Customer Reviews for

Isaac's Storm: A Man, a Time, and the Deadliest Hurricane in History

Average Rating 4
( 115 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(58)

4 Star

(32)

3 Star

(19)

2 Star

(6)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Issac's Storm

I love to read history books, however some can be hard to get into. This is not the case with this book! I read it in less than a week. It was very well written and gave a gripping account of a horrible storm. It really makes you realize how lucky we are today to have a...
I love to read history books, however some can be hard to get into. This is not the case with this book! I read it in less than a week. It was very well written and gave a gripping account of a horrible storm. It really makes you realize how lucky we are today to have advance hurricane warnings!

posted by SCarolina_Girl on February 21, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

Fascinating!

I could hardly stop reading this book. It was touching and horrifying at the same time as Mr. Larson told the story of the deadly Galveston Hurricane. He is very good at telling a story from brief documented facts. I've enjoyed all of his books and would recommend any o...
I could hardly stop reading this book. It was touching and horrifying at the same time as Mr. Larson told the story of the deadly Galveston Hurricane. He is very good at telling a story from brief documented facts. I've enjoyed all of his books and would recommend any of them. I learn so much history while enjoying a good read.

posted by 407046 on September 2, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 21, 2010

    Issac's Storm

    I love to read history books, however some can be hard to get into. This is not the case with this book! I read it in less than a week. It was very well written and gave a gripping account of a horrible storm. It really makes you realize how lucky we are today to have advance hurricane warnings!

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2007

    MY WIFE'S GRANDFATHER SURVIVED !!!

    I couldn't help but read this once I saw it. My wifes grandfather survived the storm as in infant. He was was born in August of 1900 and the storm came the next month. His mother told him their two story home floated down the street with them in it. My mother in law gave me a pendulum clock that I am looking at. She said it floated in Angelo's restaurant. I can still see water stains on its face as I write this. I don't think I understood what people in my family knew about this event until I read Isaac's Storm. I go to Galveston and wonder why some many homes are being built on the beach.Don't they know what happened? It will happen sadly again. I survived Carla in the center of the storm in 1961 in Port Lavaca. I know what can happen. After Galveston and after New Orleans you would think others would know. They don't. Darrell Cameron Houston Resident

    5 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2008

    This is seriously an amazing book.

    Isaac's Storm was a great book. It takes place in Galveston, TX on September 8th and 9th, 1900. There was a hurricane offcoast and Washington DC told Isaac Cline that it was no threat, it was great weather, so he believed them. But he saw the ocean get worse and worried. When he figured out that this was a bad hurricane, it was too late for many people. The city was destroyed and about 6000 people were dead, including his wife and kid. Issac carried it on his shoulders that it was his fault, that he was careless once, and a horrible hurricane hit. This book's message is that man's faliure to predict when, where, and how a storm will hit can lead to a horrible ending. Isaac's Storm has 6 chapters, each one leading up to the storm. Each one, telling a little bit more about this misunderstanding, and Isaac's training. This book is perfect for teenagers and up. It is a great weather adventure story. I love this book, I think that it has a great balance between the actual storm and it's effects on so many people and the people that try to prevent storms like the category 5 hurricane that hit Galveston.

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 19, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    Beautifully written

    I had always heard of this terrible hurricane and I wanted to read about the actual event. I did not expect this book to be so captivating and entertaining. The impending doom is an underlying current throughout the book. The author inserts many personal perspectives including the weather forecaster's family along with many other Galveston residents. The reader gets a visual and factual perspective of life at the turn of the century and the crude tools used to predict the weather. This lack of technology and lack of communication led to the deaths of over 10,000.
    I recommend this book without any hesitation. The research is well done, the vision of life in 1900 and the unspeakable power of God's power is wonderfully presented by Mr. Larson.

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 22, 2013

    Since I live in Galveston and having  been here thru Ike, I foun

    Since I live in Galveston and having  been here thru Ike, I found this book very vivid, emotional excellent!

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 28, 2012

    Compelling

    Compelling and full of period details

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 8, 2011

    Wow!

