BN.com Gift Guide
Customer Reviews for

Islam Unveiled: Disturbing Questions about the World's Fastest-Growing Faith

Average Rating 3.5
( 24 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(12)

4 Star

(3)

3 Star

(0)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(8)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

Very True - From a Muslim

Its very true. I am a muslim from Iran and I have read the koran. I regret to say that its all true. I am ashamed of my belifs....

posted by Anonymous on December 17, 2002

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

6 out of 13 people found this review helpful.

another 'born again' attack on Islam

This book is spreading like wildfire through evangelical churches with all the typical misunderstandings about Islam. What the writer does not disclose is how Islam has different sects,with different degrees of strict lifestyles vs moderate lifestyles.This ra...
This book is spreading like wildfire through evangelical churches with all the typical misunderstandings about Islam. What the writer does not disclose is how Islam has different sects,with different degrees of strict lifestyles vs moderate lifestyles.This radical Islam is but a small portion of the Muslim world. Another falsehood found in the book is the writers belief that all Muslim men are terrorists and all women are beaten down oppressed objects. This book is pure sensationalism.

posted by Anonymous on July 11, 2003

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 12, 2005

    Extremely Accurate

    This is an extremely accurate a close look at Islam as it is really understood throughout the ummah. It takes a hard look at the real questions. Has Islam been hijacked by fundamentalists and terrorists or does it truly teach the things that they represent? I found this book to be very enlightening to the real problems with the clash of Western ideals against an enormous world Muslim population. His conclusion in awesome.

    6 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    Very True - From a Muslim

    Its very true. I am a muslim from Iran and I have read the koran. I regret to say that its all true. I am ashamed of my belifs....

    6 out of 8 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Good questions indeed!

    Islam Unveiled looks at Islam from the point of view of a reasonable person trying to make sense of the Koran and other important Islamic writings. While the historical examples are wide ranging and fascinating, it is the beliefs of Muslims - not their actions- that take centre stage. The author explores different traditions of Islamic interpretation. While some reviewers are using Islam Unveiled as a springboard for their own opinions about Islam or Christianity, the book itself patiently finds the areas where the two religions do in fact have irreconcilable differences. Islam Unveiled is tremendously informative, and benefits immensely by being not a book of answers, but rather, as the title says, a book of excellent questions. This is an extremely well-documented book. The author says flat out that the Muslim culture has made contributions of great beauty to the world. He is very clear on the fact that he does not think all Muslims are terrorists. But the west can't engage in wishful thinking and imagine that we can be indifferent to fundamentalist Islamic groups around the globe. Reformist Muslims have an uphill fight. This book shows why!

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 6, 2005

    WOW

    I thought Kennith R. Timmerman did a good job with Preachers of Hate, but Bob Spencer truly did some research here. The truth is often times hard to face, but face it we must. All men are created Equal, but not religions. No wonder The Democrats don't want to fight, Islam is the oppressor they have been praying for.

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2003

    one of the year's must reads

    Highlights many very seriously troubling aspects of Islam. Lots of sources, good historical perspective.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 17, 2002

    Critics Must Not Have Read the Book

    Clearly these people who are slamming this book as racist and hateful haven't read it, and that's why they can't come up with even one substantive objection. This is a careful, well-researched, balanced, and thoughtful presentation of some important issues regarding Islam today. It is a useful corrective to the PC distortions and half-truths that are so widespread about Islam, and that are exemplified by the Booknews review here.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 12, 2002

    Timely look at Islam

    An overview of Islam that explains where the overlooked and uncomfortable facts of that religion come from. It includes fascinating stories. Most importantly, it shows how easily the core elements of Islam give rise to terrorism and violence. It's not a popular thing to say right now, but believe me, the governments of Turkey and Egypt know how right this book is and are constantly on guard against threats by their fellow Muslims.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2002

    True Islam.

    If anyone wants to understand what real Islam is all about he or she needs to read this book instead of watching main stream media's representation of an Islam that does not exist. Mr. Spencer thank you for your hard work.

    2 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 2, 2002

    Thoughtful, well-researched, powerful

    "Jeff" is way off base. I wouldn't be surprised if he hasn't even read this book. There is nothing racist or hateful about this book. There is nothing in it that says anything like "all the Islamic people are really out to kill all of us Americans." Everything comes straight from Islamic sources, raising serious and thought-provoking questions.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted October 12, 2014

    very interesting...

    I really like this book, it's very informative, it answers pretty much all of the questions you might have about Islam, and the Quran and about the people who follow it. It's hard for me to write a review it's easier to just tell you to read it. Please do you won't be disappointed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 9, 2002

    Job Well Done

    This book is very informative. Mr. Spencer shows what Islam teaches in a clear and concise manner. You could just take the easy route and listen to Tom Brokaw or Dan Rather...This book tells the truth instead. You will not be sorry you bought it. FIVE STASRS!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 2, 2010

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing all of 12 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 1