Customer Reviews for

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

Average Rating 4.5
( 576 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(315)

4 Star

(159)

3 Star

(65)

2 Star

(25)

1 Star

(12)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

It's like a lazy afternoon chatting with your quirky cousin (in your PJ's of course!)

I loved this (audio) book. I have to say, I am glad I purchased the audio version because so much of the humor is in Mindy's delivery. Mindy's delightful rambling is an invitation into the mind of a young, witty, charming, and hysterically funny woman. I found my self ...
I loved this (audio) book. I have to say, I am glad I purchased the audio version because so much of the humor is in Mindy's delivery. Mindy's delightful rambling is an invitation into the mind of a young, witty, charming, and hysterically funny woman. I found my self wanting to interject and converse with her because I became so wrapped up in the "conversation" we were having. As with most of the best conversations, Mindy travels from topic to topic relating her experiences and observations in a light hearted whimsical random fashion. She and I could hang all day long and talk about nothing while talking about everything at the same time. Does this review leave you curiously entertained, but no more informed that when we started? Good! That's how the book goes. And I loved it! Enjoy!

posted by Tavie76 on December 13, 2011

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

Not my cup of tea

it was okay at first.. but then it just got boring and it wasnt very funny. I actually stopped reading it about 100 pages in.. I can appreciate comedy, and she is funny in her television shows, but she cant write.. her writing just isnt funny =(

posted by JayElAy on January 21, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29
  • Posted December 13, 2011

    It's like a lazy afternoon chatting with your quirky cousin (in your PJ's of course!)

    I loved this (audio) book. I have to say, I am glad I purchased the audio version because so much of the humor is in Mindy's delivery. Mindy's delightful rambling is an invitation into the mind of a young, witty, charming, and hysterically funny woman. I found my self wanting to interject and converse with her because I became so wrapped up in the "conversation" we were having. As with most of the best conversations, Mindy travels from topic to topic relating her experiences and observations in a light hearted whimsical random fashion. She and I could hang all day long and talk about nothing while talking about everything at the same time. Does this review leave you curiously entertained, but no more informed that when we started? Good! That's how the book goes. And I loved it! Enjoy!

    32 out of 34 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 21, 2011

    I loved this book!

    This book was witty, light, cheerful and absolutely adorable! It's a quick read and even if you are not a fan of The Office it would still be enjoyable. Mindy is very down to earth and surprisingly easy to relate to. I think this book would make an excellent Christmas gift and plan on buying it for my sister.

    18 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 3, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    great

    I was interested in this book and was not disappointed. Great read

    14 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 18, 2012

    Is everyone hanging out without Kaling?

    I bought Kaling's book after hearing my 27year old daughter talk about it and I LOVE it! Kaling's humor is off-beat, creatively inspired, fabulously self-depricating, sharply critical of stupidity that abounds in society and in short excruciatingly funny. I am sorry that I am running out of pages as I approach the end of this book! Laugh-out-loud funny!! (I want more!)

    13 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 8, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Loved it

    Loved it. Would buy it again if I could.

    13 out of 18 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 23, 2012

    Hilarious!

    I feel like everyone in the world should read Mindy's book - it is life changing. It is one of the funniest books I have ever read - even better than Tina Fey's "Bossypants," AND all of Chelsea Handler's books. I have purchased it for all of my friends.

    11 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 1, 2011

    NOT Self-Help, but seems awesome!

    I've only read the Nook sample so far, but this book is not a self-help book, it is akin to Tina Fey's "Bossypants." Mindy Kaling explicitly says so in the Introduction to her book. It seems very funny and relatable so far, Im off to buy it now.

    9 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Easy and hilarious read!

    I was hesistant about this book at first as I thought it was going to be yet another cheesy Teenage-Self-Help book. To my surprise, I found myself engulfed and laughing out loud on more than one ocassion. A must read especially if you have been a transplant in search of career opportunities and failed miserably at it.

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Not my cup of tea

    it was okay at first.. but then it just got boring and it wasnt very funny. I actually stopped reading it about 100 pages in.. I can appreciate comedy, and she is funny in her television shows, but she cant write.. her writing just isnt funny =(

    5 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 9, 2011

    quick & funny read

    This is a "non-traditional" autobiography: Kahling makes hysterical and honest observations throughout her life, as well as adding in thoughts on random subjects, which are also super funny. Its a simple, quick read, maybe a few nights worth of reading or a lazy afternoon. I laughed out loud in many parts and I am not a fan of The Office or SNL and still thought it was relateable and humerous throughout.

    5 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2012

    Funny read!

    This was a quick and funny read. Mindy Kaling seems very down-to-earth and easy to relate to, and she's very funny. I think this book would be enjoyable even to people who don't watch her show The Office.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 3, 2012

    Worth every penny!

    This quick read made my day! I've never laughed so hard. I highly recommend it to any Woman that's having a bad day or just needs a good laugh. I couldn't put it down or stop talking about it!

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2011

    lovit Love love love

    Very fun read! Shes relatable, quirky, smart....the works. Really enjoyed a look into Mindys brain!!!

    4 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 1, 2013

    ABSOLUTELY LOVE MINDY!

    I've always liked Mindy on the office, so i decided to try her book out. I honestly didn't expect much from it. I usually stick to fiction. I loved this book. It was hilarious. It's so easy to connect with her, i felt like i was reading about my own life. My love for this book made me start watching her show. Mindy Kaling, you are hilarious!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2013

    not great

    I was thinking this book would be really funny by reading all the reviews, honestly I forced myself to get through it. After reafing Chealses book this didnt stand close. They are very different. I guess it just depends on the person.

    3 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 2, 2013

    This book is hilarious. I picked it up at Target and randomly st

    This book is hilarious. I picked it up at Target and randomly started to skim through it, and then ended up walking around the whole store reading out passages to my sister as we shopped. I bought it and when I was done reading it, I was a little sad. This book is just what you want from a comedian--it's hilarious not because she's trying to transpose her stand-up onto a book format with the horrible result of sounding like it's an endless stream of uninspired jokes (ahem, anything ellen degeneres has written), but its funny because of the way that she has written about her life. It's honest, engaging, light hearted, and hilarious. After this, I will read anything she writes.

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    My new BFF

    Funny and snappy quick read that makes you fall in love with the all american indian girl! I love the humor that Mindy writes and the way she tells it just like you're thinking. Mindy is the kind of gal I would love to call my friend!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2013

    Refreshing & f Refreshing & Funny

    For girls who love to laugh & arent pretentious

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 21, 2013

    Hysterical

    If you like to laugh then read this book. This is a very easy, entertaining, fun read!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    Absolutely hilarious with just a bit of philosophical flare

    I absolutely loved this book- it's easily relatable and a great fast read. She makes you think after you laugh, and that's always a great quality to find in a book like this. I would definitely recommend buying this !

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 580 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 29