Customer Reviews for

Island of the Blue Dolphins

Average Rating 4.5
( 899 )
Rating Distribution

5 Star

(571)

4 Star

(155)

3 Star

(68)

2 Star

(35)

1 Star

(70)

Your Rating:

Your Name: Create a Pen Name or

Barnes & Noble.com Review Rules

Our reader reviews allow you to share your comments on titles you liked, or didn't, with others. By submitting an online review, you are representing to Barnes & Noble.com that all information contained in your review is original and accurate in all respects, and that the submission of such content by you and the posting of such content by Barnes & Noble.com does not and will not violate the rights of any third party. Please follow the rules below to help ensure that your review can be posted.

Reviews by Our Customers Under the Age of 13

We highly value and respect everyone's opinion concerning the titles we offer. However, we cannot allow persons under the age of 13 to have accounts at BN.com or to post customer reviews. Please see our Terms of Use for more details.

What to exclude from your review:

Please do not write about reviews, commentary, or information posted on the product page. If you see any errors in the information on the product page, please send us an email.

Reviews should not contain any of the following:

  • - HTML tags, profanity, obscenities, vulgarities, or comments that defame anyone
  • - Time-sensitive information such as tour dates, signings, lectures, etc.
  • - Single-word reviews. Other people will read your review to discover why you liked or didn't like the title. Be descriptive.
  • - Comments focusing on the author or that may ruin the ending for others
  • - Phone numbers, addresses, URLs
  • - Pricing and availability information or alternative ordering information
  • - Advertisements or commercial solicitation

Reminder:

  • - By submitting a review, you grant to Barnes & Noble.com and its sublicensees the royalty-free, perpetual, irrevocable right and license to use the review in accordance with the Barnes & Noble.com Terms of Use.
  • - Barnes & Noble.com reserves the right not to post any review -- particularly those that do not follow the terms and conditions of these Rules. Barnes & Noble.com also reserves the right to remove any review at any time without notice.
  • - See Terms of Use for other conditions and disclaimers.
Search for Products You'd Like to Recommend

Recommend other products that relate to your review. Just search for them below and share!

Create a Pen Name

Your Pen Name is your unique identity on BN.com. It will appear on the reviews you write and other website activities. Your Pen Name cannot be edited, changed or deleted once submitted.

 
Your Pen Name can be any combination of alphanumeric characters (plus - and _), and must be at least two characters long.

Continue Anonymously

Most Helpful Favorable Review

64 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

Never forgot the story!

I read this book when I was in 4th grade. That was 15 years ago and I still remember the story from beginning to end. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading and the knowledge that can be gained from it.

posted by Anonymous on November 20, 2007

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review

Most Helpful Critical Review

25 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

"It was the blue dolphins that brought her home..." Well, I wish they had taken me away from this awful book too...

I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever...
I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever, right up there with Holes and The Tale of Desperaux. The worst, is the blasted Witch of Blackbird Pond and...this one. This whole book, a Robinson Crusoe/Castaway tale of an Indian girl who is living alone at an island for 18 years, is mostly a tell book...the character, Karana, has no emotion, no feeling whatsoever. This is mostly what i hated about this novel. It's approx 200 pages felt like 2,000 pages becuase of how dull and lackluster it was. No emotion, no feeling. You would think the poor girl would be heartbroken, no? Well, she isnt at all. Every chapter is her making a speat or sewing a skirt or sailing down the river. This gets very dull after 100 pages of it. I was bored to death, sadly.
Content....everything is okey dokey. No sex or language. There is some mild violence and thematic elements.
This could have been such a great novel. But This book lacked depth, and the most important ingredient in every children's book...a little spice called feeling. without that one thing, everything else just comes out tasteless and burnt.

**Thanks for reading my review! Please mark it as helpful and check out my other reviews! Thanks so much and God bless!**

posted by Victoria-Star on September 23, 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 900 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 20, 2007

    Never forgot the story!

    I read this book when I was in 4th grade. That was 15 years ago and I still remember the story from beginning to end. I would recommend this to anyone who enjoys reading and the knowledge that can be gained from it.

    64 out of 73 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 15, 2008

    Forever will be a classic

    I remember reading Island of the Blue Dolphins when I was eleven. Recently I found my old copy, dusted it off, and started from the beginning. I could not put the book down. It was just as fresh to me as it was twenty-five years earlier. This is a book all ages can enjoy. I'm looking forward to reading it to my daughter in a few years. Scott O' Dell beautifully created a strong female protagonist that figured out a way to survive against the odds.

    39 out of 43 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 26, 2000

    I recomend this book!

