Customer Reviews for

Islam Unveiled: Disturbing Questions about the World's Fastest-Growing Faith

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very True - From a Muslim

Its very true. I am a muslim from Iran and I have read the koran. I regret to say that its all true. I am ashamed of my belifs....

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

another 'born again' attack on Islam

This book is spreading like wildfire through evangelical churches with all the typical misunderstandings about Islam. What the writer does not disclose is how Islam has different sects,with different degrees of strict lifestyles vs moderate lifestyles.This ra...
This book is spreading like wildfire through evangelical churches with all the typical misunderstandings about Islam. What the writer does not disclose is how Islam has different sects,with different degrees of strict lifestyles vs moderate lifestyles.This radical Islam is but a small portion of the Muslim world. Another falsehood found in the book is the writers belief that all Muslim men are terrorists and all women are beaten down oppressed objects. This book is pure sensationalism.

posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 11, 2003

    another 'born again' attack on Islam

    This book is spreading like wildfire through evangelical churches with all the typical misunderstandings about Islam. What the writer does not disclose is how Islam has different sects,with different degrees of strict lifestyles vs moderate lifestyles.This radical Islam is but a small portion of the Muslim world. Another falsehood found in the book is the writers belief that all Muslim men are terrorists and all women are beaten down oppressed objects. This book is pure sensationalism.

    6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2002

    missing the mark

    the ignorance represented in this book is like nothing i have ever heard . i am not talking about the book being politicaly incorrect. iv read many things that are not considered "politicaly correct" and i have agreed, but this book has giving amunition to those who wish to degrade a religion that is so often misinterpreted by those who fear and fail to understand it. you may ask am i dening the fact that there are fanatics who "practise" Islam. my answer is obviously no, but that is not a reflection of the actual religion the belifes of the terrorists are missiterprations of the Quran not everything in the quran should be interpreted at face value Islam is a complex religion subject to interpratation and i can say without a shadow of a doubt that the Religion i have study is far diffrent than the one in this book.

    4 out of 9 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    I'm Muslim and American and living in the Middle East for 20 yea

    I'm Muslim and American and living in the Middle East for 20 years now. From the beginning of this book I can tell this book was written using the Quaran out of context. This kind of writing will produce nothing but fear, hate and distrust. The Quaranic verses about "infidels" pertain to the times when the early Muslims were being attacked and Allah told them they had a right to defend themselves.

    3 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2002

    Islam Unveiled: Disturbing Questions about the World's Fastest-Growing Faith

    The writer goes out of his way to show Islam and Quran as very different from Christianity and Bible. This is the best defense 'Islam Haters' has been using for centuries. Nothing new here. Just re-packaged propaganda against Islam. In truth, Judiasm, Christianity, Islam all show the way towards God, each taking a different path. See my recomendation on related titles

