Customer Reviews for

Island 731

Average Rating 4
( 59 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(27)

4 Star

(16)

3 Star

(5)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(10)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

FOR THOSE WHO CANNOT KEEP THEIR MOUTHS SHUT!

WHY, WHY, WHY do certain people feel the need to go on and on about what they read, and reveal almost every important detail about a book when they are reviewing it? Reviewing is meant for the reader to rate the book and BRIEFLY describe why they did or did not like it....
WHY, WHY, WHY do certain people feel the need to go on and on about what they read, and reveal almost every important detail about a book when they are reviewing it? Reviewing is meant for the reader to rate the book and BRIEFLY describe why they did or did not like it. Each book, either hardcover or ebook has a synopsis that we can read ourselves, learning the outline of the plot. To selfishly spoil the story for other readers not only ruins it for them, but for the authors too since some will not purchase the book after knowing so much. I see this happening over and over. PLEASE, SAVE YOUR COMMENTARIES for your friends and stop spoiling it for the rest of us! Barnes & Noble should delete reviews that reveal too much. Click YES if you agree with this!

posted by CAReaderDO on April 16, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

?

Plot spoilers ruin a book, even when you say you arent big on spoilers. You kind of defeat the purpose there when you have already given away everything. Think about the other ppl and how just maybe we would like to read the book for ourselves, novel idea i know, and be...
Plot spoilers ruin a book, even when you say you arent big on spoilers. You kind of defeat the purpose there when you have already given away everything. Think about the other ppl and how just maybe we would like to read the book for ourselves, novel idea i know, and be surprised. We dont need you telling us everything that happens. Most of us with a nook can read and i daresay would rather read it for ourselves.

posted by 8888649 on March 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2013

    FOR THOSE WHO CANNOT KEEP THEIR MOUTHS SHUT!

    WHY, WHY, WHY do certain people feel the need to go on and on about what they read, and reveal almost every important detail about a book when they are reviewing it? Reviewing is meant for the reader to rate the book and BRIEFLY describe why they did or did not like it. Each book, either hardcover or ebook has a synopsis that we can read ourselves, learning the outline of the plot. To selfishly spoil the story for other readers not only ruins it for them, but for the authors too since some will not purchase the book after knowing so much. I see this happening over and over. PLEASE, SAVE YOUR COMMENTARIES for your friends and stop spoiling it for the rest of us! Barnes & Noble should delete reviews that reveal too much. Click YES if you agree with this!

    35 out of 37 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 31, 2013

    ?

    Plot spoilers ruin a book, even when you say you arent big on spoilers. You kind of defeat the purpose there when you have already given away everything. Think about the other ppl and how just maybe we would like to read the book for ourselves, novel idea i know, and be surprised. We dont need you telling us everything that happens. Most of us with a nook can read and i daresay would rather read it for ourselves.

    12 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 30, 2013

    Please People! Too much revealed in a review really takes the wi

    Please People! Too much revealed in a review really takes the wind out of the sails of interest in a book. I'm more interested in a reader's LEVEL OF ENTERTAINMENT AND THOUGHTS than learning exactly what's inside a book.

    11 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 29, 2013

    A really suspenseful and yes, as others have written Gripping t


    A really suspenseful and yes, as others have written Gripping tale.  There's no better word for it!!  
    I had heard of Unit 731 and so I figured the book would be based on that and wow was it ever.  As always,
     Jeremy Robinson did not disappoint, I have been a fan for some time, and this new novel is by far one of my
     favorites!!  Took me 2 days to read it and stayed up WAY too late last night but it was well worth the
    lost sleep time!  In a nutshell, Mark Hawkins is on a research ship; trying to help find evidence of biological
    issues that the trash heap is causing on life in the ocean around it.  the first few chapters are intense,
    as we are introduced to our main characters and learn a little about Mark, and his intensity. 

    The ship ends up in a cove, after it won't respond to commands and is sailing really on it's own after a storm.  
    Several crew to include Mark go ashore to look for a missing crew member that was taken from the ship, and
    find bodies..old ones but weird ones, and then as they look for their missing member, are attacked by weird
    creatures.  Back aboard ship, someone mentions that they are Chimera's and then the story unfolds from there. 

    I won't say more, because you have to read this one for yourself  (and i'm not big on spoilers) but all in all I
    absolutely loved this book and hope hope hope that there's a series here!! Would love to follow Mark further!!  

    This is one book I highly recommend!!! 

    8 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    No sumary needed morons

    Kinda like telling someone how a movie ends, how would you like it if someone told you the ending when you just started reading! Think before you type,assuming you are capable of thought.

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 31, 2013

    more from this reviewer

    What can I say---5 STARS! Jeremy Robinson never fails to deliver

    What can I say---5 STARS! Jeremy Robinson never fails to deliver! This one was a dark, suspenseful, mysterious trip into horror...based on the real history of Unit 731 and the atrocities they performed in WW2...taking it just a little further - what if the experiments had never stopped?????

