Customer Reviews for

Island of Lost Girls

Average Rating 3.5
( 918 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(298)

4 Star

(287)

3 Star

(186)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

95 out of 108 people found this review helpful.

Finding the Lost Girls

Island of Lost Girls is a very dramatic story. McMahon's writing style is phenomenal as she takes you on a journey through a traumatic time in Rhonda Farr's life as she searches for a missing girl in her small home town. Secrets, love, fear, heartbreak, and healing are ...
Island of Lost Girls is a very dramatic story. McMahon's writing style is phenomenal as she takes you on a journey through a traumatic time in Rhonda Farr's life as she searches for a missing girl in her small home town. Secrets, love, fear, heartbreak, and healing are woven into a tale that will make you think of the lost girl you know.

posted by crzynwrd4lf on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

70 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Why This Book Isn't Worth Your Time -- And Why It's Not Appropriate For Kids

I found this book was a complete disappointment, and here is why:

- The writing style is terrible. The author would often trail off for half a page or more on subjects unrelated to the story as if she lost her train of though. Aside from that, her writing style was ...
I found this book was a complete disappointment, and here is why:

- The writing style is terrible. The author would often trail off for half a page or more on subjects unrelated to the story as if she lost her train of though. Aside from that, her writing style was not engaging and lacked the sense of emotion you expect from a book.

There is a big difference between reading a novel and watching a movie: I feel like people pick up books to get lost in them. To blur the lines between fiction and reality, or to create an emotional bond with the characters. Reading Island of Lost Girls felt like watching a movie. It lacked emotion and I only stuck around to see the plot unfold and discover the villain.

- I had high expectations for this book--they were not met. Maybe I prefer something a little more upbeat, and this was both depressing and weird. It took everything I had to finish the novel and it was excruciating.

- I know there was some discussion as to whether this book is appropriate for middle school kids to read--absolutely not. For starters, it's not even a good example of literature. It has more adult content than I would be comfortable with a 12 year-old reading, and it had 50 + "f" words. Now, I'm a 24 year-old. Most people would not expect someone my age to be so conservative, but I stand by my opinion.

posted by tori_g on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    great book

    I loved this book. I learned so much from this book. I have two young grandaughters and I would recommend this book to anyone with children or grandchildren.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great read

    220 pgs. Couldnt put this down. Just when i thought id figured it out, there'd be a twist. Then another. Great character development. Just want I want in a novel.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 10, 2011

    Wonderful Read

    The most unsettling part of this story is that the little girl was telling her family about the "rabbit" and the parents. as most of us would, thought she was talking about an imaginary rabbit....

    3 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    Great

    Amazing book!

    2 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted May 23, 2012

    Okay

    If you have nothing else to read you should read this, otherwise it was an okay book. It took awhile to get into the story but towards the middle and end the book became very good.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 16, 2012

    Captivating story!

    This author kept me guessing all the way through, excellent read!

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Kept me interested Kept me interested

    This book is good when you just want an easy but interesting read. I did find some parts irrelevant to the plot but its still worth checking out. 3/4 of the way through the book it becomes hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2012

    Not bad at all!

    This is my first read by the author and I really enjoyed the characters and surprising storyline. I just started on her other book "Promise Not To Tell".

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 1, 2012

    Strange story

    This is an odd book. It only really caught my interest about half way through. If I had been at home and not on vacation, I might have given up on it but I did enjoy it after all.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 30, 2012

    Tough story...

    This was a book I read without really understanding the topic. Once I realized that I was already hooked. Bittersweet story, hard to put down.

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Awesome

    I loved it thought it was nice but not really a childres book so i wouldnt recommend for children, i have read better books but this one wasnt too bad i really liked it i guess

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2012

    Good read

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 29, 2011

    Good book

    It was a really good book but the ending wasnt that great it ledt a lot of loose ends

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2011

    Great book

    Couldn't put the book down. All the twists and turns kept me on the edge.

    1 out of 2 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Quick read, but hard to put down

    1 out of 1 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Im ten is this for me

    Ok so i havent read it and im ten so should i andis this nonfiction cause its sort of creepy to me

    1 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 24, 2014

    .

    .

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2014

    Good book Seriously?! After reading some of the reviews about bo

    Good book
    Seriously?! After reading some of the reviews about book not appropriate for children 12 and under, what person, after reading the overview of the book, would even chose it for someone so young? Where did that even come from? This book is what it is. I like the author and look forward to more of her books. Regarding the language...there is a fair amount of cuss words so if you are offended don't read it. Pretty simple. It isn't meant to be a happy, uplifting book. All in all, I'd recommend it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 19, 2013

    Anonymous

    Scarey! Couldn"t put the book down.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 10, 2012

    Creepy & Creative

    Every mothers worst fear...a child kidnapped. But this book has several plot lines interwoven through it, so be prepared to think!

    Well written and great use if flashback.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 287 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 1 of 15