Customer Reviews for

Isaac's Storm: A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Issac's Storm

I love to read history books, however some can be hard to get into. This is not the case with this book! I read it in less than a week. It was very well written and gave a gripping account of a horrible storm. It really makes you realize how lucky we are today to have a...
I love to read history books, however some can be hard to get into. This is not the case with this book! I read it in less than a week. It was very well written and gave a gripping account of a horrible storm. It really makes you realize how lucky we are today to have advance hurricane warnings!

posted by SCarolina_Girl on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating!

I could hardly stop reading this book. It was touching and horrifying at the same time as Mr. Larson told the story of the deadly Galveston Hurricane. He is very good at telling a story from brief documented facts. I've enjoyed all of his books and would recommend any o...
I could hardly stop reading this book. It was touching and horrifying at the same time as Mr. Larson told the story of the deadly Galveston Hurricane. He is very good at telling a story from brief documented facts. I've enjoyed all of his books and would recommend any of them. I learn so much history while enjoying a good read.

posted by 407046 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2013

    Fascinating!

    I could hardly stop reading this book. It was touching and horrifying at the same time as Mr. Larson told the story of the deadly Galveston Hurricane. He is very good at telling a story from brief documented facts. I've enjoyed all of his books and would recommend any of them. I learn so much history while enjoying a good read.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2012

    A tedious lemon...lacks pace.

    I fought through the first third, then started skimming.I surrendered at page 200.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 11, 2012

    If you like weather....

    Isaac's Storm tells of the events and cultural attitudes in America prior to the Galveston, Texas hurricane of 1900 that killed nearly 8,000 people; the storm is the deadliest natural disaster in American history. The story itself is fascinating, but in true Erik Larson fashion, at times, it is so detail oriented that it is easy to lose interest or get distracted by just about anything else in the room. Larson includes interesting tidbits about the early days of the US Weather Bureau, showing that the federal government has always been full of whackjobs and arrogant men who put their own careers before their concern for the American people. In the case of the Weather Bureau, it was that self-centered hubris which very often cost American lives. (Isaac's own published articles claimed that based on his research of the curviture of the earth, winds, pressure, etc., no hurricane could ever hit Texas.) The story which centers on Isaac himself is entertaining and easy to read. Though the language at times gets a bit technical and science-terminology heavy, it is nonetheless a curious glimpse into the early days of severe weather detection and prediction, the results of which can clearly be seen today. The nearly 300-pagebook is not a great read, but for anyone interested in science and weather, it might be worth a few hours of your time.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 24, 2011

    Started slow but what a finish!

    The first 100 pages are a bit slow unless you have a rather intense interest in meteorology. However, once the hurricane hits you won't be able to put it down. A solid 3.5 stars (but no half stars allowed in rating so...).

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2005

    Galveston's Great Flood

    Finished reading this book, thought that it was good but not great. The beginning part leading up to the storm and the storm itself were fine. Was just the detailed accounts of a lot of meteorlogical people and agencies that dragged this story down. Was very hard to try to figure out who was who. More individual stories would have serviced this story far better.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2002

    Abby, a student on the Virginia coast.

    Issac's Storm is a truly real book. I agree that is was slow in the beginning and a little tedious, but the accounts of the actual storm and what people did seem truly real. I couldn't believe what I was reading. Awesome. Demonstrates the power of what Mother Nature really can do AND renews my respect for the waters.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 25, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 1, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 17, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 2, 2011

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted April 7, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted December 8, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted August 24, 2012

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted January 4, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted June 6, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 19 review with 3 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1