Customer Reviews for

Is This All There Is?

Average Rating 4
( 16 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(2)

4 Star

(9)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

With this extremely well written novel, Mann manages to very suc

With this extremely well written novel, Mann manages to very succinctly show how the lines within relationships can be blurred by changing circumstances. She approaches a very loaded subject with abandon showing a great deal of tact as well as insight. She also manage...
With this extremely well written novel, Mann manages to very succinctly show how the lines within relationships can be blurred by changing circumstances. She approaches a very loaded subject with abandon showing a great deal of tact as well as insight. She also managed to portray love, lust, marriage, and relationships in a manner that defies literary stereotypes. This is not your stereotypical storybook whirlwind romance, but rather real life.

Mann’s writing style is very conducive to the type of story that she has written. There is a natural flow and progression to the story that is never broken. There are some flashbacks, but they are very identifiable in the story. They also fill the reader in as to how this couple found themselves in their current situation. It is a brilliant way to give the audience necessary back-story without a great deal of narrative. They also give a great deal of insight into the emotions faced by the characters.

The characters in this story each developed to suit a specific purpose. You know everything that you need to about that particular character. The details are provided in a manner that there is no informational or narrative overflow at any point in the novel, thus allowing it to progress naturally through the plot. I found that the characters evoked strong emotions in me as a reader. I could very easily picture myself in their shoes. Of course, at times, I also wondered “what was she thinking????”, but at the same time, Mann made sure that you could always understand where the characters were coming from

This was a very captivating, emotionally and ethically stimulating novel. It made me stop and rethink a great deal of things that I had previously taken for granted. It was a novelty to read a story like this.

posted by Jonel on February 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Here is a book that is difficult for me to review because, A) th

Here is a book that is difficult for me to review because, A) this is a well written story, and B) the subject matter really bothers me. I'm going to put my troubles with the theme aside saying only that it was well executed and done so in a manner that left no holes fo...
Here is a book that is difficult for me to review because, A) this is a well written story, and B) the subject matter really bothers me. I'm going to put my troubles with the theme aside saying only that it was well executed and done so in a manner that left no holes for confusion or questions to thrive in. 




Is This All There Is? is a tale with essential truths told in a way that I'm sure many people will recognize in themselves or in friends and loved ones. It's a sadly common story, told in an honest and full picture kind of way. I appreciate that. To often books of this nature contain colorful fluff; painting a picture that somehow everything is fine and normal, acceptable. You'll find none of that here.




I found that this book was well edited, non-repetitive, and well structured. I did, however, feel that the ending was abrupt; I needed more after what I went through during the read, but also see that it was a great place to stop if there is to be a second book. I would most certainly read it if a second book was introduced.

posted by xydrella on February 4, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1
  • Posted February 4, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Here is a book that is difficult for me to review because, A) th

    Here is a book that is difficult for me to review because, A) this is a well written story, and B) the subject matter really bothers me. I'm going to put my troubles with the theme aside saying only that it was well executed and done so in a manner that left no holes for confusion or questions to thrive in. 




    Is This All There Is? is a tale with essential truths told in a way that I'm sure many people will recognize in themselves or in friends and loved ones. It's a sadly common story, told in an honest and full picture kind of way. I appreciate that. To often books of this nature contain colorful fluff; painting a picture that somehow everything is fine and normal, acceptable. You'll find none of that here.




    I found that this book was well edited, non-repetitive, and well structured. I did, however, feel that the ending was abrupt; I needed more after what I went through during the read, but also see that it was a great place to stop if there is to be a second book. I would most certainly read it if a second book was introduced.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 2, 2013

    With this extremely well written novel, Mann manages to very suc

    With this extremely well written novel, Mann manages to very succinctly show how the lines within relationships can be blurred by changing circumstances. She approaches a very loaded subject with abandon showing a great deal of tact as well as insight. She also managed to portray love, lust, marriage, and relationships in a manner that defies literary stereotypes. This is not your stereotypical storybook whirlwind romance, but rather real life.

    Mann’s writing style is very conducive to the type of story that she has written. There is a natural flow and progression to the story that is never broken. There are some flashbacks, but they are very identifiable in the story. They also fill the reader in as to how this couple found themselves in their current situation. It is a brilliant way to give the audience necessary back-story without a great deal of narrative. They also give a great deal of insight into the emotions faced by the characters.

    The characters in this story each developed to suit a specific purpose. You know everything that you need to about that particular character. The details are provided in a manner that there is no informational or narrative overflow at any point in the novel, thus allowing it to progress naturally through the plot. I found that the characters evoked strong emotions in me as a reader. I could very easily picture myself in their shoes. Of course, at times, I also wondered “what was she thinking????”, but at the same time, Mann made sure that you could always understand where the characters were coming from

    This was a very captivating, emotionally and ethically stimulating novel. It made me stop and rethink a great deal of things that I had previously taken for granted. It was a novelty to read a story like this.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted November 11, 2013

    A beautiful story about a woman who wavers and is tempted. Beth

    A beautiful story about a woman who wavers and is tempted.

