Customer Reviews for

Island of the Aunts

Average Rating 4.5
( 21 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(15)

4 Star

(5)

3 Star

(1)

2 Star

(0)

1 Star

(0)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    One of my favorite childhood books

    This was one of my favorite books from when I was younger. I loved all of Eva Ibbotson's books, I think this was the first one I read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2009

    Not a huge fan...

    I felt this book was a bit too involved for 4th grade reading. My child ia a gifted student and an avid reader, but I had to read this book along with her...the vocabulary and writing even gave ME trouble at times. The characters were interesting as was the story overall, but I would NOT recommend this book until 6th grade personally.

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2007

    Island of The Aunts

    I loved this book. It was filled with exciting stories and creatures that are so real they leep off the page. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes a good story and is willing to get lost in a book of wonderus dreams and fantasy.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 13, 2005

    For those who hate reading...

    As a reluctant reader, I wrestled this book from my 12 year old niece never to put it down. Island of the Aunts is the perfect read for parents and children. Please sit down with your child and share this intelligent, humorous and thought provoking book. You will hang on every word.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 18, 2005

    Very Funny and Exciting!

    This book is vey funny and exciting! I loved it! IT made you want to read more and more! I recommend it for anyone who wants a good book to read!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 3, 2004

    A book to be remembered.....

    This book is a book I want to read over and over again! It just brought me into the story and on the island with Fabio and Minette and sadly, even Lambert. While reading this book I wanted to be able to see a Boobrie, a Kraken and a Selki. My favorite character was Fabio because he wouldn't let anything put him down! I wish I could meet Eva Ibbotson and tell her how much I loved this story!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 16, 2004

    a girl who loves this book

    TOTALLY AWESOME!!! this book is amazing it's so good you read and read and read!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2004

    WOW!

    THIS BOOK JUST RULES!!!!!! YOU HAVE TO TRUST ME ON THIS ONE! THIS BOOK WILL BLOW YOU AWAY!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 2, 2003

    GREAT BOOK!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Ibbotson shows the magical touch that has shown in all of her other books. She is one of the best authors in the world and her books will leave you spell bound. Her books are some of the best I've ever read!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2003

    Very Fantasyistic

    I like this book because of all the mytacal creatures and because it is kind of funny.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 13, 2002

    this book is awsome

    this is a awsome book about three aunts and their crazy island, and the creautears that live on the island. you will not be able to put this book down, TRUST ME!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 8, 2002

    One of the Greatest Books EVER!!

    This a great book. If you enjoy books about fantasy, adventure, and SURPRISES, then you should definitely read this book!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 18, 2002

    Great Children's Book

    This book was extremley good. It has amazingly catchy, non-boring beginning, a great middle, and a wonderful end!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 15, 2002

    Wonderful Fantasy Book

    Ibbotson really brings things like mermaids to life.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 26, 2001

    Island Of The Aunts

    Hi. I am in sixth grade and I love reading about fantasy. If you like Harry Potter, than you will love this book. Its filled with intresting little details and the ending is really unexpected.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 16, 2001

    Pretty Good Book

    This book was really good but not one of my favorites. The begginning and middle are GREAT!!! When it's the end, the book sorta falls apart but it was still an awesome book!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 8, 2001

    Meet Your New Favorite Aunts

    This book was a fabulous fantasy story. Getting to know the wacky aunts that run the island was almost as much fun as getting to know the wacky creatures that live on the island. The story introduces us to krankens, stoorworms, selkies, and tons of other amazing things. The aunts and their island would be fun family at the Thanksgiving table!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 25, 2001

    Good Book

    This book was the best everyone should read it and also secret of platform 13 both good books.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 30, 2008

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted November 15, 2009

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 21 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 2