    Island of the Blue Dolphins is a very good book. I love books that have the ocean in them. The book tells the story of a girl named Karona. She is left on the island for 18 years. While she is waiting for a ship to come get her she must build shelter, gather and hunt food, and fight her enemies the wild dogs. I thought this book would be a regular old book with a beggining, middle, and an end. I sure was wrong! Karona even befriended a wild dog! I recomend this book for ages 9 and up. If you are younger than 9, and you like true stories you will enjoy this book.

    32 out of 36 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted September 23, 2009

    more from this reviewer

    "It was the blue dolphins that brought her home..." Well, I wish they had taken me away from this awful book too...

    I often wonder why in the world certain books have won the prized golden sticker, aka, for all of you out there that dont know what i am talking about, the Newberry. the Oscars of the book world, minus the red carpet. Criss Cross is in my opinion, the best newberry ever, right up there with Holes and The Tale of Desperaux. The worst, is the blasted Witch of Blackbird Pond and...this one. This whole book, a Robinson Crusoe/Castaway tale of an Indian girl who is living alone at an island for 18 years, is mostly a tell book...the character, Karana, has no emotion, no feeling whatsoever. This is mostly what i hated about this novel. It's approx 200 pages felt like 2,000 pages becuase of how dull and lackluster it was. No emotion, no feeling. You would think the poor girl would be heartbroken, no? Well, she isnt at all. Every chapter is her making a speat or sewing a skirt or sailing down the river. This gets very dull after 100 pages of it. I was bored to death, sadly.
    Content....everything is okey dokey. No sex or language. There is some mild violence and thematic elements.
    This could have been such a great novel. But This book lacked depth, and the most important ingredient in every children's book...a little spice called feeling. without that one thing, everything else just comes out tasteless and burnt.

    **Thanks for reading my review! Please mark it as helpful and check out my other reviews! Thanks so much and God bless!**

    25 out of 84 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted March 9, 2011

    I Also Recommend:

    Definitely Recommended

    Author Scott O'Dell tells the story of Karana, an Indian girl living alone on the Island of Blue Dolphins. It is a fantastic story of survival as we travel with Karana on her quest to survive, forge for food, clothe herself, and seek shelter on the beautiful island. A very good read. Definitely recommended. Perfect for passing the time.

    21 out of 26 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Posted January 8, 2011

    more from this reviewer

    One of the reasons I love historical fiction!

    My favorite book from childhood, based on the true story of a young American-Indian marooned on a deserted island for 18 years. Her resourcefulness, strength and keen observation of nature make this book a must read! Enjoyable for all ages!

    13 out of 19 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 24, 2012

    This is the BEST BOOK EVER BEST BOOK EVER!

    This book is about a Indian Princess who was left behind when the rest of her village left after a terrible tragidy toke thelives of many of the braves (men) inclouding her father the chief. She learn how to survive on her own wether she is rescued from the island is for you to find out. Injoy the book I know I did. Island of The Blue Dolfins is a very good book for teenagers, young adults, and kids. This is a book with no bad language curseing swearing or anything that a parent would not approve of there kid reading, I myself being a

    11 out of 17 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    An amazing book !

    10 out of 28 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 6, 2011

    Dont give it a bad rating!!!!!!!!!!!!

    To people who say this book is bad STOP IT NOW. Anyhow this book is so great i had to say that

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 1, 2011

    OMG I LOVE IT!!!!!!!!!!!!

    It was a really fun true story this girl has to survive by herself on a island for 18 years I absoulutely LOVE IT !!!!!! please read it it is totally whorth it

    9 out of 15 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 6, 2012

    Awesome

    I love this book. It is one of the best books ive ever read and I have read a lot of books!

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 1, 2012

    Um.....

    I had chosen this book to read for school and i compleatly regreted it i was forgeting what i was reading! But by the time i was inn the middle it was ok but not a real page turner so i recommend this to ppl who really x5 like reading

    5 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted September 5, 2010

    Excellent

    It was a good book. I enjoyed it a lot. Every word I read I became more intrigued into the story.

    5 out of 6 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted November 12, 2013

    A great book

    This book ims amazing!! Highly suggested!

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted October 26, 2013

    Island of the blue dolphins

    I ? this book. It is about a girl who gets left on an island alone and must survive.

    4 out of 5 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 28, 2012

    AMAZOI AMAZING BOOK

    I could not put this book down

    4 out of 4 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted January 5, 2012

    loveit

    this book is amazing read it please you will love and im 11

    4 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted August 17, 2012

    Uggg

    I have to read this book for school and disliked it feel asleep teice ehile reading it

    3 out of 14 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted March 6, 2012

    Dumb

    I had to read this stupid book at school but it was kinda good

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
  • Anonymous

    Posted December 27, 2011

    Island of blue dolphins

    I love i you need to read this.

    3 out of 7 people found this review helpful.

    Was this review helpful? Yes  No   Report this review
Sort by: Showing 1 – 20 of 900 Customer Reviews
Page 1 of 45