BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Is It Just Me?: Or Is It Nuts out There?

Average Rating 3.5
( 217 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(83)

4 Star

(39)

3 Star

(48)

2 Star

(24)

1 Star

(23)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

Enjoyed It!!

I just finished reading this book & I wish I had numerous copies so I could hand one out to people I see everyday who exhibit the behavior she speaks about. I'm far from perfect, but I do attempt to use the manners I was taught, stay sane and respect myself as well as o...
I just finished reading this book & I wish I had numerous copies so I could hand one out to people I see everyday who exhibit the behavior she speaks about. I'm far from perfect, but I do attempt to use the manners I was taught, stay sane and respect myself as well as others. This book had to be written because common sense and common courtesy are just two of the things that are disappearing from our society, and at times it seems, no one cares a fig. Hopefully, you gave people something to think about. I found myself smiling, sometimes laughing out loud, at the observations. I also agreed with her on many points. Thank you Ms. Goldberg.

posted by BrooklynLady1130 on November 4, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

Just a note

The premise of this book has been my main topic of discourse over the last two decades. It is also especially noticeable in my profession but another thought does occur. When being put off by others rudeness and childishness (for this is what behavior like this really...
The premise of this book has been my main topic of discourse over the last two decades. It is also especially noticeable in my profession but another thought does occur. When being put off by others rudeness and childishness (for this is what behavior like this really is !), do you return the favor of rudeness in your complaint? I've also noticed this in display when becoming so incensed and/or overly concerned that we forget ourselves and commit the same offenses!
Ignore what you can and move on. The law of reciprocity is always in effect.

posted by JamesFreebird on November 27, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11
  • Posted November 4, 2010

    Enjoyed It!!

    I just finished reading this book & I wish I had numerous copies so I could hand one out to people I see everyday who exhibit the behavior she speaks about. I'm far from perfect, but I do attempt to use the manners I was taught, stay sane and respect myself as well as others. This book had to be written because common sense and common courtesy are just two of the things that are disappearing from our society, and at times it seems, no one cares a fig. Hopefully, you gave people something to think about. I found myself smiling, sometimes laughing out loud, at the observations. I also agreed with her on many points. Thank you Ms. Goldberg.

    12 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 12, 2010

    Interesting

    I was reading reviews on Whoopi's new book only to find that half the reviews were by readers who hadn't even read the book yet. Might we also consider this to be one of the oddities of our society today (writing a review for a book that isn't a review)? Granted, I'm doing the same thing here, but I'm trying to draw attention to this trend so that those of us out there who read reviews hoping to gain some insight about a book we may want to purchase can actually have a review by someone who has actually read the book!

    9 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 28, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    I love Whoopi!

    I can't wait to read this book, I love her on the View. I love her movies and I love her stand up specials. 'd also like to suggest "When God Stopped Keeping Score," an intimate look at the power of forgiveness and yet, it's about so much more. I loved every minute of it. Given the chance, it could change your life.

    9 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2010

    EVERYBODY SHOULD READ THIS BOOK!!!!

    I THOUGHT THAT IT WAS ONLY ME AND MY FRIENDS WHO THOUGHT THE WORLD HAD GONE CRAZY, BUT WHOOPI SEE'S IT TOO. I THINK EVERYONE SHOULD READ THIS BOOK THEN MAYBE PEOPLE WOULD LOOK AT THEMSELVES AND HOPEFULLY GET SOME MANNERS AND CLASS BACK! SADLY EVERYTHING WHOOPI COMMENTS ABOUT IS TRUE AND IN WHOOPI STYLE ADDS A FUNNY TWIST TO IT. I REALLY LIKED THIS BOOK. WHOOPI HAS CLASS!!!! IT'S REFRESHING TO SEE IT!

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 27, 2010

    Just a note

    The premise of this book has been my main topic of discourse over the last two decades. It is also especially noticeable in my profession but another thought does occur. When being put off by others rudeness and childishness (for this is what behavior like this really is !), do you return the favor of rudeness in your complaint? I've also noticed this in display when becoming so incensed and/or overly concerned that we forget ourselves and commit the same offenses!
    Ignore what you can and move on. The law of reciprocity is always in effect.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 16, 2010

    Here's Another Reason To Love Whoopi!

    As a fan of the actress Whoopi, the comedian Whoopi and the talk show host Whoopi, this book offer up another side of the Whoopi that we only think we know--the author. This book is funny as it is insightful. If you are a true fan of Whoopi, you will love this book. I'd also recommend that you buy "When God Stopped Keeping Score," which is an intimate look at the power of God and forgiveness. You will be glad that you did.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 18, 2010

    O.K. Book

    This was an O.K. book. I enjoyed reading it, but probably wouldn't necessarily recommend it to anyone.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Who Knew?

    Who knew Whoopi would be this insightful? I love her on the View and her stand up is great, but this book is really good. I also like to thank the person who recommended the book "When God Stopped Keeping Score." Now that book took a lot out of me because it made me face a lot of my demons. Then, there are the stories that actually brought me to tears. Oh, my God. I just love it. Check it out for yourself.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 13, 2010

    Whoopi is best at comedy

    This book of all the books i read amazes me that a published would publish, probably just because of the well known name they thought people would think it might be a good book about Whoopi, instead it is in the form of somthing that would be good for a grade school reading. This in my opinion was a waste of my time and money - Whoopi i love your comedic work and as the host on the View, but a book like this is below a person of your known statue!!

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2010

    Like her acting, not her writing.

    Ms. Goldberg as an actress is fun to watch. However, reading this book is a little like listening to her screech her political opinions on "The View" and frankly it's just to much to absorb and becomes tiresome. I may share many of her views but her delivery leaves a lot to be desired. Yes...it's just you, and as always everything is about you.

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 11, 2010

    "highly recommended...you must check it out!!!"

    I have not read this yet but for sure will be saving my gambling money for this.....whoopi is an icon and a force to be reckoned with...and I can not wait to buy this.....I realize not everybody can be a fan but if I could get a signed copy this is one thing I would definitely go for....I have not figured out how to do the stars but without a doubt would give this five stars....

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 7, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    AMAZING!!!

    Whoopi SHINES!!!

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2014

    Read this everybody !

    So very Whoopi . Just what is missing in the world roday. Courtesy and common sense. Every should read this book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2014

    Kind of predictable.

    Kind of predictable.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Sariah

    Hellooooozzzzz!! *Tackles with a hug*

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 13, 2014

    Max

    Sh laugh in suprise an kissed her

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 24, 2013

    Love it

    I have read this book twice. It is an easy read and the points Whoopi makes are hilarious (probably because its true). I recommend everyone read this.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    I think this book was great!!!! Long overdue. I was on a cruis

    I think this book was great!!!! Long overdue. I was on a cruise and had a day out to sea. Went to the ship's library and found this book.
    I couldn't put it down. Whoopi tells it like it is.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    BOOK CRITIC ( please read)

    This book shows you the truth of what this world is like and wether you like it or not its the truth.Something I believe wrong with this book is the drag.Meaning it dosnt pull you in but some people might think it does. If you dont agree with this book youre just not accepting the fact that this is the REAL world. Please open your eyes and see the truth of the world right now. This isnt the best book but it isnt the worst either. Its worth buying if your not scared to know the truth and if you are then stop for a second look out your window and see whats going on. Trust me the BOOK CRITIC! Any book you have doubts about this is the review to look at.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 17, 2012

    I know

    I so agree with her i mean like this world gone mad

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 219 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 11