    This is story of a tragic event in American history. The book brought history to life and keeps you in engaged to the very end. This book made me appreciate weather stations even more.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 7, 2014

    Exciting and Scary

    I actually heard this in the audio version and had to have the book for myself! I was hooked from the beginning, anyone interested in history, this is a MUST READ!
    Granx6

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted August 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Who would have thought a book about weather forecasting could be

    Who would have thought a book about weather forecasting could be so interesting??  I enjoy books that tell stories of little-known events or people that were part of much larger stories in our history and this book does just that.  Larson's style of story-telling kept me engaged from start to finish!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 27, 2014

    Very interesting and compelling story of the hurricane and how i

    Very interesting and compelling story of the hurricane and how it affected the area. Love how the author puts the story together.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2014

    SUPERMARKET

    Employee wanted

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    Great book- very informative about hurricanes in general and the "Great Storm" in particular.

    This is an amazingly well researched book. My husband and I read it just as we were leaving for a week in Galveston, and it certainly added another dimension to out trip.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 26, 2013

    Epic storytelling about an historical storm.

    Epic storytelling about an historical storm.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 13, 2013

    Hard to put this down.

    I really love all his books, but this is probably my favorite.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 2, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    Hubris Meets Devastation and Leaves Us a Warning For me, Erik L

    Hubris Meets Devastation and Leaves Us a Warning

    For me, Erik Larson is a sure thing. I try to read something new he's written each year, as it usually helps me in my own occasional research, as his scholarship and approach are incredibly well-conceived. Isaac's Storm, of course is no different. Larson writes historical non-fiction with a voice as rousing and moving as the best fiction. He chooses subjects that illuminate unexpected parts of our culture and our collective consciousness, in unique ways.

    Following on the recent devastation of parts of Long Island and New Jersey in Sandy's wake, it seemed the right time to read of the terrifying power of nature in the storm that laid waste Galveston, TX on the eve of the Twentieth Century. Larson meets the challenge of describing that heady time and the prevailing attitudes of the day in such clarity that the post-storm emptiness and confusion, resounded in my heart. I was equally repelled, terrified and deeply moved as the story of one man and the beginnings of the US Weather Service becomes a tragedy of unparalleled scope. It was a fast read, and one where I actually enjoyed reviewing and reading his footnotes and comments after completion.

    Larson also touches briefly, on the fact that just as Americans felt they had harnessed nature to their own ends in 1900, we are also lulled into complacency today, as huge homes are built in barrier island communities all along our shores. His conclusion should stand as a powerful warning. But there are other warnings to be aware of.

    My family and I used to have a favorite anchorage, to enjoy a weekend aboard. It lay in the wide, still harbor off of Watch Hill, RI. One day, walking ashore there, I chanced upon a monument to the losses of Napatree in the 1938 hurricane. I learned that a medium sized, shore community had once stood where, today, only a long sand strand of several miles remains. And the harbor we once enjoyed anchoring in so much? It became the grave of the entire town and many of its residents when the 1938 storm swept it clean. We need to keep their memory alive, and the memory of the lives lost in Galveston so that we might learn to respect what can happen when a weather pattern forms off West Africa at the end of Summer. Satellites images and computer-modeled storm forecasts can't save us if we tempt fate. No one can be that lucky forever.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 23, 2012

    Res 1 help

    X

    0 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 22, 2012

    Mintsong and bravepaw

    Mintsong and bravepaw come in each with two mice. Mintsong also carries a vole and a squarrel and bravepaw carries a thrush and a rabbit along with his two mice. Mintsong grabs the squarrel and bravepaw takes the thrush before padding off to eat their kill. Bravepaw comes back and grabs the rabbit ad takes it to darkdream.

    0 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 19, 2012

    Snowbird

    Brings in one squirrel, a vole, and two mice and drops them on the fresh-kill pile.

    0 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 16, 2012

    LOVED THIS BOOK

    Mr. Larson never fails! This book is as good as any of his other book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 9, 2012

    Fascinating!

    I have an interest in tragedy-disaster-true adventure stories. I've read a number of mountaineering books and disaster-at-sea stories where the weather is always a factor. In all those incidents, there was an understanding of the possibilities when dealing with Mother Nature. Isaac's Storm was different. There was not enough history or technology to know just what was possible.
    Larson does a wonderful job of weaving together the events in Galveston in 1900 with the history of the US Weather Service and meteorology in general. I came away with a greater appreciation of the power of nature and the struggles of people who confront that power.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 58 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 3