    Beth could be any wife, any her mother. Her life is busy but simple. Even if her couple is not as passionated than at the beginning, she has postponed her affection on her children. Only when a young man notices the woman instead of the mother and wife, Beth's life is upset.
    She found herself with a racing heart, her head in the clouds and fire in her cheeks... She is in trouble!

    In this story, I liked Beth's girl friends. Shelly does not react like a best friend and judges the situation. As for Jill, who is having an affair, she is happy to share her double life with someone without feeling remorse. Both are like the devil and angel of Beth's conscience.

    Far from judging, the author shows the difficulties of temptation. The pain and guilt of a woman who is looking at herself. 
    This story also shows the strength need to make a couple live happily ever after. No fairy tales in the real life!
    Both partners need to accept weaknesses, listen and communicate to continue to love each other over the time. 

    A banal love story told with simplicity and courage. Very well done!

    Lucie
    newbooksonmyselves.blogspot.fr

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    wow

    I think every married woman with little kids goes through this at some point. Great read. I didn't think i would like this book but i was pulled right in.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 15, 2013

    Free book for review. All of the ups and downs of a good marriag

    Free book for review. All of the ups and downs of a good marriage gone bad. But this one ends on a positive note. A good read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 9, 2013

    When I first started reading this book I was instantly hooked. I

    When I first started reading this book I was instantly hooked. I recently got married in June and have been with my husband (dating) for almost seven years and I can relate to Beth. I used to always feel like I was in a rut and my husband didn't pay attention to me so this book hit pretty close to home for me. I fell in love with Shelly and think every woman should have a friend like her. I didn't like how Beth was disconnected but I understood. I actually like Rick, a lot and felt bad for him. I could imagine his tortured expressions and it was heart breaking. The story was well written and I did enjoy it. I wish there was a little bit of a back story of Beth and Rick-to see where and why they fell apart but overall amazing book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 3, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    This is a story that I think any married woman with kids can rel

    This is a story that I think any married woman with kids can relate to. The author did an excellent job of getting into her character's head and making her real. Of course, the author is married with kids, so I am sure she understands.

    Beth's dilemmas and temptations stem from one thing – lack of communication with her husband. When you have busy lives, communication is not a hard thing to lose. I really enjoyed the story and how the author chose to portray Beth's life with her family. She obviously comes from a loving family but somehow lost herself in the hustle and bustle of everyday life. When tempted with the ability to feel something for herself again, she caved. She's human. Not that it's right, but that's what happens – affairs, divorce, unhappy marriages – everyday. Beth's inner turmoil was portrayed well in the story, and it makes her a relatable character. I would recommend this story to any woman who is married, whether they have ever had thoughts of an affair or not. It's an eye opening tale of temptation very close to home.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 27, 2013

    Is This All There Is? by Patricia Mann in my opinion was very we

    Is This All There Is? by Patricia Mann in my opinion was very well written, serious novel. The story is about Beth, a wife and mother that works as a part time professor and is about to embark on an affair. I felt Beth was trying so hard to be the perfect wife and mother, that she felt susceptible to the attention of Dave, one of her former students. Sometimes people try to be perfect for someone else and live to their ideals of who they should be that in the process they lose who they are.

    The author manages to really put a reader in the mind of the character. You can feel Beth’s inner turmoil. I do feel she should have tried sooner to fix her relationship with her husband Rick, before almost going to far with Dave.

    I did really enjoy this novel. It’s definitely the type of novel that makes you think of what would you do if you were in the same situation that Beth was in.

    A review copy was provided in exchange for honest review.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 22, 2013

    I was given a copy of this book for AAR. I wasn't sure what to e

    I was given a copy of this book for AAR. I wasn't sure what to expect because I don't like to know too much about a book before I read it for a review. This is not a story I would normally read, as its not really a romance, as a life experience story. The story Beth weaves as she goes through life as a mom of two with a struggling marraige drew me in though and I found I could sympathize with many of her feelings and fears as she struggles with infedelity and guilt. I am not married, but the feelings relate to so many things in life that I wanted to keep reading and find out how Beth and Rick handled the challenges of life. I really enjoyed the book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    IS THIS ALL THERE IS? By Patricia Mann ABOUT THE BOOK:  Released

