Customer Reviews for

Island of Lost Girls

Average Rating 3.5
( 920 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(299)

4 Star

(287)

3 Star

(187)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Finding the Lost Girls

Island of Lost Girls is a very dramatic story. McMahon's writing style is phenomenal as she takes you on a journey through a traumatic time in Rhonda Farr's life as she searches for a missing girl in her small home town. Secrets, love, fear, heartbreak, and healing are ...
Island of Lost Girls is a very dramatic story. McMahon's writing style is phenomenal as she takes you on a journey through a traumatic time in Rhonda Farr's life as she searches for a missing girl in her small home town. Secrets, love, fear, heartbreak, and healing are woven into a tale that will make you think of the lost girl you know.

posted by crzynwrd4lf on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

71 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Why This Book Isn't Worth Your Time -- And Why It's Not Appropriate For Kids

I found this book was a complete disappointment, and here is why:

- The writing style is terrible. The author would often trail off for half a page or more on subjects unrelated to the story as if she lost her train of though. Aside from that, her writing style was ...
I found this book was a complete disappointment, and here is why:

- The writing style is terrible. The author would often trail off for half a page or more on subjects unrelated to the story as if she lost her train of though. Aside from that, her writing style was not engaging and lacked the sense of emotion you expect from a book.

There is a big difference between reading a novel and watching a movie: I feel like people pick up books to get lost in them. To blur the lines between fiction and reality, or to create an emotional bond with the characters. Reading Island of Lost Girls felt like watching a movie. It lacked emotion and I only stuck around to see the plot unfold and discover the villain.

- I had high expectations for this book--they were not met. Maybe I prefer something a little more upbeat, and this was both depressing and weird. It took everything I had to finish the novel and it was excruciating.

- I know there was some discussion as to whether this book is appropriate for middle school kids to read--absolutely not. For starters, it's not even a good example of literature. It has more adult content than I would be comfortable with a 12 year-old reading, and it had 50 + "f" words. Now, I'm a 24 year-old. Most people would not expect someone my age to be so conservative, but I stand by my opinion.

posted by tori_g on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 287 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 11, 2012

    Great

    Interesting, sad and misterious

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 29, 2012

    I reccommend this book.

    Im an avid reader and i completely disagree with all these poor reviews. If youre a litterature major who only enjoys the writings of Edgar Allen Poe or David Foster Wallace, than this book may not be for you. I, however, am a college educated 28 year old female who considers myself a fairly tough critic of a good read and i enjoyed reading this very much. I took off a star due to a somewhat weak ending, but all in all this definitely satisfied my craving for a good suspense\ mystery, and though i wasnt a huge fan of the ending it wrapped everything up leaving no questions unanswered.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 22, 2012

    A good book.

    A fast read and engaging from the start. The sad part is that even though it's fiction, it is also trgically too real.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 31, 2012

    Overall, a good book.

    At first, the book had me scratching my head with confusing characters and plot. I had no idea wha was going on! I almost considered to stop reading it. Then I kept reading and ended up loving the book! If not for the slow beginning, I would have given this book 5 stars.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 22, 2012

    Review

    This was a good book. Some parts were a little predictable other parts had me guessing the whole time. Regardless I couldn't put it down

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 17, 2012

    Had me hooked to the end.

    Slightly disturbing when you realize there the story is headed, but even with that said it was a fantastic read! I normally only like sci fi stories, and I still thought this was an awesome book.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 6, 2012

    Good

    This book was very well written. I enjoyed the book alot. It was a bit confusing at first and slow but it picked up and got every intresting. I loved the how the ending didnt leave you with un-answered questiond. There was some langue but not to much i would recomemd this book!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 1, 2012

    decent read

    A little strange at times.a quick easy read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 28, 2012

    Very good read!

    I really liked this book! It kept me wondering throughout the whole book. Would recommend this!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 22, 2012

    Good!!!

    Didn't expect the twist at the end!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 17, 2012

    L

    Liked this book, but was disturbed towards end of book due to subject matter. Loved the writing style though.
    vs

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 9, 2012

    Good story, full of suspence.

    This is a heart renching story about a lost girl and the secrets that are unfolded while they search for her.. the story is full of suspence, twists and turns.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 4, 2012

    Good read

    This book is really good. I felt the ending could have been better, it felt a little rushed.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted April 2, 2012

    Very entertaining

    Really entertaining! Could not stop reading.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 25, 2012

    Rabbit island

    This book was entertaining and i enjoyed reading it. I thought the book jumped around a little to much between two stories that never seemed to tie into each other. Overall though, i thought the book was good, entertaining and i think many people would enjoy reading it.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 22, 2012

    Very good

    Story very good, really kept your interst, till the very last page. A very good book. Thumbs up to the author!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Anonymous

    Good book, couldn't put it down, very suspenseful but unexpected twist at end I recommend this book to everyone!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 5, 2012

    Read it in one day

    The Island of Lost Girls is a mysterious story of heart ache, struggle, friendship and memories... Other reviewers mention the side stories being distracting and having no point. It is these stories that help you understand in the end. This book is a great read.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 4, 2012

    A good read

    A sad but engrossing read

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 29, 2012

    Enjoyable book!

    I enjoyed this book. It is well written, though I will admit the back and forth to different times was a little confusing at first. Good twist that I didn't see coming.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 21 – 40 of 287 review with 4 star rating   See All Ratings
Page 2 of 15