Customer Reviews for

Is He a Girl? (Marvin Redpost Series #3)

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(10)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(4)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(6)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

Selene

Good book

posted by Anonymous on June 11, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Just Okay!

Marvin Red Post: Is He A Girl written by Louis Sachar was an entertaining book to read. In the beginning a girl said if you kiss your elbow you well turn into a girl. Next, he had a dream he was in a dress. Then he asked Lizzie to have a tea party outside and he would i...
Marvin Red Post: Is He A Girl written by Louis Sachar was an entertaining book to read. In the beginning a girl said if you kiss your elbow you well turn into a girl. Next, he had a dream he was in a dress. Then he asked Lizzie to have a tea party outside and he would invite his friends over. Then he woke up and screamed. Marvin walked to school. He forgot his football, so then he wanted to play jacks. Luckily he thought like a boy again and said he was kidding. Later he felt it would be fun to paint his toenails and have long hair and go over slumber parties. However, he screamed and yelled he was just kidding again. Soon he went to sleep and when he woke up he was a girl. His mom ran up the stairs and he told her he had a cold so he wouldn┬┐t go to school and be embarrassed. Mom sent him anyway. Forward to the end, it was recess. He went up the spider web, then he hung upside down, and when he fell he kissed his elbow again. Finally, Marvin felt normal again and saw Patsy. He asked if she wanted to play wall ball and he made a new friend. To conclude, an enjoyable book to read was Marvin Redpost, Is He a Girl?

posted by Anonymous on January 20, 2006

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 20, 2006

    Just Okay!

    Marvin Red Post: Is He A Girl written by Louis Sachar was an entertaining book to read. In the beginning a girl said if you kiss your elbow you well turn into a girl. Next, he had a dream he was in a dress. Then he asked Lizzie to have a tea party outside and he would invite his friends over. Then he woke up and screamed. Marvin walked to school. He forgot his football, so then he wanted to play jacks. Luckily he thought like a boy again and said he was kidding. Later he felt it would be fun to paint his toenails and have long hair and go over slumber parties. However, he screamed and yelled he was just kidding again. Soon he went to sleep and when he woke up he was a girl. His mom ran up the stairs and he told her he had a cold so he wouldn¿t go to school and be embarrassed. Mom sent him anyway. Forward to the end, it was recess. He went up the spider web, then he hung upside down, and when he fell he kissed his elbow again. Finally, Marvin felt normal again and saw Patsy. He asked if she wanted to play wall ball and he made a new friend. To conclude, an enjoyable book to read was Marvin Redpost, Is He a Girl?

    6 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2009

    I DON'T LIKE THIS BOOK

    I think this book confuses children about their identity. I'm not happy my son had to read it at school. It looks like a sexual orientacion book in a very nice and funny way. I will never recommend it to any one.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 17, 2013

    Not so proud

    I have to admit I love to read but when I got this sample I was disapointed I tryed to think it was a practical mistake but I was wrong I looked through the sample and there was only 8 pages on thesample and out of the 8 pages only 1 page was on what thebook was about the rest was about the copy right and so on and thats why Im not so proud


    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 22, 2012

    Should i read this?

    It seems good, but is it?...

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2012

    Selene

    Good book

    1 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2006

    Outstanding Read!

    The book I am reviewing is Marvin Redpost: Is He A Girl? written by Louis Sacher. I think this book deserves five stars. It terrific because it is funny and interesting. This book is about a kid that thinks if he kisses himself in the elbow he will turn into a girl, so he does it. Marvin starts to talk to girls he even talks to his sister. I¿d recommend this book to second and third graders. Other books by this author include Holes and Dogs Don¿t Tell Jokes.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 16, 2014

    Hi

    Hello my fellow peepees!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 23, 2013

    Zack

    Too good to true!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2013

    To help me:

    What can i do?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 8, 2013

    Help me!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    The boys are going to hate this book because they sometimes hate girls and because they hate other things and people like girls.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 23, 2013

    Cool

    Best book in the world :-) :)

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2013

    O snap.

    Best book ever

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 26, 2012

    Hi

    Who ever does not like his book you guys are haters

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 15, 2012

    STUPID BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!

    This book totally sucks!!!!!!!!!! I have books about BABIES that were WAY BETTER THAN @#$ %&*" GARBAGE!!!! REAL NICE, LOUIS SACHAR!!!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2012

    Marvin

    Gggsuashsjgsbvbsizjwvaqzsazwoedsp.ijlkdkkjjkJusszwxubnubHubxbybubwwydybvx




    MxswtxgYVTTTRREWqFGghhh

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 30, 2012

    Not recamended

    I think it has a bad plot.

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 29, 2012

    Aw

    Ahhhhh he is turnint into a girl i have to pee mow thank you very much!!!!!

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    READ THIS BOOK!!

    This book is amazing everybody that can READ THIS BOOK!!!

    0 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2006

    Is Marvin really a girl???

    Someone told Marvin Redpost that if he kissed his elbow he will turn into a girl. That night in bed he got tangled in his sheets and kissed his elbow. The next couple of days he was saying like ¿Boys are stupid ¿ and ¿I want to wear pig tales! Marvin was going to discover the differences between boys and girls. But, the next day the class went to the park and Marvin went to clime the spider web. He fell off and got stuck in a weird angle. He kissed his elbow again. And we never found out.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 25 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2