Customer Reviews for

Island of Lost Girls

Average Rating 3.5
( 922 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(300)

4 Star

(287)

3 Star

(188)

2 Star

(73)

1 Star

(74)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

96 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

Finding the Lost Girls

Island of Lost Girls is a very dramatic story. McMahon's writing style is phenomenal as she takes you on a journey through a traumatic time in Rhonda Farr's life as she searches for a missing girl in her small home town. Secrets, love, fear, heartbreak, and healing are ...
Island of Lost Girls is a very dramatic story. McMahon's writing style is phenomenal as she takes you on a journey through a traumatic time in Rhonda Farr's life as she searches for a missing girl in her small home town. Secrets, love, fear, heartbreak, and healing are woven into a tale that will make you think of the lost girl you know.

posted by crzynwrd4lf on May 14, 2010

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

71 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

Why This Book Isn't Worth Your Time -- And Why It's Not Appropriate For Kids

I found this book was a complete disappointment, and here is why:

- The writing style is terrible. The author would often trail off for half a page or more on subjects unrelated to the story as if she lost her train of though. Aside from that, her writing style was ...
I found this book was a complete disappointment, and here is why:

- The writing style is terrible. The author would often trail off for half a page or more on subjects unrelated to the story as if she lost her train of though. Aside from that, her writing style was not engaging and lacked the sense of emotion you expect from a book.

There is a big difference between reading a novel and watching a movie: I feel like people pick up books to get lost in them. To blur the lines between fiction and reality, or to create an emotional bond with the characters. Reading Island of Lost Girls felt like watching a movie. It lacked emotion and I only stuck around to see the plot unfold and discover the villain.

- I had high expectations for this book--they were not met. Maybe I prefer something a little more upbeat, and this was both depressing and weird. It took everything I had to finish the novel and it was excruciating.

- I know there was some discussion as to whether this book is appropriate for middle school kids to read--absolutely not. For starters, it's not even a good example of literature. It has more adult content than I would be comfortable with a 12 year-old reading, and it had 50 + "f" words. Now, I'm a 24 year-old. Most people would not expect someone my age to be so conservative, but I stand by my opinion.

posted by tori_g on January 2, 2012

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 924 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 47
  • Posted May 14, 2010

    I Also Recommend:

    Finding the Lost Girls

    Island of Lost Girls is a very dramatic story. McMahon's writing style is phenomenal as she takes you on a journey through a traumatic time in Rhonda Farr's life as she searches for a missing girl in her small home town. Secrets, love, fear, heartbreak, and healing are woven into a tale that will make you think of the lost girl you know.

    96 out of 109 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 2, 2009

    I Also Recommend:

    One of the most interesting books I have read in a long time.

    This story was weirdly fascinating, I could not put it down. The two interwoven stories of the characters as children and adults really gave insight into how a person develops, and how things in your past will eat away at you until they are finally dealt with. I also read her first book and enjoyed it, but not nearly as much as this one.

    81 out of 106 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 2, 2012

    Why This Book Isn't Worth Your Time -- And Why It's Not Appropriate For Kids

    I found this book was a complete disappointment, and here is why:

    - The writing style is terrible. The author would often trail off for half a page or more on subjects unrelated to the story as if she lost her train of though. Aside from that, her writing style was not engaging and lacked the sense of emotion you expect from a book.

    There is a big difference between reading a novel and watching a movie: I feel like people pick up books to get lost in them. To blur the lines between fiction and reality, or to create an emotional bond with the characters. Reading Island of Lost Girls felt like watching a movie. It lacked emotion and I only stuck around to see the plot unfold and discover the villain.

    - I had high expectations for this book--they were not met. Maybe I prefer something a little more upbeat, and this was both depressing and weird. It took everything I had to finish the novel and it was excruciating.

    - I know there was some discussion as to whether this book is appropriate for middle school kids to read--absolutely not. For starters, it's not even a good example of literature. It has more adult content than I would be comfortable with a 12 year-old reading, and it had 50 + "f" words. Now, I'm a 24 year-old. Most people would not expect someone my age to be so conservative, but I stand by my opinion.

    71 out of 110 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 5, 2012

    I Also Recommend:

    Dramatic

    Enjoyed it- a lot and will read more from this talented writer. Give it a try.

    61 out of 70 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 11, 2008

    fantastic read!