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 3, 2013

    Cant finish it.

    I am sorry to say I cannot make myself finish this book. The writing sounds like a 7th grader and I cant stay focused. I think the premise is good, but the writing gets in the way. I don't like giving bad reviews, so I'm anonymous. Sorry.

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 1, 2013

    One of my favorite books so far by Jeremy, I could not put it do

    One of my favorite books so far by Jeremy, I could not put it down action from start to finish. This is a book you must read.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    When I finished reading this book I did something I've never don

    When I finished reading this book I did something I've never done before. Instead of "recycling" to other readers, I put this paperback book in my recycling bin in hopes no one else has to go through the ordeal of reading this book. I picked it up as it said the hero was an ex-park ranger. Figured this would become part of a great story. Wrong. The ex-park ranger, in his past, killed a grizzly bear for no reason. And he used a knife to do so. Give me a break! Plus he's an expert tracker because he was raised by a native american (Ute).  I won't give up any of the story because it was too ridiculous. The story was not to be believed. In addition, the killing was endless and verbally graphic over and over again. Got very old. And the biological experiments were impossible; even if you are an evolutionist or a creationist. Impossible!!! I wasted my money. But I made sure it went to a good cause. Maybe being recycled it'll come back as a phone book. At least that's interesting reading.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2014

    Wow!

    What happened Jeremy? You have given me hope that even i can become a best selling author. I want my f-ing money back!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 18, 2013

    Action movie script

    Poorly written cheap action thriller. Plot is similar to any ridiculous action movie. Hero gets in an impossible situation, saves himself and others through some unbelievable chain of events. Repeat. Might be ok for a young teen reader, since they don't know any better. Don't waste your time like I did.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 15, 2013

    Now I know where the SciFy Network gets some of its ideas. A goo

    Now I know where the SciFy Network gets some of its ideas. A good idea ruined by poor writing and unlikely reactions from the characters. This would actually make a pretty good young adult novel if the language was cleaned up a little bit, and the gore was toned down. This book can't seem to find its genre. Too adult for kids and too stupid for adults. My first read of Jeremy Robinson will be my last.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 30, 2013

    Cliches, stereotypes, pseudoscience, and bad writing

    The main character is good at hunting because a Native American named "GoodTracks" was his adoptive father. Really. That's how bad this book is. The author also needs a serious refresher course in how DNA works and watched "Alien" too much recently. I'm glad I picked this book up on a super sale. I'm annoyed at myself for finishing it.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 27, 2013

    Do NOT waste your money! My opinion: A 2 dollar,throw-away that

    Do NOT waste your money! My opinion: A 2 dollar,throw-away that I paid  $12 for.
    Disappointing. If I bought hardcover,it would have been returned by page 50.
    Would have been a good read back in the 4th grade. : (

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 19, 2013

    Another great page turner by Robinson. I hate never heard of Un

    Another great page turner by Robinson. I hate never heard of Unit 731 and was again absolutely amazed and disgusted by the things this country has done.
    I haven't been disappointed with anything Robinson has written. His stories boarder on the amazing and far fetch but for me it's how he grabs the reader by the throat, pulls and drags you along.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2013

    This book is crap. I wouldn't even finish reading it. I will n

    This book is crap. I wouldn't even finish reading it. I will never buy another of his books.

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 13, 2013

    Jeremy Robinson is one of the hardest working authors currently

    Jeremy Robinson is one of the hardest working authors currently in the writing business.  With Island 731, he has crafted a  great horror/suspense/action novel.  It follows former park ranger Mark Hawkins and the crew of the Magellan as they survey the Garbage Patch, a 30 mile island of trash located in the Pacific.  After a brutal storm that leaves their vessel broken and stranded, the crew finds themselves shipwrecked at an island that shouldn't exist.  During the night, a shadowy creature infiltrates the vessel and kidnaps one of the crew.  And thus the horror and adventure begins.  Robinson's writing here is at its best and will keep you wanting more.  Buy the book, sit down, and strap in.  You are in for one helluva ride. 

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 12, 2013

    OK...not his best

    Was a pretty fast read. Not as long as some of his other books..only about 350 pages. Not happy that I spent $13 for a 300 pages book but it kept me interested.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2013

    Another great book by Jeremy Robinson. I just started reading h

    Another great book by Jeremy Robinson. I just started reading his books about a year ago when a friend recommended Kronos to me. I have yet to be disappointed. Mr. Robinson has the unique ability to make his stories very plausible; a little history combined with science fiction. I especially love the character development. By the time you finish reading the book, you know the characters like they were friends. Can't wait for Raven (Bishop).

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 6, 2013

    Ass

    Fuycrchxh tfkdvf

    1 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 59 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 3