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 8, 2003

    Robert Spencer Belongs in the Hall of Shame for Dishonest Scholarship

    While attempting rather poorly to portray his positions on Islam as impartial, his tone and rhetoric smack of venomous bin-Laden-like fundamentalism like that of Pat Robertson. Although a whole book is required to unveil Spencer's vitriolic assault on Islam, one example for purposes of this review will suffice. In "The Wahhabis" section, he first writes a whole page about the truth of Wahhabism. However, Spencer then says: ¿But the problem of Islamic terror is not simply the problem of the Wahhabis.¿ The problem is that nobody is saying that non-Wahhabi militants do not exist. They certainly do but their adverse effects in comparison are in no way near the adverse effects of Wahhabism, largely because of the large-scale international financing it receives from the Saudi monarchy and other rich non-monarchial Saudis. Muslims say, as Stephen Schwartz says, that Wahhabism is the ¿main form of Islamic fundamentalism¿ -- not the only form. Moreover, Spencer says, ¿There are disquieting signs that Muslim terror is much broadly based. It is precisely the Wahhabis¿ claim to represent pure Islam that has inspired Muslims groups from North Africa to Indonesia ¿ and gives the Wahhabis and their spiritual kin resilience and staying power.¿ Indeed, Wahhabism has ¿inspired Muslim groups from North Africa to Indonesia,¿ but this still points to Wahhabism as the main source of ¿inspiration¿ for other militant groups ¿ mainly "salafi" groups that follow most of the Wahhabi interpretations of Islam. Spencer's words are many but without substance. Spencer then talks about Omar bin Bakri bin Muhammad, founder and leader of the extremist group, Al-Muhajiroun. He says: ¿Sheikh Omar is no Wahhabi; in fact, he calls the Wahhabi king of Saudi Arabia ¿the pirate ruler of the pirate state of so-called Saudi-Arabia.¿ The information presented by Spencer is insufficient to make such a conclusion as he does without providing the evidence to substantiate his claim. Sheikh Omar does not condemn the Saudi king because of his Wahhabism, but primarily because in his view he is Islamically unfit to rule. Not once in a book by the Al-Muhajiroun on Saudi Arabia do they condemn Muhammad ibn `Abdl-Wahhab, the founder of Wahhabism, or his favorite role model and predecessor, Ibn Taymiyah. Spencer conveniently misses these crucial points. Spencer then says, ¿Nevertheless, his organization had no trouble declaring its sympathies for bin Laden.¿ Spencer fails to clarify this contradiction to the reader ¿ why Omar, who Spencer alleges is ¿not Wahhabi¿, is condemning the Wahhabi king of Saudi Arabia, but not the Wahhabi Osama bin Laden. The answer is twofold: First, because Omar and bin Laden both share the common understanding of rejecting the pseudo-Islamic government of Saudi Arabia because of their un-Islamic ways and wish to replace it with a "true" Islamic government. Second, Omar Bakri and Bin Laden share many Wahhabi interpretations of Islam ¿ what Spencer fails to note. Although Omar Bakri may not follow all of the interpretations of Wahhabism, such as in matters of the caliphate (khilafa), he nonetheless conforms to many Wahhabi interpretations. To any Sunni Muslim, Omar Bakri is a Wahhabi regardless of what Spencer (or Omar Bakri) thinks. Before going through some of the similarities between Omar Bakri¿s views that mirror Wahhabism, it behooves one to note that Spencer fails to mention that his group does not represent orthodox Sunni Islam nonetheless. If Spencer had done a little bit more research, he would have known that mainstream Sunnis not only reject Wahhabism as heretical, but also Al-Muhajiroun and Hizb ut-Tahrir, of which he established a branch earlier -- but later splintered from it. Now, to the similarities: Al-Muhajiroun¿s on-line pamphlet available on their website states that "Tawheed" consists of 3 parts ¿ "Uluhiyah," "Rububiyah," and "Asm¿au al-Sifat." This is what wahhabis believe and what they have adopted from Ibn Taymiyyah, the role mode

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 11, 2002

    Islam Unveiled: Disturbing Questions about the World's Fastest-Growing Faith

    This book is very appropriate for hate mongers among us. For the rest of us, there are more appropriate books on Islamic philosophy or Sufism. But if you want to hate one fifth of the humanity through manipulated lies, this book will be appropriate for you. Thank God(Jesus, Allah, Bhogoban etc) or rather Starbucks that I didn't buy this type of lies.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 3, 2002

    Anti-Islamic Hatred

    This book is pure nonsense. Spencer has little knowledge of Arabic or Islamic tradition. Instead, he pulls Qur'anic verses out of context and searches Islamic history for anything that can be interpreted negatively. His conclusion? Islam is an evil religion whose purpose is to kill Americans. Americans complain about anti-American hatred in parts of the Muslim world, but tolerate anti-Muslim hatred of this type. Pure hypocrisy.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 1, 2002

    Don't waste your time on this racist diatribe

    Wow. I can't believe I wasted my money on this book. Don't make the same mistake. If you're able to think on your own, this book is a pathetic waste of time. This "author" couches his hatred for the Islamic religion and people in scare diatribes about how all the Islamic people are really out to kill all of us Americans. This book is just a repetition of the prejudices which exist in our society, and are propagated every day by our mass media. This guy pulls a few references from the Koran out of context - very much like the anti-Christians pull stories out of the Bible to show how barbarous Christianity is. Both arguments are equally ridiculous and dangerous.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 8 review with 1 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1