    IS THIS ALL THERE IS? By Patricia Mann
    ABOUT THE BOOK:  Released January 3, 2013
    Beth Thomas has the perfect life. At thirty-five, she’s married to her college sweetheart, has two adorable kids, and teaches part time at the local university. But when a friend persuades Beth to go dancing on a rare night out, a chance meeting with twenty one year old Dave, one of her former students, changes the course of her life. Loud music, too much to drink, and the thrill of feeling young again lead to an unforgettable kiss that was never supposed to happen. As she tries to put the memory behind her, Dave’s pursuit leaves Beth torn between what her mind says is right and what her heart and body crave.
    REVIEW:
    Patricia Mann’s IS THIS ALL THERE IS ?  is a story for anyone considering an affair.  Whether it is an affair of the heart or a physical affair there are dangers, heartbreak, excitement, sorrow, anger, pain, retribution and regret.
    Beth Thomas is a married woman with two small children, teaches part time at the local college and, she and her husband have fallen into a rut. Desire has given way to ambivalence and sex has given way to sleep. Like many young families, there are days, even weeks, where it seems everything leads to a diaper pail or washing machine.  But for Beth Thomas, an opportunity presents itself in the guise of a former student who has had a major crush on his teacher since the first time he laid eyes on her.
    What woman wouldn’t want the adoration and attention of a hot twenty-something young man who had yet to fall prey to the realities of life.  But Beth knows she is treading into dangerous waters and no one will win in the end. 
    IS THIS ALL THERE IS is one woman’s journey into the unknown. Like many woman, Beth feels she is missing something in her life.   She is not actively looking for anything or anyone, but she is floundering in her present circumstance.  Real life isn’t pretty some days but the alternative is even uglier.
    Relationships are difficult at best and many couples find themselves dissatisfied with the direction of their marriage.  This is not to say that these couples stray or go looking for something on the side.  Children can bring out a side to people that they never knew existed.  Raising a family is hard, especially in today’s society where everyone is looking for something different, something new.  And falling into a rut, into a familiar pattern but a pattern that is going around in circles, can sometimes pull the person into another direction.  Whether intentionally or otherwise, looking for something different isn’t always better.  
    IS THIS ALL THERE IS is an eye-opener for anyone considering stepping outside of the marriage.  Many women (and men) will recognize themselves-whether it is in the form of the married woman who is looking for something different or the mother whose self-image is now tied to her family.  The reality of the situation will strike a chord with many readers and will have you thinking-IS THIS ALL THERE IS?
    Patricia Mann has written a storyline, whether taken from real life or a work of fiction, that will make you sit up and think. It will be a difficult read for some, especially those who have experienced the emotional trauma and heartache of an affair.  Is it worth the physical and emotional pain to look for something different, when everything you ever needed, was at home-waiting to be explored and discovered.
    Copy supplied by author

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 21, 2013

    This book is an ARC given to me by the author for an honest revi

    This book is an ARC given to me by the author for an honest review.
    This book was definitely not my usual read.  It is however a book that dives right into the psyche and heart of the 30 to 40 something women who have their plates full with family, work and everyday life.  I would find it hard to believe that there is a woman out there who hasn’t had similar internal struggles to Beth.  
    Dave was a very likeable character.  I had compassion for him and if I were to be in Beth’s position, don’t know that I could make the right choices (whatever they may be) either.  Rick was a character that was difficult to gauge because the book was from Beth’s point of view and her vision of Rick wasn’t clear enough to get the real picture on him.
    This definitely had a nonfiction feel to it.  The human-female struggle to communicate honestly, accept yourself and the choices you make in life are central themes and definitely worth the read.
    I would recommend this read to any woman who has ever questioned the decisions that they make in life.  Haven’t we all?

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 20, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Is This All There Is floored me with the similarities between th

    Is This All There Is floored me with the similarities between the book and real life. 30-40 year old moms find themselves where Beth was in this book. The story is very well written and the author develops the characters well. From the best friend, Beth's thoughts on her friends weight loss, Beth never taking time for herself, her husband reminding her to pick up the dry cleaning, her nursing, and the secret eating the story is too real. I was so empathetic to Beth and where she was and kept thinking been there done that. I didn't even judge her when she went outside with Dave and one thing led to the other. I got it I really did but Dave was so creepy after a while. I kept thinking Fatal Attraction. Beth was so far in and gone she couldn't recognize it. I mean really, I love you didn't scare her and she said it back! What in the world? It took her getting caught to really appreciate where she went wrong. Beth spent so much time being "lost" that she didn't realize her husband was also just making it through. Like I said too real, too raw. I don't think there are any readers that read this story and could judge or say those thoughts had never entered their mind. One lesson to learn? Its always fun and new and romantic and steamy at the beginning but would those things endure when you add "real life" to the mix? When you add a 7 and 1 year old? When you are working in the home and out? When money problems enter the relationship? It quickly makes you realize its just as "easy" to put the effort back into the relationship with your spouse than moving on. Thank you Patricia Mann for sharing your story, it made it all the more special. I could relate to Beth that said, the story was almost just too real. I read to "get away" not read about real life so this genre is probably not for me. I will say, reading this story made me feel validated and that I am not a failure as a mom or a wife, just tired. This story also made me understand my husband and our life more

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 14, 2013

    Worth a read! Mann's writing shows a definite understanding of t

    Worth a read! Mann's writing shows a definite understanding of the challenges of today's working mother and how easy the requirements of family and home can take over. When Beth, a likeable part-time college professor and mother of 2, is on the receiving end of unexpected attention and emotional support, she realizes she's been missing it dearly. Her naivety leads Beth to becomes torn between desires and the home life she fears to lose - a subject that hits home for many. Grab a copy now

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 9, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 16 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 1