Customer Reviews for

Island Shifters: An Oath of the Blood

Average Rating 4.5
( 54 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(28)

4 Star

(17)

3 Star

(7)

2 Star

(1)

1 Star

(1)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

Awesome story! A must read!

I am not a HUGE fantasy reader, but there was something about the cover that drew me to ask the author to review her book. I am so glad that I did.

This book is wonderful! The characters are developed and you want all the crappy things that seem to be happening at on...
I am not a HUGE fantasy reader, but there was something about the cover that drew me to ask the author to review her book. I am so glad that I did.

This book is wonderful! The characters are developed and you want all the crappy things that seem to be happening at once to just go away so they can have their happily ever after. But then I suppose if that happened, we wouldn't get to see them develop further!

The story is crafted in a wonderful fashion. You get to see different perspectives- something that Valerie has done well (I've read some stories where it should not have been done, ever.) You can feel the darkness of the Mages. I wanted to riot for the Shifters and rid them of their Blood Oath, who needs exile, right?

I cannot wait to read the second book, which Valerie is also allowing me to review! I highly recommend this book to all fantasy readers, and anyone that loves the actiony aspect of a good quest. Dude, just read the book everyone!

*I received this book in exchange for an honest review*

posted by Jesse_Kimmel-Freeman on October 24, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

recommend

Though it was a good book keep me reading just to find out what was going to happen next. Can't wait to get to the next book.

posted by dandydean29 on May 31, 2013

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2
  • Posted October 24, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Awesome story! A must read!

    I am not a HUGE fantasy reader, but there was something about the cover that drew me to ask the author to review her book. I am so glad that I did.

    This book is wonderful! The characters are developed and you want all the crappy things that seem to be happening at once to just go away so they can have their happily ever after. But then I suppose if that happened, we wouldn't get to see them develop further!

    The story is crafted in a wonderful fashion. You get to see different perspectives- something that Valerie has done well (I've read some stories where it should not have been done, ever.) You can feel the darkness of the Mages. I wanted to riot for the Shifters and rid them of their Blood Oath, who needs exile, right?

    I cannot wait to read the second book, which Valerie is also allowing me to review! I highly recommend this book to all fantasy readers, and anyone that loves the actiony aspect of a good quest. Dude, just read the book everyone!

    *I received this book in exchange for an honest review*

    7 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 7, 2013

    Omg. And it is free..

    I am very stingy with mmy star ratings. Three stars indicates the author has done his or her job and I have enjoyed reading the book

    2 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 13, 2012

    Avidfantasyreader

    Must read. Would be my award for fantasy book of the year. I dont think i have ever read a book that made me cry tears before.
    4 especially gifted "shifters" or mages, in a land where all mqgic is outcast, suddenly find their world and lives ripped apart, when a 300 year old monstrous sorcerer and miss legions, attqck their outpost, an wipe out their entire ranks quickly.
    What ensues is an adventure of lifetime, with highs and lows. The writing kept me enraptured. You will come to poinr in the book, where they stop being characters, and you begin to finish this book as their friends.
    If you read anybook on nook, read this one.

    2 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 2, 2013

    OMG AMAZING!!!!!!!!!!!

    This is one of the best books ive ever read. 49 STARS OUT OF 5 STARS!!!!!!!!!!!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2013

    Excellent!

    This was a great book! Over 800 pages and it was free. I found it listed under the paranormal genre but it is more like Science Fiction & Fantasy. If you like Lord of the Rings, then you might like this one. Has Elves, Dwarves, Magai, Demons, etc. Will definitely be looking into more books by this author.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 26, 2014

    Awsome

    This book is like Lord of the rings meets Avatar the last air bender meets Animorphs.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted April 7, 2014

    Wonderful storyline and characters .

    Wonderful storyline and characters .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 3, 2014

    Great Read!

    This book was a very good read! The ending has you wanting to read the next one! Never a dull moment, I didn't want to put it down. I recommend this to anyone who enjoys a good book about magic, mage's and magical cat's.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 7, 2014

    Enjoyable read

    Enjoyed this book very much. I have gone on to read books 2&3.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 6, 2014

    Best fantasy I've read in the last ten years.

    Perfect balance of wonder and adventure keeps you on the edge of your seat right through the end.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2014

    brillant good vs evil

    Read over christmas break is amust characters are awsome

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 23, 2013

    Game Grumps

    TEN OUTTA TEEEEENNN!!!

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 22, 2013

    I wish that you could rate infinity staars. I would TOTESdo it.

    BOSS

    0 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 1, 2013

    awesome

    This book was very good and detailed

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2013

    Good book

    I like this book was very much

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 22, 2013

    great book

    this book is awesome,very easy to read.couldn't stop,so i didnt i have enjoyed three so far..where's the other?

    0 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted July 11, 2012

    more from this reviewer

    Fun and Entertaining!!

    I only remember reading books similar to this genre, when I was much younger, and though they were not as detailed and deep as this book, they were still, "pretty cool" and I especially loved the books that gave the reader the option at the end of the page, "If you want to do this, turn to page....." or "If you want to do this, turn to page...". Remember those? They were so cool, and fun because you could turn the book into whatever you wanted! Well, this book is nothing like that, lol, I was just remembering how much I enjoyed those, and how the fantasy books were never a genre I really read as often as I apparently should have.
    This specific book has definitely enlightened me, and now I am anxious to catch up on other books, just so I can read Book #2!
    The whole story, the characters, the writing, the action, the mystery, the location, so imaginative and so well described and detailed that I could see the Island Shifters and everything, battles and all, along their journey! (This is my favorite part of books, any that allow you to escape for a while, and this is one of the best!)
    Not to many adjectives, so many that is bores you and confuses you, but just the proper and perfect amount! What a fascinating imagination, Valerie Zambito, has and I appreciate her taking the time to share it and write this book! (Very few books in my 38 years of life, have ever led me to want to shake the hand of the author and say, "Thank you for sharing a piece of your imagination!")
    Magical places,magic,forests, and the Island Shifters, transforming into animals, dwarfs, elves, all that fun stuff that you may have enjoyed reading about as a kid, comes at you in a whole new way! yes, adults can get lost in Fantasy worlds too;)
    This was a fun book, I especially thought the way the words were written in the book itself, was the perfect addition! The cover is very interesting in itself, and will be enough to want to start reading, and it was filled with so much action, and had a real genuine story behind it. the characters were simply divine, and you certainly feel as if you know them well.
    I recommend this book for any age, (my almost 9 year old son is actually enjoying this story right as we speak, with a little help from mom;)

    ** We received a copy of this book in return for our honest review **

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted February 10, 2012

    Great Book! Great Read!

    This is a fantasy book which is not my usual genre. That being said, I really enjoyed this book. My interest was captured right from the beginning and it was hard to put down. I think the author, Valerie Zambito, did a wonderful job of creating characters that were very real, very well-developed, and very likable. I found myself cheering them on the whole way!

    I also enjoyed that it was fast-paced. There were no slow parts in the book. I felt the author did an amazing job of creating a new world, yet made me feel very familiar with it. I could picture the places, the forests, the towns, and the characters in the book.

    This is Valerie Zambito's first novel, but it didn't read that way. I felt like I was reading the work of a seasoned writer. I enjoyed this book, and am looking forward to when Book Two comes out!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted July 20, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

  • Anonymous

    Posted July 30, 2013

    No text was provided for this review.

Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 28 review with 5 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 2