE COLLINS U LIKE THIS BOOK ?????????

    BOY, DOES THIS BRENDS LIKE SEX SEX SEX SEX THIS BOOK WAS WAYYYYYYYYYYY TO SICK FOR ME ,THE ENTIRE BOOK WAS NOTHING BUT EXPLICIT SEX & I MEAN SEX. I DON'T MIND A LITTLE BIT OF SEX IN A BOOK BUT THIS WAS TO SICK FOR ME TO EVEN FINISH. SORRY BUT I WILL NOT READ ANY MORE BOOKS FROM THIS AUTHOR. ( AND I'M NOT A PRUDE ) BUT THIS WAS TO MUCH FOR ME TO FINISH. SORRY

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    X RATED

    I couldn't finish reading this book without wanting to burn my eyes out. While I love a sweet romantic passage, the detailed erotica in this book was nauseating.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2011

    Poor work!

    A weak and extremely obvious storyline. The book has nothing to offer, except for pages and pages of sexual text. After skipping all the pages of nauseating sex, there was nothing much left to read. Thankfully it was free.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 5, 2011

    Thankfully, it was for free.

    Boring, it contained too much of the sex, which wasn't captivating at all, it was predictable and the author had the habit of inserting out-of-topic scenes that seemed to me were more like fillers. The author's writing style easily drifts away from one topic to another without closing on the former.

    It would've been better if the author focused on character development and story, I didn't even know the reason why the characters fell in love.

    Disappointed.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 7, 2011

    Boring

    Absolutely no story. Just sex. Couldn't continue reading it was so boring. Would not read any more books by this author based on this book. Would not recommend to anyone, certainly not to a book club as there is nothing to discuss.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 21, 2011

    xrated

    I will never purchase another book by this author. I like a good romance, but there was nothing romantic about this book. Just very graphic description of sex.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 17, 2011

    Poor read

    Lacking substance to story

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 14, 2011

    Boring%0A

    If+u+like+lots+of+sex+and+little+romance+then+this+book+is+for+u.+Typical+rich+and+beautiful+characters.+Lacking+a+plot.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted June 2, 2011

    Extremely Unbelievable

    I have read several romances by Brenda Jackson but this one was a bit extreme..glad it was free..

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 3, 2011

    awfull!!! even for free it was BAD!

    I couldn't finish it, plot was stupid - professional woman decides to have a baby so she asks a client to father her baby by coming to a tropical island with her and having no strings attached sex for a week. He agrees, they go, get off the plane and have pages and pages and pages and pages and pages (you get my point) sex. Dialog was stilted (probably because they barely know each other). I had to bail on this book before they left the island, I could care less if they fell in love or had a child - isn't that a great story to tell your child? "I wanted a baby so I picked a business aquaintance to have lots of sex with for a week in the hopes of getting pregnant" - yeah, I would rather tell my child I wanted him or her so bad that I went to a sperm doner.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 603 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 31