    This was a really good book. Yes, it was dark and parts were very very sad -- but then so is life, right? I think that's why I liked this so much -- it felt so real and moving, like a good literary novel, but was still very twisty and suspenseful like a good mystery novel. I couldn't put the darn thing down till I found out who was in the rabbit suit, what had become of Lizzy & Ernie, not mention Daniel, and whether Peter was who he seemed... The ending packed a real wallop, and I've been haunted by it ever since. No neat, black-and-white answers -- again, just like life.

    52 out of 61 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 25, 2011

    Not appropriate for middle schoolers!

    A number of posts are asking about the proper age to read this book. I have read this book and do not feel it is appropriate subject matter for middle school aged readers. It deals with some very disturbing material. I do not want my child reading this book until they are much older.

    38 out of 62 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted December 27, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    This Author has potential.. Not a bad little read!

    Although I have never heard of this author I decided to go ahead and buy this book as it sounded interesting and was only 2.99 so what could it hurt right? I did not have high hopes for this book, but was surprised to find that I did rather enjoy it.

    The Author you can clearly tell is "new", but has some great potential. The story kept you captivated, (I bought the book at 2 p.m. and finished it at 8 P.M.), but I think it a way it keeps you captivated in the wrong way. Instead of feeling excited, sad, or scared for the characters like you should in a good book I felt like "You have to keep reading because somehow all of this has to tie together, eventually they are going to tell you what the heck happened."

    When I finally did get to a point where it all started to come together I was surprised to find that my assumption about the who the rabbit was- was dead wrong! However, I was sad to found out the ending. It was weak.. I, for my personal taste, would of liked to hear more about Ernie as a person and Erine's home life along with Pat's life and her sister. I think this would of helped me be more into their characters! I think this book is less about the "lost girls" themselves and more about the main character and her shame over her life and her choices.

    All in all not a bad little book for 2.99 and I think Jennifer McMahon has some great potential.. I would recommend this if you are looking for a quick read on a rainy day.

    As far as age appropriateness I would say no younger than 16 as there are some "graphic" things that happen to the character Lizzy that I would not feel are appropriate for young readers.

    13 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 13, 2012

    Do not like language

    I really wish it didn't have perverse language

    11 out of 29 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 12, 2012

    Anonymous

    I liked it however, a lot of swear words, i do not reccomend for younger children.

    9 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    APPROPRIATE FOR ELEVEN YEAR OLDS

    By the time youre elevn you usually know about all that happens in this book. AWESOME BOOK Im twelve ad Id recomend it to my ten year old sister.

    8 out of 24 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 16, 2012

    Making an observation...

    Just pointing out most of the bad reviews for this book were written poorly, leading me to believe either the critiques were written by children, or by poorly educated individuals. Merely stating facts...

    7 out of 10 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted May 25, 2008

    A reviewer

    I read the back of this book and it sounded like something i would really enjoy. It was a good book, but i saw the ending coming from a mile away. Nothing to write home about

    6 out of 12 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 6, 2012

    Read if you like depressing stories

    I really wanted to like this book based on other reviews and the overview, but I thought it was a horrible story. The main character was a sad individual that had an incredibly sad and messed up childhood. The author jumped between Rhonda's childhood and the present and tried leaving off every chapter with a "cliff hanger" and it got old fast and made the story seem disjointed. The entire story was sad and the book was profanity-laden. It was a depressing book with insane characters that I would only recommend to those that are trying to bring themselves down.

    5 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 30, 2011

    I dont know

    Interesting i might buy it

    5 out of 25 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted June 14, 2009

    great book

    I loved this book. I learned so much from this book. I have two young grandaughters and I would recommend this book to anyone with children or grandchildren.

    5 out of 11 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 3, 2012

    Wasnt impressed

    Not worth reading. I thought it was really boring! Im shocked this made BN top 100!

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 24, 2012

    GREAT STORY TELLING

    Another excellent find in the 5 $ and under section. the authors story telling was a fresh change of pace and the story line very riveting. hit the BUY NOW button!!!

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 17, 2012

    Lovee<3

    Im 12 and i love this book...it is a very good book that i got hooked on. Yes it does have many characters come in at once but to tell the story it needs a lot of characters. I totally recommend

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted February 20, 2012

    Hmmmm........

    Not aproptiate for kids at all.make sure your over 17 before you buy it because the topic is too strong for any young teen or child

    3 out of 3 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Great read

    220 pgs. Couldnt put this down. Just when i thought id figured it out, there'd be a twist. Then another. Great character development. Just want I want in a novel.

    3 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 924 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 47